Freedom8 ShoeBox Electric Air Compressor, Max 4500 PSI reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Average Customer Review

4.5 (14 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:3.0

By Ed Robbert from USA on 2013-12-08 13:52:36

Things I liked:The Freedom8 works as advertised and so far it works very well.
Things I would have changed:Well, I guess it would be the high price however, I expect that production costs for low volume highly specialized items like high pressure compressors for air guns might have high production cost which would drive up the cost for the end user. Where else are you going to buy one? Anyway, other than the price I wouldn't change a thing.
What others should know:Just follow directions provided by the manufacturer. For quicker refills try to keep the pressure in your air gun tank above 2000 psi before refilling and with the larger 4500 PSI carbon fiber refill tanks keep the pressure above 3000 PSI. Both tanks fill much quicker when refilling from 2/3 full rather than empty. Filling from empty is agonizingly slow. If you have problems give the folks that make the Freedom8 or Pyramyd a call. Both are very helpful and their advice can save you a lot of time and trouble.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:3.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-11-22 13:00:17

Things I liked:It does the job. The manual has everything you need to know.
Things I would have changed:I would write the manual a little more clearly and step wise. I would put a lever handle of some kind on the pressure relief knob. Maybe a slide through like on a vise. I would certainly put an decent output pressure gage on a unit that costs this much. I would make it a little easier to change the pressure settings, and more clearly delineated. I would ship it set closer to its rated pressure. I am getting 4100 PSI fills according to the gage on my fill bottle.
What others should know:It can be difficult to release pressure, and because its difficult its slow. If the check valve on your tank or gun counts on internal pressure for the best seal this means you will waste some of your fill each time until you can get relief valve open far enough.
Sort by:
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By raven223 from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Low cost 4500psi compressor2
    Things I would have changed:Make it self lubricating. Every 2 hours of use you need to take the cover off and put a dab of lithium grease on the pistons then replace the cover.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2015-01-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:1. No more trips to the local scuba shop or paintball range to fill my tank!!!! As the name implies "FREEDOM"!!! I have the Air Venturi 90 Cu. In. tank (PA SKU PY-A-4708. The tank handles 4500 PSI yet the scuba shop only goes up to ~3300 and the paintball shop only goes up to ~3000. Thus, I had to make a lot of trips (my Hatsan AT-44-10 Long QE in .25 cal.)is an air hog. The scuba shop was a two hour round trip through the Austin, TX traffic and the paintball place was only open on weekends. 2. The Shoebox filled my Air Venturi from 3000 (the lowest I like to go) to 4500 psi in exactly 30 minutes (I timed it).
    Things I would have changed:For over $1100 the Shoebox company could have at least supplied some white lithium grease. Not a show stopper since there is a plethora of places you can buy it but just really the only thing. I was like "really? Not even a little packet of grease?".
    What others should know:Yes, the price is on the high end, but if you HATE the drive to the local scuba or paintball shop for a fill then get this compressor. Split the cost with a air gun buddy or something if you have to. Never again will I have to rely on an outside refill source, never.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I just got this thing today and from out of the box to filling a tank was 10min! Fills a tank ( the 90 I got ) in about a hour I guess from 3000 to 4500. It dose sound like a sewing machine ( ha ). Best of all no more going to get my tank filled!!!!!!!!!
    Things I would have changed:Lower cost of corse. But I am sure it will pay for it self in time. If you have to keep having to take the cover off to live it every 2-3 hours send the Allen wrench. I would also put some slots on the cover( and I will myself) so you do not have to take the screws out all the way. For that fact why now a thumb screw you do not need tools?
    What others should know:It is slow!!!! With that said I baby mine for the first charge. It kicked off at 4000. No problem cause the instructions tell you to turn a screw in one turn on the regulator. Got it to 4500! I was not really sure what it can with and what else I would need so I will line it out for everyone. It dose come with the air fitting for the "in" side you need to install your self ( 30 secs to do). It dose come with the foster connection for the out. You need a compressor that will do 125psi and a hose to got to your tank or gun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It does the job. The manual has everything you need to know.
    Things I would have changed:I would write the manual a little more clearly and step wise. I would put a lever handle of some kind on the pressure relief knob. Maybe a slide through like on a vise. I would certainly put an decent output pressure gage on a unit that costs this much. I would make it a little easier to change the pressure settings, and more clearly delineated. I would ship it set closer to its rated pressure. I am getting 4100 PSI fills according to the gage on my fill bottle.
    What others should know:It can be difficult to release pressure, and because its difficult its slow. If the check valve on your tank or gun counts on internal pressure for the best seal this means you will waste some of your fill each time until you can get relief valve open far enough.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Branko from USA on 2014-11-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good small Carbon tank and it looks to be good quality. ShoeBox compressor is great. High pressure hose works great. No leaks Good Uzi magazine no CO2 leaks. BB's are not foaling out
    Things I would have changed:Check valve was leaking and I had to polish surface of the valve to stop liking. I would suggest better quality control. Price is not competitive. You can get same size Carbon tank on Amazon for less but I do not know quality of those tanks.
    What others should know:Manual for the ShoeBox compressor is pure.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Gordon from USA on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:No more pumping, reasonably quick and quiet (about as loud as a sewing machine) in refilling tanks. In fact, whatever you choose as a first stage to this will be louder. Customer support from the Shoebox main company is top notch, I had a few teething problems, both of which were solved quickly and without drama. Changing the fill pressure is pretty easy, I marked the pressure switch for 200 bar and 300 bar fills for easy switching.
    Things I would have changed:There is a bit of regular maintenance involved, but everything is explained very well in either the manual or online at the shoebox sight via videos. Anyone with a reasonable amount of technical ability will be fine repairing/maintaining the compressor. An easily seen outlet pressure gauge would be a nice touch, manipulating the rifle or tank while filling is an inconvenience at the least.
    What others should know:I found it best to use some tin snips to slot the front cover where the screws are. I simply loosen them now to slide the front cover off. I also used a tiny squirrel cage fan to cool the ac motor since it gets pretty warm after marathon filling sessions in the summer. For changing pressures I found a flat blade screwdriver hex bit is best for the task, use a scribe or a sharpie to mark pressures. For the price, this is pretty much a must have for any pcp air gunner; it's one of those tools where you wonder why you waited so long to purchase one after it's first use!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Richard from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This actually works quite well. It's fairly quiet. Filling a large 4500psi tank from 0 to 4500 takes about 12 hours (rarely done). Filling a large tank from 3000PSI to 4500PSI typically takes 3-4 hours for me.
    Things I would have changed:In order to service (lube) this, you need to open it up every 2ish hours to lube the shafts. The front cover is held in place by 4 allen screws. Typically you take the front cover off while filling. The screw connectors should be redesigned so that the front cover can be opened and closed easily without removing the screws everytime.
    What others should know:If you are in an area that is humid (like the pacific northwest), use a good dessicant water remover/filter, as you will get water in your tank otherwise. Normal compressor water separators do NOT do the job.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2014-10-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:What can you say.. definitely works, fills my Air Venturi 90 cui in about 2hr 20min.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By FANG from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very good air source. The adjustment for air psi is easy to set.
    Things I would have changed:An easier way for removal of the shroud for lubing and larger fan. A factory presser gauge would be nice and hour meter.
    What others should know:I use an in line water trap from the compressor to the Freedom 8. I am only using the freedom 8 to fill the guns direct. This does not take long. As to filling larger than 480cc tanks I have not tried. Also I have left the shroud off and use another large fan for extra cooling. This may not be the recommended way but this also aids in the lubing of the pumps. The removal of the shroud to lube is awkward and timely.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By FANG from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Easy set up,does all it claims. A must for the PCP peerson
    Things I would have changed:pressure gauge
    What others should know:This is a small unit. It takes little shelf space. With a 125 psi 1st stage source fill time is very good and fast on direct gun fills. For larger bottles the time will vary depending on the bottle volume. SUPER PRODUCT. FANG
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Peppy from USA on 2014-03-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Compact, relatively quiet. Does what it's supposed to do. Not fast but it beats pumping.
    Things I would have changed:It needs a handle.
    What others should know:Mine wouldn't start on the first try. I called Pyramyd Air support and no one knew anything about this compressor. I took the cover off, turned the motor a few turns by hand and it started on the next try.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Ed Robbert from USA on 2013-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Freedom8 works as advertised and so far it works very well.
    Things I would have changed:Well, I guess it would be the high price however, I expect that production costs for low volume highly specialized items like high pressure compressors for air guns might have high production cost which would drive up the cost for the end user. Where else are you going to buy one? Anyway, other than the price I wouldn't change a thing.
    What others should know:Just follow directions provided by the manufacturer. For quicker refills try to keep the pressure in your air gun tank above 2000 psi before refilling and with the larger 4500 PSI carbon fiber refill tanks keep the pressure above 3000 PSI. Both tanks fill much quicker when refilling from 2/3 full rather than empty. Filling from empty is agonizingly slow. If you have problems give the folks that make the Freedom8 or Pyramyd a call. Both are very helpful and their advice can save you a lot of time and trouble.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-08-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The convenience, noise, compactness, amd performance.
    Things I would have changed:The price seems high for what is a relatively simple device. Can't really see why it costs 5x the price of a shop air compressor other the low demand. It needs a carry handle.
    What others should know:You should install a filter/desiccator between your shop compressor and the Shoebox to ensure clean dry air for your PCP. You will need some basic mechanical skills/tools as you will need to disassemble the cylinders to replace worn o-rings periodically. The F8 comes with 6 complete sets replacement of o-rings. A set of snap ring pliers is required which not everyone has in their toolbox..
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The size, performance and noise level are right for home use.
    Things I would have changed:A carry handle would be nice. Mine arrived with some dings that didn't affect performance and they didn't bother me enough to return it. Package was OK so damage must have occurred at the factory. Price seems a bit high for a relatively simple divice.
    What others should know:Fills my Benjamin 90ci take from 2k to 3k in about 25 minutes. My 20 gallon shop compressor only runs 1-2 times for the 2k-3k fill and is 10 times louder than the Shoebox. The Shoebox sounds alot like a sewing machine.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top