Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    BSA Essential 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, 30/30 Duplex Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2013-04-07 14:05:15

    Things I liked:I own 2 of these scopes and they are very, very clear. They have a wide field of view and draw in light really well.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:The scope will focus from about 5 yards to infinity. The reticle cross hairs are very clear and easy to see. This scope if pretty easy to zero in and stays zero'd even on my hard hitting Gamo Bone Collector. This really is a good scope for the price. I would not hesitate to buy another one.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Mike from USA on 2013-02-02 05:35:40

    Things I liked:Not much, for the the money, there are better scopes available from Pyramyd Air.
    Things I would have changed:BSA needs to step up their QC. Second time I optically centered the cross hairs, failure of elevation knob.
    What others should know:In less than a month of use on my tuned Gamo Big Cat the adjustment knob for elevation wouldn't work properly. The AO adjustment was VERY STIFF. Am in the process of replacing it with Pyramyd Air, who cheerfully agreed to replace/refund.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Donald from USA on 2014-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The optics on this scope are very clear. I purchased a BSA AR2-7x32 AO scope over a decade ago and have had reasonably good performance from it so far. The word 'Essential' really describes my feelings about it. It is best for target practice with good ambient lighting conditions.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing in particular. Maybe introduce a model with the ability of illuminating the reticle for use in poor ambient lighting conditions.
      What others should know:The knobs for adjusting the elevation and windage turned rather reluctantly at first, but loosen up after several adjustments had been made.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By BRANDON from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This scope is nice
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really....
      What others should know:I mounted the scope today on my gun. I took it out to sight it in. It was well and ok. No problems, I was loving the scope until I moved the gun from left to right. I noticed a sound in the scope. It sounded as if there was a pebble moving back and forth. The scope wasn't broken but i'm guessing something in the scope had came loose. I don't know if I should send the scope to BSA or just leave it as is.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2013-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:clear precise optics, sturdy construction, well protected positive click elevation and windage torrent's. screw on lens caps. duplex reticle.
      Things I would have changed:make the magnification and AO end bells a little smoother and easier to rotate.
      What others should know:mounted on my Benjamin Titan NP .22 after I shot a few hundred pellets using the supplied CP scope to break in the NP and smooth out the shot cycle. I have now shot another hundred or so pellets with this BSA scope and so far I'm impressed. Knowing how rough spring airguns are on scopes I was worried if the BSA would survive. I haven't noticed any scope creep in rings or dovetails so I guess the Beeman rings are doing their job as well. After the initial sighting in I had to only adjust the POI once but that was probably due to a re-torqueing of all scope screws and a GTX trigger replacement. All in all the BSA scope is performing good for me but excellent for my 15 year old grandson. My eyes are not as good as they use to be and this scope definitely helps clear up what I'm aiming at. My grandson has already shot all of the pine cones from our trees but I show him up when I pick off tic tacs off a golf tee at 50 yards, ha ha. I recommend this scope is worth a try if your looking for your moderate powered springer. If you use it on a higher power springer, well only time will tell.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own 2 of these scopes and they are very, very clear. They have a wide field of view and draw in light really well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The scope will focus from about 5 yards to infinity. The reticle cross hairs are very clear and easy to see. This scope if pretty easy to zero in and stays zero'd even on my hard hitting Gamo Bone Collector. This really is a good scope for the price. I would not hesitate to buy another one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The lens are very clear and provides sharp focus.
      Things I would have changed:Make them in the USA instead of China.
      What others should know:I bought one of these about two months ago and really like it. I bought another one 2 weeks ago and had nothing but trouble. After every shot the scope went out of focus. After removing the scope from the gun I realized the lens was rattleing inside the scope. Turns out BSA scopes are made in China. I have returned the scope to Pyramyd Air and am waiting for the replacement. Hopefully it will work as well as the first scope I bought.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Walter from USA on 2013-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very clear, good light gathering, sharp AO thru-out it's range.
      Things I would have changed:It is heavy, I don't know why since it does not have all the extra stuff for IR. Just built heavy duty. So if you have a real nice balanced rifle, that is NOT heavy, you may not want to make it TOP heavy.
      What others should know:I wouldn't hesitate to put this on a heavy kicker like the rws 48 or similar, in fact that is exactly were it is going. I bought this to put it on a HW 95, which is such a nicely balance rifle, I must find something lighter, in 3-9x32ao probably. I'll find the weight next time before i buy.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-02-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much, for the the money, there are better scopes available from Pyramyd Air.
      Things I would have changed:BSA needs to step up their QC. Second time I optically centered the cross hairs, failure of elevation knob.
      What others should know:In less than a month of use on my tuned Gamo Big Cat the adjustment knob for elevation wouldn't work properly. The AO adjustment was VERY STIFF. Am in the process of replacing it with Pyramyd Air, who cheerfully agreed to replace/refund.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great scope for the price, its light gathering capacity is just what I need for my old eyes. I shoot using a low power setting then dial it up to 9 power to look at the target.
      Things I would have changed:I cant think of anything
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top