Date: 23/10/2018 8:53
0

Seneca Dragonfly Multi-Pump Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (11 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Chris from USA on 2018-06-11 15:33:04

Things I liked: Received the .22 cal version a couple of weeks ago and haven't put more than 20 shots through it. Pretty accurate right out of the box. With the shooting I do, I don't think I'll need a scope, but that might be fun. We'll see. Can't give it a thorough testing, just a couple of shots at a time at one sitting because of complaining neighbors, and I respect that. (No one in any part of the shooting community needs to be making enemies right now). I have had a couple of nuisance rabbits that didn't take the hint to stay away and one made a pretty good stew. Next on my list are the squirrels that keep eating my avocados. Clean shooting with plenty sufficient knock out power, even at 5 or 6 pumps. Surprising quality. Fun gun. Not all that difficult to pump, but I might put some thin padding under the pump handle to quiet down the clack that comes with pumping.

Things I would have changed: Don't know that I would change it, but, that barrel stuck out there unsupported seems a little strange. Hope I don't ever drop it.

What others should know: I was a little hesitant buying a Chinese gun, but I'm really pleased with what I see so far.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-05-30 19:46:02

Things I liked: I like that there is now another option for adults who want a pump rifle. As a pump you don't have learn any special holding techniques like a springer. I like that I can mount a scope to it without special barrel clamps like you wold have to with the closest competitors. The dragonfly allows for disassembly so you can tinker with the inside if you want. It's as accurate as the .22 cal. Stoeger I bought for the same price out to 40 yards but obviously can't touch my .25 cal. Fx Crown in any measure outside of cost.

Things I would have changed: There isn't enough support for the barrel with just the receiver screws and I had to shim insert a shim between the rear sight band and the barrel so that the band would actually tighten to the barrel. I'd ditch the front sight and replace it with a moderator. and with out the front sight there would be no need for the rear sight so the barrel band could be drilled and taped for another set screw for additional barrel support, no more need for shim.

What others should know: It needs to be taken apart to clean out all the gummed up grease. Good thing that it comes with spare o-rings, especially since both o-rings on the barrel had been cut and rolled during assembly. Now the whole thing works better including feeding pellets. Before cleaning the pellets would hangup pretty bad while feeding. Also, when I got it it pumped very easy and then rapidly got to the point I almost couldn't pump more than 5 times. come to find out, the nut on the piston that controls the pump stroke was loose. It's pumping now with no more effort than my 2100 and I'm getting a consistant 515 fps +/-5 with 4 pumps and 590 fps +/- 5 when pushing JSB .22 cal 13.43 gr. Groups at 30 yards, well, I can get 5 out of 7 in about 3/4" with two flyers in just about every magazine worth of pellets. I'm thinking that I need to try some groups with the single shot tray.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Maco from USA on 2018-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made a deadly accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it would shoot about 700fps in a .22 cal. Wish it had 2 mags included. Scope rail a little too short.

    What others should know: Great gun a super fun. Worth the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Well I am biased about airguns but this is a capital idea.... wood stock, pump up design (poor man's pcp), and indexing magazine.... how can you lose. I never thought I would see a new contender for the old Benjamin crown, but here it is. 177 or 22, you choose but you cannot lose.... 177 will be flatter shooting but the 22 can generate 12.6 FPE. And as a bonus, variable power. So you can plink, pest, and even (within limits) hunt small game... a refreshing offering in the brave new world we find ourselves in of "PCP's"... Oh, and I just have to say again... WOOD STOCK...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing is perfect, right.... at least that"s the saying. I can state the usual; it could use more power (sorry, I think it is mandatory or something in reviews), but really the only issue is the scope rail. It's a little short, not much to play with. And if I am being nit-picky, it needs taller mounts than I like to use.... but these are very small issues considering the value contained here. Sure I would like to see a rifle like this hit 750 FPS in 22 caliber but will I really??? Overall this is a great gun...

    What others should know: Not really, other than this belongs in everyone's collection...

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: A multi pump you want to keep. The wood and metal components really bring this gun together. it's got a great look too, very classic. love it for that. the magazine is very nice to have, magnetically holds in place, trigger is good. Need to shoot it more to really get a feel for accuracy, don't think i've found it's pellet yet. My son can get one pump into it, which is actually just fine for 10 yard plinking (i usually do two pumps), its a bit of struggle for him, but he can do it (he's 5). Definitely is a multi pump that your kids (10+) will enjoy and you will too. And after years go by and they find it in the attic they will be all over it again.

    Things I would have changed: I have a williams peep hole sight for a dove tail, you slide it on, and the rails of the Dragonfly were too big, works fine for scope mounts, but not anything that slides on (had to use a wood block and hammer to get the stock rear sight off, it is just friction mounted on). Safety was wicked stiff, easy to change, one bolt to drop the trigger guard and safety, back the grub screw out as far as it will go, if thats not enough remove the spring and crush it a little, much smoother now. Don't like that you have to cock the gun to pump it (i understand why it needs to be, but i still don't like it). You can cock it back and not cycle the bolt forward, so a pellet isn't loaded while you pump for added safety.

    What others should know: I bought this looking for a first gun for my son (he is only 5 so he'll have to grow into anything i get him). Two things i over looked: multi pumps are finger pinchers and the cocking is very stiff at the last 1/4 inch and makes it hard for him to cycle. I made my own mods to fix these: A piece of pipe fabricated to slide over the barrel and butt up to the rear sight and epoxied onto the air chamber gives my son a place to hold without squeezing the barrel (and me, when i go past 3 pumps. I'm a capable fellow for strength, and after 3 pumps you want a better place to hold than the hand grip for leverage). For cocking i drilled a hole in the portion of the bolt that always stick out the rear and threaded a t-handle into it, my son can grab that and pull it easily, i even find myself using it alot. i will be posting photos of these mods on AirgunNation soon

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful rifle. Velocity with CPHP 14.3g. 3 pumps-515 fps. 4 pumps- 574 fps. 5 pumps-641 fps. 6 pumps-686 fps. 7 pumps-713 fps. 8 pumps-739 fps.Way above the claimed velocity. Excellent factory box with extra seal kit, full Styrofoam package. Beautiful graphics on box. Double boxed very well and on time.

    Things I would have changed: Extra mag for free.

    What others should know: Crunchy upon loading the pellet. Might be hitting the breech seals.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price, accuracy and quality. For the money, its a bargain!

    Things I would have changed: There's no detent on the bolt. The only thing that keeps it tight is when there is a pellet seated in the breach. For a pump that requires 40-50Lb of force, I'd have beefed up the linkage with a stamped swale to give the steel a little more rigidity. The rear sight could be better. The barrel breach needs some smoothing so that the pellets don't catch and jam. Even round nose pellets get stuck if you don't slap the bolt closed quickly. I've pushed 3 or 4 back out with a cleaning rod and there was a half moon cut into the nose of the pellet where the sharp breach caught it.

    What others should know: It shoots as good as I do with open sights. That's all I really wanted! It's powerful and accurate enough for me to do what I have to around the farm. After 500 rounds, I'll strip it down for a thorough cleaning and I'll fix that feeding issue. Other than my few small gripes, it's a GREAT little gun!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sal from USA on 2018-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have been waiting for an air rifle like this for a Long time !! Metal dovetail grooves for a scope are a big plus!! Pumping is difficult at first but after 100 shots or so, less effort is needed and it feels smoother. Feels very good when handling, which is important when taking a quick shot out the back door at some pesky digging chipmunk or rabbit ! I did some accuracy and chronograph tests with only the Crossman premier domed 14.3 grain and was very pleased. Groups at 20 yards averaged under an inch for 5 shot groups, and at 6 pumps my chronograph showed around 650 FPS with the 22 cal which surpassed by quite a bit what shows in the specs for the Dragonfly !! Wow, I was impressed. Also at 3 pumps I got 500 FPS which is good for the wife, as I don't think she could easily get past 3 pumps! The trigger was a bit disappointing, but I didn't expect a match grade trigger for the price I paid. Very useable trigger though, maybe 4# .

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger pull a bit lighter, I guess my trigger was about 4# . A Total surprise every time when squeezing the trigger, it gives no indication when its about to release...just keep squeezing and keep on target the best you can and it does the job. Also when cocking the bolt, sometimes it wont engage with the sear....but the solution is to put the gun on safety first, then cock the bolt. Works every time that way !!

    What others should know: This is what we have all been waiting for, a pump up air gun with a solid dovetail metal dovetail mount !! Makes it awkward to pump with a scope attached though, but the solid grooves are there if you want more accuracy with a scope!! I like having the choice of open sights or scope, and have not been impressed with the Benjamin pump rifle scope mount accessory which no doubt would cause you to lose zero every few shots! Maybe in the future Benjamin can improve on this, and add dovetails without changing their time proven design too much?

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Received the .22 cal version a couple of weeks ago and haven't put more than 20 shots through it. Pretty accurate right out of the box. With the shooting I do, I don't think I'll need a scope, but that might be fun. We'll see. Can't give it a thorough testing, just a couple of shots at a time at one sitting because of complaining neighbors, and I respect that. (No one in any part of the shooting community needs to be making enemies right now). I have had a couple of nuisance rabbits that didn't take the hint to stay away and one made a pretty good stew. Next on my list are the squirrels that keep eating my avocados. Clean shooting with plenty sufficient knock out power, even at 5 or 6 pumps. Surprising quality. Fun gun. Not all that difficult to pump, but I might put some thin padding under the pump handle to quiet down the clack that comes with pumping.

    Things I would have changed: Don't know that I would change it, but, that barrel stuck out there unsupported seems a little strange. Hope I don't ever drop it.

    What others should know: I was a little hesitant buying a Chinese gun, but I'm really pleased with what I see so far.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about this little rifle screams quality! Clean lines, sharp stock, very nice finish on both the metal and wood. The trigger is nice, it is not terribly hard to pump, and feels really good against your shoulder. Five shot groups under a quarter at 27 yards in under 30 shots. The multi shot magazine will help when i get into the woods after bushy tails, no more fumbling with single pellets in the cold. I have hunted with and shot all manner of air guns for over 40 years, and i have not had this much fun shooting since i was a kid.

    Things I would have changed: Not a complaint, but FYI you will need to swab the bore thoroughly before the accuracy will settle in and be consistent. I would not change anything about the Dragonfly, but i would definitely purchase one sooner if i got a do over.

    What others should know: This may be the best value $$ in a high quality multi pump air gun on the market right now. I love it!! Air Venturi got everything right with this one!! Thanks to Pyramid Air for expedient service, and solid packaging, it arrived safely and undamaged due to the solid packaging.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that there is now another option for adults who want a pump rifle. As a pump you don't have learn any special holding techniques like a springer. I like that I can mount a scope to it without special barrel clamps like you wold have to with the closest competitors. The dragonfly allows for disassembly so you can tinker with the inside if you want. It's as accurate as the .22 cal. Stoeger I bought for the same price out to 40 yards but obviously can't touch my .25 cal. Fx Crown in any measure outside of cost.

    Things I would have changed: There isn't enough support for the barrel with just the receiver screws and I had to shim insert a shim between the rear sight band and the barrel so that the band would actually tighten to the barrel. I'd ditch the front sight and replace it with a moderator. and with out the front sight there would be no need for the rear sight so the barrel band could be drilled and taped for another set screw for additional barrel support, no more need for shim.

    What others should know: It needs to be taken apart to clean out all the gummed up grease. Good thing that it comes with spare o-rings, especially since both o-rings on the barrel had been cut and rolled during assembly. Now the whole thing works better including feeding pellets. Before cleaning the pellets would hangup pretty bad while feeding. Also, when I got it it pumped very easy and then rapidly got to the point I almost couldn't pump more than 5 times. come to find out, the nut on the piston that controls the pump stroke was loose. It's pumping now with no more effort than my 2100 and I'm getting a consistant 515 fps +/-5 with 4 pumps and 590 fps +/- 5 when pushing JSB .22 cal 13.43 gr. Groups at 30 yards, well, I can get 5 out of 7 in about 3/4" with two flyers in just about every magazine worth of pellets. I'm thinking that I need to try some groups with the single shot tray.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jeffrey from USA on 2018-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got the .22. and it is quite accurate. I thought I might scope it but so far I really like the sights that came on it and been very happy shooting that way. I have been using this with the single shot tray, so far I have only tried the magazine once as its a bit fidgety to load.

    Things I would have changed: it is just as hard to pump as any of the classic pumpers by Sheridan, Benjamin or crosman. The magazine is a bit of a pain to load or maybe I need more practice at it. after each shot it makes a strange whistle sound as the air discharges.

    What others should know: Nice rifle and well worth the price. I'm tempted to try it in .177 also.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2018-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun feels and looks solid. It is accurate, I tied a couple of different pellets, this gun liked the 4.52 best shooting them into one hole at 10 yards and 1/2" at 30 Yards, with a cheap bsa scope and over the hood of a truck.

    Things I would have changed: rear sight quality does not match the rest of the guns quality. The magnet that holds the pellet loading block and the clip/magazine in place should be a lot stronger. A more crisp trigger.

    What others should know: Overall the gun seem to be a good value. It is will not easy to pump/charge if you are not somewhat fit.

     
Navigation