Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Freedom8 ShoeBox Electric Air Compressor, Max 4500 PSI reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (6 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By Ed Robbert from USA on 2013-12-08 13:52:36

    Things I liked:The Freedom8 works as advertised and so far it works very well.
    Things I would have changed:Well, I guess it would be the high price however, I expect that production costs for low volume highly specialized items like high pressure compressors for air guns might have high production cost which would drive up the cost for the end user. Where else are you going to buy one? Anyway, other than the price I wouldn't change a thing.
    What others should know:Just follow directions provided by the manufacturer. For quicker refills try to keep the pressure in your air gun tank above 2000 psi before refilling and with the larger 4500 PSI carbon fiber refill tanks keep the pressure above 3000 PSI. Both tanks fill much quicker when refilling from 2/3 full rather than empty. Filling from empty is agonizingly slow. If you have problems give the folks that make the Freedom8 or Pyramyd a call. Both are very helpful and their advice can save you a lot of time and trouble.
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-08-12 07:54:28

    Things I liked:The convenience, noise, compactness, amd performance.
    Things I would have changed:The price seems high for what is a relatively simple device. Can't really see why it costs 5x the price of a shop air compressor other the low demand. It needs a carry handle.
    What others should know:You should install a filter/desiccator between your shop compressor and the Shoebox to ensure clean dry air for your PCP. You will need some basic mechanical skills/tools as you will need to disassemble the cylinders to replace worn o-rings periodically. The F8 comes with 6 complete sets replacement of o-rings. A set of snap ring pliers is required which not everyone has in their toolbox..
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By FANG from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good air source. The adjustment for air psi is easy to set.
      Things I would have changed:An easier way for removal of the shroud for lubing and larger fan. A factory presser gauge would be nice and hour meter.
      What others should know:I use an in line water trap from the compressor to the Freedom 8. I am only using the freedom 8 to fill the guns direct. This does not take long. As to filling larger than 480cc tanks I have not tried. Also I have left the shroud off and use another large fan for extra cooling. This may not be the recommended way but this also aids in the lubing of the pumps. The removal of the shroud to lube is awkward and timely.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By FANG from USA on 2014-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy set up,does all it claims. A must for the PCP peerson
      Things I would have changed:pressure gauge
      What others should know:This is a small unit. It takes little shelf space. With a 125 psi 1st stage source fill time is very good and fast on direct gun fills. For larger bottles the time will vary depending on the bottle volume. SUPER PRODUCT. FANG
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Peppy from USA on 2014-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Compact, relatively quiet. Does what it's supposed to do. Not fast but it beats pumping.
      Things I would have changed:It needs a handle.
      What others should know:Mine wouldn't start on the first try. I called Pyramyd Air support and no one knew anything about this compressor. I took the cover off, turned the motor a few turns by hand and it started on the next try.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Ed Robbert from USA on 2013-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Freedom8 works as advertised and so far it works very well.
      Things I would have changed:Well, I guess it would be the high price however, I expect that production costs for low volume highly specialized items like high pressure compressors for air guns might have high production cost which would drive up the cost for the end user. Where else are you going to buy one? Anyway, other than the price I wouldn't change a thing.
      What others should know:Just follow directions provided by the manufacturer. For quicker refills try to keep the pressure in your air gun tank above 2000 psi before refilling and with the larger 4500 PSI carbon fiber refill tanks keep the pressure above 3000 PSI. Both tanks fill much quicker when refilling from 2/3 full rather than empty. Filling from empty is agonizingly slow. If you have problems give the folks that make the Freedom8 or Pyramyd a call. Both are very helpful and their advice can save you a lot of time and trouble.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The convenience, noise, compactness, amd performance.
      Things I would have changed:The price seems high for what is a relatively simple device. Can't really see why it costs 5x the price of a shop air compressor other the low demand. It needs a carry handle.
      What others should know:You should install a filter/desiccator between your shop compressor and the Shoebox to ensure clean dry air for your PCP. You will need some basic mechanical skills/tools as you will need to disassemble the cylinders to replace worn o-rings periodically. The F8 comes with 6 complete sets replacement of o-rings. A set of snap ring pliers is required which not everyone has in their toolbox..
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.6666698455810553 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The size, performance and noise level are right for home use.
      Things I would have changed:A carry handle would be nice. Mine arrived with some dings that didn't affect performance and they didn't bother me enough to return it. Package was OK so damage must have occurred at the factory. Price seems a bit high for a relatively simple divice.
      What others should know:Fills my Benjamin 90ci take from 2k to 3k in about 25 minutes. My 20 gallon shop compressor only runs 1-2 times for the 2k-3k fill and is 10 times louder than the Shoebox. The Shoebox sounds alot like a sewing machine.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top