Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:3

    By John from USA on 2012-11-19 23:25:58

    Things I liked:Sturdy...works well. Can get a 3000+ charge on my Maurader.
    Things I would have changed:Hate...seriously hate the very short hose. WTH?!?! I have to lay the rifle on the ground when I use the pump and it started to scratch the gun. I resorted to laying out a towel or using the plano case. Still it is very awkward to use with such a short hose. Need at lease 2-3 foot hose rather than a 1 foot hose.
    What others should know:Better eat your wheaties...if you're below 2000 PSI, its going to take some work to pump back up to 3000 PSI. I rarely go below 2000 PSI to avoid this.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Geoff from USA on 2012-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Appears well made, initially. Quite expensive, but probably worth it compared with other options.
      Things I would have changed:The bag that contains the desiccant has about 10 percent more than is needed. Thus, when I poored it in, it overflowed all over the carpet--very difficult to pick up all those tiny pellets of desciccant. Obviously, this was my carelessness. Nevertheless, it would take no effort for the manufacturer to put the right amount in the bag.
      What others should know:Very useful. Pumps my Marauder well, albeit with great effort.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Francis from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well worth the $, just make sure you get the right fitting.
      What others should know:just take your time to work the pump
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2012-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Top notch quality. Ease of use. Assembly very easy. Compatible with Air Venturi Microbore Hose, DN2, Up to 4500 PSI, 1/8" BSPP Connectors, 24" Long
      Things I would have changed:Nothing other than if it were free! LOL
      What others should know:If you want this pump for your Marauder, here is what I did and it works awesome! I got the Air Venturi Microbore hose mentioned above and the Air Venturi Female Foster Fitting. The hose has the exaxt same 1/8" BSPP thread that the Hill Pump requires. After doing some redneck testing, I believe that I am able to fill my Marauder with less pumps using the microbore hose. Not a major difference but it was less. I believe it is because it takes less pumps to get the line to the gun up to the same pressure. ex: Marauder already at 2000 psi and you want to pump it up to 3000 psi. It takes me 6-7 pumps to get the line up to the same pressure as the Marauder then it begins pressurizing the Marauder tank. Hope this helps some folk who have questions about how to make this work with the Marauder. Don't hesitate, it is 110% worth the money. Oh and I am 5'9" 157 lb. It is not a problem for me to pump this thing at all. Just make sure the relief valve is fully closed and pause at the top of each stroke for a couple seconds. Basically chill out and don't rush.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Amazing Pump, I, like many, was on the fence for quite a while between tanks, pumps, compressors, and man am I glad I went this route. Deciding factors?? Exact fill pressure each fill, independence, safety, and ongoing expense.
      Things I would have changed:As everyone else says, it needs a longer hose and should include a female foster connector.
      What others should know:An 88 cubit foot common 'scuba' tank pressurized to 3000 P.S.I. contains 1.3 MILLION pounds of destructive force. This is more that two sticks of dynamite and it is not pretty when things go wrong on this scale. I'll pump a much smaller tank (my gun or a 'guppy) thanks!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2012-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look no further this is the pump for pcp rifles. Solid feel totaly rebuildable.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing to change they got it right !
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Mike Koratich from USA on 2012-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pump, built like a tank.
      Things I would have changed:Include female foster fitting.
      What others should know:Don't forget to get the correct adapter for your gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Ronnie from USA on 2012-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      53 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great product.It's very well built.
      Things I would have changed:The hose end fittings are, British threads, It would be nice if Hill included another hose or fitting for American made air guns.
      What others should know: If you use this pump on American air guns you will need to figure a way to adapt to the british threads. Fortunately, I was able to get a local hydraulic shop to fix me up on my hose. But I really don't reccomend this as the pressures are so high, it would be better to get the right fitting from PA to do the job.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2012-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy to assemble, Very little effort to pump to 3K psi, exudes quality, very nice design, Excellent volume per stroke compared to AF pump. Cant attest to longevity yet, but it feels like it will last a long time.
      Things I would have changed:Larger dial numbers
      What others should know:Im getting twice the psi per stroke with the mk3 I was with my junky airforce hand pump. First stroke on the hill pump had me in disbelief, it literally takes 1/3 the effort. I was skeptical about differences in pumps and comments till I bought one after my second AF Pump died (first in Dec 11, second in August 12.) This pump is amazing. My 130lb wife cn use it the AF pumps literally lifted her off the ground.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2012-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy to assemble, smooth operation. Pump feels like a high quality tool in every way. Maintenance parts are readily available.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I use this for my Air Arms S410 TDR. When the pressure drops to 110 Bar I fill to 175 Bar. It just takes a few minutes and never becomes strenuous. Perfect for my needs. Yes, it is expensive but is worth it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Gene from USA on 2012-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use. Not a lot of pump effort needed.
      Things I would have changed:Price but it is worth it
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Lynn from USA on 2012-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The ability to rebuild the pump. the moisture removal method.
      Things I would have changed:hmmmm make it electric
      What others should know:It take about 10-12 pumps to get 100psi. selling point to wife I'll get in better shape!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By misfitsailor from USA on 2012-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Well made, has air drier. Simply the best! Buy quality and buy once.
      Things I would have changed:Include a paper manual. I downloaded the .pdf manual here on Pyramyd, but for the price they should include a hard copy. There are pictures on the back to get you started, but every owner should have the manual.
      What others should know:Yes, pumping up a PCP gun this way takes a little effort, but it's not that bad. Really. Being heavy helps. A stout, hefty person has an advantage! Don't forget to order whatever adapter you need to connect this to your gun!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pump. Requires only 80 pumps maximum to pump up the air cylinder on my Air Arms S400 Biathlon Air Rifle.
      What others should know:If buying an Air Arms Air Rifle make sure you also order the Air Arms PCP Adaptor.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very well built and the rebuildable feature without the owner voiding a warranty is a great plus by Hill. Very silky smooth if you pump this unit right. The pressure gauge is in check with a guns! Nice t-handle to grip.
      Things I would have changed:Bigger foot base for sure. Also a more flexible hose that is maybe 1/2 foot longer.
      What others should know:On my Marauder which is a 215cc tank from a dead empty to 3000 psi it took about an initial 200 pumps. I do not let the gun usually drop below 2000 psi during a session. To get back to 3000 psi from 2000 psi it takes around 65 pumps give or take. Giving an overall of 5 stars on the fact that I believe this unit will stand up for years of service. If not, you will hear back from me.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By cmcgee from USA on 2012-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:the hill mk3 operates smooth as silk, and the moisture removing media works great even in South Carolina summer humidity, I have no issue pumping my tank to 3300psi
      Things I would have changed:the footplate is small, the price is high, but I figure I'll save on the back end by being able to rebuild the pump myself if the need arises.
      What others should know:this is the first and last pcp pump I hope I buy. build quality looks and feels excellent, with proper maintenance I expect it to last years and years. once the hose and gun pressure have equalized(about 10 pumps) one pump approximately replenishes one shot from my dynamax
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Joseph j from USA on 2012-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a fantastic pump.Well made,easy to pump and a joy to own.Get one and you will not be sorry.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing.
      What others should know:You get what you pay for.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:First of all, thanks for pyramid air for the best packaging I ever had, Everything is safely packed and all looks brand new not like the one's I got else where that looks like crap, everything is crappie package and items. PyramidAir makes me happy whith the package. Ease of use and less effort and get more air for less pump is what I really like about this pump. This is way better than the benjamin pump. but the price of this is double. You can get half the price on a different brand but the exhaustion is double or triple.
      Things I would have changed:Adaptor not included very inconvenient and not mentioned on the description be sure to get one, or it will delay you on using this pump.
      What others should know:If your going to use this on a marauder be sure to get an adaptor that will fit your pcp, I got one here for extra $20 plus $8 shipping.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything (honestly)
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Why use scuba tanks when you can own this? It is more money than other hand pumps, but it takes less pumps and less effort with the Hill than any other. I can pump from 2,000 to 3,000 in 3 minutes in my Benjamin Marauder. Using a pump is much easier than carting a scuba tank around to where you shoot and to where you need to fill it up.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Cameron from USA on 2012-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The quality is outstanding. I can pump my Marauder from 2000 psi to 3000 psi in three minutes. I also like the dry pack moisture reducing feature as well!
      Things I would have changed:So far I have no complaints.
      What others should know:If your are getting into pcps and don't own any other hand pump yet, this is the one for you. I'm about 175lbs and I am 6'2, and I have no problems pumping this pump. Just use proper pumping technique using your weight and leverage, instead of trying to use your muscles, and you'll be alright!!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2012-05-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Rebuildable by the owner, fills fairly quickly
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:When you want a quality product, it will cost a little more. But this pump is worth it. Works best of any pump I have tried.
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold