Date: 17/6/2019 14:4
0

Skenco UltraMag .22. MT15055118. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (28 reviews)
2 star1 star
Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Andy from Canada on 2012-09-04 02:58:17

Things I liked: Excellent choice of round for small game, and Up-Land game bird's, Any serious Turkey, Jack-Rabbit,Pheasant/Partridge hunters will quickly come to appreciate this superbly designed pellet,Why go with a plastic tip that flattens out on impact, the point on this pellet will chip bone!!Thee weight is just right, I usually shoot H&N Crow Magnums/Baracuda Match, and H&N Spitz-Kugelns for distance and stopping power when I'm in the field, This pellet combines all of those three into one extremely accurate, and heavy hitter.

Things I would have changed: Seriouly re-consider the amount sold in a container,,250 would be great, and not too big to damage pellets in shipment.

What others should know: Put down those "Novelty" pellets, and use these,,that's if you want to put some meat on the table These rounds paired with my Cometa Fusion Premier give me a m/v of 900fps, which is good enough to take down any small game I can get my sights on. Cheer's, and Happy Huntin', Andy.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2014-10-11 10:36:12

Things I liked: The pellet is well-made and I have not encountered any problems with lost tips. I also like the heavier weight, but that has not proven to give an advantage in penetration in my field experience on game.

Things I would have changed: After using numerous pellets of this "pointed hollow-point" design, I do not believe the lack of penetration can be eliminated as all of them were limited in that area of performance.

What others should know: I used these at 866 avg. muzzle velocity from a custom P-Rod light rifle built on the pistol platform. Groups at 25 yards for 5 shots were .528" but downrange field accuracy seemed to indicate a much better overall capability as hits on targets out to 50 yards were very reliable. Also, those 25 yard groups were very round and no stringing occurred. The problem in the field was penetration. I thought this heavier pellet might succeed where other lighter pellets of this design failed, but it was not to be. At 30 yards I recovered a squirrel that dropped after about 3 to 4 minutes from impact. The pellet had cut through the liver and was lodged against the tough stomach lining. It had not encountered any bone other than a rib. Another head shot on a squirrel at 20 yards gave an instant kill as expected and desired but did not penetrate the skull. No issue on this shot, but this pellet will not traverse through the body of prey to do the lethal damage needed and shots must be precise.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Henry from USA on 2019-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can only echo what just about all the reviews say here... these pellets are top of the mark. Anything approaching a kill shot is just that, a kill shot. They don't skitter away when they get hit by these. Pellet consistency is excellent. And they hit targets as well as JSB Exacts, which are also incredibly accurate, but not quite as deadly. Kudos, Skenco.

    Things I would have changed: As many have said, I'd happily buy a larger container.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2019-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Packaging was very well done. Pellets look very uniform. They seal well in my Gauntlet

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: For my gun they are great inside 35 yards but after that thw group opens up quickly

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2018-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good pellets, very accurate out of my Hatsan edge vortex.22cal.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Order these

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: They preform better than the Crossman gold tips, I can't find anything wrong with these pellets, very well engineered and designed... And they are sold at a great price, everyone that is in are shooting club uses the " SKENCO ULTRA MAG .22 CAL. 18.2 GRAIN POINTED " THE DESIGN IS A STEP AHEAD OF THE OTHER COMPANYS, THEY WILL BE PLAYING CATCH UP FOR A WHILE....!!!!! WHAT WOULD BE NICE IS SOME " SKENKO ULTRA MAG " T-SHIRTS FOR ARE SHOOTING CLUB LET SKENCO KNOW ABOUT ARE REQUEST THANKS DOUGLAS CHRISTENSEN EMAIL [email protected]

    Things I would have changed: I would like to be able to buy them in a 200-300 count container....!!!!!

    What others should know: There is no need to look and look at hundreds of pellets these are great all around great for Target and Hunting... this style of pellet and a solid Copper ones is all I shoot..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ben-jammin from USA on 2018-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Super accurate. Quarter size groups. And poor shots are my fault. Very quality, no deformed or damaged pellets so far.

    Things I would have changed: Offer them in larger quantities than 100. 100 is great as a tester. After you find out they rule you want more.

    What others should know: Great penetration through the tops of spray paint cans (the upper ring where the metal is 3-4x's as thick as the wall of the can) fun to shoot for sure. Cant wait for squirrel season this fall.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G man from USA on 2018-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: A favorite all around ,standard.I have complete confidence in their penetration /after penetration effect.I feel I can inter change them with Polymags same effect lower price.

    Things I would have changed: More!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2016-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: These pellets work great in my ruger air magnum.nice snug fit,good groups,have shot around 250 or so and no flyers.just ordered a gamo air magnum i hope they work the same in that.

    Things I would have changed: More than 100!

    What others should know: These work great all around,try em out

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rocky from USA on 2016-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: After getting these I spent quite awhile shooting out to 35 yard and found that they shot half inch to 3/4 inch groups. I was shooting them out of the Benjamin trail NP 2 . And I really was surprised at how well they have worked.

    Things I would have changed: The standard , more pellets for the money !

    What others should know: All I can say is that they shoot very well out of my Airgun and they came undamaged and were uniform in size and shape ! So you might give them a try to see how they work in your Airgun as they do seem to be just fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By T. from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a big fan of these ultramags from skenco- in fact I prefer them for hunting squirrels over Polymags in .17 and .22 cal. I can't say why exactly, but they seem to hit harder and penetrate a bit more, but still have devastating expansion. I've never had any issues with the tips coming out.

    Things I would have changed: 300ct boxes.

    What others should know: These are my go-to pellets for my Octane .17 and my NP2 .22. The walls of the hollow point are a bit thicker than Polymags and the rounds are a bit heavier, but man these are great hunting rounds in a strong magnum rifle. I can get 1/2" groups @ 30yds with both rifles. I have taken many (75+) squirrels with ultramags, and find they actually do a better job out of my .17 Octane. They expand better and hit hard at higher fps. They work well in my np2 but I have never had to take a 2nd shot with the Octane. Just punches 'em dead out of the tree

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigWoodHat from USA on 2015-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Skenco quality. It kills Turkeys w/ 30lb spring rifle, 33 yrds, neck shot period end of story. It will do what a poly mag cant. It will smash bone. 2 times w/ metal tip still intack. Made a .25 cal plus exit wound after hitting bone on Turkey neck. They will seperate, not as easily as a poly mag tho. Took steel plate to disfigure metal tip under 30fpe at 20 yrds (polymer tip can flatten under 20fpe at 20yrds). Xtra 2g of lead for penetration over poly mag. It does what it design to do. Predictable. Many same hole shots under 25yrds for me on both 20lb 30lb Rifles.

    What others should know: Poly mag skirt can fold under on a 30lb spring w/ .22 . My advantage w/ these is being able to use them w/ more power, skirt will not fold under 30fpe. Tip can keep going threw where as poly tip is lighter,tumbled & stopped. My results, from my equipment w/my skills. Poly Mag aint no joke, they work also. Diff advantages w/ both. I can put lead on anything i see w/ a PolyMag up to 75yrds. I cant do that w/ these.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2014-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The pellet is well-made and I have not encountered any problems with lost tips. I also like the heavier weight, but that has not proven to give an advantage in penetration in my field experience on game.

    Things I would have changed: After using numerous pellets of this "pointed hollow-point" design, I do not believe the lack of penetration can be eliminated as all of them were limited in that area of performance.

    What others should know: I used these at 866 avg. muzzle velocity from a custom P-Rod light rifle built on the pistol platform. Groups at 25 yards for 5 shots were .528" but downrange field accuracy seemed to indicate a much better overall capability as hits on targets out to 50 yards were very reliable. Also, those 25 yard groups were very round and no stringing occurred. The problem in the field was penetration. I thought this heavier pellet might succeed where other lighter pellets of this design failed, but it was not to be. At 30 yards I recovered a squirrel that dropped after about 3 to 4 minutes from impact. The pellet had cut through the liver and was lodged against the tough stomach lining. It had not encountered any bone other than a rib. Another head shot on a squirrel at 20 yards gave an instant kill as expected and desired but did not penetrate the skull. No issue on this shot, but this pellet will not traverse through the body of prey to do the lethal damage needed and shots must be precise.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By travis from USA on 2014-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: penetration weight and uniformity accurate "5 shots inside a dime" to about 30 yards or so with my condor ss

    Things I would have changed: more pellets

    What others should know: use a sufficient back stop more than a 2x4

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Metal tipped and heavy! Great hunting pellet for magnum rifles.

    Things I would have changed: Manufacture clean the molds before casting pellet. Pellet has alot of excess flashing left on.

    What others should know: These are my "go to" hunting pellet both in .177 & .22 , Great knockdown power and accuracy. Buy 2 tins!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By greg from USA on 2013-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: tested this pellet shooting at an aluminum pot typical cheapo set from wally but not sure exactly but id say a tad over 1/8th inch thick shooting a benji np xl 1100 started with eunjin 32.4 grain did not pen just the second deepest dent next was my favorite beeman precision kodiak at 21.14g but i weighed this pellet on a freshy calibrated scale its more like 20 grains. tad over this put the biggest dent in the pan lighter so i think its the sweet spot for this gun. but this pellet put a dent in like the eunjin and the steel tip penned perfectly. so these work! shot was 15 yards out.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: nope

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2013-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All metal, good weight & accuracy @ 20-25yds.

    Things I would have changed: Larger quantities.

    What others should know: At 18.2grs, these have some pretty good weight & the metal tips are great for penetration.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: All I can say is WOW! These put a dent in a circular saw blade I sat up too shoot at! I could see this going through a squirrel with no problem what so ever! Nice fit in the the gun, accurate up to 40 yards in my Benji. I have no problems with this pellet at all!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: If you want a pellet that is going to penetrate to the max, this is the pellet for you!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dave from USA on 2012-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Scary looking with that metal point.

    Things I would have changed: Larger quanities.

    What others should know: Good penetration. I've not had good accuracy past 25yds. Inside 25yds, accuracy is acceptable. Every rifle has it's choice pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2012-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good penetration

    Things I would have changed: I want to try the 26gr version of this pellet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Uyless from USA on 2012-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The power of the impact, this pellet will expand quite nice.

    Things I would have changed: More for the money.

    What others should know: Works better with my famous whisper extreme the my Ben. Np trail. The more power your rifle has the better this pellet shoots

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Warner369 from USA on 2012-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: These are a kind of metal version of the Predator PolyMags. they have a solid, pointed shaft of Bronze or brass in their center.

    Things I would have changed: Greater number per container (200 or so) and a better container.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation