Date: 20/8/2018 16:14
0

H&N Sniper Medium Pellets, .177 Cal, 8.5 Grains, Domed, 500ct reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (17 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Ken from USA on 2016-04-10 17:41:23

Things I liked: My Hatsan 87QE loves these pellets. I shoot HFT and these are my go-to pellets.

Things I would have changed: nothing

What others should know: give them a try

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Size/Shape Distribution:1.0

By Brian from USA on 2018-04-12 19:49:59

Things I liked: Not a thing.

Things I would have changed: Buying them.

What others should know: I first bought these pellets about a year ago and they were fabulous. These quickly became my go to pellets for several of my rifles including my HW30, HW50 and my BSA R10 MKII. 1 hole accuracy in all of them on my indoor 10 meter range and fewer flyers than my old standby JSB 8.4 Diablos. I I recently ordered 2 more tins of these and the packaging was different than previous tins and so was the accuracy. These pellets went from single hole groups at 10 meters to 1 inch groups at the same distance, and not just in one rifle but in all my rifles!! I did not have any of the previous pellets to compare these to but they are definitly different than before. The domes seem a bit rough and I think the skirts are thicker than before. Whatever they changed on these was not for the better, they are absolutely terrible now and will be used for chrono testing only now. What a shame as these were readily available (compared to the JSB) and were cheaper. AVOID THESE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Al from USA on 2018-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Consistance weight and stabilizes good for 12ftlbs. Springer rigs.

    Things I would have changed: Selective itemized for competition use.

    What others should know: When sorted,this pellet is very competitive with the other top target pellet.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not a thing.

    Things I would have changed: Buying them.

    What others should know: I first bought these pellets about a year ago and they were fabulous. These quickly became my go to pellets for several of my rifles including my HW30, HW50 and my BSA R10 MKII. 1 hole accuracy in all of them on my indoor 10 meter range and fewer flyers than my old standby JSB 8.4 Diablos. I I recently ordered 2 more tins of these and the packaging was different than previous tins and so was the accuracy. These pellets went from single hole groups at 10 meters to 1 inch groups at the same distance, and not just in one rifle but in all my rifles!! I did not have any of the previous pellets to compare these to but they are definitly different than before. The domes seem a bit rough and I think the skirts are thicker than before. Whatever they changed on these was not for the better, they are absolutely terrible now and will be used for chrono testing only now. What a shame as these were readily available (compared to the JSB) and were cheaper. AVOID THESE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These pellets are the one that helped me win the Pyramyd cup hunter division in 2017. They work nicely in my Air Arms TX200.

    Things I would have changed: The Q.C. still need some attention, some split skirts are getting thru.

    What others should know: Gave these a try some people love them and some don't.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Old R-10 from USA on 2017-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate pellet in my Beeman R10 in .177. I'm getting excellent grouping once the pellets are headsized. I'm getting approximately 895fps.

    Things I would have changed: Different packing to protect pellet skirt.

    What others should know: This pellet style shoots slightly over 15ft/lb in my springer while most other types yield from 13.5ft/lb to 14.1ft/lb. Somehow H&N has found a way to balance weight of pellet and reduce friction in barrel. I think it might be in the pellet skirt, as there is occasional damage that varies from slightly out of round to folded over. I tried the Sniper Magnums before purchasing the Sniper Mediums, the Magnums were tumbling at the target impact. My gun had a weak spring. After I replaced it the Magnums stablized but accuracy was mediocre. The Mediums have the right length and weight that it is a tack driver in my air rifle.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Peter from USA on 2017-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rating I have give is for the newer label style tins, not the older label ones (which I would rate all 5's). Shot 3 tins with the older label bought from PA and they were utterly fantastic in my marauder, 0.2 inch 10 shot groups at 10 yards. Really unbelievable, However the latest tin I purchased (actually not from pyramid air) with the new style label on it is shooting horrendously. A lot of them need help being fully inserted int the magazine, seems like the skirt is too wide now, and they aren't as bright and shiny as before either. 10 yard groups with this latest batch is now literally 0.4 inches.... I was getting better than that at 25 yards with the old ones.

    Things I would have changed: Fix them...They were soooo good before, but now I am hesitant to try them again.

    What others should know: Try them and post your results, I would like to know if I just got a bad tin or what.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By walter from USA on 2017-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: in my benjamin maximus they give me groups that stay in a 1.25 inch circle at 56 yards.in fact when I got done plinking at this range at hanging beverage cans I shot the pull tabs off.

    Things I would have changed: they were not listed in vol 10 catalog

    What others should know: they mike consistenty and shoot well in my other air arms.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kirk from USA on 2017-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My Weihrauch .177 caliber guns all like this pellet. I get higher velocity with this 8.5 grain pellet than CPL or AA 7.87 grain, which is a good indication how the barrel power plant like the pellets fit. Very accurate, about 50% of the time it's THE pellet of choice for the gun.

    Things I would have changed: Cheaper ................ otherwise nothing.

    What others should know: These pellet are harder and foul the barrel faster than JSB's. Must try for Weihrauch .177 caliber owners.........

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy and great ballistic properties. I shot Dime size groups out to 40 yards on a calm day with my Diana 34. When zeroed at 20 yards, I get a trajectory that is flat (within one pellet diameter) from 17 to 37 yards! These are now my go-to pellets. H&N claims a ballistic coefficient of 0.029, which is significantly higher than JSB exacts (0.021). From my shooting experience with JSB and Sniper pellets, this seems to be the case. The higher ballistic coefficient results in a flatter trajectory, resistance to windage, and more FPE on target, compared to pellets of similar weight. The screw on lid to the tin is also nice.

    Things I would have changed: A little expensive, but given the performance, still a good deal.

    What others should know: I found that seating the pellet just inside the breach of my Diana 34 was necessary to produce the best performance. I use the pellet seater that came with the Air Venturi pellet pen for this purpose. If I didn't seat the pellets in this way, the pellet produced some nasty vertical stringing at 40 yards.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2016-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: My Hatsan 87QE loves these pellets. I shoot HFT and these are my go-to pellets.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: give them a try

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By BRET from USA on 2015-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate in my HW rifles and pistols. Very efficient trajectory, with predictable holdover at longer ranges. Several pellets had slightly damaged skirts, but since I was punching paper, I shot them at my 20 yard target "as is" and noticed no "flyers". I attribute this to the very thin skirt edge that appears to blow itself back out under the shot pressure in water trap recovered pellets that I purposely damaged.

    Things I would have changed: Cost is always a factor, these seem slightly high for this type of pellet.

    What others should know: These pellets seem very forgiving in a variety of my airguns, plus they are available in three weights that I am aware of.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, Solid Look and Form. No bent Skirts.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy.

    What others should know: Ive only shot this Pellet out of my Benji Trail NP2 177, so my review based just from Shooting from that Rifle. I could not get consistent Accurate groups with this Pellet. I had some real High hopes for this pellet. One thing you Airgunners should know is these fit really tight, Skirt when inserted into Breech, overlaped alot. Maybe that was the issue with the Accuracy. Im going to keep this Sniper Pellet to see if it Shoots bettet in my Gamo Whisper.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great looking, No deformities.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy

    What others should know: Just got these 9-30-15. Unfortunately I could not get get good groups. Im Shooting 177 Cal. out of a Benjamin NP2. Im blaming the inaccuracy on the Skirting. When I would load this Pellet it would Flange out alot in the breech,so a very tight fit! I had brand new can of JSB's that I also received on the same date, testing both of these Pellets the same day. JSB's right away were Better fitting in the Breech and Accuracy was incredible compaired to the Snipers. Im sure the Snipers will work great in other Rifles but not this Benji, to tight and over lapping.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reynaldo from USA on 2015-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This pellets really surprised me. At 20 yards I am getting a 1/2 inch group. My Benjamin Titan .177 with this pellets is shooting about 925 fps. So I went to 30 yards to see how they would group and they were still holding a tight group. At 40 yards they were still on. Wow! what's going on here, aiming the cross hairs on my Center Point 4x16x 40 AO scope at the center mark of the target the pellets were hitting on the mark still within a 1/2 inch group. Ok let me set up some cans at 50 yards to see what happens. Aiming at the 3 inch bottom of the can about 1 1/2 inch high on center the pellets were hitting the center of the cans. I've tried several different types of pellets most being the dome type and this are the best for distance and accuracy that I have shot. I've read the Sniper Lights shoot good also. May try them next to see how they shoot in my gun. Good luck shooters.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Just remember give your new gun time to break in, get a decent scope, practice on your hold and have patience and it will all come together.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alberto from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: GREAT PELLETS

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the screw on lid container. The pellets were consistent and when I weighed them, they were 8.56 grains which is close to the stated 8.5 grains.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not sure the aerodynamics are as good as they could be.

    What others should know: Shooting a group of 8 rounds at 10 yds with my RWS Hammerli 850 .177 CO2 rifle, the center-to-center spread was .416 and the mean radius of the group was .125 which ranked 11th out of 34 pellets I've tested.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alberto from USA on 2015-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very consistent in size extremely acurate in my gamo bone collector .177 not so much in my pigman mach1 .177 but not bad

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The .22 sniper lights 14g are even better. The 7.5 sniper light .177 were very inconsistent in size some were loose in the barel and some were to tight and very inacurate

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cory from USA on 2015-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: on a clean crosman 2100 barrel i did 6 sets of 3 shots, 2 sets the pellets went in the same hole, this was done at 15 yards indoors with a hawke 2-7 x 32 scope with 7x power setting. the skirts are very good and strong since more lead is concentrated in the skirt wall, the tiny slits in skirt help it fit into bore and adapt to the rifled barrel better, this also helps pellet not to get to snug, pellet has a high B.C. my test was 3 pumps setting, these are worth the price if you test them properly, clean your barrel and run a series of sets, for any new rifle i recommend at least shooting a tin of cheaper pellets through barrel of any air rifle before performing any accuracy tests, this give the barrel and the works the ability to break in, i even break in walther barrels even though some are ready to go right out of the box

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: use the heavy version for long ranges and this should do good for medium range, i recommend interval testing of 10-50 yards as some pellets perform better at different ranges, i also recommend keeping velocity tame, try 900 fps and under, for some pellets like these the sweet spot is 500-800 fps but only you can confirm this by checking groups you get. for pumpers change distances and amount of pumps to see what groups best. dont forget to oil the wiper or pump pad, dried up parts will affect accuracy a drop or 2 of 30w non detergent oil or other air gun friendly oil every 100 shots, i do two drops every 50 and there is no official standard on this just keep an eye so the pump doesnt dry up, done the few drop method for decades on the 717, 747, crosman 2100, crosman 1377, daisy 880, benjamin rifles and have had no problems yet

     
Navigation