Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman 852 Pellet Trap reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2008-06-23 22:53:35

    Things I liked:Only trap that I know of that can stop BB's and Pellets. The double curtain flaps and the steel backing are great. Great value for the ability to stop and trap pellets and BB's. Just Can't shoot pointed pellets. I have seen many traps that only stop pellets, and they cost well over the asking price for this awsum trap.
    Things I would have changed:I would like it if Crosman would throw in 5-10 extra cardboard target holders. Once you blast away the thick cardboard front, you need to cut out a new one from cardboard boxes around your house. The plastic tabs that hold the cardboard facing are hard to push in even when making a pre punture hole. Most of all the frame around the front of the trap should NOT be Plastic. If you misplace a shot or two and shatter the frame that holds the double stops , they will no longer stay in thier proper place/position. The frame should be made of thin steel.
    What others should know:This is a fantastic trap. It can and will stop BB's and Pellets even from high velocity pistols and rifles. Just know that you will need to cut out and replace the cardboard target holder/ trap face. Try very hard not to hit and shatter the frame that holds the traps. I did, but I stuffed old pants& shirts where the curtains were supposed to hang and it works great because I still have the steel back to keep the rounds in the trap.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By John from USA on 2012-02-11 09:45:05

    Things I liked:It was cheap.
    Things I would have changed:Get rid of the buttons that hold the cardboard. Material the curtains are made from.
    What others should know:Once again, this is not a trap to use with high-velocity rifles. I shot through all 3 curtains with the first shot. I wouldn't use anything more powerful than a Red Ryder with this one.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Alan from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Not much.
      Things I would have changed:Pretty much everything.
      What others should know: I bought this pellet trap for use with my Beeman RS-2. I set it up, put about 3 shots into it from about 50 ft. I go to check what it did, and I found that it had simply shattered the pellets, which wouldn't be bad, except that the dust simply fell out. The "ballistic curtains" are weaker than bed sheets, and after about 200 shots, that "rugged steel" plate had bent way out of shape. This product was simply not very well thought out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ronald from USA on 2011-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice little trap! Contained all my pellets nicely.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Good product
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Tim from USA on 2011-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Performance is good and design well thought out.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By TJ Stiller from USA on 2011-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looks Nice
      Things I would have changed:Plastic just did not hold up.Red cloth blew to shreads in less than 250 rounds. 35ft with crosman 2240 and crosman premier hollow points. Also the plastic tabs that hold the metal backplate broke off.
      What others should know:Unless your shooting something really low power, don't buy this trap. I wish I had upped for an all metal one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Manny from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Works well trapping BBs. haven't tried it with pellets yet, but it should work just as well.
      Things I would have changed:A little larger size would be better - maybe slightly larger than a sheet of 8-1/2"x11" bond paper.
      What others should know:The plastic at the edges were pretty much chewed-up after initial use, although I can't imagine what you can do to fix this problem. It's just like the wall around a dartboard - no matter how good you are, someone is bound to come along and puta few darts in your wall...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great for plinking indoors.
      Things I would have changed:A better way to hold the targets.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light and easy to empty. Seems to stop pellets ok.
      Things I would have changed:It seems that the need for curtain replacelment very often at $6.99 a whack is kind of high priced.
      What others should know:I don't think I would buy this trap again. I would go for a heavier duty trap such as the Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap sold by Pyramyd air. It's much higher priced, but after investing in a half dozen replacelment curtains the higher price would be justified.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robby from USA on 2011-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I guess it would be perfect for 177 caliber guns and its not to bad with the slower 22 caliber guns, I like it! A few draw backs with it though #1 you will need to cut out new cardboard pieces for the front, so save the first 1 and use as a copy to make new ones before you shoot it to pieces #2 Don't lose the little black plugs or its ducktape time #3 DO NOT shoot it with a 22 caliber Condor or a 22 or 25 caliber Marauder they WILL tear the cloths down and blow them threw the back of the target braken the little black PLASTIC clips that hold the steal plate on..Now for Jeff below IF you have all ready tore the curtain down go get a piece of square dowel stick cut it to size, drape the cloth over it and it will fit right back in the slots and be good as new! As for blowing the back off :) just ducktape er back on an she is as good as new!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe make it more of a pellet trap instead a airsoft gun trap (it should be steal not plastic) Make the front have grooves in it to slide the cardboard down in an do away with the plastic plugs...But we do like it and use it about every day and would buy again for the slower guns...
      What others should know:If your shooting PCP's I would not suggest it unless the power is turned down on the lower end...Great for my co2 guns and some springers like my Crosman 22 caliber NPSS..
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jeff W from USA on 2010-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pellets stay in the trap. The steel back is heavy enough to withstand a .22 pellet shot from a 750 fps air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The cloth and fiberglass layers are glued somehow to the top of the plastic shell. Mine came apart after about six months, and I haven't been able to glue it back in. Disappointing. You'll need a bunch of cardboard inserts too, but I couldn't find any replacements. It would be nice if they'd slide in like the back, rather than having to hold them in with plastic tacks, which can get lost.
      What others should know:OK I guess, but I'd hate to have to replace it every six months. I'm going to look for a sturdier pellet trap next time. From Pyramyd Air, of course.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Cary from USA on 2010-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:IT STOPS BOTH PELLETS AND BBS AND IS GOOD FOR SHOOTING INDOORS. IT COMES WITH 1 CARDBOARD FOR ATTACHING TARGETS. THE BACK IS SLID ON AND ONE OF HE SUPPORTS THAT THE BACK SLIDES INTO BROKE OFF RIGHT AFTER UNPACKING. IF YOU PICK UP THE TRAP..THE BBS WILL SPILL OUT THE BOTTOM AND GO ALL OVER. I SOLVED HIS BY PLACING A STRIP OF DUCT TAPE ALONG THE BOTTOM. I USED 2 HAND GUNS..THE BERETTA PX4 STORM PELLET AND THE UMEREX SE 177. BB. AFTER A FEW MAGAZINES THERE WAS A HUGE HOLE IN THE CARDBOARD SO YOU NEED TO KEEP SPARES ON HAND. THE TRAP HAS 3 CURTAINS..THE FIRST CURTAIN WAS SHREDDED RIGHT AWAY, THEY MUST EXPECT THIS AS IT COMES WITH AN ORDER FORM FOR SPARE CURTAIN SETS AT $6.95 EACH .HOWEVER NOTHING ESCAPED FROM THE TRAP.
      Things I would have changed:MAKE THE BACK A TIGHTER FIT. MAKE CURTAINS STRONGER AND ERHAPS INCLUDE SOME SPARE CARDBOARDS.
      What others should know:DECENT FOR THE MONEY. i HAVE ONLY HAD IT A FEW HOURS AT THIS POINT
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By robin from USA on 2010-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:shoot inside with no problems
      Things I would have changed:tell where to get the refill clothes
      What others should know:notathing
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2009-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much to like for me except maybe the price,.
      Things I would have changed:The design is faulty, the first four shots from my Blue Streak BOUNCED OUT OF THE TRAP! The rear plate is just slid into the back, the pellets hit the plate and flatten out, since the back steel is angled down the now flattened pellets come flying out the bottom of the trap because of gaps and the design. A pain in the butt to clean up after. I mean isn't a trap, supposed to TRAP the pellets?
      What others should know:The cardboard front needs to be replaced often, that is easy enough if you have a supply of boxes. The upper bar that holds the curtains will shatter with the first shot that hits high. The curtains don't last long at all. I had to fabricate a second plate to curl up around the back bottom of the steel backer to keep flattened pellets from shooting out the bottom of the trap. The steel backer should fit much snugger than it does, you can see gaps around the whole back plate that will allow pellets and lead schrapnel to escape the trap. Poor design, I would not buy this again, even for the cheap price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By MagnoliaMyrtle from USA on 2009-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have not used this trap long so I do not know if the curtains will fail as others have indicated, but so far I like the weight, portability, and ease of use. All bbs and pellets have remained in the trap. I kept the box so I can make more cardboard fronts when the original one gets to big a hole in the center. ;-)
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2009-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Stops and collects pellets as advertized. Good value for the money. Good design concept to handle both bb's and pellets. Sturdy construction (except for curtains).
      Things I would have changed:As other reviewers noted, the first of the 3 interior curtains wears out more quickly than I anticipated (some sections were shot through after maybe 100 pellets). The two back curtains are thicker and made of tougher material, they seem to last longer. I suggest you keep buying replacement curtain sets from Crosman or develop your own curtain or padding material for the inside. The rest of the trap (metal back plate, tough plastic sides) will last a long time as long as there is something on the inside to cushion the blow and trap the pellets safely. Also as others noted it would be better if the trap was slightly bigger, so a 8.5x11 inch sheet could be attached as-is to front. Works fine though for standard targets you may buy, they are smaller.
      What others should know:I saved the original front cardboard to use as a template, and did all my shooting with scrap cardboard I cut to fit (punched 4 holes with a hole punch for the mounting clips). I use 1 thick cardboard cut to the template (like original cardboard) plus two thinner pieces as well (thin sheets like 3x5 card stock) to slow the pellets more. These last maybe 100 shots, then I replace. When I saw how much the curtains were wearing out, I also cut a scrap piece of carpeting to size and put it inside in front of the curtains, it takes most of the punishment and seems to capture the pellets fine. I've got a lot of scrap carpet I can cut.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Joe from USA on 2009-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Reasonable price, stops high speed pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Curtains need to be stronger, they do not last more than a few dozen shots. After the curtains are gone the only thing to stop the pellets is the steel backing which gets dented up pretty bad without the curtains and bends out from the frame allowing the spent pellets to fall out.
      What others should know:Curtains do not last past the first shooting session and need to be replaced after every 80 - 100 rounds.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Trapper65 from USA on 2009-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The target is great for stopping non-pointed pellets and BBs. I shot up to 1000fps pellets and no richocet. A great little target for indoor shooting.Easy to mount targets etc.
      Things I would have changed:I would make it a little bigger and stronger curtain material. Higher speed pellets raise havoc with existing curtains. Have to be replaced quicker. Also pellets andBB's tend to spill out of back if back is not held tight during movement.
      What others should know:25ft is agood distance for this target. With scoped items, much longer shots make it an even better target as it retains all projectiles.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dark from USA on 2008-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Cheap price, very solid steal back, and the safety curtains.
      Things I would have changed:Curtains tend to wear out quickly, so you will want to buy more. Also, the steal back (which slides open to let the pellets and bb's pour out) dents when pellets miss the curtains.
      What others should know:Don't drop this. I've shot my 880 rifle at this target (which was sitting on a smooth surface) and it launched of it, crashing to the ground. So you will defiantly want to brace it.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Joe from USA on 2008-11-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice trap for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The three material curtains need to be stronger / tougher, so they will last a reasonable number of shots.
      What others should know:The three material curtains were torn up after the first session of about eighty to one hundred shots, the only thing now containing the pellets is the metal backing.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Glade from USA on 2008-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The trap is light and surprisingly impact resistant. It has a thin galvanized steel back. It is much quieter than my heavy-duty steel pellet trap, so I use it most of the time.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic assembly that holds the interior "ballistic curtains" is fragile and unprotected from high shots into the target.
      What others should know:First, pull the cardboard off the trap and look inside. There are some Crosman targets and two extra plastic pins to hold the cardboard front stored inside. Also, study how the curtains are arranged; you may have to replace them or re-hang them. On the second round I fired, I hit the plastic curtain support assembly because my gun wasn't properly zeroed. The assembly broke, and the curtains fell into the bottom of the trap, allowing following pellets to hit the steel back and deform it (none penetrated), and the trap became noisy. You cannot fix the rod assembly if you break it. However, you can cut a 1/4" wooden dowel to the same length and rehang the curtains over it. The curtains will not stay in place unless you push some sharpened wire through the curtains on either side and then twist-tie them in place. NOTE: It is difficult to push the wire through; the curtains have a strong, close-woven mesh. Be careful not to suffer a puncture wound. For those who complain that there are no extra cardboard fronts, all you have to do is cut more cardboard and tape it over the original; it doesn't have to be the same size, and you don't have to use the four plastic pins to hold the new cardboard in place. It's not a big deal. --Witt in Virginia
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2008-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Only trap that I know of that can stop BB's and Pellets. The double curtain flaps and the steel backing are great. Great value for the ability to stop and trap pellets and BB's. Just Can't shoot pointed pellets. I have seen many traps that only stop pellets, and they cost well over the asking price for this awsum trap.
      Things I would have changed:I would like it if Crosman would throw in 5-10 extra cardboard target holders. Once you blast away the thick cardboard front, you need to cut out a new one from cardboard boxes around your house. The plastic tabs that hold the cardboard facing are hard to push in even when making a pre punture hole. Most of all the frame around the front of the trap should NOT be Plastic. If you misplace a shot or two and shatter the frame that holds the double stops , they will no longer stay in thier proper place/position. The frame should be made of thin steel.
      What others should know:This is a fantastic trap. It can and will stop BB's and Pellets even from high velocity pistols and rifles. Just know that you will need to cut out and replace the cardboard target holder/ trap face. Try very hard not to hit and shatter the frame that holds the traps. I did, but I stuffed old pants& shirts where the curtains were supposed to hang and it works great because I still have the steel back to keep the rounds in the trap.
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top