Date: 23/10/2018 0:11
0

Walther MaximaThor Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (8 reviews)
2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary from USA on 2016-08-27 22:14:45

Things I liked: As a hunting rifle, the power and accuracy can not be beat. The Minelli stock is absolutely gorgeous! The gun balances itself. It does not have an automatic safety! I can't confirm this, but it may be regulated. Trigger is crisp with no creep.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: I could not be happier with this rifle. It has power that just doesn't stop, and the accuracy is superb. I first tested it with a Hawke 4-12x50 scope at 20 yards and it punched a 6mm group about .75 inches away from the bull with no adjustment. I have yet to take it out to the range for further testing. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it did not have an automatic safety which I find irritating during hunting excursions. The overall quality of the build is typically German and precise. The wood is beautiful and could pass for an American walnut stock with sharp and precise checkering. I did find a reference in an Australian publication that this rifle (as is the Rotek) is a regulated gas system. I have not run enough rounds through it to confirm this claim, but will confirm or deny this issue in a future update. The trigger is adjustable and breaks crisply without any creep. All in all, a great gun!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By David from USA on 2018-05-25 12:21:34

Things I liked: I received a maximathor in January 2018 in .25 caliber. It initially functioned well and I was very pleased with the fit and finish. However it was very heavy and so loud I could not shoot it in my backyard. An fx moderator did little to reduce the sound. It stopped functioning in April and would not cock. It blew out its chamber sealing o ring about a month before the cocking failure. I contacted Umarex for warranty work and was given incorrect shipping information resulting in my removing the air cylinder at their instruction and later having to send the cylinder at an additional $35.00 shipping cost. Umarex didn't have parts and I am still waiting for the parts from Germany. My wait time as of 5/26/18 is six weeks and no end in sight. The gun should not have failed in the first 60 days as it did.

Things I would have changed: I would not buy another Walther air gun. I would not buy another Umarex product because their warranties are effectively non existent(costly shipping charges for obvious manufacturers defects, and failure to have parts for their products on hand). I chose this gun in large part because it was a German product--that was a mistake because it did not have German reputed quality. I have many other air guns including 2 marauders that have not failed to function flawlessly and be relatively light weight and very accurate, and one Kral puncher breaker that has worked well

What others should know: I am pleased with Pyramyd's sale of the gun, but I knew going in they wouldn't be servicing it--Umarex would be. I have dealt with Air Venturie before and they have always been excellent in their service. I would recommend that others not buy products to be serviced by Umarex and choose those .products to be serviced by Air Ventuie.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marcus from USA on 2018-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful craftmanship. This rifle is very well made, the bluing is top quality, the stock is graceful. Power. This rifle puts out some serious power. It .25 it packs a punch. The trigger is smooth, I still haven't played with adjustments, but right out of the box it is smooth. it does not break quite a crisp as I like, but I am sure some adjustment will fix this. The safety is also really easy to use. Most air guns have somewhat awkward or annoying safeties, but this one is very well made and easy to operate.

    Things I would have changed: add a shroud. Can't all of the manufacturer's agree on a single sized fill probe. This rifle has yet another size fill probe. It would be nice to either be a foster fitting or standardized fill probe.

    What others should know: So far accuracy seems good, but I need to get tests done at 25 and 50 yards to be able to comment for sure. Spare magazines are so far impossible to get. I contacted Umarex directly and they are out of stock and cannot back order them. Eventually I hope extra magazines will be available, but not now. The barrel is threaded 1/2 x 20 so adding a after market shroud or if you are lucky enough to live in a free state where you can own suppressors that would be a nice addition. I own a few airguns including most of the major manufacturers M-rods, hatsan, Kral, air force, Anschutz, Feinwerkbau and others and this rifle so far has the best bluing of any of them. Also fit and finish is immaculate too. The other airguns I have all shoot and have their plusses, etc. but this gun so far is one of the most classy and refined, especially for its price point. This is definitely a sleeper as it is nowhere near as popular as Mrods or others, but it gets my thumbs up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bushhead from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I was in the market for a quality 25 caliber air rifle capable of hunting small to medium game. After researching all my options, I came across the Walther MaximaThor 25 caliber. After receiving my air rifle, it was love at first glance. The rifle looked sleek as a greyhound and shouldered as quickly. The rifle came with a beautiful Minelli stock. The stock gave the rifle perfect balance and the deep checkering provided an excellent grip for those warm days. The rifle has a smooth and solid bolt action, not flimsy as some of the bolt actions out there. The metal rotary magazine comes in and out as smoothly as the bolt action.The trigger is adjustable and comes out of the box set at 3 lbs, which I find perfect for hunting. As far as accuracy, I put pellets through the same hole at over 60 yards.This airgun comes with a Lothar Walther barrel and has a threaded capped end making it easy to add a suppressor.

    Things I would have changed: As far as the airgun nothing but there should be more then one pellet magazine with this airgun

    What others should know: As power goes, Im getting a reading over 900 fps from my chrony with a 28 grain pellet for over 20 shots. I am surprised that this air rifle has not been noticed by more airgunners. It is structurally solid and dependable. I have paid over twice the amount for air guns privately built that are of the same quality as the MaximaThor.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I received a maximathor in January 2018 in .25 caliber. It initially functioned well and I was very pleased with the fit and finish. However it was very heavy and so loud I could not shoot it in my backyard. An fx moderator did little to reduce the sound. It stopped functioning in April and would not cock. It blew out its chamber sealing o ring about a month before the cocking failure. I contacted Umarex for warranty work and was given incorrect shipping information resulting in my removing the air cylinder at their instruction and later having to send the cylinder at an additional $35.00 shipping cost. Umarex didn't have parts and I am still waiting for the parts from Germany. My wait time as of 5/26/18 is six weeks and no end in sight. The gun should not have failed in the first 60 days as it did.

    Things I would have changed: I would not buy another Walther air gun. I would not buy another Umarex product because their warranties are effectively non existent(costly shipping charges for obvious manufacturers defects, and failure to have parts for their products on hand). I chose this gun in large part because it was a German product--that was a mistake because it did not have German reputed quality. I have many other air guns including 2 marauders that have not failed to function flawlessly and be relatively light weight and very accurate, and one Kral puncher breaker that has worked well

    What others should know: I am pleased with Pyramyd's sale of the gun, but I knew going in they wouldn't be servicing it--Umarex would be. I have dealt with Air Venturie before and they have always been excellent in their service. I would recommend that others not buy products to be serviced by Umarex and choose those .products to be serviced by Air Ventuie.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By tom from USA on 2018-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The 1st one they sent me wouldn't hold air the air just came out the receiver and the barrel. The replacement varied about 40' per second in the 1st 20 shots after about a 100 shots it straightened out and seems to work OK.

    Things I would have changed: Regulated air.

    What others should know: I thought a German Walther would have better factory Quality control.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Faustino from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well balanced, beautiful stile , incredible accuracy . Great power ! Trigger is really good

    Things I would have changed: A little on the noisy side, it would be great if somebody come out with a Shrout or similar, not back yard friendly.

    What others should know: Perfect hunting air gun

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sam from USA on 2016-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate with 18.13 gr jsb pellets. Very nice trigger pull straight out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Gun is HEAVY. I like the weight when I shoot but not when I have to tote it through the woods hunting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By larry from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Balance , power, 26 grain chrony @ 100 bar- 844fps . From 200 bar shot count to 50 bar its the limit - is 80 shots at 30 yards.Yes still extreme accuracy at 80 shots and still braking this puppy in. i used one full tin diablo monster . The action and trigger are awesome!!!! Extremely well built. Has nothing that can go wrong with it like gimmicks like power adjustments or have to hit it with a hammer like the korean models to reset the valve. i cant imagine buying anything else ever again unless i needed semi-auto. btw lifetime warranty.

    Things I would have changed: ha ha ha NOTHING !!!

    What others should know: less than 5 minute fill from direct line to shoebox compresser

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Things I liked: As a hunting rifle, the power and accuracy can not be beat. The Minelli stock is absolutely gorgeous! The gun balances itself. It does not have an automatic safety! I can't confirm this, but it may be regulated. Trigger is crisp with no creep.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I could not be happier with this rifle. It has power that just doesn't stop, and the accuracy is superb. I first tested it with a Hawke 4-12x50 scope at 20 yards and it punched a 6mm group about .75 inches away from the bull with no adjustment. I have yet to take it out to the range for further testing. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it did not have an automatic safety which I find irritating during hunting excursions. The overall quality of the build is typically German and precise. The wood is beautiful and could pass for an American walnut stock with sharp and precise checkering. I did find a reference in an Australian publication that this rifle (as is the Rotek) is a regulated gas system. I have not run enough rounds through it to confirm this claim, but will confirm or deny this issue in a future update. The trigger is adjustable and breaks crisply without any creep. All in all, a great gun!

Navigation