Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-07-09 17:53:58

    Things I liked:When it was new it seemed to work fine. A month later with not much use it started getting harder to pump. Sent it back twice to be repaired, never worked right again.
    What others should know:Have a Benjamin pump I got before the Hill and the Benjamin is still going strong after over a year of heavy use.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice pump. Smooth action with moisture filter. Easy to assemble.
      Things I would have changed:Larger aluminum base to dissipate heat. No big deal as you'll probably need to catch your breath anyway (while it cools down)... Hose is too short and too wide. I installed a 24" microbore hose instead.
      What others should know:Spend the $30 for a microbore hose. Added a hint of "yellow No. 5" teflon paste to the threads.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Greg from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy assembly. Easy to use and maintain. Feels like it will last a long time—very durable construction.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose, but not a big deal. Either way you still need to lay your gun on the floor to fill it. Include and install the hose adapter for free. At a minimum include a strip of Teflon tape for the purchaser to install. That would definitely help justify the high pump cost. Include a small tube of grease to lubricate the pump. That too would help with the high cost.
      What others should know:Read multiple reviews. The high expense caused me to read a lot of them. They helped point out the importance of obtaining a pump that is going to last. It is too bad "Hill" does not seem to have any competition for a strong pump, so they can ask the high price. I had been using an 80cf scuba tank, but quickly found that it was very inconvenient. The tank pressure slowly dropped from use to the point of adjusting the scope to compensate. And the few times I had the tank filled the dive shop gave me 2900 psi! (Other dive shop too far away) Hauling the tank to and from the scuba store was inconvenient. I had to drop it off and pick it up later in the day; so two trips were involved for one fill. Taking the tank on vacation was annoying too. I'm really looking forward to taking the pump on vacation this summer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pump! Solid feel and buildquality.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a longer hose. Include some fittings.
      What others should know:Make sure you have the correct fitings to charge your gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2013-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality pump and built to last. Can be user disassembled and maintained with rebuild kit available.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, it works well.
      What others should know:Expect to get a work out pumping up your PCP. For the Benjamin Marauder to pump from 2100PSI to 2900PSI took some 55 slow pumps - not fast like a tire pump. For my weight of 140lbs the final 20 pumps require full body weight on the handles with my feet leaving the floor at the bottom of the down-stroke. The stroke is a rapid downward motion with full body weight on the handle for the last few inches of stroke. This gets the job done - remember to bleed off the pressure with the brass fitting before slipping back the sleeve on the Air Venturi Female Quick-Disconnect Adapter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By SquirrelHunter from USA on 2013-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a Hill! After floundering with my AirForce pump, purchasing a tank and all of the associated gear, gulp... I decided to try the Hill. After a few weeks I'm shocked at the difference. Getting my 4350 tank filled is a bother. The local dive shop every other fill tops it off at 3000. With two AirForce Talons I have more air than Obama. So I wanted a backup plan. The pump is much different than the Benjamin / AirForce. To be fair its a good deal more money too. However if I would have bout a hill first I doubt I would have the tank. You have to be strong to pump a 500CC tank to 3000psi but not overly so. It takes fewer strokes than the AirForce / Benjamin. It is smoother and more substancial. It feels like I paid more and got more.
      Things I would have changed:It does not come with a foster style adapter for paintball / Benjamin / Airforce. The hose is very hard to bend and it makes it hard to fill a Talon with the Spin-Loc since you lay the gun on its side. My fix was to rob the braided hose off of the AirForce pump. Filling a Marauder is easy because the tube is smaller and the fill connector is in line with the hose if the gun is laying down.
      What others should know:Did I mention you need the adapter to convert it to a foster.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality pump that is a cut above the competition. A little research in the airgun forums shows this pump is worth the premium price.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:At 53 years old and 155 lbs it takes suprisingly little effort to bring my Talon back to 3000 PSI after use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2013-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made. Easily maintained.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Be sure to get the proper adapter for your air gun. It has 1/8 BSP, so you will most likely need an adapter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a nicely built, heavy duty piece of equipment. The moisture trap is only one of it's kind, the handle, foot bracket have plenty of over kill, regarding durability, this easily falls into an industrial type item. This is the first English product of this type I have own and am VERY impress with it. The top selling point for me was the fact it is completely serviceable and rebuild able. Have no regrets about spending an extra $100 for it. Reading forum posts about how many pumps it would take to fill a PCP I was surprised "although I didn't count" that this pump topped off my rifle way sooner than I anticipated. No hard facts here just my first impressions...
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all.
      What others should know:You get what you pay for.... :o)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By M from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Does not take very long to fill my Crosman 1720T to 3000 PSI. Approximately 40-60 pumps depending on how far you let the pressure go down. I never let it go below 1000 PSI. Seems very well built. Will see how it lasts over time.
      Things I would have changed:Cost is a bit high. Hopefully the quality will justify.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By derrick from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very good pump. have had the air venturi and the air force pump. they r not no where close to this pump. very easy to use. trust me spend the extra money and u want go wrong.
      Things I would have changed:maybe a wider foot plate
      What others should know:if u hunts a lot u would b better off with this pump. the air venturi nor the air force pump will hold up to that kind of use. thanks pyramyd air
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been using the Hill Pump for about 2 months now on my Benjamin Maurader 25. It has worked as advertised without any issues. I feel the moisture filter is a BIG plus on PCP guns.
      Things I would have changed:Some kind of device where you can carry it from the handle without the pump extending.
      What others should know:The Hill pump in my opinion is superior to the other less expensive pump on the market. You spend an lot of money on a gun, you shouldn't scrimp on the pump.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2012-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sturdy...works well. Can get a 3000+ charge on my Maurader.
      Things I would have changed:Hate...seriously hate the very short hose. WTH?!?! I have to lay the rifle on the ground when I use the pump and it started to scratch the gun. I resorted to laying out a towel or using the plano case. Still it is very awkward to use with such a short hose. Need at lease 2-3 foot hose rather than a 1 foot hose.
      What others should know:Better eat your wheaties...if you're below 2000 PSI, its going to take some work to pump back up to 3000 PSI. I rarely go below 2000 PSI to avoid this.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By blake from USA on 2012-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well made and supported
      Things I would have changed:longer hose
      What others should know:It is deluxe, but I need exercise at my age, most would go scuba refill, but this is good exercise for old geezers like me.. very well made - rolls royce. has drying element and kicks moisture out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Geoff from USA on 2012-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Appears well made, initially. Quite expensive, but probably worth it compared with other options.
      Things I would have changed:The bag that contains the desiccant has about 10 percent more than is needed. Thus, when I poored it in, it overflowed all over the carpet--very difficult to pick up all those tiny pellets of desciccant. Obviously, this was my carelessness. Nevertheless, it would take no effort for the manufacturer to put the right amount in the bag.
      What others should know:Very useful. Pumps my Marauder well, albeit with great effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Francis from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well worth the $, just make sure you get the right fitting.
      What others should know:just take your time to work the pump
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2012-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Top notch quality. Ease of use. Assembly very easy. Compatible with Air Venturi Microbore Hose, DN2, Up to 4500 PSI, 1/8" BSPP Connectors, 24" Long
      Things I would have changed:Nothing other than if it were free! LOL
      What others should know:If you want this pump for your Marauder, here is what I did and it works awesome! I got the Air Venturi Microbore hose mentioned above and the Air Venturi Female Foster Fitting. The hose has the exaxt same 1/8" BSPP thread that the Hill Pump requires. After doing some redneck testing, I believe that I am able to fill my Marauder with less pumps using the microbore hose. Not a major difference but it was less. I believe it is because it takes less pumps to get the line to the gun up to the same pressure. ex: Marauder already at 2000 psi and you want to pump it up to 3000 psi. It takes me 6-7 pumps to get the line up to the same pressure as the Marauder then it begins pressurizing the Marauder tank. Hope this helps some folk who have questions about how to make this work with the Marauder. Don't hesitate, it is 110% worth the money. Oh and I am 5'9" 157 lb. It is not a problem for me to pump this thing at all. Just make sure the relief valve is fully closed and pause at the top of each stroke for a couple seconds. Basically chill out and don't rush.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Amazing Pump, I, like many, was on the fence for quite a while between tanks, pumps, compressors, and man am I glad I went this route. Deciding factors?? Exact fill pressure each fill, independence, safety, and ongoing expense.
      Things I would have changed:As everyone else says, it needs a longer hose and should include a female foster connector.
      What others should know:An 88 cubit foot common 'scuba' tank pressurized to 3000 P.S.I. contains 1.3 MILLION pounds of destructive force. This is more that two sticks of dynamite and it is not pretty when things go wrong on this scale. I'll pump a much smaller tank (my gun or a 'guppy) thanks!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2012-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look no further this is the pump for pcp rifles. Solid feel totaly rebuildable.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing to change they got it right !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Mike Koratich from USA on 2012-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pump, built like a tank.
      Things I would have changed:Include female foster fitting.
      What others should know:Don't forget to get the correct adapter for your gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Ronnie from USA on 2012-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great product.It's very well built.
      Things I would have changed:The hose end fittings are, British threads, It would be nice if Hill included another hose or fitting for American made air guns.
      What others should know: If you use this pump on American air guns you will need to figure a way to adapt to the british threads. Fortunately, I was able to get a local hydraulic shop to fix me up on my hose. But I really don't reccomend this as the pressures are so high, it would be better to get the right fitting from PA to do the job.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top