Date: 16/10/2018 19:52
0

Umarex Octane Air Rifle Kit, Gas Piston reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (5 reviews)
3 star2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gerald from USA on 2016-11-24 12:01:51

Things I liked: Just received a .22 cal. Put a 6-24x50 scope on it zeroed in 11 shots at 50 yards it shoots a dime at 50 cocks smooth looks good in 61 and it's easy enough a bit more then my prowler as for power wow. 1.5 inch plywood at 50 yards then into the woods great gun great price

Things I would have changed: It's a bit heavy and I think the front of the stock could be rounder

What others should know: Buy one it's a great gun I will update this review after 200 shots good hunting

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Andreas from Switzerland on 2015-11-13 18:10:42

Things I liked: Good looking rifle. After upgrading few things the rifle deserves 5 stars.

Things I would have changed: The Trigger is horrible!! Do the "trigger job" (see blog on Pyramydair) or buy a "Match Grade Trigger" on "Umarex Octane Yahoo Group" from Tim. Scope Looks nice, but the Quality is cheap.

What others should know: After 400 rounds the scope went bad. The accuracy was from beginning not really good. I buy the "10 test shots". The average FPS was 735 with JSB 13.43 gr. After 800 rounds the pellets have no power and hit all over the place. The piston seal was broken. If you outside US you can't get parts from Pyramyd Air, Umarex (USA, Germany, Austria) for the Octane. But you can use the VORTEX Proseal 28. In other words you have no Support outside USA for this rifle!! (you can send it back, but the shipping is too expensive from Switzerland... so you can buy the same gun again) After replace the scope, trigger and piston seal this rifle is the perfect! Deadly accuracy, high power, and smooth trigger!

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eli from USA on 2017-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Hits HARD, and very accurate. The included scope was OK, but when I installed a UTG scope as recommended by PA staff it turned into a great combo. I use it primarily for critter control and it works great. The integrated grip in the stock is very comfortable, and the gun has a unique look.

    Things I would have changed: As others have mentioned, this is not for kids or people with sore arms. It's heavy to carry, and tough to cock. I also wish they had included some method to mount a sling. It's good it has their silencer technology, because it's very loud :) Lastly, I didn't find the bipod useful at all.

    What others should know: I don't think you can go wrong for the money. The weight, tough cocking and noise it puts out is pretty typical for a magnum rifle, and it's a pussycat compared to my .25 Hatsan 125 Sniper. Save a few extra pennies and put a nicer scope on it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well made. Heavy and long but that is what I like in a gun. It seems to help me hold it more steady to aim. Excellent craftsmanship. Not a toy or a cheap feeling gun. The scope is very good for one that comes included. After the initial cleaning and break in it is very quite considering the power of the gun.

    Things I would have changed: Hard to cock. Maybe it has to be to get that amount of power but I have a bad right shoulder and I have to use my left arm to cock it. But I get it done. Not a gun to plink a couple hundred or more shots in a morning with. I would like to see it come with some sort of a sling. If you carry it in the woods for a few hours like I did last weekend it does tend to get rather heavy. I would like to see them reverse the safety. It is easy to release accidentally. Would make more sense and be a little safer to push the safety forward instead of pulling it back.

    What others should know: Make sure to clean the gun before you shoot it. If you don't the sound will scare the hell out of you. Lol. Also be sure to get a good hold on the fore grip when using the bipod. Don't rely of the bipod to hold it steady. The recoil will have your shots all over the board if you just let it rest on the bipod. This is my first magnum air gun and I was very impressed and satisfied with it. It shot great right out of the box. Had to do very little fine tuning on the scope but once you learn how to hold the gun it did a great job. The delivery time from Pyramid Air was very impressive, but if you have a question you would be better off calling since it took a full week to get an answer from them about a question I had using the e-mail. I'm just glad it wasn't anything important. Overall I am very happy with the gun and service from Pyramid.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2016-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Just received a .22 cal. Put a 6-24x50 scope on it zeroed in 11 shots at 50 yards it shoots a dime at 50 cocks smooth looks good in 61 and it's easy enough a bit more then my prowler as for power wow. 1.5 inch plywood at 50 yards then into the woods great gun great price

    Things I would have changed: It's a bit heavy and I think the front of the stock could be rounder

    What others should know: Buy one it's a great gun I will update this review after 200 shots good hunting

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rex from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This air rifle whacks with authority. Hard hitting .22. It is quite heavy however, and I would not buy this for a youth. Very hard to cock. That being said, I really like this one.

    Things I would have changed: Make it lighter and easier to cock.

    What others should know: If you are strong and don't mind toting a heavy rifle, this baby is for you. VERY accurate at all practical distances. This is a very tight shooter. I will probably buy another .22 lighter rifle for hunting; something a bit lighter. We have a backyard range and I love bench resting this rifle. Now experimenting with various projectiles to make it group even tighter, if that is possible.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Andreas from Switzerland on 2015-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good looking rifle. After upgrading few things the rifle deserves 5 stars.

    Things I would have changed: The Trigger is horrible!! Do the "trigger job" (see blog on Pyramydair) or buy a "Match Grade Trigger" on "Umarex Octane Yahoo Group" from Tim. Scope Looks nice, but the Quality is cheap.

    What others should know: After 400 rounds the scope went bad. The accuracy was from beginning not really good. I buy the "10 test shots". The average FPS was 735 with JSB 13.43 gr. After 800 rounds the pellets have no power and hit all over the place. The piston seal was broken. If you outside US you can't get parts from Pyramyd Air, Umarex (USA, Germany, Austria) for the Octane. But you can use the VORTEX Proseal 28. In other words you have no Support outside USA for this rifle!! (you can send it back, but the shipping is too expensive from Switzerland... so you can buy the same gun again) After replace the scope, trigger and piston seal this rifle is the perfect! Deadly accuracy, high power, and smooth trigger!

     
Navigation