Date: 15/6/2019 21:48
0

Weihrauch HW50S Breakbarrel. 403580. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (64 reviews)
3 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By FRANK P from USA on 2015-10-26 21:35:31

Things I liked: I got my HW50s during a sale and had it dropped shipped to John Thomas in PA for a tune. What I got is the most perfect air rifle I've owned to date. So far I've owned an HW30, 77, and 80 - all fine rifles... but the HW50s is just right for me. I'm big guy shooting recreationally on several acres, plinking 10-30m with open sights and this gun suits me better than any other springer or PCP yet. Finish and appearance is top-notch but I do recommend a tune job on any of these nicer rifles. Mine is smooth and moderate powered, not too heavy or clumsy, but not "too" light like an HW30. It's still stout enough not to be a kid's rifle. But not a beast like the field target models....

Things I would have changed: I've had a couple of tuned and a couple of stock HWs now and much prefer the tuned ones ;-p Out of the box the ones I've had needed a lot of shooting to smooth out.

What others should know: I think most adult males can cock this rifle all day long (put the butt on your thigh) and it delivers enough umph for backyard pesting in .177. Mine likes JSB Exact 8.4gr.

The most helpful critical review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-11 14:11:43

Things I liked: Finish, weight and overall feel of the gun.

Things I would have changed: The gun has needed to go in for repairs to correct manufacturing flaws twice in the three months that I've owned it. The internal workings of this gun are not well made.

What others should know: I would like to give this gun a 5-star review because when it is working it performs well for the money. But I purchased this gun in November and this is the second time I have had to send the rifle back for repair. The first time the trigger adjustment screw would not turn. I sent it back and did not have use of the gun for a few weeks. Today it suddenly lost all it's power and can barely get on paper at 10 yards. The first time I sent the gun back Pyramid covered shipping but I had to pay UPS around $25 for a box. Pyramid sent me a new gun and I used it for another month. Now Pyramid tells me they are seriously backed up and I probably won't get the gun back for another month, AND I have to pay for shipping this time which will probably be around $35 or so. So I'm out $60, a LOT of time, and since November the gun has spent as much time in the Pyramid repair shop as it has spent in my possession. I do not recommend this gun, and my experience with Pyramid Air over this purchase has not been very good.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralland from USA on 2019-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simply put, what's not to like. The HW50S is super accurate, has a great trigger, and is just the right weight for easy off-hand shooting. I refuse to buy an air-rifle without sights and have an intense dislike for fiber optic sights; fortunately the HW50S fits my criteria. The HW50S has a hooded front sight that accepts various inserts, and I can mount an easily adjustable Daisy Diopter on it..

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Be advised that the Daisy Diopter when mounted on the HW50S will have minimal downward adjustment when used at ten meters. The Diopter works great on the HW30S with plenty of adjustment both vertically and horizontally.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2019-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm a previous owner of a HW-30 so I'm familiar with the quality of the Weihrauch products. My recent HW-50 is an outstanding break-barrel air rifle. It flits me like a dream and it's very accurate. The rifle is perfect for my needs/wants and is a Great value. I highly recommend it.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Pay attention to the screws. The recoil will loosen them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2019-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm a previous owner of a HW-30 so I'm familiar with the quality of the Weihrauch products. My recent HW-50 is an outstanding break-barrel air rifle. It flits me like a dream and it's very accurate. The rifle is perfect for my needs/wants and is a Great value. I highly recommend it.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Pay attention to the screws. The recoil will loosen them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2019-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything, This gun is quickly becoming one of my favorite from my now 23 springers. Fit, finish, quality much lighter than my HW80 with plenty of power in .177. Accuracy puts a smile on my face after each shot. Mine is scoped with a 3x9x40 Centerpoint on a high mount to avoid removing front sight. Breaking in nicely to 1\4 spread at 25 yards....

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: After 100 shots replace innards with Vortek tuning spring kit. Now no twang at all nice crisp snap with very little recoil and shorter cocking stroke...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2018-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very smooth, and very accurate. A pleasure to shoot cant wait to try it out on some pigeons.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jimmy from USA on 2018-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Fiber optic front sight post would be nice

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2018-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: it's almost 5pm,, march7,, 2018,, i got my 22 cal hw50 about 2 hours ago,, with a hawke scope,, took it outside to my 25 yard range,, put 5 pellets through it,, i know i put 5 stars for accuracy,, i'll site it in over the weekend,, i'm sure accuracy isn't a problem,, but to all those that say cocking effort is a bit stout or difficult,, i am not hercules but i feel sorry for all of you that have issues with the cocking,, it's a piece of cake,,, no problems,, absolutely beautiful stock and bluing ,, i love it so far

    Things I would have changed: maybe the safety location but this is my first encounter with this style so i'm thinking it's just me needing to get used to it,,

    What others should know: this is my first german air rifle,, my next purchase will definitely be another weihrauch,, jerry eminger is the best,, he is my sales adviser for life,, anyone considering this rifle,, go for it,, top shelf of air rifles,, a work of art

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle is as advertised. Typical Weihrauch quality. Accuracy seems similar to my very accurate HW30s but may be too early to know.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I have read that some think this rifle is harder to cock than it should be. I have no issue with the cocking effort required.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2017-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the fell of this gun, balance and fit

    Things I would have changed: would like the ability to switch the trigger back to a safe position after the gun has been cocked

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I have owned this rifle in .22 and I have waited a year to report on it. This rifle is arguably the finest spring piston air rifle for the money you can buy. The rifle is simply a work of art from the stock to the open sights, to the trigger, and especially to the smooth performance after break-in.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the caliber. I wish I would have ordered this thing in .177 instead of .22, and I will explain why below.

    What others should know: Be advised, this rifle in .22 only gets about 500 fps or less with most average weight pellets, and in my opinion that restricts and limits this rifle to more of a plucking and close target application and somewhat weakens it's hunting and field application. Don't get me wrong, this thing is still very accurate in .22, and small game can be taken from close in . . but you will find yourself holding over several inches at targets beyond 25 yds. whereas the 700 fps speed of the .177 version will definitely flatten the trajectory of your shots and allow for a wider application and usage in my opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfonso from USA on 2016-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I cannot believe that this is a breakbarrel rifle considering how insanely accurate it is. I own several high quality springers like the AA 200TX, RWS 54 King and this rifle is as accurate. I needed a less expensive rifle to take care of a rat problem that I had in my office and didn't want to carry a rifle back and forth. I ordered an RWS 34 because I saw the high rating and low price. Ordered a Hawke air max scope and it had so much barrel droop that it was impossible to zero in. Caked Greg at PA and took care of replacing it right away. Mounted the scope and could not group anything smaller than 5" inches! Greg asked me to return the scope. New scope mounted same thing. We concluded it couldn't be the scope and he recommended replacing it w/ the HW50S. From the moment I opened the box I knew there would be a difference. Mounted scope and at 25 yds, nothing but dime size holes. Seriously this rifle is everything that the 34 is not. Excellent quality! Simple German engineering

    Things I would have changed: Wish it had a little more velocity. 100 FPS more, but haven't had problems nailing rats, so they may be onto something with this velocity.

    What others should know: Something is up with RWS/Diana 34 because I can't imagine that the bad luck I had with two of their rifles is normal, but nothing would surprise me nowadays as quality is beginning to take a back seat over profits. All I can say is the the HW50S is like a Mercedes compared to the RWS.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Got my HW50 last year. JBS Exact pellets Less then 5/16 inch groups at 25 yards. With 4x12 scope. Put over a 1000 rounds down range. I was thinking will this rifle shoot better with a Full tune and not have so much spring bounce and noise. I got on goggle looking into tune up. So I got a hold of John in PA. This is what he did. Befor the Tune. 10 shot strings FPS Average was 749.3. After the Tune 10 shot string FPS Average 798.3. Trigger tune is crisp. This is a hole deferent rifle in the way it shot out of the box. I am getting cloverleaf groups at 25 yards bench rest shooting and it shoots a lot quieter. I think the word is Tack Driver!

    Things I would have changed: After the tune nothing. Rodents beware there's a HW50 in town. LOL

    What others should know: The only thing is that the tune did increase the Foot pounds of cooking Effort for the increase in FPS. I am 63 and no problem with cooking this rifle all day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terrance from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I was a little surprised at the accuracy of this rifle right out of the box. I expected to need a few hundred shots to break it in and find a pellet that it liked. What happened was that I cleaned the barrel and tried several pelet's and it grouped well with them all at 10 yards in my basement. I will have to get it outdoors to stretch out the range and find out what this rifle will do.

    Things I would have changed: There is not anything bad to be said about this rifle. I am vry happy with it.

    What others should know: This review is for the .22 call version.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James L from USA on 2016-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Wanted a rifle with a little more power than my R7 so when this one came on sale I grabbed it. Rifle is very nice. Bluing is excellent and the wood is great. Love the checkering and the name engraved on the side. Trigger is great and the accuracy is excellent. A little stiff to cock but it's still breaking in. The weight of this rifle is just about right for steady shooting.

    Things I would have changed: A shorter stock would be nice for us shorter individuals. LOP is a measured 14 1/2 ". I prefer a max of 14" but it works.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2016-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I was fortunate to grab a refurbished HW50s in .177. Even before break in I am getting right at the advertised velocity with 7gr lead pellets. Groups at 10yrds are basically one hole with Crossman CP (7.9gr @ 765fps). I own a number of adult rifles ranging from a Theoben Crusader down to a Beeman R7 .20 and have to say that this delivers everything I thought I had in the R7 but with much more authority esp for garden pests. As mentioned elsewhere cocking effort is a little high for the power output, but most adults and teens should be able to handle it. This is probably a very close second to my R7 to hold sensitivity, but the R7 has been tuned. Out of the box the HW50 is better. As always Rekord trigger is amazing if you take the time to adjust it. Expect things will only improve with more shooting. So far has performed very well with all pellets but seems to have a bit of a preference for the CP's.

    Things I would have changed: Really not much to improve. There is a little drag of wood on metal from the cocking arm but that is being really picky. MIne was missing the extra front sight globes and cam only with a post.

    What others should know: This rifle is a great value and should make an excellent all around choice for plinking and small vermin. Not quite as backyard friendly as R7.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I was looking for a carbine style rifle with a reputation for quality and not too hold sensitive. Me search lead me to the HW-50S in .22 cal.I have a plan to use this one as my silhouette rifle at this years Pyramyd air shoot in Ohio. I've chronied this rifle in .22 using Crosman Premiers 14.3 grain @ 610F.P.S. which is 11.80 FT.LBS.,which I'm hoping to be able to get the far silhouette's without any problems. I couldn't be any more pleased with the looks, it's a beech wood I think, with very nice checking and stippling with the Weihrauch name engraved in the forearm area.

    Things I would have changed: The open sites are nice, but a waste for me, cause my eye sight is not good enough to take advantage of them.

    What others should know: The cocking effort is higher then I thought it would be for a medium power rifle. I think part of this is caused by the short barrel which limits the available leverage.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jackey from USA on 2015-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Things I liked: Have never had an air rifle this easy to shoot--the least hold sensitive I have ever shot, MUCH better than the 2 Benjamin gas pistons I currently have, even a little better than the RWS 34 that I have had for years. Also the least pellet picky rifle I've ever shot--tried 11 different pellets, shot fine with 6, outstandingly well with 2 (and this is after only 600 shots, MUCH quicker break-in than I am used to). At 35 laser-measured yards groups are always under 3/4" and again, this is only 600 shots in, not even what I consider broken in yet. Cocking effort was not bad at all (and I'm a fat 47 year- old, not a 20 something body builder) and was quite smooth out of the box. If you have been considering one of these go ahead--it will not disappoint.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far, and that is quite unusual.

    What others should know: From my limited experience (8 "adult" air guns over the years) this rifle is a true value for the price. Not as fast as a lot of them out there, but a heck of a lot more accurate and easier to shoot in my opinion.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By FRANK P from USA on 2015-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.05 ratings

    Things I liked: I got my HW50s during a sale and had it dropped shipped to John Thomas in PA for a tune. What I got is the most perfect air rifle I've owned to date. So far I've owned an HW30, 77, and 80 - all fine rifles... but the HW50s is just right for me. I'm big guy shooting recreationally on several acres, plinking 10-30m with open sights and this gun suits me better than any other springer or PCP yet. Finish and appearance is top-notch but I do recommend a tune job on any of these nicer rifles. Mine is smooth and moderate powered, not too heavy or clumsy, but not "too" light like an HW30. It's still stout enough not to be a kid's rifle. But not a beast like the field target models....

    Things I would have changed: I've had a couple of tuned and a couple of stock HWs now and much prefer the tuned ones ;-p Out of the box the ones I've had needed a lot of shooting to smooth out.

    What others should know: I think most adult males can cock this rifle all day long (put the butt on your thigh) and it delivers enough umph for backyard pesting in .177. Mine likes JSB Exact 8.4gr.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By don from USA on 2015-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a big fan of the HW50 and Weihrauch in general. I have in order of purchase an R1, HW30, HW50, and HW97. The HW50 is the best all around of the bunch. Plenty of power for most purposes in 177 and very accurate. When I bought my gun about 5 or so years ago, the first time I tried to cock it I could not break the barrel. I finally decided to pop the barrel with my hand and was able to cock it. First few times it was a little stiff but now very easy to cock. Not sure why but all is good for many thousands of rounds. I even accidentally left it cocked for a week once. I was very happy to find that it had no effect on the gun. I would say in my opinion this could be the best all around spring gun made. Very light, extremely well made, and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The Beeman influenced safety is poor in terms of ergonomics. Hard to reach, cannot be reset after putting in fire position. It actually broke on my R1 shortly after I bought it. I much prefer the safety on my HW30 non-S model with the Perfect trigger. I can overlook this flaw but I think Weirhauch could improve it.

    What others should know: Crossman Premier domed 7.9 in the 1250 cartons work great. Not the tins as they seem to be different pellets for some reason?? JSB exact work great in my 97 which has a tighter bore than the 50. I'm sure the JSB would work well in the 50 too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super quality, great fit and finish, ease of cocking, quality metal sights (not plastic).

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great item!

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation