Ballistol Lube, Aerosol Spray, 6 oz. reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2009-02-24 07:11:03

Things I liked: Ballistol is marvelous stuff! It not only lubricates all kinds of metal and other surfaces, it also protects from rusting AND it REMOVES rust! Yes, it really does. Just rub a rusty gun with a cotton cloth soaked with Ballistol and watch the rust come off. Or clean the barrel and see the rust come out! Buy some and you will never stop using it.

Things I would have changed: The odor is not great. It smells like fish, which I am told is the anise in it.

What others should know: Ballistol is used by most military forces for lubricating automatic weapons.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

By Ernest from USA on 2013-10-22 08:50:46

Things I liked: convenient and does a good job,has a lingering and unpleasant odor

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: "You will never stop finding new uses for Ballistol!" Its true! I use it to clean corrosive firearms ammo residue from AK-74s. It is a most perfect car battery terminal cleaner (neutralizes mild acids.) You can use it on wood. Use it on plastic. Use it on the kitchen sink chrome plated parts. Use it to clean old copper pipes when doing plumbing work. You can literally soak leather with it and it is GOOD for it. Have an electrical cord that's hard to plug into the wall? Put some on a q-tip and wipe the prongs and feel it work. Headphones hard to plug into the computer? apply to the plug with a q-tip there too and it will be like working with butter. Ballistol wont harm plastic, rubber, wood, leather or paint. That's why you can use it on odd applications like I've mentioned without worrying it will harm anything. Its forte is cleaning corrosion from things. Its best used around the house, but of course it is superb for lubing/cleaning/protecting our airguns!

    Things I would have changed: This product is One Hundred and Eleven Years old! Unchanged! There is no reason to change anything about it! Maybe a new label on the can or something, but the product is just right as-is. Was good enough for the German army through WWI and WWII. Still great today. ...And the nonsense about the smell... well its a matter of personal preference. It isn't a stink. It isn't a chemical smell. IT DOES NOT SMELL LIKE FISH as some would have you believe. It is the smell of Anise or an "Anisette" odor A Natural substance. Smells more like licorice than fish. I've actually developed a liking for the odor. You can get it on your fingers and it wont cause any undue harm. Its harmless to you and just about anything you might accidentally get it on. So you can use it for any application you're not sure about an oil harming. Its been doing its thing since 1904. It doesn't need ANY changes!

    What others should know: This is not Snake Oil! It is one of the few true "Miracle Oils." See this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=512kfZfx6mM It will fill your entire house with its odor when you use it. It IS a weird and very unusual smell. I've become accustomed to its odor and actually sorta like it. I discovered it in 2006 when trying to find a gun cleaner that stated is was useful for removing corrosive ammo residue. It was the only one. The old non-aerosol cans said specifically: "Suitable for cleaning corrosive machinegun ammunition residue." This oil will mix with water as it is actually an alcohol-oil mixture. The alcohol bonds to the oil molecules AND the water molecules. It forms a pale milky white liquid. Mix the non-aerosol version 10% Ballistol and 90% water to make a cleaner that has oil in it that will bond to the item being cleaned, protecting it, while the water rinses away what you don't want. a squirt bottle mixed this way is what I use to clean corrosive ammo residue

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2015-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Can be used on the entire gun, metal, bore, wood stocks. Won't harm o-rings. Can also be used to clean barrel of rifle or pistol.

    Things I would have changed: N/A

    What others should know: Get yourself a can of this stuff to keep in your range bag/box.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Handy container. Prompt delivery.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I use it to wipe down my weapons after use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great for the whole gun.

    Things I would have changed: Larger size would be nice.

    What others should know: You can use this stuff on the entire gun, metal, wood, synthetic. Won't harm seals.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By surfski808 from USA on 2014-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Does a fine job cleaning barrels. I spray it on a patch to lightly coat it and then pull it trough from the breach end. I am always amazed at the amount of lead it removes in the first couple of passes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Try spraying on a rag or wipe instead of spraying directly on your gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bud from USA on 2014-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Besides using it on metal. have tried it in leather. It looks new albeit a darker look. Cleaned leather sling around the brass fittings. Had a nice expensive Beeman target pistol get wet in a flood. Removed most of the stains and rust.

    Things I would have changed: Wish there was something they could do about the odor of this aerosol. But maybe that is what makes it work so well.

    What others should know: I advise using it in the garage, on the back porch or any outside area because of its unpleasant odor. But it works.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was introduced to this product by my nephew that is a history buff! My opinion after use, this product deserves a 10 on a 1-5 scale! Search history of this product, try it and u will be, hooked, sold or what ever ur word of discription is, u will be SOLD!!!!! THATS THAT PEROID!!!! TOM A.

    What others should know: 100% A+ for any thing the produ t is listed for guns, of any kind, wood, leather, & etc. My nephew runs a leather shop and even uses this product to renew, yes I said, renew old dried up, dried out leather when restoring old leather products to new restorationike I said this product rates a 10 on a 1-5 scale, fact plain and simple. Don't believe, u have simply to try it! Then you too will believe in this product!! Nothing else on planet earth equal to it. In my proffesional mechanical hands on opinion!!! Peroid!!! Tom A

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like this stuff. It looks good on both wood and metal and it is a good lubricant. I use it on everything.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2014-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A good all purpose lubricate for metal, wood & plastics.

    What others should know: Also makes a good pellet lube.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2014-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good all around gun lubricant and protectant .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Geeat for firearms, fishing reels, or anything else in need of lubricant/protectant.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2014-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very versatile lube. Can be used on a wide variety of surfaces. Great for preventing rust on metal.

    What others should know: A good all purpose lube.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter from USA on 2013-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I found this product to be of excellent quality for light maintenance and protection.

    Things I would have changed: Though not obnoxious, the smell is different and it took me a little to get used to. Bundle deal.

    What others should know: Provides also a peace of mind to have a lower-toxicity, more natural alternative to clean and preserve metal as one’s hands always seem to “get greasy” during these processes.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By grumpy from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the only product I use to wipe down my guns with !

    Things I would have changed: Make the container larger

    What others should know: Its safe to wipe down metal or wood with.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul_ATL from USA on 2013-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Product appears to work well as a rust and corrosion inhibitor; have not tried it as a solvent for cleaning yet. Enjoys a long following of both civilian and military users.

    Things I would have changed: offer a non-aerosol option on this site

    What others should know: Aerosol delivery is fine, but can be a bit wasteful. One of its' attributes is a distinctive scent. I largely ignore it, but our cat gets really excited when I toss used cleaning patches on the floor.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2013-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: convenient and does a good job,has a lingering and unpleasant odor

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jordan from USA on 2013-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clean up is a breeze with this stuff. I use it to clean barrels.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DaveB from USA on 2013-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good value. Shopped quite a bit and could not find a better price. Good size, not to much and not too little.

    What others should know: Try not to breath when spraying. You will understand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This can be used all over the gun, from the bore to barrel to receiver, sights, and stock. Deals extremely well with existing light rust and prevents rust. Doesn't leave your hands a mess when applying or later when shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all.

    What others should know: This is great stuff for a dedicated soft cloth rag... apply to the cloth, then apply to the gun. Keep the cloth in a tin or plastic container and it's ready to go for several wipe downs before needing to apply more Ballistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scarecrow from USA on 2013-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great stuff,you wont believe how good this stuff works.

    Things I would have changed: would be nice to have a small dropper vrs. the spray

    What others should know: use this stuff.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2013-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great cleaner, degreaser, and protector all in one. You can't beat that. Makes cleaning so much easier.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 1234 Next
Navigation