Shooting Chrony Beta Chronograph, Blue reviews - page 2

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2013-10-27 12:52:23

Things I liked:NOT MADE IN CHINA! Our Canadian neighbors are manufacturing these. Perhaps if our government would quit choking the life out of our economic potential, we might get jobs too.
Things I would have changed:Not much. I made a heavy Plexiglas shield to cover the screen and area over the top to deflect errant shots from my pellet rifles.
What others should know:The SHOOTING CHRONY BETA is a much superior unit to the COMPETITION ELECTRONICS, INC. PROCHRONO DIGITAL. I have had four of the latter so I am not comparing one bad unit to another manufacturer’s good unit. All four of the PROCHRONO DIGITAL units exhibited the same recurring and annoying tendency to miss shots. Not just the occasional shot, but at times when the light was less than optimum, they would not read regardless of how it was set it up (diffusers or no diffusers, etc.). When I got the SHOOTING CHRONY BETA, I was not sure things were going to be any better. The PROCHRONO would only read BB’s in the very best of light, so that is what I tried first for comparison. To my delight, it did not just read most of them, it read them all! Later, I discovered it was also more reliable when testing pellets in various light conditions, even reading in bright light and blue sky without the sky screens. I did find that in the dimmer light of late afternoon it wanted the sky screens removed to see the pellets, but it read them at a time that none of the others ever would. I was both thankful and miffed! I had wasted a lot of money on those former units and all along they were inferior performers, it was not just a lighting condition.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Steve from USA on 2010-08-05 12:50:47

Things I liked:These units are very picky about a light source. You will spend many hours being frustrated by this design flaw.
Things I would have changed:Buy a better chronograph from a more reputable company.
What others should know:After a year my display had problems but they won't honor their warranty. The Shooting Chrony company is a disaster to deal with. DO NOT BUY A SHOOTING CHRONY PRODUCT. You have been warned. Their customer service is the worst that I have experienced. They should take a lesson from PA on customer service. PA has been great!
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Marvin from USA on 2009-03-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light weight and poratble
    Things I would have changed:Make all parts link together better so they stay even when you move it around.
    What others should know:Good chrony to take with you wherever you go shooting especialy outdoors.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2009-03-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very useful tool. Very easy to set up and start using.
    Things I would have changed:Resetting the memory is complicated for a first time user. There is a short learning curve to use the various display options and memory reset. Making it work with fluorescent lighting would be very helpful.
    What others should know:Using a camera tripod works great. This chrony does not work with fluorescent lighting. Incandescent or halogen lights must be used.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2009-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent shooting chrony, it does exactly what it is suppose to do. I am a little disappointed as I thought the quality would be top notch, but the sensor up front was parted in half, like it needs to be snapped together better. It works the way it is, so I am not going to force it together. No 9volt holder? I guess the battery just flops around on the inside dangling from it's wire? etc... Over all, good chrony for the price. Just a few minor things I would of expected (see below).
    Things I would have changed:Would be nice to see at least a soft case included in the price. Better quality checks. 9volt battery holder of some type so it just isn't flopping around during folding - unfolding.
    What others should know:Maybe purchase a case with this when you purchase as you will need one to keep it clean and in good condition over the years. Install a batter box to hold your batter like it should have. I would recommend spending the little extra money and getting a beta model over the red (alpha) model just so you have more shooting strings. You may not need them know, but once you get hit by the pellet bug and you start shooting a lot you are going to wish you had the extra shot strings.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By aaron from USA on 2009-02-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good quality, easy to use, nice features.
    Things I would have changed: Include lights for indoor use.
    What others should know:Will not work under florescent lights.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2008-03-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like all the functions of this chrony and it is well made. The rear photo sensor took a shot from me..........ooops! And all the damage there was to the unit was a piece of plastic was chipped off. The top photo sensor tents are made better than past years.
    Things I would have changed:The clear function is a bit testy at first to learn and it would be nice to have a more simple way of doing all these functions.
    What others should know:This particular chrony can do almost everything you would ever need. That is why I chose this model. I give it a 4 on overall rating but would have given a 4.5 if I could.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2007-09-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Once you read the manual's quick start instructions you can be up and shooting. Really useful in testing all my guns for efficency, especially after repairs or mods!!!
    Things I would have changed:Well thought out product.
    What others should know:A great accessory to own, especially if you own a few or more guns. Gives you a definitive way to learn what pellets work best with each gun. Very useful with my PCP rifles, allows me to learn highs, lows, averages and all sorts of information.
  • « Previous 12
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top