Date: 19/8/2017 7:52
0

Freedom F10 ShoeBox Electric Air Compressor, Max 4500 PSI reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Greg from USA on 2016-09-12 12:28:49

Things I liked: It's a little high priced. The sub $700 version may be more in line. Fill times aren't that bad. My oilless shop compressor it at least 4 times noisier. It could use a few simple mods. Fills my 3000, 80 ft tank, 3500, 100 ft tank and 2,4500 80 ft tanks fine. The auto shut off still needs a little more calibration.

Things I would have changed: Long adjustment rod, coming out the side of box for adjusting the cut off while running. Small tube from top of box for adding lube without taking the cover off. Same for adding lithium grease to the rod bushings. Cheap thermometer on front face for monitoring the compressor 's heat build up. Built it pressure gauge on the face, calibrated in bar and psi. Magnetic button on back to hold nessesary Allen wrenches, keeps them handy. Wing bolts to replace the hex key screws for cover removal. The nipple could stick out a bit farther from the front for easier attachment of the air line. A flat for the grub screw to grab on the pressure release.

What others should know: Fills faster than the Omega. The ShoeBox is not that noisy, a quieter oilless pump is the trick. Watch your cut off adjustment, I ruined one fill line when a 1/4 turn adjustment took the cut out from 4300 to 5000 psi. Do use a moisture filter between the shop compressor and the ShoeBox. Running this in an AC'd 70 degree room at 14 percent humidity it will have condensation. I use two desiccant filters and a water trap.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Robert from USA on 2017-07-17 17:18:58

Things I liked: The color

Things I would have changed: Buy a different brand perhaps from a different vendor.

What others should know: First unit I received DON had an inoperative motor that was obviously not tested before factory release. Finally received 2nd unit after a considerable delay. 2nd unit quit after 6 hours and 6 days post shoeboxes warranty period. I followed instructions on their "Mickey mouse" U Tube repair video and. It worked for 10-15 mins and failed again. I am not a mechanical technician so I emailed for help. No response to my plea for help. Don't bother calling. You can't. They don''t have a service line that even the CIA find. Airgunners should not buy and Pyramyd should not carry this product.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The color

    Things I would have changed: Buy a different brand perhaps from a different vendor.

    What others should know: First unit I received DON had an inoperative motor that was obviously not tested before factory release. Finally received 2nd unit after a considerable delay. 2nd unit quit after 6 hours and 6 days post shoeboxes warranty period. I followed instructions on their "Mickey mouse" U Tube repair video and. It worked for 10-15 mins and failed again. I am not a mechanical technician so I emailed for help. No response to my plea for help. Don't bother calling. You can't. They don''t have a service line that even the CIA find. Airgunners should not buy and Pyramyd should not carry this product.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2017-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Made in the USA! Personally, I'm a little leery of anything mechanical made in China, considering the quality of their hardware I've dealt with in the past. Pretty slick piece of equipment. A little high priced but very well made. Should last my lifetime. Parts available. Won't overheat anything. Nice looking. Not too heavy. Easy to use and looks to be easy to care for and service. I like it a lot. Filled my 90cu. in. Benjamin tank in a little less than 90 min. from 0 to 4500 psi. (better than advertised)

    Things I would have changed: I would maybe put a base under it so a handle could be attached at center of gravity to make it easier to move about. I'm thinking maybe the intake port should come out the back. (Not a big deal)

    What others should know: If you can afford it, this is a very good compressor. Made right here in the good ole USA!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adolfo from USA on 2017-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The F10 is better than sliced bread . If your using a pump like I was , BUY THIS NOW !!! This new version fills fast too , I filled my tank from 3000 to 4500 in 5 min , this is a 68/4500 ci . If you get the ventury recommended hook up hose , check it for connection leaks , or your going to have a bad day . Mine leaked , once I teflon taped the connections it worked perfectly . First go to lowes or Home Depot and get the air dryer and the filter for the compressor low side , their 25.00 and will keep the air clean and dry .The other thing is , on the F10 , keep it unplugged , plug the air line on and let the air blow through the whole system of the F10 . Mine blew out a lot of oil out the nipple output . Let it blow out for 15 min or until it looks like nothing comes out . To let it blow out with the power unplugged , you need to turn the pistons till you hear air come out of the output nipple . After that it should be good to go .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Keep the air clean and dry and you should never have a problem . Keep the felt oiled up . I used silicone oil but the stuff supplied is thick and wicks slowly . I used thinner silicone oil with the thicker stuff and it works perfectly . Use thinner shock silicone oil for rc cars , like a 25 wt or a 100 wt oil . Then slowly wick the thicker stuff . Check the piston rod bearings often , mine after 2 hours of use the lithium grease already turned from white to yellow brown . Maybe use Vaseline since it's petroleum base

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2017-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact design, easy set up, great packaging fast shipping' outstanding support from customer service staff, fills tanks to correct pressure in a timely manner. Never again will you have to go out and find a place to fill your tanks, shoot all day and not pump.

    Things I would have changed: As of right now not a thing product preforming as advertised.

    What others should know: If you can get this product, please do so it will make your life easier and that is what you are paying for.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2016-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: works as advertised slow and stedy fills ben marauder .25 from 1800 psi to 3200 psi in a bout 3 minits filled 6 cf bottle from 2000 to 3200 in a bout 7 minits so prity good !!

    Things I would have changed: nota

    What others should know: works as advertised i beleve the bugs are out of this one just a good booster pump

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Things I liked: It's a little high priced. The sub $700 version may be more in line. Fill times aren't that bad. My oilless shop compressor it at least 4 times noisier. It could use a few simple mods. Fills my 3000, 80 ft tank, 3500, 100 ft tank and 2,4500 80 ft tanks fine. The auto shut off still needs a little more calibration.

    Things I would have changed: Long adjustment rod, coming out the side of box for adjusting the cut off while running. Small tube from top of box for adding lube without taking the cover off. Same for adding lithium grease to the rod bushings. Cheap thermometer on front face for monitoring the compressor 's heat build up. Built it pressure gauge on the face, calibrated in bar and psi. Magnetic button on back to hold nessesary Allen wrenches, keeps them handy. Wing bolts to replace the hex key screws for cover removal. The nipple could stick out a bit farther from the front for easier attachment of the air line. A flat for the grub screw to grab on the pressure release.

    What others should know: Fills faster than the Omega. The ShoeBox is not that noisy, a quieter oilless pump is the trick. Watch your cut off adjustment, I ruined one fill line when a 1/4 turn adjustment took the cut out from 4300 to 5000 psi. Do use a moisture filter between the shop compressor and the ShoeBox. Running this in an AC'd 70 degree room at 14 percent humidity it will have condensation. I use two desiccant filters and a water trap.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George Garcia from USA on 2016-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its g reat no more running to the paintball store works great guns tanks i really like it and cant say anything bad it works pretty quick to fill my p talon and 4500 ait tanks no problem got to get if you have the pcp i have to buy a few more just because of it.thanks pyramid

    What others should know: if you are into pcp guns you got to get this item it works.smarty

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It fills my carbon fiber tank in about 8 hours.

    Things I would have changed: A little expensive but beats driving to fill the tank.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This seems to be a very high quality unit. It does take some mechanical aptitude to safely use this and I would not recommend it to someone that wants a plug and play device where you don't get involved in adjusting and maintaining it. Having said that, it works very well filling a tank to 300bar. If you run it without the cover because the pistons need lubed, the motor may overheat because the fan blows air through the motor only when the cover is in place. The unit is not adjusted to full pressure, so there is a bit of tweaking needed to fully pressurize a tank the first time. Not a big deal.

    Things I would have changed: They should supply it with knobs to remove the cover because it needs to be removed so often. It would also be nice to have the option to include a filter and desiccant filter instead of having to shop the industrial supply company for these and cobble something up to dry and clean the incoming air. These are just niceties that would be good to have. The unit is great as is.

    What others should know: It's great to have your own source of air. It's such a hassle getting tanks filled at scuba shops. You can get a better compressor for a lot more money, but this is a great one for someone that does a normal amount of filling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By skylar from USA on 2016-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is life-changing get this product as soon as humanly possible it will change how you look at airgunning. Right now my immediate concern was my air usage because I was so far away from the nearest air source that in order for me to fill up that tank to the proper pressure require 8 - $10 and patience which is not something you can buy now I just shoot as much as I want whenever I want and I don't worry about how much air I use

    Things I would have changed: Send instructions on the bleed valve i tuined mine almost

    What others should know: Get a $53 air compressor from Home Depot it works and it is cheap

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dr Adams from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It works well. It has a pressure adjustment internally that shuts off the compressor consistently. The felt wipers seem to perform well to lubricate the piston rods. About medium loud in operation. Very easy to service this pump.

    Things I would have changed: Make instructions simpler. I am not sure about proper use and maintenance of the felt wipers. Label the pressure release knob so it is clear which way to turn it.

    What others should know: The original pressure setting was about 4100 PSI and it took a while and fiddling before I realized all that was needed was to adjust the pressure switch to 4,500 psi for my carbon fiber tanks. Since then the Freedom 8 has been a dream. Remember to lubricate the pistons every two hours. I use a notebook log to keep track of Freedom 8 use. Read the manual more than once and then keep it handy for reference.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Dan from USA on 2016-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact, reasonably quiet, really boosts 100 psi shop air to 3000 psi plus. Slow, especially when starting with an empty tank. Refills starting at 2000 take about 15 mins. I tried the $200 hand pump and just could not pump the tank up. The ShoeBox works well. Maint parts are available.

    Things I would have changed: Expensive, does not come with a high pressure hose. You have to remove cover to do the required oiling.

    What others should know: Requires shop air as input. Designed to be repaired, but you need some mechanical skills to do the maint.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is nothing bad to say about the compressor. Shipping was very fast.

    Things I would have changed: The front cover has to be taken off to lubricate the rods before you run the unit. I bought plastic knobs with 10/32 threaded studs, to get it off quickly.

    What others should know: I waited before I wrote this to see how it worked. I just came in from shooting all day. This is the berries!!! I filled a Ninja tank from 3100 lbs. to 4400 lbs. in 30min. while I put things away and cleaned up. At 70 years old, I like things to be easy. No more hand pumps..

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Tou from USA on 2016-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can do all my compressing at home and no more hand pumping my Maraurder to 3000 psi (that is a work out I tell you).

    Things I would have changed: For the price, they should at least include a hose to the gun/tank. I had to get a female to female hose to connect it to my tank.

    What others should know: If you don't mind spending the money, then this is a good way to get air in your tank. For what you get, I don't think it's worth $1000, but it is nice to have.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zinger from USA on 2016-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Self oiling quit and nice looking

    Things I would have changed: Bring the price down a little

    What others should know: Add a water and oil separtor to the air imput

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2016-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: To me it work vgood and i think i should have buy one long time.

    Things I would have changed: I think they should try to make it full a litte frster that's all . but it work's good , other than that

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the fact that it actually works once I filled 90 cubic foot tank only let the tank drop 1000 psi and fill it back doesn't take long that way and I get a lot of shooting.

    Things I would have changed: If you could add something to take the water out before goes into the tank.

    What others should know: I can spend more time shooting less time filling the gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ross from USA on 2015-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Considerably easier to operate than a hand pump. And quite a bit cheaper than other (often larger) high pressure compressors. Its low volume capability is ideal for filling a gun directly.

    Things I would have changed: Quite pricy for a small pump.

    What others should know: Works well filling my PCPs (AirForce). I don't have one, but I would imagine filling a large tank will take a very long time with this compressor.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By boyd from USA on 2015-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: almost ready to use right out of the box, just lube the shafts a bit, connect hoses and the other compressor. took a 90 cu in tank to 4100 psi in less than an hour, when at 2000 psi the air venturi tank filled quickly. nice not to need to hand pump for my PCP items

    Things I would have changed: gauge on the out line so you know if the line has pressure. larger fan, this one works but the shoebox could use a lot more cooling wind. thumb screws on the cover, so I don't need to find the stupid little allen wrench every time I lube the shafts.

    What others should know: you will need the jumper hose (out line 4500 psi) to what ever you connect it to. be sure to bleed off out line pressure or you will get a surprise. to get to 4500 psi you most likely will need to adjust the pressure cut off switch, mine was 400 psi short of 4500 psi. according to the air venturi gauge (not sure I trust it much)

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.666 ratings

    Things I liked: None

    Things I would have changed: This device is very slow. If you have allot of time this will fill a tank in about 6 hours.

    What others should know: I do not recommend buying.

  • 12 Next
Navigation