Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Nitro Piston Conversion, Fits Many Older Gamo Rifles reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By barry from USA on 2010-11-21 16:42:35

    Things I liked:Four day turnaround, spectacular quieting of Gamo Whisper. A different gun.
    Things I would have changed:Price
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-12-07 14:55:11

    Things I liked:Not much. It was good while it lasted. But louder than advertised.
    Things I would have changed:Make it not die after 200 rounds of 9gr. pellets. After 200 rounds of .177 polymags in my Whisper, it lost half it's power. Normally, says the repair dept who received my Whisper for repair, they die outright, mine did not. It lost half it's cocking force and pellets just rolled slowly down range. It did so AFTER the 1-year warranty. So I am out of luck and going back to spring, and paying for all the work to be done. My Whisper now cost me almost twice it's original price, and for what?
    What others should know:I think the failure rate on these devices should be published on Pyramid's website. It might be higher than you think.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price is good but you only get what you pay for! So read on..
      Things I would have changed:My TechForce 99 premier .22 shot at 670 ft/ps with a Damaged spring in it. Because the pyramid Air advertisement says the gun will maintain its original velocity I went with the Nitro Piston replacment. When I got the gun back I shot it and recorded 650 ft/ps 20 ft/ps less than the bad spring would produce.
      What others should know:Robert who did my gun at Air Ventures said all guns loose performace after the Nitro Piston is replaced but only about 20-30 ft/ps. That would fine but I lost that much performance off the damaged spring. This gun with a good spring shot 850-875 with stock TechForce .22 lead pellets. Now I'm at 650 and thats not acceptable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Art from USA on 2012-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is still about the same loudness on my Gamo Bone Collector 22. I also had my Gamo Hunter Pro .177 done and is a little bit quieter. Now both guns shoot "VERY-WELL" with the additions of the Nitro-Pistons!!! I am overall very pleased with the outcome on both guns.
      Things I would have changed:If it is like a mini Bilstein Gas shock it will last forever. Just good old compressed nitrogen. Only thing that can really go out is them shaft seal. I really don't know what else to change but maybe the trigger???
      What others should know:I had very good service and turn around time and i live on the west coast. I also am happy that Pyramid Air did the conversion. They have the proper tools and know how after doing so many. It can sometimes turn out to be one of those half hour jobs that can somehow take the average Joe 3 hours!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2012-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I should have bought this product years ago. The piston delivers better shot to shot cosistency over the spring system. I cant say enough about Pyramid Air, this purchase was the fastest turn around ever. Im very satisfied with Pyramid Air and my newly installed Nitro Piston.
      Things I would have changed:Cant come up with anything
      What others should know:This product is worth every penny, a Nitro Piston should be your first upgrade.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much. It was good while it lasted. But louder than advertised.
      Things I would have changed:Make it not die after 200 rounds of 9gr. pellets. After 200 rounds of .177 polymags in my Whisper, it lost half it's power. Normally, says the repair dept who received my Whisper for repair, they die outright, mine did not. It lost half it's cocking force and pellets just rolled slowly down range. It did so AFTER the 1-year warranty. So I am out of luck and going back to spring, and paying for all the work to be done. My Whisper now cost me almost twice it's original price, and for what?
      What others should know:I think the failure rate on these devices should be published on Pyramid's website. It might be higher than you think.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2011-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great fix for a broken springer.
      Things I would have changed:I think turn around time was too long....that's a joke, these guys were fantastic? 8 days from door to door.
      What others should know:when the conversion is done in a older Gamo whisper, the sound level is higher. The Whisper which was pretty quiet and the conversion which is suppose to be quiet, when added together you give up ones quiet. Still enjoyable to shoot
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No recoil.
      Things I would have changed:The barrel takes two or three pumps to cock. It is not a problem of force, but you really have to jam the barrel back.
      What others should know:Not as quiet as I would have liked.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By neegdogdig from USA on 2011-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:More stable, less recoil, improved accuracy or more accurate than the spring piston.
      Things I would have changed:After I upgrade my whisper vh from a spring piston to the nitro piston the gun shoot flawlessly and smoother. No need to change anything once you upgraded.
      What others should know:If you still shoot with the old spring piston, now it's the time to upgrade!!!. I'm telling you, If I know it shoot this damp good I could have replace the stock spring long time ago. Now it feels like a new better gun. One more thing about the whisper silent cat the trigger can not be modified or upgrade to the GRT 3 trigger.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Loren from USA on 2011-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This nitro piston has worked wonders on my NRA comemorative shadow Gamo. I could hardly believe smooth solid thunk like firing behavior. Performance ls outstanding 860 fps with JSB 10.2 Exact's.though more accurate with H&N FTT 8.64 gr. .6 IN. at 25 yd's.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:The service people and the people at Pyramyd who ship this stuf out are simply amazing. I shiped this rifle out on Monday and recieved it back on Saturday Loren
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By jhparizona from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Installed on 2008 GAMO Big Cat w/GRT III & Leapers 3-9X40 - AO - UTG.. Cocking is very smooth. Power is greater and consistent. I used to have to make allowances in elevation for the distance of a shot. Pellets now seem to maintain elevation throughout the useful range of the gun. Much louder report, Raptors sound louder than a .22. Fast turn-around from Pyramid.
      Things I would have changed:Given that you're buying an air piston, the price is too high. The conversion should be made available at a more reasonable price for anyone wanting to install it themselves. That said, when you consider liability issues, having it installed by a professional and the rapid service, the price seems O.K.
      What others should know:The GRT trigger is the #1 best improvement for this gun, this Nitro Piston would be #2, of course the scope that comes with it should go in the garbage. Remove your scope, pack it well, put your Pyramid order # I.D. along with the serial number on the gun (a small label), on the box, and inside the package.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ron from USA on 2011-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You feel very little recoil. I think you guys did a great job. The turn around on the R & R was fantastic!
      Things I would have changed:I also changed the trigger with a GRT-III from Charliedatuna.com.
      What others should know:These two changes make the rifle a great shooter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dean from USA on 2011-01-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Had this installed on my GAMO whisper VH a few months ago, and would never even think of buying a spring gun again! Barely any recoil, mush less noise that the original and almost 200fps over the metal spring.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing, it works perfectly.
      What others should know:If you want to wind up with a gun that's a joy to shoot, and shoot with consistent accuracy, get the nitro spring and send away for a GRT III trigger!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Frank Coe from USA on 2010-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everythjing. This made my Gamo 440 Hunter into a much more accurate and quiter rifle. Gone is the jolting spring recoil which would jar my jaw and cause a headache after 50 rounds. I replaced the trigger with the GRT3 and now the trigger release is much more predictable.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. The turn around from Pyarmd was quick and the customer service was excellent.
      What others should know:Consider the GRT3 trigger upgrade which you much purchase separately. It will make all the difference in the world.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Dan from USA on 2010-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quieter, more powerful, no more twang and torque
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:More difficult to load than the spring
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By barry from USA on 2010-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Four day turnaround, spectacular quieting of Gamo Whisper. A different gun.
      Things I would have changed:Price
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top