Date: 24/5/2019 12:11
0

Crosman SSP .177. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.0 (24 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Andy from Canada on 2016-01-12 09:46:40

Things I liked: These are Fantastic in all of my pistols, All of my Co2 pistols shoot these w/ authority, especially my Gamo's, PT 85, P 25, PT 80, and are simply Great in my Gamo PR-776 revolver, Also great in my Crosman's The Vigilante, and it's predecessor 357, Not too good in the 1088, but then again nothing's too accurate w/ that shooter. But they absolutely shine in my Dan Wesson 8" pellet revolver, and in my *New* Dan Wesson 715, but with that shooter, Since pellet length is of no concern, It is simply a joy to shoot with Skenco Type 1's @ 5.4gr,. as well as the Skenco Type 4 "Black Max" match rounds, The 715 can stack those rounds at 10 meters, and the Skencos will go through 2 cans placed one after the other, while other "Alloy" pellets may enter only one side of a can or just bounce and leave a dent. In my Rifles, my modded XS-B4-2A will send them out screaming at close to 1000 fps, same goes for my "Modded XS-B9, In my Daisy 953, they stack them @ 25ft w/ a m/v of almost 600fps

Things I would have changed: Add a little more weight, say 6.5gr,. would be great for most shooters, and would shoot much better in Rifle applications

What others should know: They are a little pricey, but in certain pistols, they are great, My Beeman P17, is one hell of a Squirrel Terminator well up to 40 ft. with these!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:4.0

By deadeye from USA on 2014-02-17 16:49:39

Things I liked: i like that they are lead free and they look well made

Things I would have changed: accuracy

What others should know: they should call these lighting they never strike the same place twice

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They look great, shiny and none were deformed. Being supersonic, the sound was cool.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, other than a tin that doesn't fight you to remove the lid. Mine stripped out/cross threaded on me.

    What others should know: Chronograph shows 1,292 fps average, in my Benjamin np2 rifle. Now my Benjamin np2 pistol, they came out at 582 fps average. But with these lightweight pellets, they are no way accurate. Seems as though everyone is a flyer.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2016-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased this 4.00 grain Crosman Premier pellet as a fps test on four of my .177 air rifles. This pellet was also shot thru my older Crosman 66 multi pump, which it performed well.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer Domed pellets over pointed or hollow point.

    What others should know: This pellet was shot in strings of five shots from each air rifle, plus the Crosman 66. The Ruger Air Magnum shot this 4.00 grain lead free pellet at a five shot average of 1505 fps with a high of 1532 fps and a low of 1476 fps. The Gamo Big Cat 1250 averaged 1264 fps with a high of 1284 fps and a low of 1217 fps. The Gamo Hunter "220" averaged 1142 fps with a high of 1156 fps and a low of 1132 fps. The Beeman RS2 Silver Kodiak averaged 1152 fps with a high of 1182 fps and a low of 1108 fps. The Crosman 66 Powermaster multi-pump averaged 789 fps with a high of 794 fps and a low of 782 fps. This pellet would not have hunting success and it did not hit the 2" target that was stuck on a 12"x18" box at 70 feet away, some shots missed the box altogether. I would purchase this pellet for use on the Crosman 66 and only for testing on my break barrels that were used in this review. All of my four break barrels are not "neighbor friendly" when shooting this pellet. Shot in 52-55 deg. weather.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from Canada on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: These are Fantastic in all of my pistols, All of my Co2 pistols shoot these w/ authority, especially my Gamo's, PT 85, P 25, PT 80, and are simply Great in my Gamo PR-776 revolver, Also great in my Crosman's The Vigilante, and it's predecessor 357, Not too good in the 1088, but then again nothing's too accurate w/ that shooter. But they absolutely shine in my Dan Wesson 8" pellet revolver, and in my *New* Dan Wesson 715, but with that shooter, Since pellet length is of no concern, It is simply a joy to shoot with Skenco Type 1's @ 5.4gr,. as well as the Skenco Type 4 "Black Max" match rounds, The 715 can stack those rounds at 10 meters, and the Skencos will go through 2 cans placed one after the other, while other "Alloy" pellets may enter only one side of a can or just bounce and leave a dent. In my Rifles, my modded XS-B4-2A will send them out screaming at close to 1000 fps, same goes for my "Modded XS-B9, In my Daisy 953, they stack them @ 25ft w/ a m/v of almost 600fps

    Things I would have changed: Add a little more weight, say 6.5gr,. would be great for most shooters, and would shoot much better in Rifle applications

    What others should know: They are a little pricey, but in certain pistols, they are great, My Beeman P17, is one hell of a Squirrel Terminator well up to 40 ft. with these!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: They make many of my low powered guns into mini power houses that allows me to use them afield an start to enjoy them again. I like the higher fps they give my guns,They seem to be pretty well made.I don't use them for target shooting only a field for small pest control.

    Things I would have changed: Offer a larger quantity,They should not make the lids so tight that one ends up ruining the tin trying to loosen the lid.A little more quality control I found a lot of bent and dented pells.

    What others should know: When trying to open a tight lid be careful not to squeeze the tin or you'll damage a lot of pellets doing so.Visually check when you can so you won't load a bent or misformed pellet that may affect a springer type gun by not having a good cushion of air between them.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2014-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The light weight,I don't use them for target shooting I use them in my lower powered co2 pistols for higher velocities and enable me to use some of them for pests that I normaly would have to use a higher powered gun for.Don't expect match grade quality but they aren't bad and they will hit what you aim at.

    Things I would have changed: Offer larger tins and a better quality control I found a lot of dented ones and by the way they are very loose in the tins so that means they were put in the tins from the die to the can without some control.

    What others should know: Like I said above don't expect match grade performance,but if you want to add zip to lower powered guns at four grains they are the ones,by the way I weighed some at random and 90% were four grains and a few were one two grains above and below the 4 grains listed on the tin.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By davetc8 from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light and nice shape.

    Things I would have changed: Amount

    What others should know: Fit kinda loose in my dan Wesson Pellet gun, not sure about the other guns yet but they also jammed and missfired in that particular gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2014-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The light weight I use them in my lesser powered air guns both calibers.177 &.22.The velocity really jumps,I don't know because of their light weight,Would any harm come from using them in springers,I mostly use them in my co2 gun where there won't be that problem.

    Things I would have changed: I found more than the usual amount of dented and deformed pellets considering they only come in 200./250 per tin. But if one wants to have a higher fps in a lower powered gun then these are the answer,Don't expect match quality shooting from them but they serve a purpose.

    What others should know: Because of their light weight they tend to be all over past 15 yards,and muzzle energy is low.I don't think they have enough knock down power for anything larger than the smallest of pests.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: they are fast movers

    Things I would have changed: they aren't accurate in my Gamo rifle

    What others should know: they are quite accurate and sight of my 10 pump benjamin

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By deadeye from USA on 2014-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: i like that they are lead free and they look well made

    Things I would have changed: accuracy

    What others should know: they should call these lighting they never strike the same place twice

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2014-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Not much. They make a nice cracking noise when you shoot them. Too bad you can't hit anything.

    Things I would have changed: VERY inaccurate in my Crossman MTR77NP. I'd rate these pellets more as noisenmakers than for hunting or target shooting.

    What others should know: Stick with the sabot-style pellets for hyper velocity, at least with the gun I'm using.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kendall from USA on 2013-10-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: How clean & lite this pellet is,

    Things I would have changed: Wouldn't change much, I knew what I was getting when I bought this pellet.

    What others should know: Cause of the lite weight of these pellets, they are not very accurate, but when it comes to just shooting around for fun, like plinking& shooting can this is a fast cheap pellet, that has a loud crack, when shooting it!!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lead-free, and the tins are good.

    Things I would have changed: I would make them consistent and accurate, rather than inconsistent, and inaccurate, as they are now.

    What others should know: These are inaccurate in all of my airguns. From high powered rifles to low powered pistols and everything in between, they print shotgun-style patterns, nothing I would describe as a group. Just terrible pellets, I'm sorry to say.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marcus from USA on 2011-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Honestly, I have used these for target practice only, so far. I like the quality of each pellet, and the lightweight. It delivers an accurate shot with expected penetration. I would imagine that it would also deliver a good kill with little destruction to surrounding area. I have been using an air pistol, for max speed an accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: This pellet has performed well for my usage, so, I would not chage anything.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lcarradini from USA on 2011-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price, packaging, pointed tip. I prfer these over the hollow tip for accuracy and penetration. My inclination is that there is less air resistance, and with the pellet being so light, better penetration due to the finely pointed tip.

    Things I would have changed: Perhaps two or three more tenths of weight to help with tracking.

    What others should know: This is an extremely light pellet. I would recommend using it with air pistols only. Very difficult to get a descent grouping using an air rifle of 500 fps or greater when sticking with iron sights. A somewhat acceptable grouping can be acheived with dot scope for stationary target shooting, however, I do not see any advantage to using this combination when better results can be acheived with iron or dot sights and a better matched pellet.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By broncoes27 from USA on 2011-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: to light for any accuracy make heavier

    What others should know: dont buy trust me i bought a bunch for my crosman g1 extreme and i got about a 3 foot group worst accuracy ever in high power airguns

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2010-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the weight of these make them shoot very fast, they are decently accurate too, but thats only if you can find them in the same shape as the good ones you shoot.

    Things I would have changed: I have had MANY of them bent, along with the bent ones the rest are badly shaped on the skirts, also the can I got was dented from the bottom, maybe that has something to do with all the bad pellets in the can. Another note, maybe they bend so much due to the extremely soft metal they are made from?

    What others should know: for the price they are bad, or my can was. I do not recommend these at all, and I will not be buying any more of these, I'm very disappointed for the price of these!

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2010-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the price till I shot them.

    Things I would have changed: Ammo thats not acurate has no real use.

    What others should know: From a dime size group with crosman competition to 5" group at 10 yards,No Thanks, The fast pellet that 1 out of 5 is within an inch of your aim piont is not worth buying.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Eric from USA on 2010-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price is good. Very clean finish, fingers didn't get dirty

    Things I would have changed: better QC in sizing tolerance: 5 shot groups in my IZH 61 gave speed deviation of greater than 150 fps every time and as poor as 231 fps. Nice pellet but there is no consistent accuracy unless one wants to spend time sorting for consistent sizing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2010-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: about this particular pellet is the extreme velocity. And to be SO fast, it is also very accurate. I am using them exclusively in my hand guns. These things are so fast, you are lucky if you can barely get a glimpse of them going downrange. With heavier lead pellets, you can watch them heading to the target. I think I'll start using them in my RWS 850 Magnum. They should be able to do away with pests at a good distance. Just an AWESOME pellet!!

    Things I would have changed: I would LOVE to see them start making these things in .22 caliber. Otherwise, no changes necessary.

    What others should know: Try a tin of them in your pistols. I don't see how you could be anything but very impressed.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2010-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These pellets make a crack (sonic boom) like a 22 rimfire rifle when shot through a 1000 fps pellet rifle and make a super sonic boom when shot through a Magnum Springer ( sounds like my 243). Not recommended in either because it is hard on the seals.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing they are for fun only not for hunting.

    What others should know: Accurate in air guns that have a muzzle velocity of 600 fps or lower. At higher velocities they tend to tumble and kill the accuracy of the gun. I recommend these for close shooting (20 yards max).

  • 12 Next
Navigation