Date: 14/11/2018 11:24
0

Umarex Legends MP40. 2251813. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (93 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By PAUL from USA on 2017-05-26 23:02:33

Things I liked: The MP40 is a real pleasant surprise. It exceeded my expectations. The fit and finish along with the weight and feel of the gun is excellent! It is surprising accurate for a BB gun. While I haven't put it through my chronograph, it's shooting straight and hitting the target hard at 15 yards. I'm a springer fan and use to shooting my higher priced pellet air guns such as my HW97K, Beeman R9, RWS 48, and RWS K98. All of which can shoot one hole accuracy at 15 yds. The MP40 is not that type of air gun, but for much less than 1/2 the price, it's not only an excellent replica, it's a whole lot of fun to shoot!

Things I would have changed: I wish the retention spring for the bb's had a notch that would lock it in place for loading. As it is, you have to hold it back with your finger when loading the bb's. Not a big deal, just makes it a little awkward.

What others should know: The MP40 is an excellent value for the money. I'd highly recommend buying CO2 cartridges in the 40 pack. The temptation to shoot this gun on full auto is strong. Although with the blow back effect, even the semi auto is a hoot.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-07-29 17:18:25

Things I liked: Its full auto

Things I would have changed: Easier to load and co2 should last longer

What others should know: Its fun but a pain in the ass to load and keep firing. Needs some tweaking

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works flawlessly with Air Venturi Steel BBs. You can hold load gate back with a piece of welding rod or coat hanger wire and it loads very fast and easy. Double CO2 cartridges last longer than expected. So fun...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing... It's perfect! With a couple small cuts you can even fit three clips inside original box with gun without anything touching and no rattles (2 above, 1 below).

    What others should know: So fun people get very excited therefore a little extra attention to safety and a quick talk before and then during excitement is NEEDED!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First and foremost is the gun's realism and it is extremely fun to shoot. I suggest a little silicone grease for the inside of the mag, a very thin film will do. Before doing that I took some 500 grit emery cloth and ran it in the mag especially where the top part of the mag meets the bottom part. Once I did that I was loading and firing 50 rounds without a jam. Prior to that little fix, I was limited to 40 rounds in the mag.

    Things I would have changed: Put a spring lock on the feeder spring in the mag. I made a wedge to hold the spring-feed back while loading. That and a speed-loader makes refilling the mag a breeze.

    What others should know: Take your time filling the mag with BBs and over 90% of them will stagger in the mag properly. As long as you don't try dumping all the BBs at once, simply tipping the mag back and forth will get the un-staggered BBs staggering properly.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Don from USA on 2018-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is literally a blast to shoot. The gun itself is remarkably similar to the real MP40 - I have handled and shot the real deal. The weight, feel, look and features could pass for the real gun. The operation of weapon is almost like the real one. I have shot it with my grandsons and they have had a great time, although they wear me our reloading and replacing the CO2 cartridges. I have not had a jam. I am only loading 40 BBs as recommended, which probably has helped. The price is not bad at all when you consider the quality, realism and operation of this historical weapon. I wish Umarex would also make an automatic Thompson.

    Things I would have changed: The difficulty in loading the magazine is a challenge. Umarex would do well to design a loader (as for some other similar autos) to be provided. At nearly $50.00, spare magazines are not practical. The only other feature I found that could be improved is the safety/fire selector. It is very difficult to slide the safety/fire (very stiff) without having to turn the gun up and wrestle the slide. This can invite mishandling and losing muzzle control. It is hard for me to do (safely) and my youngest grandchild cannot manipulate it.

    What others should know: Anyone who enjoys historical firearms should take a look at this weapon. The vast majority of gun enthusiast, shooters and collectors cannot legally own and shoot fully automatic weapons (unless they have very hard to obtain Class 3 license). Full automatic firearms are also VERY expensive. I've not seen any MP40s on the market, but Thompsons, M16s, MP5s, etc., cost in the range of $10,000.00 - $30,000.00 and more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By N holcomb on 2018-10-05
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great gun lots of fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Mags are heavy

    What others should know: keep up the good work and put in a show room with a test range PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2018-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a heavy and fun to shoot rifle the full auto is something I have never tried on a BB rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Someway to make it a little easier to fill

    What others should know: For it a blast to shoot on full auto.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: looks and feels like the real deal. scares every one at the gun range at first look,

    Things I would have changed: maybe an option on a straight line BB mag, if you own one you will know what i mean

    What others should know: use steel BBs spray some silicone lube on the BBs before you shoot

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Louis from USA on 2018-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks and feel. Fires OK and is accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Change how to load magazine. Spring latch on magazine is to small and hard to hold while loading the BBs. Can not load magazine to the max stated on directions. It only shoots well with about 20 BBs loaded. Make a larger CO2 cartridge to last longer.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My Grandson loved it

    Things I would have changed: add a second clip :) I'm not made of money you know. :)

    What others should know: Do NOT try and use copper BB's

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2018-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Unit feels substantial and realistic at approximately 7.5 lbs. Seems well made with mostly steel construction. Nothing floppy or cheaply constructed that I can see. Shoots reliably and POI is POA at 10 yards. Groups nicely on automatic. Lots of fun for me and the grandkids.

    Things I would have changed: Loading spring retractor is a little shallow and hard to hold back while loading BB's for me. Would like to see a tad more height on the retractor to be able to hold it back or a tool to assist in this function.

    What others should know: I get about 4 full loads of 45 BB's each on a pair of CO2 cartridges. Last load starts to fall off in intensity a bit but totally usable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is a blast to shoot , squirrels are freaking out.

    Things I would have changed: Should include sling with gun.

    What others should know: Grab a speed loader , makes it much easier to load.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything works great feels and looks like a Real one it does not like copper head bb's so i am going to switch to a diff brand

    What others should know: dont use copper head bb's it has feeding probs with them for some reason

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jan from USA on 2018-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great gun for fun shooting! You cannot help but grin while firing it in fully automatic mode. The accuracy is quite good in semi-auto mode, but it seems that as the CO2 charge cools during full auto fire, the POI shifts low, especially after the first magazine. I found I could get three magazines of 50 BB's (yes, I limited the load due to reviews about full auto functioning) before seeing a noticeable change in functioning, so that works out to 150 rounds with a combo of semi and full auto fire. The magazine double stack design had me grumbling at first - if you don't take care to stack the BB's symmetrically, you will experience problems. The gun will fire with no BB's coming out. Once I took the time to make a holder out of coat hanger wire (took 5 minutes) to hold the magazine spring back, and loaded the BB's one by one taking care to stack the BB's symmetrically, I experienced zero malfunctions!! Now the shooting got fun! Buy 2 magazines to save time loading!

    Things I would have changed: The magazine design is very finicky. You cannot really use a speed loader to load it, because you have to insure symmetry in the double stack. I would work on a mag re-design. It doubles reloading time to have to load BB's one at a time and rock the mag side to side in between each to ensure symmetry.

    What others should know: Buy it, if you're looking for a "just plain fun" gun to shoot. You won't be disappointed!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works, looks great! I get approximately three magazines per CO2 canisters. Quite accurate until it goes low on gas.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Bought this to practice at home to keep up my skills for the range and my "real guns". I'd love to have an original but alas...Maybe an STG44 in BB would complement it. Come on, Umarex!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid authentic feel. Awesome full auto just sprays.

    Things I would have changed: Clip spring hold for reloading.

    What others should know: My mp40 has had about 90 clips discharged in it by now. I'm very pleased with it, it does everything as expected. If the clip jams and dumps co2 while shooting, just switch to the Umarex BBs they really work better in the gun. Since I switched from Daisy to Umarex BBs the gun has not jammed once. The more vertical the clip is when loading BBs the better they stack. A little lube in the clip doesn't hurt. Also the gun did do a single discharge while loading a clip. The safety was on. This has happened twice. Overall its been cool, if anything happened to my mp40 BB gun I would have to buy another.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vance from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's NOT to like. I've wanted an MP40 my entire life since my father served in Germany during World War II. Who could afford one until this came along? It shoots well and is an accurate hose. You can't tell the difference between it and a real one just feet away. Puts a grin on my face every time. Got a second one for my son-in-law. Grandkids love it. Never had a problem with it. Dreams happen.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: In the 1950’s, guns got my attention. Movies featured good guys against the bad guys. Our enemies of World War II had the coolest weapons, however. What kid with a built-in neighborhood army wouldn’t want to play bang bang, shoot ‘em up? I carved, whittled, and sawed wood to try to replicate the German MP40 submachine gun but nothing worked until Pyramyd brought the Umarex Legends MP40 to the forefront. It’s 65 years too late to win skirmishes except those in my vivid imagination but that’s enough. My family now owns two of these semi-automatic/full auto, steel BB flinging, masterpieces. The look, feel, heft, and performance of these full-sized machine pistols make me want to go back in time. Still, with my MP40 hanging on my wall, I can grab it, take out Tiger Tanks, shoot down Messerschmitt’s, and even sink battleships drawn on targets. I do this at will with my Umarex Legends CO2 paper shredder. It’s a blast.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love this gun! It's everything and more that I expected. The MP40 is pure fun especially on full auto! And surprisingly it will kill a squirrel from about 10-15 feet out! Lol!

    Things I would have changed: Like everyone else, the loading is a pain. But I made a hold back for the loader. Works great and both my hands are free to load. So now it's not so bad.

    What others should know: It's a great little gun... And I highly recommend it! It will also put food on the table of times were to get really hard. Praying that it doesn't!! Have fun y'all!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brody on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good construction, Looks very real, fires great. Definitely worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Front sling loop is on the wrong side but is an easy fix.

    What others should know: I bought the refurbished legends MP-40 and was worried because of all the negative comments but when it arrived all that went away. Gun works great, had problems with co2 leaking from the magazine but some pellgunoil on the tip of each co2 cartridge fixed it. Definitely a great buy to shoot of just for decoration.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By wnij from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: a blast to shoot.feels just like the real thing.

    Things I would have changed: as with a lot of others the magazine is fussy,jams , shood hold more bb's.

    What others should know: you should lube the bb run in the clip.less foul ups.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its full auto!!!!!! I don't actually own this but I have shot one a couple of times it is so much fun you really can't beat auti BB guns

    Things I would have changed: I should own this

    What others should know: Mags mags mags any BB gun with auto needs more mags

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bobby from USA on 2018-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks like the real thing. Load it up point it at the target pull the triger and you will be happy you own a legends MP40!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I am happy with what I got.

    What others should know: Get plenty of ammo and co2!

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation