Date: 13/2/2016 10:52

UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By David from USA on 2012-07-02 04:35:46

Things I liked: This scope has a considerable number of features for the money and is a great value! As a dealer I get all the info! For PCP or Co2 etc. Air Rifles it works great! I wouldn't suggest if for Nitro Piston & Spring guns though, I have personal experience there. 1st.> The 30mm tube offer very good light transmission even with an ARD attached like I use. 2nd.> The 9 Mil Dots each side of center are great for making adjustments for both Holdover & Windage and they are clear and sharp and small enough not to block the view even at distance. 4th.> Proper initial adjustment of the rear eye piece should be done while looking at a clear blue sky to adjust it for a sharp crisp image of the Mil Dots. Then the SWAT with a big Wheel adjustment pressed on it really makes focusing so much easier and more precisely done with the left hand while holding the rifle too! I like the 100mm Big wheel over the 80. 5th.> Leapers includes Medium? padded scope rings with a large diamond shaped tightening nuts which are very nice, hold securely and easy to use. Although they also make quick release rings too. For a Weaver base receiver, Leapers also has a conversion rail to allow the use of Picatinny mounts to be used, which are my choice. 6th.> The locking cross hair Turret wheels are also a very nice feature, just don't over tighten them. The turrets have nice crisp knob adjustments too.

Things I would have changed: 1st.> I like to see the numbers for the power setting ring put on the side of that ring closest to the eye peace for easy viewing by the shooter to determine what power setting is being used especially if power adjustments are made. 2n.> While the built on sunshade is nice in some respects I'd rather see the front of the scope flat and threaded to make it easier to add an ARD an [Anti-Reflection Device a honey comb grid] on too it. This can also be camo-ed so the front lens isn't notieable by game at all. And a screw in a short tube and be able to screw another on to the first if a longer tube is desired.

What others should know: The EZ-Tap Ritcle illumination with it's 36 colors to choose from is a great feature to contrast with your target, especially in dim light! Once a shade of your choice is chosen and the button is depressed briefly to turn it off, that same shade reappears when turned on again. Shade choice clarified: The 'R' button on the Right, is used to choose whichever of the 6 basic colors you want? The 'G' on the Left is used to chose the shade intensity within whatever shade is choosen with the 'R' button!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Troy from USA on 2015-04-08 19:21:04

Things I liked: I like the appearance over all. The locking knobs are nice and the entire unit feels solid. Optics are acceptable.

Things I would have changed: Reticle is a bit heavier than I'd like but doable.

What others should know: This one is going back. After around 250 shots the scope stopped holding zero. The POI would shift from zero to about four inches left then back again, sometimes stopping in between for a round or two. A back up scope proved it's not the rifle and all mounts, fasteners, and stock screws are good and tight. I took a gamble with this scope because reviews are generally favorable and it seems quality name airgun optics are hard to find. Not willing to give it another chance and will stick with the gut, avoiding the brand in the future until I see nothing but five star ratings. Lot's of them.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dale from USA on 2016-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I wouldn't have ever bought this scope but it came to me free!!! OOPS!!! Well I mounted it on my Mrod 25 and it is awesome. I have a Hawke 4-16x50 and this is every bit as nice with out a doubt. sighted it in 35 yards 3 shots. I purchased the big side wheel and when i turned it until everything was crystal clear it was on the 35yrd mark. Then out to 50yrds and adjusted for clarity and BAM it was on.. My Hawke of the same value doesnt do that.

    Things I would have changed: It did add a little weight but worth the trade IMO.

    What others should know: Just buy it ... you wont regret it!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear optics and great reticle illumination. Build and machining quality seem really high. Bought this to replace the utter piece of junk that came on my Stoeger ATAC Suppressor. The scope that came with that package failed within 5 shots, yes, 5 shots and the reticle tore itself in two.

    Things I would have changed: I wish that for the price they would have included the side wheel. Other than that, I got nothin'.

    What others should know: I would by this unit again.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this scope. The illuminated reticle is fabulous for sighting in on different color targets and backgrounds. works good for field target and 10 meter air gun. Also adjusts down to 25 feet. with perfect clarity and focus. Mill dot works for shorter distance and much longer distances.

    Things I would have changed: Wouldn't change a thing.

    What others should know: Works and looks great on my Brocock Contour Elite S6.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kelly from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Built very well, very sturdy, nice machining. looks cool especially with the big side wheel. Side wheel machining and quality is also absolutely top notch - great bargain. mine goes to full 16x without blurring. Illumination works good - really cool. at first I thought the "36 colors" was kinda gimmicky, but having the option to chose the best colors and intensity for the shooting environment really helps. using mid height mounts on gen1 mrod. packaged well, delivered on time. relatively new to PA but so far I will not shop elsewhere. So far its holding zero well but not shooting much in mid winter Michigan. hopefully it will continue to work well after the return policy.

    Things I would have changed: Reticle thickness - too bulky in my opinion. shooting at only 5 yards (box says 10 yards & up) for dial in and the crosshairs nearly block the pellet holes I'm aiming at in 22 cal. Thinner crosshairs help me aim smaller / better it seems especially when in a one hole group streak in the basement range - still naling it though. When the illumination is on, it also lights up the periphery of the sight window inside the scope if you're eye is close or not centered well. When initially zeroing the gun, turret inputs for windage seemed non-linear. We all know that with low/mid budget scopes: click, click click no movement, then suddenly each click changes POI more noticeably.

    What others should know: I would definitely buy again. It is really cool - despite all my comments it is my favorite scope out of about 10 or so I own on air guns. plus you can take it off and play softball with it if you forget your demarini at home. Read the directions and follow the procedure for reseting / locking the zero on the turrets. Even with the Large side wheel it still takes effort to turn the parallax adjustment - nice and firm - almost too hard. Feels sturdy though...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent scope. Clear image, nice mil dot reticle, side parallax adjustment, flip up sunshades. pic/weaver mounts. Great adjustment features...excellent operations manual.

    Things I would have changed: Would prefer thinner cross hairs for reticle..(although a nice feature) not sure I'll use the illuminated rectile. Nice solid scope but consider shaving some weight.

    What others should know: So far this scope is holding up to the Benjamin XS NP Titan's recoil. Thought originally there was an issue--tightening the rifles break bolt solved the problem. Point of aim seems solid.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JW from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the illumination option of Red or Green. Came with flip up dust covers. Thump screws fo the mounts was easy to lock down. Fit my Hatsan BT65 SB Elite beautifully. All in all a nice scope for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Scope works exactly as advertised.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ross from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Illuminated reticle. Locking adjustments.

    Things I would have changed: The lighting selection interface is clumsy and not entirely user friendly. This should be redesigned.

    What others should know: Reasonably good scope for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clarity, looks, ease of use.

    Things I would have changed: Allow customer to chose type of scope ring.

    What others should know: Works great with Marauder .25

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Irwin from USA on 2015-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It took about 10 minutes to sight this scope in. It holds zero and is deadly accurate. For the features, this scope is an excellent bargain. Time will tell if it will stand up to the recoil of my pellet rifle.

    Things I would have changed: If it were possible to make this scope a bit lighter, it would be great. The heft of my Beeman R9 together with this scope is significant.

    What others should know: The Weaver rings, while very good, are useless to you unless your rifle has a Weaver rail or you buy one to fit onto your rifle's dovetail. Unfortunately, I had to purchase a pair of 30mm rings separately. It would be "nice" if you got a choice to ring styles but that may be asking for too much. I read all of the negative reviews about this scope and almost did not buy it, but am glad I did. I am luckily not experiencing any of the difficulties that these people have had.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear

    Things I would have changed: Not sure

    What others should know: This was number two that would not hold center....Glad I got it from Pyramyd Air!!!! No hassle.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear view.

    Things I would have changed: Locks will not stay tight.

    What others should know: If you lay your gun on the right side over night it will shoot 3/4 to 1 inch to the right the next day....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Henry from USA on 2015-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Price, The clarity of the scope, the power and the side objective lens adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: When mounted on the Hatsan BT series rifle, the magazine axle cannot be locked back as the ring mounts interfere. This is NOT a problem with the scope!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By K. from USA on 2015-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've used the scope a few weeks now and it is bang on. Very clear image, quick to focus, and solid (I mounted it with medium height Accushot 1 piece mount on my Gammo CFX). Huge upgrade from the 4x Bugbuster I was using previously. The zoom lever has a tab that sticks out which makes it very easy to turn. Also, can focus down to targets quite close.

    Things I would have changed: The one thing I don't like is that at 16x, the image gets washed out with light at times. Not sure why. So I have been using it only up to 14x.

    What others should know: The side wheel makes turning the parallax knob and range estimation easier. Range is marked on the outside and when you use it to focus, it quickly tells you how far the target is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roy from USA on 2015-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: works great for what i needed

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Rudedawg from USA on 2015-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The side wheel focus is handy.

    Things I would have changed: Better optics and function.

    What others should know: I purchased a UTG 4-16x50mm AO TS scope in 2013 and it is still dead on accurate on top of an RWS34 Classic. Having a positive experience with UTG I purchased this scope for another 34 to have the side focus feature but the quality of the scope received was not there. The optics started blurring above 9x and would not hold zero after what I considered a reasonable "settle in" time. I tried several brands and types of pellets that my 34 spits out accurately but the POI would shift high to low then left to right and all directions in between. The side focus wheel would also shift after a few shots so it also had to be refocused. Not wanting to waste anymore pellets I contacted PA and they immediately issued a return label. I may have just got a bad scope but fear UTG has changed optic quality from the previous True Strength series.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2015-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: UTG is at it again . Bulls eye. This is a very good buy. If you have a dovetail get the adapter weaver to dove and enjoy the savings over other 1/2 mil scopes.

    What others should know: Don't forget the range wheel add that and shooting nirvana.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Troy from USA on 2015-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the appearance over all. The locking knobs are nice and the entire unit feels solid. Optics are acceptable.

    Things I would have changed: Reticle is a bit heavier than I'd like but doable.

    What others should know: This one is going back. After around 250 shots the scope stopped holding zero. The POI would shift from zero to about four inches left then back again, sometimes stopping in between for a round or two. A back up scope proved it's not the rifle and all mounts, fasteners, and stock screws are good and tight. I took a gamble with this scope because reviews are generally favorable and it seems quality name airgun optics are hard to find. Not willing to give it another chance and will stick with the gut, avoiding the brand in the future until I see nothing but five star ratings. Lot's of them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great scope. Good optics, easy to use, well made.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2015-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like the accuracy of this scope. I put this on my .177 HW97K and have done some scope tracking tests from 25, 40, 55 and 85 yards and all of the tests produced acceptable results and it returned to zeroes every time. The turrets are no joke, they really work and I use them all the time without worrying about having to re-zero after using them to compensate for a shot. I like the lock rings also, very handy system. I think this scope is a good value for the money spent.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see an option for the scope rings supplied with this scope. The Weaver rings that come with it are worthless to me, does not apply to my rifle.

    What others should know: You might as well order the optional side wheel when you buy this scope, the small amount that you pay is worth it. Also, make sure the included rings will fit your air gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2015-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built scope,and very clear view. easy to set up and works very well. Well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: You can't beat the price of this scope, very well made scope, should last for years. Can't go wrong with this scope

  • 1234 Next
Navigation