Crosman Williams Rear Sight, Notched Blade, Elevation & Windage Adj., 3/8" Mount reviews - page 1

Pre-orderOut of Stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Matthew from USA on 2014-01-31 10:33:07

Things I liked: Very well made, easy to precisely zero your point-of-aim (POI), and a pleasure to work with.

Things I would have changed: It would be nice if there was a simple way to adjust the cant. If your breech is a few degrees off level, the wide Williams sight will exaggerate the issue and appear to lean left or right, depending. There is a remedy for this which I won't go into here -- search the crosman forums or ask me in the comment option below my review.

What others should know: Another reviewer here stated it quite well, but I'd like to reiterate his points regarding mounting this sight on a 2300t or 2300kt from the custom shop. You WILL need/want the extended bolt handle that comes standard on the 2300s. Otherwise, you'll have to mount the sight hanging way off the back of the gun. If you have a muzzle device, you will also need the taller front sight post from the 2300s in order to have enough elevation adjustment. (I can't speak to the blade sight and whether it's tall enough.) When someone orders a 2300KT with a Williams sight from the custom shop, Crosman NEEDS to include the longer handle and taller sight. Without those parts, they're sending you a gun/sight combination that is virtually unusable. I've discussed this at length with Crosman and they tell me they are addressing it. For now, just call them and they'll send the parts for $12.23 shipped. All things considered, it's an excellent sight and I'd get it again.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Stephen A. from USA on 2015-08-25 20:15:04

Things I liked: This Williams Receiver sight is a good design and well made. I've used this type on several different target pistols and rifles. For this reason alone it is well worth 5 stars. However, see below...........

Things I would have changed: I bought it for use on a Crosman 1322 air pistol for which it is totally unsuitable. There isn't enough range of vertical movement to adjust to it from shooting high by an inch or more. It is useless on a 1322. Period!

What others should know: PyramydAir is a good company and I've always been pleased with their products and overall service. I will continue to give then my business and this is the only time one of their product descriptions let me down.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Stephen A. from USA on 2015-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This Williams Receiver sight is a good design and well made. I've used this type on several different target pistols and rifles. For this reason alone it is well worth 5 stars. However, see below...........

    Things I would have changed: I bought it for use on a Crosman 1322 air pistol for which it is totally unsuitable. There isn't enough range of vertical movement to adjust to it from shooting high by an inch or more. It is useless on a 1322. Period!

    What others should know: PyramydAir is a good company and I've always been pleased with their products and overall service. I will continue to give then my business and this is the only time one of their product descriptions let me down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brucester from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the way you can walk the zero in with the clicks. Very well built. Very accurate

    Things I would have changed: The price

    What others should know: With the click adjustments I found that you are able to walk the pellets right into the bullseye.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built. Easy to sight in and holds adjustment. It has a excellent sight picture.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Williams has always made great sights. You will be happy with one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2015-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Even though this sight is a bit on the expensive side, it is worth every penny you would pay for it. This is the 3rd one I own, and I use (2) two of them on the Crossman 2300s and the 2300t target pistol. The 3rd one is now being used on my new Crossman "SILHOUETTE PCP" target pistol. The "SILHOUETTE PCP" does not come with a sight, and this is by far the best sight you can use with it. The "WILLIAMS" Micro sight is the only sight that I believe you can use if you are a very serious shooter. Both the "Left and right adjustments as well as the elevation adjustment" have a positive locking setting. You can walk in your shoots one click @ a time with a positive lock @ each steep of adjustment, once you have your windage zeroed in then you can work on your elevation settings. (work them each one @ a time till centered). You will hear each adjustment click as it is made. As far as I know there is no other sight out there that is any better then the Williams Micro Sight.

    Things I would have changed: A slightly larger cocking handle, for more clearance between the sight and the cocking handle. A notch in the rear sighting blade slide to match up with the markings on the sight base. ( was included at one time in the older Williams sights but for some reason this notch has been removed from the newer units) this would let you know where you lined up with the sighting marks, such as center, and to be able to keep track of your settings when making adjustments for record keeping.

    What others should know: The "Williams Micro Sight" is a Precession Made device and as such should be handled with care when installing it on your "SILHOUTTE PCP" Pistol. Some of the parts are made of THIN Metal and as such SHOULD NOT be OVER TIGHTENED. Also watch out for the sight grove on the pistol and make sure that you have the securing clamp aligned in such a way that you are past this sight grove on the pistol (2300S & 2300t as well as the Silhouette) if you do not, when you secure the Williams sight you could very easily BEND and damage the thin mounting clamp. Do not over tighten the (2) two very small allen set screws, you could strip them out, the same is true for the top Phillips head screw, just snug them up with out any heavy pressure. Once this is done you will be very happy with the Williams sight. To sight in us a good sighting in target and a bench rest to rest the air chamber onto. Walk your sight in (1) one click @ a time and fire 2 or 3 shoots per click. Just take your time and not rush.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Madhav from USA on 2014-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is very well built rear sight. It fits the Crossman with steel breech as shown and within minutes I had it zeroed in.

    Things I would have changed: The adjustments are super easy. However, the elevation adjusted is about 3 bars from the top. I would provide more ways to lower the whole unit. There are some screws that one could fiddle with but since it works why fiddle.

    What others should know: I used it with a fibre optic front sight. If you have the normal sight, I am not too sure about elevation play. It will work but with the fibre optic front acquisition is fast and quick.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2014-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very well made, easy to precisely zero your point-of-aim (POI), and a pleasure to work with.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if there was a simple way to adjust the cant. If your breech is a few degrees off level, the wide Williams sight will exaggerate the issue and appear to lean left or right, depending. There is a remedy for this which I won't go into here -- search the crosman forums or ask me in the comment option below my review.

    What others should know: Another reviewer here stated it quite well, but I'd like to reiterate his points regarding mounting this sight on a 2300t or 2300kt from the custom shop. You WILL need/want the extended bolt handle that comes standard on the 2300s. Otherwise, you'll have to mount the sight hanging way off the back of the gun. If you have a muzzle device, you will also need the taller front sight post from the 2300s in order to have enough elevation adjustment. (I can't speak to the blade sight and whether it's tall enough.) When someone orders a 2300KT with a Williams sight from the custom shop, Crosman NEEDS to include the longer handle and taller sight. Without those parts, they're sending you a gun/sight combination that is virtually unusable. I've discussed this at length with Crosman and they tell me they are addressing it. For now, just call them and they'll send the parts for $12.23 shipped. All things considered, it's an excellent sight and I'd get it again.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Malcolm from USA on 2014-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Large range of adjustment for both windage and elevation. It does the job

    Things I would have changed: The sight looks awkward and really big on my 2300T. It's a large contraption for such a small sight.

    What others should know: Overall the sight is a little too "universal" and even though it's marketed for the 2300T, is really too large for the air pistol. Expensive for what you get.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2013-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Professional quality sight at a very reasonable price! Worth twice the price. Perfect sight for the Crosman 1701P.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Spread the word. This is THE sight for the Crosman 1701P.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2013-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy installation, easy adjustment.

    What others should know: In my opinion, this is the best deal for open sights that is available.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality of this sight can really only be appreciated by working with it. It seems like it's carved out of a single, almost seamless piece of metal. The click detents are firm and crisp, and the range of adjustment is outstanding.

    What others should know: Because of its range of adjustment, this sight will fit a wide range of pistols and rifles with a 3/8" mounting rail.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2013-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to install the sight itself is bigger than I thought it would be. But the size isn't a problem what so ever. The build quality is amazing and worth the money I spent. The sight makes a world of difference over the standard sight I had on my 2240 pistol. I'm not a big fan of using scopes or a red dot on a pistol. adjusting the Williams sight for windage & elevation adj are easy to do using just your fingers no need for a screw driver on this sight.

    Things I would have changed: When spending this amount of money on this sight you would hope they would package it in a box. My was shipped in a plastic bag don't get me wrong Pyramyd Air did a great job on packing this order and all my other orders. The maker Of this sight should package this in a box. You can buy a 40.00 scope it always come in a box.

    What others should know: A very well built rear sight with easy adj.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jon from USA on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Mounts easily, lots of adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2012-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice easy to sight in. Put it on my 2300T and replaced the front sight with fiber optic and my gun is now easier to shoot than it was with a red dot,

    Things I would have changed: It is a little large perhaps they could reduce the size a little bit especially near the breach bolt.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2012-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very precise adjustments. Settings don't drift at all. Mounts very securely. Good crisp notch.

    Things I would have changed: Figure how to make it a bit more compact. It takes up a lot of space on the receiver and sticks out both sides. This is a minor quibble though.

    What others should know: Although large this is an exceptional notch-type target sight. Mine is mounted on a Crosman 2300S.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2011-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, adjusts well and repeats. Installs easily. Good price vs. direct from Williams.

    Things I would have changed: Height adjustment is bottomed out on breech at zero. Was looking for a peep sight. May glue piece from Hy-Viz to front sight for elevation, brightness.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2011-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I mounted this sight on my Crosman 1701. Solid all metal construction--no plastic! Windage and elevation knobs have a positive 1/4 MOA click adjustment and are lockable with set screws. If your are applying the marksmanship fundamentals, this sight will move your groups exactly where you want them.

    Things I would have changed: I would change screw on top from a slot to an allen or torx

    What others should know: When mounting the sight, the screw on top needs to be snug but not tight--just enough so the dovetail block under it can still move. If not, any slack will translate into a cant to one side when the side screws are tightened against the dovetail block.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike Koratich from USA on 2011-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fits the 1701P pistol perfect and makes a great combo with that pistol. Solid construction. Good target knobs.

    Things I would have changed: Price is a little high.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2010-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to mount and adjust. I put it on my Crosman Silhouette PCP Air Pistol and it works fine.

    Things I would have changed: Include instructions.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Fred from USA on 2010-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Micrometer adjustments are very smooth. Solid construction and light weight.

    Things I would have changed: The allen wrench required for mounting is not included and it's a very small wrench. Sight is a tad bit expensive, but the quality is undeniable. Very solid construction.

    What others should know: I mounted this on a 2300KT from the Crosman Custom shop. The same problem will apply with any standard 2240 with Crosman's steel breech. I had to order two parts from Crosman for a 2300S model (which comes stock with the Williams sight) in order for the sight to function when mounted just behind the breech: 1. A longer bolt handle from 2300S (Part 2300-123)- Without it, the bolt handle will not clear the sight. I ordered the bolt handle from Crosman. I had to order the whole bolt assembly because they won't just sell the handle. Cost was $10.00 plus shipping. It is interchangeable with the .22 bolt, even though the 2300S is a .177 cal. 2. A taller front sight post from 2300S (Part 2300-028)- Without this, the sights will not adjust low enough to sight in. Crosman sent me this for free. It is a few cm taller (enough to get a good adjustment range for different pellets) , and the threads also fit the black muzzle you get when ordering from the custom shop. They sent me this for free. I'm not sure if the standard 2240 plastic front ramp sight is tall enough, but I don't think it is. Both of these items can be avoided if you mount the sight with the elevation adjustment hanging from the back of the gun about 3/4". However, when mounted this far back, the notched blade is blurry in your vision, and the notch appears way to wide in order to center the front post easily. It also looks funny, and would be easily knocked out of adjustment.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sol from USA on 2009-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: All metal. Smooth clicks. Micrometer adjustments. Absolutely no rocking or slack. A truly professional sight.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are straight black. I bought some NiteSiter glow stickers for night hunting with my 1322 and now i wish the rats would breed faster :D

    What others should know: This thing is 2-1/8'' wide and 1-5/8'' top to bottom. It hangs off my 1322's steel breech like a car wing but it looks A W E S O M E ! Also, it gives me better leverage to pump now that the scope is gone. I highly, highly recommend this if you're a pistol packer :)

  • 12 Next
Navigation