Date: 12/12/2018 17:23
0

Gamo Whisper Silent. 6110072154. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (76 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2016-03-31 18:01:52

Things I liked: I bought this gun five years ago, and since then have put over 10,000 pellets through it. At first I never thought that it would be this quiet, accurate, and consistent in it's fps. The fiber optic sights on this gun are very useful and accurate especially if you don't like the scope. Considering that it came with a crappy scope, I never realized the potential greatness of this gun; so instead I put on a Simmons 3-9x32 22 mag scope that my friend gave me. After that I started getting dime-sized groups at 12 yards ( the distance I shoot in my basement) with some RWS and H&N pellets. Soon after that I bought a chronograph and realized the consistency of every shot, each one with only a 0-5 fps difference between shots. This consistency is the biggest part of accuracy and will effect long shots the most. I've killed many animals with this gun including Eurasian Collard Doves, rabbits, and squirrels. Overall this airgun has the best quality for the price.

Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change would be the scope. Unfortunately, the scopes Gamo sends with it's great guns aren't that durable for the vibration that the gun expels. The recoil is opposite from a gun that shoots projectiles from a cartridge, this is because the spring piston is reacting forward and sends the gun forward then backward. Therefore the recoil is twice the amount of a regular gun, and the scope it comes with can't handle that, so they break real easily.

What others should know: This airgun will perform great if it's put in the right hands. If somebody that has never shot an airgun before buys this, and complains that their accuracy is bad, their may be a user-error. Make sure that you know how to operate an airgun before you buy one, so you can expect the durability, accuracy, and consistency it is capable of.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Jay from USA on 2015-02-28 06:30:55

Things I liked: The weight, ease of cocking

Things I would have changed: The barrel definitely needs to be sturdier. After the fun has been sited in. The barrel actually flexes when the gun is cocked. The barrel does not return to the same position, there making you mis the target. Learn I say missy he target; Iean miss the complete target

What others should know: Pyramid was very nice and exchanged the gun for a more structurally doing gun that shoots straight. My advice:you get what you pay for...spend a few more dollars and you'll be much happier

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Blake from USA on 2018-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall appearance and design. Good balance with weight evenly distributed.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2018-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy of the scope it's good and the rifle is so powerful I like it

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mitchel from USA on 2018-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun has a really nice stock and is very light weight for those long hunts. Easy to cock and decently quiet for the backyard.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is my main gripe. Mine does not have the SAT trigger. And lastly the open sights need to be removed in order to see through the scope.

    What others should know: Great beginner rifle for youth and squrrilers out there.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great trigger pull Vert accurate with right pellets

    Things I would have changed: A little heavy if you are small game hunting but good if you are shooting from a rest. Scope is OK but a upgrade would be nice.

    What others should know: For the price this is a very accurate air rifle with the right pellets

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jose from USA on 2018-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's accurate, it's quite after break in, and just good dam gun

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Use heavy pellets work great with the damping technology

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent value for the price Light weight and accurate fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Scope

    What others should know: Research new scope specific for air rifles and attchments

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Polly from USA on 2018-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: How powerful and accurate this gun is!

    Things I would have changed: Wished it could be multiple shots instead of single shot

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ben-jammin from USA on 2018-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the weight, the scope, the price. shoots well, scope is pretty easy to dial in. Shreds spray paint cans. accuracy is pretty awesome. Like with my whisper fusion i can put two out of three shots in the same exact spot at 20 yards. Gun is relatively quiet. I live in a major city and our houses are pretty dang close to one another. Most ammo is pretty quiet.

    Things I would have changed: make sure you tighten all your screws and continue to check them periodically, they will come loose. its a T25 torex bit on this rifle the ones on the stock near the barrel break especially. I was ready to send this gun back because i thought it was a piece of crap but it was just 2 loose screws. this one is a keeper.

    What others should know: really fun rifle. it is great for the price in my opinion but if you are trying to only own one Id spend a few extra bucks and get the Gamo Fusion Whisper IGT. Its and all around nicer gun for not much more money. this gun has been shooting well with B&N Silver points, super magnum, and barracuda hunter, Gamo red fire, crosman piranha. started with the magnum and silver points but switched to red fire and barracuda hunters as well as the piranha by crosman at the moment. NOTE; i live in a major city and my yard is about 30ft wide. All ammo is pretty quiet EXCEPT GAMO RAPTOR. I shot it at night and my neighbors lights came on cause it sounded like a 9mm glock. where i live gun shots are pretty regular so it was alarming to them it sounded so close. No raptors for me. THEY SOUND FREAKING AWESOME. they were not accurate in this rifle from my experience. I only own 2 Gamo rifles but my experience for both has been awesome and I don't regret choosing Gamo over other brands.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fast delivery. Very nice gun for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: New air gunners should know that the name silent cat can be miss-leading and it does make some noise when fired.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2018-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Solid, well built. Easy to load.

    What others should know: It is not quiet. Spring action is not as smooth as I would like.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Works well

    Things I would have changed: Not silent

    What others should know: Great price

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2017-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice balance, easy to load, safety is in a good place. Cool look...

    Things I would have changed: Need more time to properly evaluate.

    What others should know: Good fps,

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: For the price this is a hard gun to beat. The fiber optic sights are excellent even in low light conditions. Stock trigger pull is OK but I went ahead and replaced the stock trigger with CharlieDaTuna's amazing GRT 4G Trigger which breaks at 1.25 pounds & accuracy is amazing. I replaced the stock scope with a Redfield 4X. This gun is quietest with heavier pellets & found that JSP 10.3g Heavies work the best, giving .5" groups at 30 yards. This chronos @ 815fps = 14.70 ft pounds of muzzle energy. I have taken several coyotes including 1 at 80 yards with no problem. This is 1 of my favorite airguns next to my FX Wildcat .25 which cost about $1400. For the $200 price range the Gamo is hard to beat.

    Things I would have changed: As mentioned scope, trigger. If you want the accuracy this rifle is capable of go ahead and get a decent scope & the GRT 4G is a game changer, it's like a completely different rifle.

    What others should know: Lighter pellets are going to be louder because they break the sound barrier. Remember the heavier the pellet, the quieter it will be.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2016-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Styling, It's a good looking weapon. My hand is a bit big for the pistol grip, but I still get a comfortable grip without using it.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is right on at the price point, but I changed to a 3x9 because the gun exceeds the range of a 4X scope. It's probably accurate beyond 9X, but I didn't want to but too much money into an air gun scope. Put the 4X on a Crosman M4 repeater I have and it works great.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By glen from USA on 2016-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After my home was robbed and my guns stolen, I decided to re-enter shooting with an air rifle. I still remember, shooting and hunting with a Crosman 760 as a kid in the late 1960's. The silent cat seemed like a reasonable first purchase. It's been an extremely pleasant experience. Good shooting at a very economical cost. I have been shooting at 30 yds. but I just shot 10 rounds at 50 yds. and managed to put 9 shots in a 2-1/2" circle. My brother is sending me a Benjamin Trail NP. I'm anxious to see how these gas piston rifles shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The scope, which is included, is worthless. I replaced the scope with a Hammers 3x9 AO.

    What others should know: The rifle is difficult to shoot. The double recoil, from the spring piston, is unforgiving. I use the "artillery hold" and I don't place my thumb in the pistol grip. I grasp the stock of the rifle as if there wasn't a pistol grip aperture. I'm having my best success with HN field target trophy pellets at 8.64 grs. At 30 yds. my best 5 shot grouping is just under 1". The rifle has potential. It's a big learning curve to shoot these spring piston rifles.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By james from USA on 2016-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock and thumb hole are great. Also very quiet and balanced well. Nice scope.

    Things I would have changed: The laser pointer is pretty worthless along with the flashlight. Also would be nice if you could use the iron sites along with the scope. This way you set them for different yardage.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rigoberto from USA on 2016-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excelentt !! air rifle !!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2016-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun five years ago, and since then have put over 10,000 pellets through it. At first I never thought that it would be this quiet, accurate, and consistent in it's fps. The fiber optic sights on this gun are very useful and accurate especially if you don't like the scope. Considering that it came with a crappy scope, I never realized the potential greatness of this gun; so instead I put on a Simmons 3-9x32 22 mag scope that my friend gave me. After that I started getting dime-sized groups at 12 yards ( the distance I shoot in my basement) with some RWS and H&N pellets. Soon after that I bought a chronograph and realized the consistency of every shot, each one with only a 0-5 fps difference between shots. This consistency is the biggest part of accuracy and will effect long shots the most. I've killed many animals with this gun including Eurasian Collard Doves, rabbits, and squirrels. Overall this airgun has the best quality for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change would be the scope. Unfortunately, the scopes Gamo sends with it's great guns aren't that durable for the vibration that the gun expels. The recoil is opposite from a gun that shoots projectiles from a cartridge, this is because the spring piston is reacting forward and sends the gun forward then backward. Therefore the recoil is twice the amount of a regular gun, and the scope it comes with can't handle that, so they break real easily.

    What others should know: This airgun will perform great if it's put in the right hands. If somebody that has never shot an airgun before buys this, and complains that their accuracy is bad, their may be a user-error. Make sure that you know how to operate an airgun before you buy one, so you can expect the durability, accuracy, and consistency it is capable of.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By albert from USA on 2016-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: what you get for the price of this gun is great. Backyard friendly and accurage.

    Things I would have changed: The scope can be dropped completely and make it 10 bucks cheaper

    What others should know: I put a Burris scope on it to really test its accuracy and was able to hit nickle size groups at 20 yards. Found that RWS superdomes and JSB pellets work extremely well with this riffle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: light, comfortable, like the trigger

    Things I would have changed: needs auto safe to engage when cocked

    What others should know: not as quiet as advertized

  • 1234 Next
Navigation