Crosman 0290 Red Dot Sight reviews - page 3

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By CARLOS from USA on 2011-05-24 15:50:00

Things I liked: Cheap and works fine.

Things I would have changed: no

What others should know: no

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Francis from USA on 2014-10-07 10:57:15

Things I liked: red dot

Things I would have changed: Better adjustments

What others should know: Not worth the money

Sort by:
  • Previous 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2010-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to set up. Clear windage and elevation settings. Easy battery install. large on off switch.

    Things I would have changed: Auto off if left on.

    What others should know: This is an all plastic unit for a great price.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2010-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Mounted up real nice on my Steel Storm and dialed in quickly. Every shot is on target.

    Things I would have changed: On/Off switch came loose from the housing. A spot of glue did the trick.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mollie.garrol from USA on 2010-08-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: its easy to put on

    Things I would have changed: everything its a cheesy peice of crap that i wasted my money on

    What others should know: not to buy this

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By joetgood from USA on 2010-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: small dot

    Things I would have changed: this thing is a piece of crap cheap won't stay adjusted thumb adjusting screws so loose vibration from every shot throws the sight off (unless you use duck tape) or glue after its sighted and prat it don't move anymore.

    What others should know: stay away from cheap crap like this and get a good $60.00 dot sight

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By MICHAEL from USA on 2010-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: MOUNTING WAS EASY

    Things I would have changed: THE CAP THAT COVERS THE BATTERY IS TOO CHEAP .IT'S JUST A DUST COVER .IT WILL BE LOST BY JUST POPPING OFF! THE SIGHTING ADJUSTMENT WILL ACCIDENTLY CHANGE JUST BY BRUSHING AGAINST THE KNOBS.THEY SHOULD LOCK IN PLACE. THEY SHOULD LOCK IN PLACE

    What others should know: IF YOU WANT THIS FOR IN HOME SHOOTING IT'S OK . BUT I WOULDN'T TAKE IT IN THE FIELD.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By geer1949 from USA on 2010-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: make a product that works

    What others should know: don't buy one, it fell apart within one week

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mark from USA on 2010-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price

    Things I would have changed: I would make it so it could be used as a sight

    What others should know: This thing DOES NOT hold a zero, take it out of the package and shake it, it flops around like a limp sail in a windstorm, there is no lockdown and the threads on the adjusting screws are so sloppy there isn't even a semblance of accuracy from shot to shot, unless you're shooting the proverbial side of a barn. Junk, junk, junk. A $15 dollar red dot sight really IS too good to be true.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2009-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price, it's cheap.

    Things I would have changed: Quality Control I had to solder on one of the battery leads when mine arrived. No way this was working when it left the factory!

    What others should know: You get what you pay for with this sight. It works, that's about all I can say.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Louis from USA on 2009-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Price- cheap

    Things I would have changed: Make the red lite mount with the glass on it stable. mine wabbles a bit.

    What others should know: I know you get what you pay for but just tighten up the glass mount.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By KC4VNU from USA on 2009-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Purchased this for my Crossman 1377 Pistol and it works beautifully. It has turned that pistol into quite the accurate performer now (I now prefer taking it out over my air rifles for backyard plinking). HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Things I would have changed: The adjustment knobs are (as others have already pointed out) exposed and easily accidentally bumped (taking the sight out of alignment). The battery compartment is mounted below and can be awkward when changing the battery.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Vini from USA on 2009-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the dot is clear.

    Things I would have changed: make it adjustable with a screwdriver or hex key, the large knobs are too bulky and easily bumped. The dot (or rather the frame holding the mirror) is not stable. When adjusting the knob for the horizontal the mirror will shift in the direction you are turning the knob (vertically). It doesn't stay on target and needs constant tweaking.

    What others should know: scrape together a few dollars and get a better model.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2009-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price seemed right but you get what you pay for. This does work ok but, I opted for a better one.

    Things I would have changed: Brighter dot, harder for older eyes to see that dot in bright sunlight. The adjustment knobs can accidentally be moved and the battery cover comes off easily.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Wilfred from USA on 2009-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I did not like much about this item and prefer not to use it.

    Things I would have changed: The sight does not project a beam on to the target, it just has a red glow in the sight recticle and the red dot is blurred.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By rstockhaus07 from USA on 2009-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price. That is the only thing I liked.

    Things I would have changed: The red dot is somewhat unclear. It is isn't really round. You can see almost two dots on top of each other. Overall even though the sight is inexpensive (the most inexpensive on the market) it is cheaply built even for it's price range. If this had been selling for it's intended price it definitely would not be worth the price.

    What others should know: The windage adjustment is loose and has to be fixed to be usable. I had to dismantle the sight and put a shim on the screw. Otherwise the sight could be wiggled left to right almost 1 mm. There shouldn't be any play in a gunsight even a cheap one. It doesn't fit on any of the crosman top loading single shot CO2 air pistols. The sight blocks access to the bolt.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MichaelA. from USA on 2008-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great overall sight for the money. Very easy to dial in & stays in place well.

    Things I would have changed: CLICKS! It's too easy to accidentely bump the sight adjusters & knock it out of adjustment. If it clicked & locked into place, this would make this the perfect sight for the money, but still a great buy.

    What others should know: Once you have it dialed in, use some blue locktite so it stays in place. - The Big Bore Addict -

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2008-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight and easy to mount and use.. My Crosman 357W revolver is heavy to begin with, so after mounting there was no noticable change in weight or balance. Convenient off-on switch, much easier to deal with than the awkward rotary switch on the underside of my Daisy red dot sight. I saw the complaints about glare and the windage/elevation screws but these are not a problem to me. A good value for the price.

    Things I would have changed: I was disappointed there are no crosshairs in the window like my Daisy sight. I know crosshairs aren't technically necessary, but I'm in the habit of centering the red dot in the window before i line up the target and I miss it.

    What others should know: It's wise to switch it off every time you lay the gun down. The 3V button battery will last a lot longer.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2008-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: bought 2 more since my last review.......cost & an easy scope to adjust r the main strengths........ holds on the rail (stationary) better then scopes on my springers........ believe someone said before--- for this price it doesn't ding the wallet should one get destroyed.......

    Things I would have changed: needs more of a shade/extended hood over the lense to cut down on glare........

    What others should know: red dot is tuff to c on an extremely bright day..........

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mgreenfield from USA on 2008-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Attaches easily. Adjusts easily. Good item for an intro to optical airgun sights. I just use it indoors for target shooting, and works very well for that.

    Things I would have changed: Make adjustment knobs smaller and tighter to turn so less likely to get bumped out of adjustment. I prefer something I adjust with screwdriver. Clicks would be nice.

    What others should know: This item is just plastic, so you'll need to be sure it doesn't ever get bumped. On the other hand, for just $15 you can replace it.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Schmedley from USA on 2008-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Low price. Easy mount and adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: The open design produces a lot of glare and extraneous reflections in the sight glass whenever you have a bright daylight situation. I had to cut out a piece of construction paper and create a cowling to cover the area behind the glass to cut the glare enough so I could see what I was shooting at. On cloudy days or twilight, it is less of an issue, but I ended up getting a more expensive tubular red-dot to get rid of the glar issue. The adjustment knobs are openly accessible which makes it easy to adjust, but also makes them easy to accidentally budge and throw off the sighting.

    What others should know: This is my revised review after trying it out for some time. I have not tried other open-type dot sights, but the glare was a real problem for me. I could barely see my target. You can cobble together a few things to get around it, but I'd rather spend a bit more to get a better sight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2007-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Small, Light, and Inexpensive. It works well.

    Things I would have changed: For the price its good - screen is a bit dark in low light.

    What others should know: I placed this on my Crossman 1008 and it works well. The sight and mount also clamp well to my Crosman 357 8" barrel. On both guns this shrank my groups by a huge amount went from 1 1/2" groups to 1 hole groups at 5 meters.

  • Previous 1234 Next
Navigation