Date: 18/10/2018 10:46
0

Ruger Air Magnum Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (72 reviews)
1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Conor from USA on 2011-09-01 09:41:20

Things I liked: The weight of the gun seems even...The POWER is AWESOME!!!!! Make sure you only shoot heavy pellets (10g+) through it, because I already had to replace the piston seal from shooting 7.56 grain pellets through it. This gun is my favorite (besides my XL 1100...) for $165, you can't find a better deal!

Things I would have changed: Offer this with a better (Leapers 3-9x40) scope...I sent mine to Umarex for pellets since it wasn't very good.

What others should know: The trigger pull seems kinda long, but you'll get used to it.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-27 12:16:48

Things I liked: rifle looks good.

What others should know: I got a bad rifle out of the box, only got 6 shots off before piston in spring started leaking air. Just craftsmenship of China.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made with look and feel of actual firearm,a little on the heavy side. Slight recoil when firing and hard hitting,you will not see the projectile in flight as you can in lower powered rifles. This rifle is loud compared to say a C02 or pump air rifle but there's a lot fps and power so its to be expected. Accurate with good groups using Ruger Superpoint pellets once you zero in the sites and scope. Dropped a woodchuck with no problem from 75 feet.

    Things I would have changed: If there was a way to make it lighter and maybe if they could come up with a sound damper so it has a little more stealth,

    What others should know: Use good quality ammo,clean it before using for better accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power for the price.

    Things I would have changed: I did change from the Ruger 4X32 scope to a 3-9X40. The power and velocity dictated I needed a higher power scope for longer distance shots.

    What others should know: I chronographed four different .22 pellets in 8 shot groups. I shot the Crosman Premier 9.50 grain SSP PBA in 8 shots, averaging 1114 fps in 68 degrees.. The RWS Hobby 11.90 grain lead in 8 shot groups, averaged 952 fps in 68 degrees. The third pellet shot, the Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum Dome 14.30 grain, averaged 911 fps in 46 degrees. The fourth pellet was the Crosman Premier Destroyer 14.30 grain, averaged 935 fps in 45 degrees. There are a few others that I have that will fly in excess of 900 fps. Now if you use pellets 15.00 grains and heavier, my chronograph readings were less than 900 fps. Hot and cold outdoor temperatures will increase or decrease fps somewhat. Get a chronograph and document your pellets in a logbook, including weather temperatures. I log all my pellets, 29/.177 grains and 31/.22 grains in all four seasons and compare the fps in those seasons temps ranging cold to hot. Get a chronograph. Woodys World.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2018-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First let me tell you, you will not achieve anywhere near 1200 FPS! I do not know where they pull these numbers from but mine only chronied at 817 FPS, a far cry from 1200! Other than that a great, accurate hard hitting gun!

    Things I would have changed: Can we get these manufacturers to stop lying about the FPS of these airguns!?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: See review below.

    Things I would have changed: See below.

    What others should know: This is in addition to the review that is before the addendum to it. Once I concentrated on proper eye relief when looking thru that scope, with the power at 6X, accuracy totally improved. I did use my MTM Case-Gard Predator Shooting Rest, which was very helpful. I do recommend all equipment used during this review. I was concentrating on breathing, hold, sight alignment, and trigger squeeze. I then thought about eye relief distance when looking thru the scope, it made a big difference. Hope this will help you. John, of Woodys World.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price to power value.

    Things I would have changed: I switched from the 4X32 scope to a CenterPoint 3-9X32.

    What others should know: I have both, the .177 and the .22 calibers. This is in reference to the .177 caliber. I submitted review on this before. I shot for this review earlier today using Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum 10.5 grain pellets which are what I have calibrated the scope for. I shot 5 pellets across my Competition Electronics Digital ProChrono. The fps were result was: 996, 986, 973, 994, 995, and 994 fps for an average of 990fps. This was in 44 degree temperature. The accuracy test was next, I concentrated on eye relief when looking my CenterPoint 3-9X32 scope. I set scope on 6X. I shot at a Remington target, that was overall 6 and 5/8 inch square. The actual target was a 5 inch target circle. The target was taped to a 12x12 inch box, 80 feet away. My first 5 shots hit outside the 5 inch target. Made whatever elevation and wind age adjustments shots. I then concentrated on eye relief when looking thru my scope. It made a world of difference, putting 28 pellets within 2 inches. kept the power at 6X.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JFyre from USA on 2017-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price Accuracy Power

    Things I would have changed: Heavy Cheap scope

    What others should know: This airgun has been a pleasant surprise. I purchased this gun with hopeful but not particularly high expectations. I have been pleasantly surprised. I probably have ~800-1000 rds through it so far and has proved to be both accurate and powerful. Although the scope is definitely cheap, it has been holding a zero for me so far. I adjusted the parallax on it and it works "OK". I sighted the gun in at 20yds and have been shooting 3/8 to 1/2 inch groups IF I do my part. The gun has definitely gotten better as it has broken in. Just today I ran it through a chrony and was pleasantly surprised. With H&N Barracuda Hunter Extremes (best pellet with my gun) it shot a 10 rd average of 781 fps. This works out to 25 fpe! Great! I would recommend this gun for anyone, especially one that will mainly use it for hunting/varmint eradication. Plan on eventually replacing the scope but the included one will get you by. On a capability to cost ratio this has to be one of the best values out there.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Pellet speed is the only real positive thing I can say, this is just a pinker, period. No more accurate than a pump rifle for way less money. But you don't have to pump it, I guess that's another positive. I have tried a few different pellets, crossman premiums at 14.3 grains wer about the most consistent @ 6" grouping of 5 rounds at 27 yards.. The heavier pellets 17 grain shot about 6" higher.. No idea why.. Still grouped about the same. I cleaned the barrel when I got it.. Very dirty, The scope is a joke,, no magnification really. And blurry a little.. Better off with open sights, as least I don't see the "dime size" point im trying to hit. Lol Don't expect to hit a golf ball at 25 yds. Consistently

    Things I would have changed: Cost and accuracy. Not a great deal for the $$

    What others should know: It has power to take out pests but I'd invest in something better so you hit close to where your aiming..

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: cheap for a hard hitter, fun to just sit and plink a little, hit water filled cans and action targets. hits hard. the scope is ok for the yardage you will be shooting at.. 30 yards.. beyond that its a scatter gun..lol might be better with heavy pellets, i used 14 and 17 grain..

    Things I would have changed: accuracy.

    What others should know: I cleaned the barrel first, it was very dirty.. my first few shots were loud until the oil burned off.. dont expect to hold your own against a good springer with this.. its right in its price point for what it is, it shoots very fast and hits hard.. very hard.. i think you'll do better with heavier pellets.. get as heavy as you can when you buy it..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2017-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I own both calibers of this rifle. Both are extremely accurate and powerful. The triggers are smooth and break crisply for guns in this price range. Both calibers like the Crosman Premium hollow points - very economical! The scopes, contrary to the opinions of many regarding "bundled packages", are fine. They zero quickly and remain zeroed. With the application of thread-lock to the screws, they don't drift. Fit and finish is 10/10.

    Things I would have changed: It would be good to see this gun produced with a walnut checkered, Monte Carlo stock, cheek rest, and forearm.

    What others should know: The .177 caliber will easily send projectiles downrange at supersonic velocities. It isn't quiet. That said, it isn't what I'd classify as "neighborhood friendly" unless you have understanding and accepting neighbors. Both calibers require a little more effort than lesser velocity guns, to break open and cock. I'm muscular with good upper body strength, and immediately noticed this. Practice and master the artillery hold with both. The accuracy will absolutely impress you! Give the included scope a chance. In my opinion, the two I have are very acceptable.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I recently purchased a Ruger Air Magnum in .22 and this is my third. I own two Xisico XS 28. Xisico makes several of the Ruger air rifles including the Air magnum. Yes they are made in China but in my opinion its hard to find a better deal at this price and capable of 24 fpe in .22. A tune can and 30 dollars in parts can make the Air magnum an outstanding gun. When I ordered the gun I also ordered a new spring and seal from Vortek. I disassembled, deburred and cleaned. Reassembled/lubed with new spring and seal . It is shooting a very consistent 825 fps with H&N FTT 14.66 5.53 Basically 22fpe. The tune transforms a good gun into a great gun. Much calmer firing cycle and still retaining plenty of power. I have only been using the open sights for now and it shoots awesome (scope coming soon). Effortlessly shooting plastic golf balls freehand at 20 yards. For about 250 dollars for the whole project I could not be happier.

    Things I would have changed: When I disassembled the gun the seal looked terrible and there was some rust inside. I am not sure the gun world have functioned very well without a tune. But these guns respond well to a tune. I recommend buying it knowing it should be torn down and cleaned up at some point. Lube and a new seal is like 20 dollars. Quality control could be better.

    What others should know: I have one with a vortek kit its shooting 895fps/25.5 fpe and the other has a shortened stock spring shooting 850fps/23.5fpe. The best pellet for me has been the H&N FTT 14.66 in 5.53 or 5.54. in all three of my guns. I have tried at least 10 other pellets and the Crossman hp pellets were okay. For 250 dollars I have a tuned gun that I know is going to be trouble free for a very long time. Also the accuracy is very good for a gun in this price range.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ken from USA on 2016-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent power in the .22 version. There is a ken something that does a yu tube video review of the .22 and calls it a piece of junk! I strongly disagree but did follow him through a tune up of the .177 version wherein he cleans the compression sleeve and replaces the piston seal. I broke mine down and found metal bits and shavings in-bedded in the original seal. after cleaning out the sleeve and replacing the original seal with a vortek? seal.(its been a few months). I got better and more consistent velocity. My scope was broken two weeks in. I replaced it with an airgun certified leepers, with adjustable parallax. I also took 1 1/2" off of the but stock. This was not for length of pull, but center of gravity. The weight of the gun is easier to handle the closer it is. The stock is hollow. I filled mine with expanding foam.

    What others should know: Mine prefers crossman premier domed for accuracy. Also consistent artillery hold for accuracy. I had my first air harvested bunny last fall. marinated, wrapped in bacon, baked with a few chopped potatoes. quite tasty!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: POWERFUL!!! This Ruger Air Magnum .177 defines the word powerful. Great for shooting my preferred heavy pellets 9.00 grain to 11.50 grains. My lead 7.00 grain to 9.75 grain pellets fly in excess of 1025 fps. In the "Anything else air gunners should know?" I used a bipod and not my bench. In all my accuracy tests I used a bipod and not my bench, which in my opinion, the bench is no fun.

    Things I would have changed: The stock 4X32 scope. Replaced it with a Center Point 3-9X32AO

    What others should know: This beast shoots the 14 tins of lead pellets I have that range from the 7.00 grain RWS Hobby to the 9.75 grain Winchester HP, each shot in 5 shot strings, then each string averaged out, at average velocities ranging from 1036 fps to 1201 fps. It shoots the Crosman Heavy 10.50 grain pellets at an average of 992 fps and the Beeman Kodiak Heavy 1065 grain at 979 fps average. The Crosman SSP 4.00 grain PBA averaged 1462 fps with a high of 1472 fps. The Gamo Air Star PBA 4.70 grain averages 1447 fps with a high of 1461 fps. The Stoeger X-Speed 5.56 grain PBA averaged 1378 fps with a high of 1387 fps. These pellets were shot over my Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono in 37 to 40 degree weather. All of the lead pellets proved to be accurate shot at a 1" target 70 feet away, mounted on a 12"x12" boxes. There were a FEW that missed the 1" target by not more than 3". The one inch targets were hit until they were no longer visible, all but a very ragged holes where the 1" targets were.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Earl from USA on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great rifle. Accurate out of the box. Once I got the scope on, it took about 10 minutes to sight in. I was consistently in the kill zone after sighting in. Easy to cock. Very pleased with the performance so far. Looking forward to taking it out in the field.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle. I like the weight as it helps me with stability in aiming in all shooting positions. Overall feel is very nice and, to me, reflects a power-burner well. It's powerful and accurate enough for my needs. I am considering buying a second Ruger Air Magnum.

    Things I would have changed: I scrapped the bundled scope and alternate between a Leapers UTG 3-9x50 AO and ( as suggested by another commenter ) a Walther PS 55 Dot Sight. The Walther PS 55 is more cost effective ( in my view ) for an Air Rifle than the Aimpoint Pro I have on my Colt M4 Carbine 5.56x45 NATO rifle.

    What others should know: I purchased an Archer Airguns XMV Tune Kit for Ruger Air Rifles .177 Cal. Also, I ONLY use Frog Lube on ALL my power-burners and Air Guns. I have used Wintergreen oil to break rust for nearly 50 years, and being that I grew up with Hoppes #9 ( still have that scent in my brain since age 5, now 57 ), I am a convert to Frog Lube. Tight groups to all . . .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2015-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Is the best rifle I have.

    Things I would have changed: At this time I not have anything to change

    What others should know: I have good experiance and service.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: wow is this gun powerful! I've shot the non-lead pellets and it's pretty loud. Started shooting 16 grain JBS beast Diablo pellets which seemed to quiet it down just a bit but man they hit hard! There's going to be a lot fewer squirrels in the yard this fall!

    Things I would have changed: scope seems to be the one drawback. It's not very good. I took it off and replaced with the Walther PS55 red dot off my .22 and now it's far more usable

    What others should know: literally the most bang for your buck in the 150-200 dollar range!

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: rifle looks good.

    What others should know: I got a bad rifle out of the box, only got 6 shots off before piston in spring started leaking air. Just craftsmenship of China.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Likes. . .substantial weight solid feel, very powerful, decent cocking effort, accurate hard hitting.

    Things I would have changed: Lessen loudness factor, protect front sight. Upgrade scope to maximize performance.

    What others should know: Very powerful rifle. One of the longest air rifles marketed. By no means a toy and should be handled accordingly. Excellent pest control rifle, will get the job done with the right pellet. Predator Polymag 8.6g work for me. Excellent rifle overall.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RifledDNA from USA on 2014-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Simple solid construction, exactly like the little brother airhawk. Price is right for an easy to tune, super powerful, accurate monster springer.

    Things I would have changed: Factory needs to watch the metal shavings going in the tube, not everyones gonna open it up and clean it out, those that don't will not have the gun this thing really is. Make a better rear sight instead of adding the 4x scope, its not a bad scope but its not enough for this gun. Have the barrel at 16-17" stock, more power and them it cam fit in a rifle case.

    What others should know: This is a serious hunting springer, it can hit within an inch at 40-50 IF you A) clean and lube properly, B) use quality pellets, C) hold it gently and consistently,. Do these things and in 22 going through 3/4" pine board easily, hitting its mark out to 40+ yards ay least you have yourself one of the strongest, best designed hunting springers under 400+ $. Be rewarded with cheap springers by the love you give them, at this price you cannot expect it to be what its not, but, can be. Have fun, kill clean or don't.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Chad from USA on 2014-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: POWER and more POWER!

    Things I would have changed: The scope is not great, but that comes with the inexpensive price tag.

    What others should know: Too powerful to be very accurate. Even with heavy, imported pellets, I couldn't get great accuracy.

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation