Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    BSA Varmint Hunter Precision Laser Sight & Light reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By tony from USA on 2011-06-23 03:21:27

    Things I liked:The price,light&small
    Things I would have changed:The red dot could be better,i rarely use it
    What others should know:I have read that some have had problems installing this unit.I had none at all,just take you're time.I read that the light is not brite its fine,all u need is too see reticle&those glowing eyeballs & put the shot right between them game over.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2013-01-20 13:14:48

    Things I liked:flashlight is ok
    Things I would have changed:buying it in the first place
    What others should know:It mounts about 4" above the barrel on my Diana M34 with the recommended droop scope mount and 40mm objective. The laser is useless...way high or way low most of the time. I guess that's ok though since the laser "dot" is a blurry smear about 2" wide by 1" high at 10 yards. It's under warranty but BSA says send them a check for $10 to make it right. It's not worth another ten bucks.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Overall this is a good value purchase. I don't use the remote switches but they are a great addition. The laser can be used up till 25 yds during daytime, anything further would be hard to notice. The flashlight is great for hunting and spotting nearby targets
      Things I would have changed:The range if the laser adjustment. I got mine mounted on a utg scope on high mounts. I can't get the laser low enough to reach the center. The flashlight isn't bad but I've seen better.
      What others should know:The mounts have no soft protection. I've used electrical tape to provide a soft layer in order not to damage the paintjob on my scope.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:flashlight is ok
      Things I would have changed:buying it in the first place
      What others should know:It mounts about 4" above the barrel on my Diana M34 with the recommended droop scope mount and 40mm objective. The laser is useless...way high or way low most of the time. I guess that's ok though since the laser "dot" is a blurry smear about 2" wide by 1" high at 10 yards. It's under warranty but BSA says send them a check for $10 to make it right. It's not worth another ten bucks.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Lee from USA on 2012-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The fact the they send momentary switchs for both the flashlight and the laser.
      Things I would have changed:The mount is only for 1", i would set it up for both 1" and 30mm.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By CharlesJ from USA on 2012-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:mounts high enough for scopes with sunshades
      Things I would have changed:lazer adjustment screws,very loose,had to remove and use locktite on screws before setting to ensure no movement
      What others should know:seems to hold adjustment with locktite,mounted mine on a big cat .177 cal still holding dead-on in center of crosshares of scope
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2012-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have not dialed it in yet but my sonin law has one and likes it a lot. I added it to my whisper 22
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By tony from USA on 2011-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price,light&small
      Things I would have changed:The red dot could be better,i rarely use it
      What others should know:I have read that some have had problems installing this unit.I had none at all,just take you're time.I read that the light is not brite its fine,all u need is too see reticle&those glowing eyeballs & put the shot right between them game over.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2010-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good price, laser is bright enough for the range of the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Screw threads strip very easily. Laser easily wanders. Flashlight is not bright.
      What others should know:Overall not too pleased with this. Looks cool... Flashlight is a waste as it is barely bright enough to illuminate eyes. The biggest problem is the screw threads. I had two strips just barely tightening them. Need to improve quality.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By robert from Canada on 2010-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The option to use pressure switches or push buttons. The laser works very well at night and out to about 40 yards later in the day.
      Things I would have changed:The flashlight should be on a separate mount and mount to the barrel, It reflects off my front sight and makes it impossible to use my scope. Batteries were not included despite what BSA claimed.
      What others should know:If your gun has a large front sight with a glossy coating the flashlight will make your scope useless.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2009-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:cost is fine , functions decent not like more pricy units but adequate in function
      Things I would have changed:the setting screws that lock the settins in place ,they need to be deeper and more pronounced.and made of a harder metal to keep from spreading and stripping these are the weak points of this units design.
      What others should know:again for the price,you can't beat it
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By williamk from USA on 2009-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:works well, price
      Things I would have changed:make the cabling more robust - I've had problems with intermittent connections between the remote switch and the flashlight - some kind of strain relief is required to make this truly reliable.
      What others should know:The unit was fairly easy to install and align.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Lance from USA on 2008-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The laser is bright and easy to adjust, the flashlight is bright for its size, both are very compact. Mounting is easy. The included remote activation switches are very cool for varmint hunting.
      Things I would have changed:The flashlight pattern is not very consistant (circular) and requires some fiddling with for proper aiming. The bulb on the light is soldered into the reflector and hard if not impossible to change the bulb itself. The replacement from BSA is the assembly together and not too cheap.
      What others should know:Reliability seems to be good so far after a couple months usage. Laser slipped out of alignment once so far, easily corrected and stable so far.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By sector7g from USA on 2008-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The lazer was easy to adjust.
      Things I would have changed:Include an option for purchasing the lazer and mount only. I have no need for the flashlight.
      What others should know:The button on the lazer broke with the first touch. I am using the ext cord/button so it really didn't matter. I left out the flash light and only used the lazer and mounted it on the flash light that came with a Nightstalker rifle. The flashlight supplied with the lazer is not very bright, but it will work for general purpose.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Chester from USA on 2008-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The kit overall is good.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions sheet should note that the slotted screw opposite of the set screws on the laser should not be snugged tight until after you have made all of your adjustments with the set screws, otherwise you can strip the set screw threads while trying trying to adjust the laser.
      What others should know:I too had an issue with the laser not staying true and it's a common problem when using this setup with springers. The solution to change the mount position so the laser sits directly above your scope so that it's centered with your receiver worked very well but the light did illuminate the gun barrel which then reflected back into the scope when shooting at night. You may want to experiment with different mounting positions. I did not have good luck applying the blue loctite to the set screws as was suggested as the threads in one of the set screws stripped very easily while trying to adjust the lasor after the loctite had dried for 24 hours. Instead of using the loctite, I would make all of the set screw adjustments first and then make sure that the slotted screw opposite of the set screws is well snugged which will then anchor your settings. After each shooting session, keep that slotted screw snugged and your settings should hold.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2008-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The mount.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, nothing...
      What others should know:I too had an issue with the laser not staying true and it's a common problem when using this setup with springers. I found a simple solution that's working for others as well. First, change the mount position so the laser sits directly above your scope so it's centered with your receiver. Make sure you have access to the windage/elevation screws before clamping it in. Next, remove the little set screws, clean them and apply some blue loctite to them. Install them, let them cure for 24 hours, then make your sight-in adjustments. The loctite helps add friction to the screws so the laser stays true much longer. Also, make sure the slotted screw opposite of the set screws is well snugged. I've gone hundreds of rounds before having to re-adjust it again, and it's very minimal at that which is a huge improvement from before I added the loctite.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2007-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the bracket and light are the most useful of the set the laser is not the most sturdy of lasers slight bumps throw of the settings ,the light however is needs no adjustment and the remotes are very nice
      Things I would have changed:the laser needs a more sturdiness to hold its adjustments
      What others should know:for the money its still a bargain,regardless i have 2 of them
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top