Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Nitro Piston Conversion, Fits Many Newer Gamo Rifles reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2009-06-14 12:40:27

    Things I liked:That I can hunt with it and leave my gun cocked until ready to shoot with no damage or weakening to the spring. It seams to have increased my power. No twang when shooting. I have the gamo CFX and I can group them at 30 yards in a dime now, But I also have the GRT III trigger. I Just Love my gun Now. It's awsome !!!
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a little cheaper in cost.
    What others should know:Shipping was real fast. No problems what so ever.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Burke from USA on 2010-06-25 09:52:11

    Things I liked:Pyramyd Air has an excellent service department that bent over backwards to help me with the issues we had with trying to install this conversion in my Gamo CFX.
    Things I would have changed:Make a gas piston to properly fit and operate in my Gamo CFX.
    What others should know:My CFX is an older one and the gas piston does not properly fit mine and was causing the gun to literally tear itself apart. After numerous phone calls and two trips back to Pyramyd Air, they have removed the piston and reinstalled my spring. Unfortunately, the gas piston will not work in all springers.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Alex from USA on 2010-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sounds much better than the spring. Great thud sound from compressed air release. You also hear your pellet in the air. Seems like its a stronger impact to target. Recoil is controllable so you feel more accurate too.
      Things I would have changed:Nope. Installation worked perfect. PyramidAir did a great job. Fast turn around.
      What others should know:Overall I would have left my big cat spring and jumped on the Titan GP had I known about the GP... Now I just have two piston guns. If you love your gun , and its nicer than mine was, upgrade it. Gas piston is the better tech.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By 15mender from USA on 2010-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:WOW, the conversion was well worth the money. The performance has increased and the spring twang/lash is gone; resulting in a much quieter and efficient air rifle.Coupled with the charlie da tuna trigger....awsome. On a recent visit home, (I was on leave(vacation) from the mil) I had the great fortune of meeting the staff. From the front office to the back, everyone was absolutely wonderful. You have a great operation and two thumbs up!!
      Things I would have changed:Although it would be nice to convert myself, I wouldn't change a thing.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Burke from USA on 2010-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pyramyd Air has an excellent service department that bent over backwards to help me with the issues we had with trying to install this conversion in my Gamo CFX.
      Things I would have changed:Make a gas piston to properly fit and operate in my Gamo CFX.
      What others should know:My CFX is an older one and the gas piston does not properly fit mine and was causing the gun to literally tear itself apart. After numerous phone calls and two trips back to Pyramyd Air, they have removed the piston and reinstalled my spring. Unfortunately, the gas piston will not work in all springers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Neal from USA on 2010-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.....well worth the price of the conversion.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Converted my Gamo Whisper. The roundtrip to Pyramyd Air took 7-8 days. Shoots great groups after resighting the scope. Really quiet. Big improvement over the spring.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By dave from USA on 2010-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Must-have. Smooth, quiet, great for subdivision pests in Gamo Shadow Express.
      Things I would have changed:Always price - but EXCELLENT INVESTMENT - YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!
      What others should know:Reduced overall noise output over 50% IMO - much smoother function. Excellent upgrade to protect expensive optics.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By adam from USA on 2010-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the quiet smooth loading. my gun is now shooting clover groups. the service from pyramid air is unbeatable. the trigger is smoother and the balance is better.
      Things I would have changed:the description of the product is not explicit about which guns it fits. the gun i got upgraded, the Gamo Viper was not listed as compatable with the gas ram. a list on one of their forums was more comprehensive. the upgrade was expensive, but worth it
      What others should know:the spring piston will be louder than your spring for about 25 or so shots after you get your gun upgraded. that is because the excess lubricant from installation is cooking off when you fire. the overall feel of the gun is more that of a firearm than a pellet gun because the impulse is so fast. there is no vibration on the shot and thus the gun is far less hold sensative. with a little trigger control i can make killer groups with my pellet of choice, crow magnums. finally when you send your gun in be sure to take off the scope. on a side note if i was purchasing another gun i would buy one with a gas piston already installed. yes, it is that much better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By KC from USA on 2010-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the power consistency & the fact that you can leave your air rifle caulk for extended period of time. I like the fact that i am they only one that has one installed in the team. It makes the other shooter jealous! LOL ( evil )
      Things I would have changed:The price should be lowered.
      What others should know:Very easy to install for the DIY. Mather of fact, the Gas Ram will not make you a better shooter, practice and skill will fix that.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2010-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i like everything about it just one solid clack with no twang.
      Things I would have changed:make it cheaper
      What others should know:my cfx seem to have lost fps and no longer sends any pellet regardless of weight sonic at all. but is fine it shots a more cosistant tighter group than it ever did before and the rodents are beging for me to have it removed and pa i have never sent anything anywhere to have work done to it and recieve it back complete as fast as you guys a big thanks 1 week on the dot. note the recoil is more noticable now .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2010-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smoother operation and lighter cocking force.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing so far...
      What others should know:The GRTIII trigger in Gamo guns is an unbelievable upgrade. You put both in my NRA and the difference is astounding.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By R. LaFave from USA on 2010-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smoother, quieter operation. Increased velocity.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Like everyone says, you need to switch to a heaver pellet. And if you own a Gamo, you need to upgrade the trigger to a GRT3 trigger. "charliedatuna.com"
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By DENNIS from USA on 2009-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Smoother operation -- eliminates the twang. Pellet velocity (measured on the Chrony) was increased about 20 to 40fps. Eliminates any reliability issues with broken springs.
      Things I would have changed:Should give the option of user installation with instructions in addition to vendor installation. If the vendor installs the they should give an additional option of trigger and Tune upgrades (at add'l cost) since they have the gun apart and in the hands of experiewnced technicians anyway.
      What others should know:The Gas Spring Destroyed my GAMO Big Cat's accuracy with lighter pellets (Crossman Premiers 7.9gr shot with ok accuracy before the conversion, but terrible afterwards). After the conversion the only pellets that this gun would shoot half way accurate were the JSB Heavies (10.2gr) and Kodiak Match (10.5gr)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Rik from Netherlands (Holland) on 2009-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power is significantly more! I do not have a chrony yet, but the phone-book test speaks: without gasram the JWS Exact 4.52 penetrated untill page 331 and with the gasram it came until page 411. :-) It also shoots smoother.
      Things I would have changed:For people who have the correct tools and are clever enough to dismantle an airgun (like me), it would be nice to have a manual how to install the gasram! I just ordered the gasram (because I live in The Netherlands) and I would have appreciated some kind of a installation-manual...
      What others should know:If you are not sure about dismantling your own gun, just ship yours to PA! But, it is worth the effort! Cocking the gun definately goes heavier!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By MIke from USA on 2009-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Certainly adds power, my metal drop squirrel is bending & did not prior to the venturi upgrade. Very quiet & much easier to hold on target as the lack of spring slap is very noticeable. I cannot stress how quiet it is!!! Turnover time for installationby Pryamidair was very quick, less than a week.
      Things I would have changed:Price?
      What others should know:The increased power has amplified muzzle velocity such that I need to find a heavier pellet to toss. The Crossman premiers that were very precise at 30 yards before are not performing well now. Some heavier pellets from a sampler I had laying around have done better but I'm looking for something better yet. The PBA make a fun crack but I cannot reliably hit much. Other Hyper sonics are too scattered not accurate enough for my needs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joey from USA on 2009-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have a Gamo Whisper. The gas spring turns an ok air rifle into a Great air rifle. No more spring twang and noise. My rifle never made that supersonic crack shooting raptors, until I had the gas spring installed. Now it cracks like a .22 every time. Pyramyd Air has great service, less than a two week turn around for the gas spring install. Well worth the money.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:The only other thing you need to change on a Gamo Whisper is the trigger. Install a GRT III trigger and you will have a damn fine shooting air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2009-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:So many things. 1) The rifle can be cocked indefinitely, with no damage to a conventional spring. This is particularly useful while hunting wary animals who will not wait for a reload. 2) No spring twang, rattle, or torque. 3) The cocking effort is substantially smoother. 4) I can fire ANY pellet I want now, including the super heavy Eun Jins, with no fear of crushing a conventional spring. 5) The firing impulse is almost entirely in one direction, plus the noise level is much lower. 6) The conversion made the rifle considerably less hold sensitive. 7) Speaking for PyramydAir, I have to say a HUGE thanks for their speed of returning my rifle, which came back within two weeks after I sent it via UPS. PyramydAir actually had a power outage on the weekend that made it impossible for them to send it on Monday morning, as promised. Once their power was restored, they sent it on Tuesday night, and I actually had it in my hands at 10:30AM the next day! That means they took the extraordinary measure of OVERNIGHTING it to me! PA, you guys rock!
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I can think of would be to include a sheet with some suggestions to help resolve an important issue that will be detailed below.
      What others should know:I really loved this conversion, which I had installed on my .22 caliber Gamo CFX, after it broke its mainspring. One small thing to consider, for those who have not fired a gas ram gun, is that the cocking force is about the same as the conventional spring, but it remains constant, and that force starts at the very beginning of the cocking stroke. Now, about that small issue I mentioned in the "Things I would change" block. Within 100 shots with this new conversion, my strongly mounted (B-Square two-piece with four screws per ring clamp) scope slid rearward in the rings over one inch! The recoil impulse turns out to be significantly more energetic. I asked on another forum for advice, and I elected to try using tennis racquet grip tape, opting for the "Tourna Grip" brand found at my local Wal-Mart. I unscrewed the rings to remove the scope (3-9x40AO Centerpoint), then carefully wrapped one turn of the tape where the rings would clamp. I judicially secured the whole rig, then went to the range to sight it in, then check for slip and accuracy. Good news is that the whole thing stayed rock solid, with no skid, and the accuracy was right on the money. Problem solved. Oh, one last thing, for those of you considering sending in your own rifles for conversion, is that you would be STRONGLY advised to take your scope off before sending it in. It could get damaged in shipping, and you will need to sight it back in anyway.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Lawrence from USA on 2009-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:That I can hunt with it and leave my gun cocked until ready to shoot with no damage or weakening to the spring. It seams to have increased my power. No twang when shooting. I have the gamo CFX and I can group them at 30 yards in a dime now, But I also have the GRT III trigger. I Just Love my gun Now. It's awsome !!!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a little cheaper in cost.
      What others should know:Shipping was real fast. No problems what so ever.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Roy from USA on 2009-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smoother cocking, and the pellets seem to hit harder. I will chronograph them when the weather gets warmer.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I would purchase the Gama Whisper with the "Air Venturi Ram Air Gas Spring" already installed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Freddy from USA on 2008-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow, very smooth cocking effort and very quiet. I fired a JSB .177 through my Varmint Hunter and it sounded like a BB gun. I thought something was wrong? I fired three Raptor PBA pellets and each one sounded like a 22. I can't wait to setup my targets and see what kind of groups I get at 20 yards. using predators and exacts. I did notice a slight kick, but no spring twang or vibration.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I can't wait to see what this will do to pest birds and varmints? Once again, Pyramyd Air did a great job of getting my rifle conversion done and back to me very quickly. Great Job!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By rufishin.too from USA on 2008-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gas spring conversion and a charlie trigger makes this hard combo to beat. Better grouping and more power are great. The help I got from Pyramid was fantastic and I greatly appreciated it very much Thanks,Bob
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, keep up the great service I've already told all my friends about you.Pyramid goes the extra distance for it's customers and it's really means alot to us, Thank you.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By mike from USA on 2008-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:-no twang -less recoil -more power( chrono before 981 and after 1170 with rws superdome in cal.177) -steady firing
      Things I would have changed:some kind of fitting instructions for the less experienced gunsmith.
      What others should know:It's just a great upgrade for any gamo airrifle, i've also upgraded the trigger unit with a charlie trigger. These two items makes a gamo airrifle a great rifle that can compete with the higher rated (costing) airguns. BUT...i'm lucky to have a lot of experience with air and fire arms and therefore have a lot of tools including a spring compressor. If you don't have the experience or the tools let some one do the conversion that has. greeting from holland
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top