Date: 16/10/2018 11:28
0

SIG Sauer MPX CO2 Rifle, Black reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (14 reviews)
3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Michael from USA on 2016-09-12 08:52:25

Things I liked: This thing is bloody BRILLIANT!!! I can't rave about it nearly enough. I LOVE the magazine system on this gun. 30 pellets in a magazine. When one's empty you simply pop it out and load a new one, just like a real gun. I've purchased three additional mags (incidentally, the additional mags all come with THREE pellet belts! Buy at least one additional mag, you won't be sorry!) so I can put 120 pellets down range before I have to truly reload. It's got power to spare and the weight makes you doubt you're firing an airgun, but rather a real deal firearm.

Things I would have changed: Anything I write here is admittedly picky. I would change the stock, or at least offer a few aftermarket selections as the one it comes with makes fashioning a sling difficult - and believe me, as heavy as this thing is you'll want one. Now, to dream. A full auto version of this thing would be beyond amazing.

What others should know: I can't rave about this gun enough due to the ingenious mag loading system. The only drawback is that loading the "string" of 30 pellets can be tedious, especially if you plan on doing a lot of shooting with several different mags. I tend to reload mine after each session while watching TV so the time passes a bit more pleasantly. Use the tool they include to assure you've properly seated each pellet and follow the instructions for feeding each "string" (I use string for lack of a better term. I guess you could also say belt), into the magazine housing. This gun's a wee bit on the pricey side but I'll guarantee you'll soon forget it once this thing arrives and you're eating the center out of targets like a boss.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By James from USA on 2016-02-05 11:07:39

Things I liked: Realistic and well constructed. Durable

Things I would have changed: The CO2 cylinder would not screw into the valve because the valve threads were seated too deep. Tried 2 different cylinders with same result. I was told this has been seen with other MPXs. Very surprising and disappointing from a company like Sig Sauer. I carry a Sig P938 and love the pistol. Returned gun to exchange for a MCX. I waited 3 months for the MPX, hopefully the MCX will not take as long and will accept the CO2 cylinders. I will rate the MCX when I receive it.

What others should know: See above. Apparently this is a manufacturing flaw that I was told Sig says they have corrected.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shenan from USA on 2018-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels great well made should last for a long time. Great fun

    Things I would have changed: Add more strips for loading

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my favorite gun to play with. I own a lot of other PCP guns with much higher power for hunting etc., and CO2 pistols, but for a grab and shoot gun that you can shoot pretty much anywhere you can't really beat this. Good basement and backyard plinker. Its realistic, feels great, can be used to practice different drills and is just an awesome gun. I put an illuminated holographic sight on mine and it just feels natural for target aquisition. The belt fed magazine on this has worked flawlessly for me, zero issues and very convenient. I absolutely love this gun. I haven't measured the dB but to my ear the gun is relatively quiet compared to other CO2 guns I own and I am more comfortable shooting this in my basement than my P226 or other pistols. The gun has worked with a wide variety of .177 pellets that I tried, everything from gold Gamo pellets, predator hunting pellets, armor piercing pellets, to Winchester high speed pellets and standard bulk hollow point .177 pellets.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I can think of to change would be to include a sling and some weapons lube. A higher powered version of this and the MCX in PCP and a higher caliber for hunting but still with the high capacity belt fed semi-auto magazine would be _the_ killer airgun. A .357 shooting with comparable ft lbs as the Benjamin bulldog, but in this exact form factor or the MCX form factor would be amazing.

    What others should know: I thoroughly lubed the gun with weapons grease, lubed the magazines and belt with Ballistol and weapons grease, and haven't had any issues with jamming or any other problems. If you take care of it the way you would a firearm it should be reliable and accurate. Its just a really nice high quality weapon that comes in great packaging and is a great customer experience end to end, unboxing to shooting. Out of all the many guns I own the only others that gave me the same feeling of delight were the Seneca Light Hunter and the Umarex made in germany HK P30. Buy a bunch of extra magazines and stock up on CO2 cartridges. This way you can lube and fill a bunch of belts and mags and have fun shooting for a long time before you have to stop and refill the belts. when I just want to shoot without having to pump air or go anywhere this is the gun I find myself always grabbing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hook from USA on 2018-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about it. Good weight, great accuracy, easy to go through 300 pellets in one sitting. Indoor 20' accuracy, I don't even use targets anymore. Shoot at repair pasters and hit them 3-4 times before they blow through or fly off the backer board. Loading system is very effective, this thing is ridiculous fun. I use a red dot, but have the factory irons on 45 degree offsets, they are quite good themselves.

    Things I would have changed: Not much. I wish you would get another seating tool when you order your spare mags, don't lose it! I'd have to nit pick pretty hard for anything else, maybe no screw hole through the faux ejection port door? As others have stated a sling qd attachment point in the stock would be cool, but I just use a soft strap with a d-ring and clip to that.

    What others should know: AR grips -almost- fit, with some filing they could go on. I opted for a pierce grip adapter, turns an AR grip into a 1911. Love those things, have them on both my mcx and mpx. On Amazon you can get the gen 1 Sig rail sections that will fit this, in aluminum. They come with the real steel 5mm screws, you'll need 4mm, but they are nice to have. I also found a very nice 12g adapter on eBay from a british company called best fittings. 45-50 shots if you stay away from the mag dumps. They also sell some other parts for these. I got a .177 cleaning rod from Wal-Mart for about $7 because I heard these were prone to jams. Honestly, my mpx has never jammed, mcx maybe 3 times, all my fault. Short trigger pulls during rapid fire will occasionally jam these. I actually cleared the jams using a piece of copper wire to avoid scratching the bore. Others have mentioned trouble with various brands/sizes of co2. FWIW, I use the JT 90s with no problems, save the first one in the MPX. Hammer was stuck.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Omar from USA on 2018-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels and look like the real one

    Things I would have changed: The stock

    What others should know: Heavy but feels like the real one on weight

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jose from USA on 2017-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that I short easy too handle up to now acurate gat it today I order I second mag I have shot over 200 pellet today and the 90 gram bottle still going I dont now Maine because I live in Puerto Rico is I constant Sumer all year the temperaturure varries from 75 degrees ass I low and 90 degrees ass high soo Maine that's why I get more shots than what the manufacturer says a aut 200 shots and I put I red dot sight and I sling I am gona place I pic soo people cud get I idea how to put I sling on the rifle and if somebody did the conversion whit the air ventury pcp thank drop me I line and let me now how is working and if is wort the investment

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Size, weight, accuracy, pellet belt and magazine, sights, scopeable rail, 88gr co2 for operation, trigger pull, about 200 shots per co2. . . .no complaints

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I have this one and the MCX. Interchangeable pellet belts, will work in both. Purchase extra belts and a couple magazines. Highly recommend trying. Good for close range pests and EXCELLENT for target plinking using 7-8gr pellets (not picky) in belt. Use recess tool to set pellets in belt.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: This thing is bloody BRILLIANT!!! I can't rave about it nearly enough. I LOVE the magazine system on this gun. 30 pellets in a magazine. When one's empty you simply pop it out and load a new one, just like a real gun. I've purchased three additional mags (incidentally, the additional mags all come with THREE pellet belts! Buy at least one additional mag, you won't be sorry!) so I can put 120 pellets down range before I have to truly reload. It's got power to spare and the weight makes you doubt you're firing an airgun, but rather a real deal firearm.

    Things I would have changed: Anything I write here is admittedly picky. I would change the stock, or at least offer a few aftermarket selections as the one it comes with makes fashioning a sling difficult - and believe me, as heavy as this thing is you'll want one. Now, to dream. A full auto version of this thing would be beyond amazing.

    What others should know: I can't rave about this gun enough due to the ingenious mag loading system. The only drawback is that loading the "string" of 30 pellets can be tedious, especially if you plan on doing a lot of shooting with several different mags. I tend to reload mine after each session while watching TV so the time passes a bit more pleasantly. Use the tool they include to assure you've properly seated each pellet and follow the instructions for feeding each "string" (I use string for lack of a better term. I guess you could also say belt), into the magazine housing. This gun's a wee bit on the pricey side but I'll guarantee you'll soon forget it once this thing arrives and you're eating the center out of targets like a boss.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2016-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Super accurate, cartridge long life, rails for multiple attachments

    Things I would have changed: Extra pellet belt.

    What others should know: loads of fun and super accurate. Follow the loading directions and you will have no prblems. Cant wait until the extra clips are available. Got about 150 shots from the canister.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Giovani from USA on 2016-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great looking rifle, very realistic, I've shot 10 belts with one 90 gr tank so far without a single malfunction. Very sturdy and reliable rifle. I shot two belts here, a belt there, over a one week period and got 310 shots out of an Air Venturi 90 gram tank. The MPX has plenty of power and will easily penetrate tough plastic jugs like the Arizona Green tea, and will also penetrate tough soup cans and other tough tin cans.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it was in .22 cal

    What others should know: I was so impressed with the MCX that I decided to also get the MPX. No buyer regrets here, I love both rifles. Normally use it at 15 yards, very accurate, you can put pellets on top of each other in the same hole no problem, tight penny size groups. I have also shot targets at 25 yards but if you want pin point accuracy at greater distances you better use a scope. The flip up sights were right on target straight out of the box. I installed a FieldSport Red and Green Reflex Sight, it has 4 different reticles with 6 brightness levels, great looking sight.I have used RWS HOBBY and BEEMAN WADCUTTER COATED PELLETS and both worked very well. No co2 leaks, no loose parts, not one flaw, lots of fun shooting it. I highly recommend it.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The Look.

    Things I would have changed: Quality because it's not there!

    What others should know: Ok Sig has had over a year to get these right.First of all the mag wouldn't go into the well without an extreme amount of effort.You could see it gouging into the plastic mag. But that's nothing compared to the fact my JT 90 gram CO2 bottomed out before it could be tightened in all the way causing it to leak! I mean really,you couldn't make the effort to try different brands to see the potential problem at hand here before going into production! So I'm lucky to send this MPX back before 30 days and get my money back!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I received my new MPX and have put 1000 rounds through it. The feel and weight is very realistic. It is quite accurate. I shoot hanging soda cans off-hand at 40+ yards consistently. My first MPX was just a quality control problem. This one is right-on.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if at least Sig Sauer included a couple more ammo belts with the gun. I'm waiting for my magazine. Supposed to arrive by mid-May.

    What others should know: Neither my MPX or MCX like copper-plated pellets. They are difficult to seat and about every third shot jams. They both love H & N 8.64 gr. field and trophy pellets as well as RWS round dome. The 8 to 8.5 gr. pellets seem the most accurate.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By James from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Realistic and well constructed. Durable

    Things I would have changed: The CO2 cylinder would not screw into the valve because the valve threads were seated too deep. Tried 2 different cylinders with same result. I was told this has been seen with other MPXs. Very surprising and disappointing from a company like Sig Sauer. I carry a Sig P938 and love the pistol. Returned gun to exchange for a MCX. I waited 3 months for the MPX, hopefully the MCX will not take as long and will accept the CO2 cylinders. I will rate the MCX when I receive it.

    What others should know: See above. Apparently this is a manufacturing flaw that I was told Sig says they have corrected.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The look and feel, including the weight of this gun makes it feel as if you are holding the actual MPX gun! It was worth the wait! I'm sure they did a lot of quality control upgrades because it feels more durable. Some of the complaints I've read about the stock being made from a flimsy plastic have been corrected. the few plastic parts on this gun are solid and the metal parts are on point!

    Things I would have changed: Only thing I would have added was an actual quick release sling attachment point behind the trigger housing! A longer polymer magazine would have been nice also.

    What others should know: Purchase a spare 30 round magazine for this gun! One just isn't enough! The spare magazines come with 3 root belts so it makes for quick reloading!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fairly tight groups, for a CO2 gun, off of a rest, after cleaning the barrel, which was not too dirty. I installed my Sig 1-4x24 scope which came with my MCX. I've shot only one 90g bottle through it, 210 shots, @ 60 degrees air temperature. Chronied at a mean of 424, SD 10, n=32, with JSB RS's @ 7.33 gr for 2.9 ft lbs. It's a good looking gun, handles well, a lot of fun to shoot. I shot it first at 12 meters and then at 10 meters where the groups tightened up considerably.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it produced higher speeds; my MCX produces about 510 with the same pellets under the same conditions. Both rifles get nowhere close to the 593 I get with my Walther Lever Action which uses the same 90g CO2 bottles. Speeds should rise somewhat with warmer outdoor summertime temperatures or when using the new lighter Sig pellets or other non-lead pellets which at current pricing I don't intend to buy. The MCX requires some considerable fiddling to thread the 90g Co2 bottle onto the gun. There's no problem there with the MPX.

    What others should know: Sig may have made some slight changes to their air rifle line since the MCX was first released. My MCX has a belt which requires some effort to seat the pellets; the effort is much less with the MPX belt, using the same pellets. In comparing both guns, I find the MPX more accurate. Neither gun is as accurate as my Walther Lever Action and nowhere near as accurate as my R7 or Prosport. At this time I prefer the MPX over the MCX. The guns look very realistic; take care when shooting them outdoors that they don't result in calls to the police. I will probably confine mine to indoor shooting.

Navigation