Date: 20/9/2018 23:8
0

Umarex Legends MP40 CO2 BB Submachine Gun reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (86 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By PAUL from USA on 2017-05-26 23:02:33

Things I liked: The MP40 is a real pleasant surprise. It exceeded my expectations. The fit and finish along with the weight and feel of the gun is excellent! It is surprising accurate for a BB gun. While I haven't put it through my chronograph, it's shooting straight and hitting the target hard at 15 yards. I'm a springer fan and use to shooting my higher priced pellet air guns such as my HW97K, Beeman R9, RWS 48, and RWS K98. All of which can shoot one hole accuracy at 15 yds. The MP40 is not that type of air gun, but for much less than 1/2 the price, it's not only an excellent replica, it's a whole lot of fun to shoot!

Things I would have changed: I wish the retention spring for the bb's had a notch that would lock it in place for loading. As it is, you have to hold it back with your finger when loading the bb's. Not a big deal, just makes it a little awkward.

What others should know: The MP40 is an excellent value for the money. I'd highly recommend buying CO2 cartridges in the 40 pack. The temptation to shoot this gun on full auto is strong. Although with the blow back effect, even the semi auto is a hoot.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Robert from USA on 2018-07-29 17:18:25

Things I liked: Its full auto

Things I would have changed: Easier to load and co2 should last longer

What others should know: Its fun but a pain in the ass to load and keep firing. Needs some tweaking

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2018-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My Grandson loved it

    Things I would have changed: add a second clip :) I'm not made of money you know. :)

    What others should know: Do NOT try and use copper BB's

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2018-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Unit feels substantial and realistic at approximately 7.5 lbs. Seems well made with mostly steel construction. Nothing floppy or cheaply constructed that I can see. Shoots reliably and POI is POA at 10 yards. Groups nicely on automatic. Lots of fun for me and the grandkids.

    Things I would have changed: Loading spring retractor is a little shallow and hard to hold back while loading BB's for me. Would like to see a tad more height on the retractor to be able to hold it back or a tool to assist in this function.

    What others should know: I get about 4 full loads of 45 BB's each on a pair of CO2 cartridges. Last load starts to fall off in intensity a bit but totally usable.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is a blast to shoot , squirrels are freaking out.

    Things I would have changed: Should include sling with gun.

    What others should know: Grab a speed loader , makes it much easier to load.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything works great feels and looks like a Real one it does not like copper head bb's so i am going to switch to a diff brand

    What others should know: dont use copper head bb's it has feeding probs with them for some reason

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jan from USA on 2018-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great gun for fun shooting! You cannot help but grin while firing it in fully automatic mode. The accuracy is quite good in semi-auto mode, but it seems that as the CO2 charge cools during full auto fire, the POI shifts low, especially after the first magazine. I found I could get three magazines of 50 BB's (yes, I limited the load due to reviews about full auto functioning) before seeing a noticeable change in functioning, so that works out to 150 rounds with a combo of semi and full auto fire. The magazine double stack design had me grumbling at first - if you don't take care to stack the BB's symmetrically, you will experience problems. The gun will fire with no BB's coming out. Once I took the time to make a holder out of coat hanger wire (took 5 minutes) to hold the magazine spring back, and loaded the BB's one by one taking care to stack the BB's symmetrically, I experienced zero malfunctions!! Now the shooting got fun! Buy 2 magazines to save time loading!

    Things I would have changed: The magazine design is very finicky. You cannot really use a speed loader to load it, because you have to insure symmetry in the double stack. I would work on a mag re-design. It doubles reloading time to have to load BB's one at a time and rock the mag side to side in between each to ensure symmetry.

    What others should know: Buy it, if you're looking for a "just plain fun" gun to shoot. You won't be disappointed!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2018-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works, looks great! I get approximately three magazines per CO2 canisters. Quite accurate until it goes low on gas.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Bought this to practice at home to keep up my skills for the range and my "real guns". I'd love to have an original but alas...Maybe an STG44 in BB would complement it. Come on, Umarex!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid authentic feel. Awesome full auto just sprays.

    Things I would have changed: Clip spring hold for reloading.

    What others should know: My mp40 has had about 90 clips discharged in it by now. I'm very pleased with it, it does everything as expected. If the clip jams and dumps co2 while shooting, just switch to the Umarex BBs they really work better in the gun. Since I switched from Daisy to Umarex BBs the gun has not jammed once. The more vertical the clip is when loading BBs the better they stack. A little lube in the clip doesn't hurt. Also the gun did do a single discharge while loading a clip. The safety was on. This has happened twice. Overall its been cool, if anything happened to my mp40 BB gun I would have to buy another.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vance from USA on 2018-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's NOT to like. I've wanted an MP40 my entire life since my father served in Germany during World War II. Who could afford one until this came along? It shoots well and is an accurate hose. You can't tell the difference between it and a real one just feet away. Puts a grin on my face every time. Got a second one for my son-in-law. Grandkids love it. Never had a problem with it. Dreams happen.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: In the 1950’s, guns got my attention. Movies featured good guys against the bad guys. Our enemies of World War II had the coolest weapons, however. What kid with a built-in neighborhood army wouldn’t want to play bang bang, shoot ‘em up? I carved, whittled, and sawed wood to try to replicate the German MP40 submachine gun but nothing worked until Pyramyd brought the Umarex Legends MP40 to the forefront. It’s 65 years too late to win skirmishes except those in my vivid imagination but that’s enough. My family now owns two of these semi-automatic/full auto, steel BB flinging, masterpieces. The look, feel, heft, and performance of these full-sized machine pistols make me want to go back in time. Still, with my MP40 hanging on my wall, I can grab it, take out Tiger Tanks, shoot down Messerschmitt’s, and even sink battleships drawn on targets. I do this at will with my Umarex Legends CO2 paper shredder. It’s a blast.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love this gun! It's everything and more that I expected. The MP40 is pure fun especially on full auto! And surprisingly it will kill a squirrel from about 10-15 feet out! Lol!

    Things I would have changed: Like everyone else, the loading is a pain. But I made a hold back for the loader. Works great and both my hands are free to load. So now it's not so bad.

    What others should know: It's a great little gun... And I highly recommend it! It will also put food on the table of times were to get really hard. Praying that it doesn't!! Have fun y'all!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brody on 2018-08-15
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good construction, Looks very real, fires great. Definitely worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Front sling loop is on the wrong side but is an easy fix.

    What others should know: I bought the refurbished legends MP-40 and was worried because of all the negative comments but when it arrived all that went away. Gun works great, had problems with co2 leaking from the magazine but some pellgunoil on the tip of each co2 cartridge fixed it. Definitely a great buy to shoot of just for decoration.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By wnij from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: a blast to shoot.feels just like the real thing.

    Things I would have changed: as with a lot of others the magazine is fussy,jams , shood hold more bb's.

    What others should know: you should lube the bb run in the clip.less foul ups.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its full auto!!!!!! I don't actually own this but I have shot one a couple of times it is so much fun you really can't beat auti BB guns

    Things I would have changed: I should own this

    What others should know: Mags mags mags any BB gun with auto needs more mags

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bobby from USA on 2018-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks like the real thing. Load it up point it at the target pull the triger and you will be happy you own a legends MP40!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I am happy with what I got.

    What others should know: Get plenty of ammo and co2!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lora from USA on 2018-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely Realistic. Very Fun and a awesome thing to amaze your friends. Surprisingly accurate. Reliable and Durable(especially for a bb gun). High FPS. And best of all, it it open bolt and blowback operated!

    Things I would have changed: The front sling mount position is on the wrong side(unlike the real mp40), but this is easy to fix. smooth out the bb channel so the bbs wont jam.

    What others should know: The only problem you will likely ever face with this gun is the magazine, such as the follower warping on the silver metal when it gets close to the top of the mag over time(just use WD-40 once every month to prevent this). But this gun has never failed on me and i've had it for 1 year now, and will likely never break with good care. Tip: if you try to take off the outer barrel to rotate the front sling mount(after taking the pin and screw out) and the barrel doesn't seem to come off, just pull on it real hard and it will slide off. I hope this review will help someone with this gun. The Trigger is a bit heavy also.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2018-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice toy / fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: remove safety and semi auto in the interest of historical correctness.

    What others should know: Much much cheaper / safer to shoot, than my real MP40......

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2018-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The overall weight of this gun is amazing, it's appearance is awesome and the fit and finish are top notch, delighted with my purchase...

    Things I would have changed: I see nothing I would change, it's a perfect product....

    What others should know: If you're interested in historical weapons,this one is a must it's the closest thing to the real weapon you will ever find....

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its full auto

    Things I would have changed: Easier to load and co2 should last longer

    What others should know: Its fun but a pain in the ass to load and keep firing. Needs some tweaking

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its full auto

    Things I would have changed: Easier to load and co2 should last longer

    What others should know: Its fun but a pain in the ass to load and keep firing. Needs some tweaking

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2018-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate replica. Its got a solid, heavy feel with all the metal components. The accuracy is excellent. Sounds and feels cool to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine spring is kinda hard to hold while filling it with BBs. The branding is confusing, is it a Umarex or a Legends?

    What others should know: The Umarex mp40 is fun to shoot and everybody thinks its a hoot. I'll probably have this thing for years and years.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2018-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: "IT!"......ALL OF IT!!!

    Things I would have changed: "Nuttin"! with this model, But I really wish that Uramex would build/add the M3 Army "Grease Gun" to their legends line.

    What others should know: As a follow-up to my previous post, THIS THING IS AWSOME!!!! I read the reviews addressing the feed problems, but in my initial test firing (500+ rounds) I had absolutely no feed issues. I fired all "Full" mags and could fire 3 mags (150 BB's) before CO2 went too low. I also Chronographed as I tested, and it is pretty close to the 465 FPS that is advertised. I take temperatures and firing rate into consideration here and am comfortable with my end results. I averaged 387-470 FPS throughout my testing. Who could argue with that?! I have friends interested in getting one now that they have seen my testing and personal videos. GREAT GUN!!!

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation