Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By William from USA on 2014-11-08 10:21:02

    Things I liked:Very high quality. Extremely well made
    What others should know:This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solid built.
      Things I would have changed:Expensive. Reduce cost.
      What others should know:Does take many pumps to get to 3000 psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By BRYAN from USA on 2013-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pump is solid. All accessories available such as rebuild kit, micron filter, grease, drying material. Seems to create more psi per pump than the Benji.
      Things I would have changed:Only change would be larger foot base so more stable when standing up.
      What others should know:The key to any of the high pressure pumps is dont overpump in a single use. I limit to about 50 slow steady pumps and then let cool for about 15 mins.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By CSOReaper from USA on 2013-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Incredible build quality, very smooth operation. This is a pump that will last a lifetime.
      Things I would have changed:The fill hose needs to be longer. It is only about a foot in length which isn't a lot when you go to fill. I would like to see the foot pad have rubber on the bottom installed from the factory.
      What others should know:I had the Benjamin pump and returned for this one. Spend the extra money and get this one. It is 10 times the pump the Benjamin is, built way better and it is smooth.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Duane from USA on 2013-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality fit and finish make it a fine esthetic buy, but better than that, it is durable. It flat WORKS and now that I've had it for 3 weeks and using it most every day, it continues to work.
      Things I would have changed:1) Include a small packet of silicone grease since it requires some regreasing after the first 30 minutes of use. And every two hours after that. 2) Make the base plate a little larger so big people can more comfortably pump on the down stroke. As it is my toes are barely on the plate and my hands clip my knees on the last 2" of the down stroke.
      What others should know:If you are trying to decide between this pump and one of the lower priced competitors, bite the bullet and get this pump first. It is by far the best hand pump out there. You won't be disappointed. You need to be patient when pumping. It's not a race but rather a process. Once you get the system up to 1800 psi it takes about ten full strokes for every 100 psi increase. I've never gone above 2800 psi but it may take more strokes per 100 psi above that. It's definitely worth the money you pay for this pump if you are large and strong enough to use it. I'd say you need to be a minimum of roughly 150 pounds and fairly fit to use this pump effectively. Even locking my elbows on the down stroke it takes my full weight and some shoulder flex to get to the bottom of the stroke and i'm 6' 1" and 180 pounds. The best grease is silicone scuba divers grease. It is food grade and won't degrade the seals.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from USA on 2013-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made pump. Not as hard as I thought to pump to 3000 psi.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:It seems to pump a little more air if you wait at the top of the stroke for air to transfer between stages but this slows down the whold process. Pumps up my Sam Yang Recluse dual tank from 2000 to 3000 psi in 100 strokes and is only a little warm. It is not inexpensive but it is worth the cost.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid and high quality build. You get what you pay for. I like that it removes moisture with an easy to maintain system. I was surprised how easy it was to get from 150 to 200 bar. Maybe 55-60 pumps in the Evanix Rainstorm Bullpup 3D (see my review for that awesomeness). It should be said that I'm about 6'1 and 220 lbs mostly muscle (ok some fat too lol) so I can just lean into the pumps. But even so, I think anyone of any size can operate this. It's GREAT exercise. I did get a bit tired after going from 150 to 200 bar about three times in a row (I recommend keeping on topping it off - it's quicker and more fun as you spend more time shooting the most powerful shots.). That's why I ordered the AV carbon fiber air tank though. I will keep this bad boy (pump) for the zombie apocalypse or for when my tank empties. RECOMMENDED.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose and bigger base would be nice but those are very minor things. Also I'm sure more length in the hose would mean more initial pumps to equalize the pressure. In which case, I think the length is fine.
      What others should know:There was a little red ring that came with it (a washer?). I couldn't find anything in the manual on it so I didn't install it. But so far I've filled the gun like 12 times and no issues. Pyramyd Air support was great when I called them (I didn't tighten the nut so I heard some hissing but we figured that out right quick.). Thanks PA team!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.
      Things I would have changed:I would ship with a 1/8" quick disconnect.
      What others should know:Make sure to buy your AG quick disconnect. It is 1/8" BPP not NPT.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Barry from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works very well. Gives you a good workout. Easy to assemble and maintain.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The Hill pump works great......we ended up buying a Shoebox Freedom 8 compressor because we shot the gun so much it was wearing Grandpa out!! Not a pump for young children, it requires size and strength. Better to turn on a switch that fills the gun after 50 shots in less than 7 minutes!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice pump. Smooth action with moisture filter. Easy to assemble.
      Things I would have changed:Larger aluminum base to dissipate heat. No big deal as you'll probably need to catch your breath anyway (while it cools down)... Hose is too short and too wide. I installed a 24" microbore hose instead.
      What others should know:Spend the $30 for a microbore hose. Added a hint of "yellow No. 5" teflon paste to the threads.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Greg from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy assembly. Easy to use and maintain. Feels like it will last a long time—very durable construction.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose, but not a big deal. Either way you still need to lay your gun on the floor to fill it. Include and install the hose adapter for free. At a minimum include a strip of Teflon tape for the purchaser to install. That would definitely help justify the high pump cost. Include a small tube of grease to lubricate the pump. That too would help with the high cost.
      What others should know:Read multiple reviews. The high expense caused me to read a lot of them. They helped point out the importance of obtaining a pump that is going to last. It is too bad "Hill" does not seem to have any competition for a strong pump, so they can ask the high price. I had been using an 80cf scuba tank, but quickly found that it was very inconvenient. The tank pressure slowly dropped from use to the point of adjusting the scope to compensate. And the few times I had the tank filled the dive shop gave me 2900 psi! (Other dive shop too far away) Hauling the tank to and from the scuba store was inconvenient. I had to drop it off and pick it up later in the day; so two trips were involved for one fill. Taking the tank on vacation was annoying too. I'm really looking forward to taking the pump on vacation this summer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pump! Solid feel and buildquality.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a longer hose. Include some fittings.
      What others should know:Make sure you have the correct fitings to charge your gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2013-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality pump and built to last. Can be user disassembled and maintained with rebuild kit available.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, it works well.
      What others should know:Expect to get a work out pumping up your PCP. For the Benjamin Marauder to pump from 2100PSI to 2900PSI took some 55 slow pumps - not fast like a tire pump. For my weight of 140lbs the final 20 pumps require full body weight on the handles with my feet leaving the floor at the bottom of the down-stroke. The stroke is a rapid downward motion with full body weight on the handle for the last few inches of stroke. This gets the job done - remember to bleed off the pressure with the brass fitting before slipping back the sleeve on the Air Venturi Female Quick-Disconnect Adapter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By SquirrelHunter from USA on 2013-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a Hill! After floundering with my AirForce pump, purchasing a tank and all of the associated gear, gulp... I decided to try the Hill. After a few weeks I'm shocked at the difference. Getting my 4350 tank filled is a bother. The local dive shop every other fill tops it off at 3000. With two AirForce Talons I have more air than Obama. So I wanted a backup plan. The pump is much different than the Benjamin / AirForce. To be fair its a good deal more money too. However if I would have bout a hill first I doubt I would have the tank. You have to be strong to pump a 500CC tank to 3000psi but not overly so. It takes fewer strokes than the AirForce / Benjamin. It is smoother and more substancial. It feels like I paid more and got more.
      Things I would have changed:It does not come with a foster style adapter for paintball / Benjamin / Airforce. The hose is very hard to bend and it makes it hard to fill a Talon with the Spin-Loc since you lay the gun on its side. My fix was to rob the braided hose off of the AirForce pump. Filling a Marauder is easy because the tube is smaller and the fill connector is in line with the hose if the gun is laying down.
      What others should know:Did I mention you need the adapter to convert it to a foster.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality pump that is a cut above the competition. A little research in the airgun forums shows this pump is worth the premium price.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:At 53 years old and 155 lbs it takes suprisingly little effort to bring my Talon back to 3000 PSI after use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2013-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made. Easily maintained.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Be sure to get the proper adapter for your air gun. It has 1/8 BSP, so you will most likely need an adapter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a nicely built, heavy duty piece of equipment. The moisture trap is only one of it's kind, the handle, foot bracket have plenty of over kill, regarding durability, this easily falls into an industrial type item. This is the first English product of this type I have own and am VERY impress with it. The top selling point for me was the fact it is completely serviceable and rebuild able. Have no regrets about spending an extra $100 for it. Reading forum posts about how many pumps it would take to fill a PCP I was surprised "although I didn't count" that this pump topped off my rifle way sooner than I anticipated. No hard facts here just my first impressions...
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all.
      What others should know:You get what you pay for.... :o)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By M from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Does not take very long to fill my Crosman 1720T to 3000 PSI. Approximately 40-60 pumps depending on how far you let the pressure go down. I never let it go below 1000 PSI. Seems very well built. Will see how it lasts over time.
      Things I would have changed:Cost is a bit high. Hopefully the quality will justify.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By derrick from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very good pump. have had the air venturi and the air force pump. they r not no where close to this pump. very easy to use. trust me spend the extra money and u want go wrong.
      Things I would have changed:maybe a wider foot plate
      What others should know:if u hunts a lot u would b better off with this pump. the air venturi nor the air force pump will hold up to that kind of use. thanks pyramyd air
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been using the Hill Pump for about 2 months now on my Benjamin Maurader 25. It has worked as advertised without any issues. I feel the moisture filter is a BIG plus on PCP guns.
      Things I would have changed:Some kind of device where you can carry it from the handle without the pump extending.
      What others should know:The Hill pump in my opinion is superior to the other less expensive pump on the market. You spend an lot of money on a gun, you shouldn't scrimp on the pump.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2012-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sturdy...works well. Can get a 3000+ charge on my Maurader.
      Things I would have changed:Hate...seriously hate the very short hose. WTH?!?! I have to lay the rifle on the ground when I use the pump and it started to scratch the gun. I resorted to laying out a towel or using the plano case. Still it is very awkward to use with such a short hose. Need at lease 2-3 foot hose rather than a 1 foot hose.
      What others should know:Better eat your wheaties...if you're below 2000 PSI, its going to take some work to pump back up to 3000 PSI. I rarely go below 2000 PSI to avoid this.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top