Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By aaron from USA on 2009-02-26 00:34:52

    Things I liked:Good quality, easy to use, nice features.
    Things I would have changed: Include lights for indoor use.
    What others should know:Will not work under florescent lights.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Steve from USA on 2010-08-05 12:50:47

    Things I liked:These units are very picky about a light source. You will spend many hours being frustrated by this design flaw.
    Things I would have changed:Buy a better chronograph from a more reputable company.
    What others should know:After a year my display had problems but they won't honor their warranty. The Shooting Chrony company is a disaster to deal with. DO NOT BUY A SHOOTING CHRONY PRODUCT. You have been warned. Their customer service is the worst that I have experienced. They should take a lesson from PA on customer service. PA has been great!
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very compact and relatively easy to use with basic functions. Setting up six strings was pretty easy as was sending them to permanent storage.
      Things I would have changed:Have a step-by-step users guide.
      What others should know:Basic functions were pretty easy. After putting info into permanent storage, I had a hard time clearing and deleting permanent storage. A step-by-step users guide would be nice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Having tangible data to track the "health" of my airguns.
      Things I would have changed:Not really a "change," but I will be purchasing a remote and indoor light kit.
      What others should know:My attempts to use my new Chrony indoors, with indoor lighting has been an utter failure so far. Outdoors, it works like a charm. It's not the most intuitive device to use, but once you get the hang of it, it is a necessity to have in your tool box if you're planning to tune your own guns!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:NOT MADE IN CHINA! Our Canadian neighbors are manufacturing these. Perhaps if our government would quit choking the life out of our economic potential, we might get jobs too.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. I made a heavy Plexiglas shield to cover the screen and area over the top to deflect errant shots from my pellet rifles.
      What others should know:The SHOOTING CHRONY BETA is a much superior unit to the COMPETITION ELECTRONICS, INC. PROCHRONO DIGITAL. I have had four of the latter so I am not comparing one bad unit to another manufacturer’s good unit. All four of the PROCHRONO DIGITAL units exhibited the same recurring and annoying tendency to miss shots. Not just the occasional shot, but at times when the light was less than optimum, they would not read regardless of how it was set it up (diffusers or no diffusers, etc.). When I got the SHOOTING CHRONY BETA, I was not sure things were going to be any better. The PROCHRONO would only read BB’s in the very best of light, so that is what I tried first for comparison. To my delight, it did not just read most of them, it read them all! Later, I discovered it was also more reliable when testing pellets in various light conditions, even reading in bright light and blue sky without the sky screens. I did find that in the dimmer light of late afternoon it wanted the sky screens removed to see the pellets, but it read them at a time that none of the others ever would. I was both thankful and miffed! I had wasted a lot of money on those former units and all along they were inferior performers, it was not just a lighting condition.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2013-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This chrono has it all. It computes and displays hi, lo, avg, extreme spread, standard distribution, shot count and individual velocities. You can pre adjust the number of shots for the stat series and the chrono will remember the data if turned off. Holds data for 60 shots but is expandable.
      Things I would have changed:No big deal, but add rubber feet to bottom so it won't move around on table as you shoot.
      What others should know:It has everything you need in one package. The manual is a little hard to follow at first.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jose Alejandro from Colombia on 2013-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Small, compact and very accurate
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The sensors use the day light to detect the pellet So the device may not work low light conditions
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2013-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ease of use and setup. Small and very convenient. Clean and functional.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I did without one for many years. Don't make this mistake!! Great tool to see performance of your guns. It helped me find a problem with my 56 today.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tou from USA on 2012-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Small and compact. Easy for storage. Must have in order to tune your gun.
      Things I would have changed:Make it usable indoors. Works great outdoor, but inside, it wont read at all. Will need to purchase separated lighting from PA in order to use inside.
      What others should know:Will not read indoors with ceiling lights. They will effect the senors, giving error reading. Must purchase lighting equipment from PA (about $46 extra), in order to used indoor.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Leland from USA on 2012-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Works as advertised
      Things I would have changed:update the software and computer interface to make it more compatible with todays technology. USB interface please.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tom from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This chrony simply WORKS! The "Quick Start" instructions got me using it quickly, and the detailed user manual has answered any questions I had. This unit was easy to setup and has worked flawlessly for me -- what more could you ask for?
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I tried a "cheaper" unit from an online company and although it worked, it was terribly picky and hard to get to work consistently -- shots had to be aimed with great care to avoid errors, etc. This Shooting Chrony Beta has worked so smoothly and consistently I wish I had never tried the "cheaper" unit, which turned out bo be a waste of time and money. Do yourself a favor - get a Shooting Chrony and start out "right"...
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2011-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a Chrony brand so it's simple and rugged. This is my second ( I sold the last F-1 after 20 years to get this upgraded Beta.) Price for the upgrade is very reasonable.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions are complex and involved. There is no "quick start" sheet that lets you use the basics. The display is too basic. it shows only a few large charicters. There is no way to see what string/shot your on. Controls could be more intuitive. i.e. It's not simple to use (especially if it's long stretch's between use.) Could use a auto shuttoff to save the battery as well.
      What others should know:The calculation of average velocities, deviations and spreads are nice to have (automaticly) but it comes at a cost of frustration trying to know where you are during the process. Somewhat wish I had stuck with the F-1.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Eugene from USA on 2011-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent product. Makes it very easy to determine what ammo to use.If accurate in your gun you will know if it has the FTE that you need for the task at hand.
      Things I would have changed:supply a 120V adapter. Or should I say transformer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2011-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It works perfectly well for the poupose I bought it: Measuring the speed of my pcp rifles, my bows and my crossbows.
      Things I would have changed:What I received to simulate cloud (according to manual) do not even assamble correctly.
      What others should know:I do not use the clouds simulator and I have been able to use the chrony without any problem. This toy is usefull to know exactly (without third party references) the power of your hunting devices.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2010-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:easy to use,good in and outdoors price is fair,can hook to pc and a printer to print your fps results.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this works better outside,but if you plan to use indoors only get the light that hooks up over the top of the chrony and it will work fine
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Steve from USA on 2010-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:These units are very picky about a light source. You will spend many hours being frustrated by this design flaw.
      Things I would have changed:Buy a better chronograph from a more reputable company.
      What others should know:After a year my display had problems but they won't honor their warranty. The Shooting Chrony company is a disaster to deal with. DO NOT BUY A SHOOTING CHRONY PRODUCT. You have been warned. Their customer service is the worst that I have experienced. They should take a lesson from PA on customer service. PA has been great!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By RoninUT from USA on 2010-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What I liked most about this chrony is the shot string data that it displays, such as high, low, and average velocity for the string. This is invaluable information for tuning a PCP airgun to work correctly with a specific pellet. (And it's also nice to know how your other airguns perform vs. the manufacturer's specs.) It is easy to set up, the display is easy to read from several feet away (which is necessary), and it folds up into a compact package.
      Things I would have changed:The sky screens are needed to provide a blank background to contrast agaisnt the dark projectile as it passes over the sensors. But they seem as though repeatedly setting them up and taking them down will eventually cause them to break. I'd like to see a redesign of the screens that is more durable, and folds down into a smaller package. Ideally, they should be made of a material that can be rolled up and stored inside the folded chrony. Also, the manual's description of how to cycle through the menus takes a bit of study to comprehend. When there are only 3 buttons and a simple LCD display available to cycle through all of the menus, it can be difficult to operate the unit's more advanced features. I'd like to see a more advanced LCD display, and more buttons so that more features can be accessed more easily.
      What others should know:You will need to purchase a camera tripod to mount this device if you don't already own one. (These tripods are also useful for spotting scopes, so you'll get more use out of it that way too.) I'd also recommend playing with the menus a bit at home before you head out to the range. Once you understand the basics, you should make a "cheat sheet" of directions for the basic features to take with you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Burt from USA on 2010-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have waited a couple of years to afford one and am happy with my purchase.I spent three days testing my airguns and it has saved me a lot of needles pumping on a couple of them. my crosman 1377 shoots almost the same velocity with 5 pumps as it does with 10 pumps. that would have been great to know all these years. lol. I t has helped me find the right pressures for my marauder and discovery also. I'll be using this a lot in the future on all of my firearms
      Things I would have changed:A couple more function buttons would be nice as its easy to forget some of the sequences if you don't use it every day, and also reduce the price of the printer, I would love to have one but it cost as much as the chrony does. Its hard for me to believe that a printer really cost that much when the one on my desk cost $30.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2009-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Great tool great price
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Poking_Stick from USA on 2009-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very portable. Folds up nicely and fits easily on a tripod. It worked flawlessly on a cloudy day (you don't need the diffusers on a cloudy day). I have not yet tried it on a sunny day. It will not work at dusk FYI.
      Things I would have changed:Instruction manual wasn't organized well. They should have started with "Basic Operations", instead you have to dig deep into the manual to learn essential things such as how to save data.
      What others should know:Works with firearms too! I used it to clock my different 223 loads and I could easily see which load has the most consistent speed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The value for my money and the quality of the Chrony, it may not look as snazzy as some on the market but you'll be pressed to find a better one for the money!
      Things I would have changed:Include a soft case with every Chrony they can't set them back that much to include one. Someone down to earth to explain the instructions a bit clearer.
      What others should know:I have read a couple of reviews of people complaining about not having a battery hold down. Folks that is what the small spring is for lift it up and slide your battery under it, there are even 3 little extruded supports to hold the 9V in place!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By jawsware from USA on 2009-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Easy Setup. Easy To Use.
      Things I would have changed:Requires expensive accessories for downloading to a computer.
      What others should know:If using with firearms be aware of the muzzle blast. Had to move the unit about ten feet from the bench to get accurate readings.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top