Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns reviews - page 8

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    By Barry from USA on 2010-12-21 18:32:22

    Things I liked:Good quality. It is doing just as it is designed.
    What others should know:Follow instructions. Pump slow and deliberate.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    By ZipnZim from USA on 2014-01-13 17:35:04

    Things I liked:I have two of these pumps. The first one I got with my first disco.(Liked the disco so well, I built two more. Disco upper, 2250 lower.) It worked well for charging my discoveries for about 4yrs, until I decided to tune them "up". Charging them to 2300-2400psi, it didn't take long for the pump to fail. So I began the tribulations others have described. Finally, I considered that my time would be better spent shooting, than poopn with that pump, so I bought another one. Whoops. It was definitely new, but it didn't work well at all, straight out of the box. By then I had researched these pumps online, and the conclusion I reached, was that if I couldn't fix it myself, it wasn't going to get fixed. So, I bought a Hill pump. The Hill got me going again.(And is a higher quality machine.) In the meantime, the ~$400 I've got into these pumps has motivated me to continue to work on getting a reasonable service life out of them. Having studied them to where I understand how they accumulate and transport a charge, and having studied the operational theory for the teflon packing ring that accompanies the piston ring, I see that there is an engineering error in these pumps. The engineer that drew the plans for these pumps, was familiar with the Fluid Dynamics of Hydraulics(liquids), but not the Fluid Dynamics of Gases, which is a more rarefied atmosphere of Fluid Dynamics.(So to speak) The teflon packing ring is the indicator. In Theory, that packing ring should be above/upstream of the
    Things I would have changed:piston o-ring, even though the split in the ring represents a defect in the seal. And if these pumps were transporting liquids, it would probably work well enough. But, the density and viscosity of water(liquids), is so-o much higher than the density and viscosity of gases, that the split in the teflon ring represents a significant breach in the seal. And the pump won't work with that ring in the position where it should theoretically be located. In order for the o-ring itself to make the seal, at the pressures the pump is capable of, the tolerance between the piston head and the cylinder walls must be at minimum, so that the o-ring is not extruded into the gap between the piston head and the cylinder wall by the pressure. That extrusion effect is why these pumps require significantly greater force beyond ~2500psi, because the ring is forming a wedge between the piston head and the cylinder walls, which is what that teflon split-ring was intended to prevent. With a 90durometer Viton o-ring on the piston head, these pumps will charge discoveries in good order. Going near or above 2500psi, will greatly reduce service life. If you want to charge to 3000psi, get a Hill. The Hill pump doesn't have a teflon ring, because the Hill pump, doesn't Need one. The piston diameter on the Hill pump is smaller than on these pumps, which provides a greater mechanical advantage. It takes a few more strokes with the Hill, but the Hill will produce 3000psi with ease. I use it on my Marauder.
    What others should know:I bought another Hill pump for my son, to go with the .25synrod I gave him for xmas. I also taught him how these pumps operate, so that the Hill pumps will probably be giving service long after I am gone. What else would I tell you? If you have one of these pumps, I feel your pain. The Treatment I recommend, is the Hill Pump. Accept No Substitutes.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 789 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2010-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy assembly. Does what it is supposed to do very well. Very well constructed and seems like it will last for quite a while.
      Things I would have changed:This would definitely benefit from some sort of locking device. Every time you move it the handle slides up. Some way to lock the handle for travel would be very much appreciated.
      What others should know:I had heard many horror stories about this pump before I received it. But I must say mine does not heat up and it is not that hard to pump to 3000 psi. I can pump my Marauder from 2000 to 3000 psi in a little over 3 minutes using very controlled and full pumps. I have used this pump to refill my Marauder as many as 15 times in a single day. No problems to speak of yet.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Harry from USA on 2010-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A straight forward, well-designed, robust hand pump.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Very easy to use following supplied instructions. I use this pump on a .22 Benjamin Maurader. It has performed admirably.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2010-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works as well as my more expensive pump. The hose makes it easier to use.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

        By Charles from USA on 2010-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Much cheaper than having the expense of a tank setup.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose Bleeder valve that releases quicker Some sort of lock to keep the pump from sliding up/down when picked up or moved around
      What others should know:I am waiting now on pump number 3 from Crosman. The first one lasted about 5 months. The replacement for that one lasted only 2 weeks. Same issue as mentioned in other reviews. The pumps have both locked up.....Almost impossible to pull the handle up..Almost as if it is vaccum locked...Once you release the handle, it will almost jerk the handle out of your hand pulling itself back to the down position. Like others I have used the pump exactly as directed in the instructions. I have noticed that both pumps that went bad had a very distinct abnormal sound while pumping. I am going to start looking at a small tank for re-fills. Tired of waiting for replacement pumps to arrive.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Ron from USA on 2009-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gets the job done with the lowest cost and the most simplicity. Also, the fact that you can put out 3600psi with what looks (but doesn't fee) like a basic hand-pump.
      Things I would have changed:With the recent price drop, the main complaint becomes less of a problem.
      What others should know:Ordered from another place while PA was out-of-stock. Got a broken one (would not resist during pressure stroke and actually pulled handle back down). Returned it and ordered a replacement from PA (in-stock with lower price!) and could tell as soo as I got it that it was working. The broken pump was silent, while a poperly-operating one gives a little squeak or whimpering puff of air on ht final compression section. Wife asked what the little sound was. It's the final breathe of every varmint I'll encounter, of course!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By airgunner from USA on 2009-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am new to pcp air rifles,so this pump I think is just great. I have nothing else to compare it to. What I like is the big handle which makes it easy on the hands when the pressure gets above 2600psi. The quick disconnect hose is a nice feature. I have used this pump now about 1.5 months with no problems.
      Things I would have changed:The one thing that I would change is to have a longer hose.I have to lay the gun on floor to pump it up.Would be nice to be able to put in a chair.
      What others should know:Right now I can not think of anything.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By johnny from USA on 2009-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:quality pump, easy to read guage.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By James from USA on 2009-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:as advertised
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Keith from USA on 2009-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well constructed. Good value for money. Hill and FX pumps far more expensive.
      Things I would have changed:Hopefully some accessories will be produced like an additional moisture filter etc...
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By TomC from USA on 2009-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice heavy duty pump.. much easier to use than I had anticipated! It is definitely a workout to pump my DAQ .308 rifle up to 3100psi! I like this pump and am happy I purchased it here. Shipping was very fast and the tech dept knew just what I needed!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a bigger gauge? This one is actually bigger than it looks in the picture and is easily read.
      What others should know:This pumps my rifle to 2000psi very quickly, it's that last 1100psi that will make you sweat! LOL
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Norm from USA on 2009-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be a very good quality pump.This is my first pump,for my first air rifle.I had a problem mounting the base because the threads on one of the screws was so bad i threw it away.I took the good screw to a local hardware store and matched it up without much trouble.The price seems high for a hand pump.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see some kind of lock on the pump shaft so that it doesn't come apart when you pick it up by the handle.
      What others should know:Starting on empty you might as well figure on about 200 pumps or more to fill to 2000 psi. I have a Marauder and leave between 500 & 1000 pounds of pressure in the reservoir when not in use.It's easier to fill that way.You get a pretty good workout getting to 2000 psi. and i have pumped it up to 2800 but i have to take breaks.I try not to put over 50 pumps in at a time.You can feel heat building in the pump so i take my time,don't want to damage the pump.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Ted from USA on 2009-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:On-board gauge. Sturdy and well-built. Comfortable to pump.
      Things I would have changed:Hose is too short - good grief, Crosman, make the hose long enough so I don't run the risk of stepping on my gun when I'm pumping it up. Give the sliding mechanism a lock of some kind, so when you tote it around it doesn't slide back and forth.
      What others should know:There have been reports of these breaking and locking up. After 1000 rounds through my gun (which translates to about 30 pumping sessions of 1000 PSI), my pump is holding up just fine. It does get very warm, as indicated by the instructions. So, I don't recommend pumping more than 1000 PSI as a time - to make sure you don't damage the o-rings. Even if you are as strong as an ox, if you are less than 180 lbs, you'll need to use the momentum of your weight to pump this - it's physics. When I start to push down, I lock my arms and drop my left leg to get the force I need. This method lets my weight do the pumping, and it much easier on my arms (locked in position) and back (strait, not bent over). It sounds complicated, but it's not. You'll get the hang of it quickly.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

        By Steve from USA on 2009-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well made and good valving.
      What others should know:At pressures above 2000PSI I have to get up to speed to push handle down completely. At 160 pounds I will float about an inch above full compression if I go slowly. I need 45 pumps to refill from 2000 to 2600 PSI and get about 25 shots at 925 FPS between fills, with .22 Marauder.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

        By Eric from USA on 2009-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:does the job with not too much effort
      Things I would have changed:Needs a longer hose so you don't have to lay gun on ground to fill. also the gauge is hard to see while pumping.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2009-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice heavy duty pump. It does take a lot of pumps and quite a while too fill the Marauder from empty.
      Things I would have changed:I would add a latch to keep pump in the down position for transport and to keep the internal parts clean when not in use.
      What others should know:You will get your exersize!
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

        By Larry from USA on 2009-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quick disconnect type attachment, price, will also fill 3,000 psi guns and tanks.
      Things I would have changed:The 90 day warranty sucks. My first Benjamin pump broke after using it about 2 weeks and five fills. It just froze and was stuck in an extended position. I am confident I was using it as specified and not putting any undue load on it or heating it up. I got a replacement pump from Pyramyd and it also froze, but for whatever unexplainable reason, the next day it loosened up and worked again.
      What others should know:With adapters available here on Pyramyd you can use it to fill Airforce air rifles. The judge is still out on this pump. I'm unsure if it will stand up to even occasional use. Time will tell.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Archie from USA on 2009-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good price and very good quality.
      Things I would have changed:Could use a replaceable or washable air intake filter.
      What others should know:I use this pump to charge my Sumatra 2500 Carbine to 3000+ psi. I am 60 years old and have a pacemaker to keep me going but I get the job done by pumping about a dozen stokes at a time with a little break in between. If I can do it anybody can. I also have a 3442psi steel scuba tank which is a LOT easier to use but I still use my hand pump to top off my Sumatra when the scuba tank drops below 3000psi and on those occasions when I can't get the scuba tank filled. This is a very good hand pump and well worth the price.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By William from USA on 2009-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Works as advertised. Good quality. Good workout!
      Things I would have changed:Add lock washers or Locktite to the base screws to prevent loosening.
      What others should know:It leaked thick black oil from the base onto a carpet; wife became very unhappy. Crosman says oil leaking is normal and is mentioned in the FAQ's.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By James from USA on 2009-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Less expensive than other pumps, yet works the same as the other pumps. Longevity will tell the true story. Directions were completely adequate, along with the short video which was absolutely informative.
      Things I would have changed:The price of all of these pumps is ridiculous for what they are....I've heard of the problems with all brands....I would like to see a type of water trap or filter on this one....it can be done without adding $75 to the price...water trap and keep it at the same price.
      What others should know:Works as good as any type of pump that I've used....so best value in my opinion....time will tell.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By scott from USA on 2008-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:first pcp first pump(th discovery) pleased with both...instructions were adequate and coincided with th article i read by Tom about using high pressure pumps.MUCH more power with air vs.co2.The pump is easy to use anyone could use it...
      Things I would have changed:price although it is comparatively priced with other pumps.I guess i was just not ready for how expensive high pressure pumps are but we are not talking about a bicycle pump
      What others should know:you get a much better deal if you buy th package... that is th pump/gun combo
    • « Previous 12 ... 789 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold