Date: 25/7/2016 11:53
0

AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By TJ Hyper from USA on 2009-10-15 20:26:29

Things I liked: I am an avid tactical shooting hobbiest and gun collector. I recently bought a Talon SS, and I went with it to the shooting range for the first time today 10/15/09. I had a Barska Excavator 4-16x50 on it (plus a green laser). Once I had sighted the scope in at 25 yrds, I really was totally blown away by how amazingly accurate Talon SS is. I was able to shoot my .22 pellets in a less than quarter area from that distance. WOW!

Things I would have changed: The gun is perfect and drop dead beautiful. AirForce Airguns could make better quality accessories. However, it is really not necessary, since I want to make my guns and set ups my own.

What others should know: Please see the image of my Talon SS. I hope I am able to upload it to this site. Info: Talon SS .22, Barska Excavator 4-16x50 w/ Butler Creek flip up scope covers, Burris Extreme High scope rings, dovetail to weaver adaptors, UTG green laser, and Crosman premium .22 pellets is the superb and amazingly accurate combination.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-10 00:28:25

Things I liked: Accurate, light, compact, decent build quality, super quiet, made in USA.

Things I would have changed: Fix the pressure gauge!

What others should know: Mine was delivered without the dust cover for the air fill valve on the spin lock tank. Also, the pressure gauge on my tank is not working properly.. It reads a few hundred PSI too high when the tank is filled. So that kind of defeats the purposes of having a gauge in the first place. This whole experience kinda makes me wonder if I should've just spent more and got something higher-end to avoid some of these issues.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased the red Talon almost two years ago and have been very pleased with everything about this gun. It is well made, accurately described in the product description, and have had no problems at all. It is very quiet as described. I called support at AirForce, they answered the question promptly with no wait time in a queue.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: If you want a good quality gun at a good price point, this is worth your consideration.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2016-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact and quite! Beer caps at 35 yards are no problem only after a few site in shots.

    Things I would have changed: Could use a better shoulder stock.

    What others should know: This is quite my RWS 48 makes more noise then this.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jacob from USA on 2016-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate when tuned properly. Lightweight, easy to disassemble. Lothar Walther barrel is awesome, easy to change calibers, plenty of aftermarket parts available.490 cc air tank. Compact. Comes in 3 colors. The whole airforce line has many interchangeable parts.

    Things I would have changed: thicker grip and more substantial trigger guard. There are aftermarket parts to address these issues.steel screw on power wheel meter instead of plastic. Make the safety manual. Instead of automatic. Made the cocking mechanism a side cocker. And lower the tank and scope rail. Pretty much make this gun more ergonomic. Right now it's kind of like a broom stick with a handle and foregrip.

    What others should know: The one reason one star deducted from over all rating is how much work and time it takes to make this an ultra accurate shooter. It's not a out of box and shoot 1 inch groups. If it is you are very lucky. You must really have a love for air gunning to enjoy this rifle. Once all the work is done ,this is a very enjoyable rifle. If you want a pcp that's out of the box a great shooter go with Benjamin marauder. If you like to tinker get the ss. GET THE TRI RAIL AND MEDIUM DOVETAIL RINGS FROM THE START. trust me, I wish I got the tri rail from the start. It has helped tremendously with my sight picture. Don't put a huge heavy scope on this gun. It will make it top heavy. Buy JSB pellets Scope sits high above barrel. Range estimation is tough . It takes chair gun pro software, trial and error, and a mil dot scope! But so worth it when you got to figured out. This is your rifle. There are others like it but this one is yours. By the time you are done with this rifle it will be one of a kind

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tony from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the power wheel will not as it is configured in a stock gun give you much control of velocity. Modifications are possible but you may see only 100 fps change over the full range of settings. That said the gun is great and I love it. I can easily shoot at 750fps with CHP domed 14.3 gr with great accuracy at 33 yards. It is quiet not as loud as a strong hand clap.

    Things I would have changed: a different spring and hammer combination to give the advertisted speed adjustment. You should be able to get 550 to 850 with the stock gun and a reasonable weight pellet.

    What others should know: great shot count> 50 + from 2800 to 2200, very easy to work on >> good info available on air gun forums to mod the gun for looks or function. Air Force has a good rep for working with customers and are willing to assist you. If you consider this to be a "gun kit" for you to improve , you will not be dissapointed.>>>> It will shoot great and you can use is as it is right out of the box also.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Zachary from USA on 2015-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Let me start off by saying the Talon SS is an amazingly accurate air gun. It is extremely well-balanced and comfortable to hold and shoot. Aside from some issues (which I discuss below), the gun is very nice. My gun will consistently produce 1/4 inch, 5-shot groups at 35 yards when placed in a Predator MTM rest. These Lothar Walter barrels are worth every penny AND THEN SOME! The most accurate pellets in my gun are H&N Baracudas 21.13gr (5.51mm head) and JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr. Also, there are 35 accurate shots available before the tank needs to be topped off to 3,000 psi. Also, this gun does not show any POI shift between shooting sessions. I had a Marauder, and this was a total pain in the butt having to adjust the scope every time I went to shoot. I really like this gun.

    Things I would have changed: The previous version of these guns had a dull-colored rubbery grip that was very nice to hold. The current version of AirForce guns have a shiny rubbery grip, that is more slick. I think they changed this to better match the finish of the metal, but it is not as nice to hold. The main issue with the current Airforce guns has to do with the Power Wheel. Basically, it has no effect on velocity. I have tried 3 different guns, and the power wheel had no effect on any of them. Tom's excellent review of the original Talon SS shows a nice range of velocities available by adjusting the power wheel. This simply does not exist with the current guns. My chrony indicates a velocity spread of about 30fps, even with the Power Wheel adjusted to the low and high limits. Authorized AirForce retailers who sell and tune these guns have confirmed this, so it is not just me.

    What others should know: Be aware that the Power Wheel has no effect in current AirForce guns. Also, listen to what others have written about using Airforce guns with a pump - it truly is a pain in the butt! I did not listen to the advice, and am suffering for it. Shoooting 35 shots brings the tank from 3,000 psi to about 2,000 psi. Using a Hill Mk4 pump, it takes 4 pumping sessions and 1 hour to fill the tank back up (because of the heat, you need to rest the pump for 15 minutes after about 50 strokes). I am definitely saving for a small carbon fiber tank.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ted from USA on 2015-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made, nicely finished piece of equipment Very accurate , very quiet Lots of mods / acc. Available

    Things I would have changed: Would possibly include open sights with rifle so that it is Useable " out of the box "

    What others should know: I was worrying about filling tank with the hand pump, But it turned out to be a non-issue for the way I shoot If I wanted to plink all day I would consider the co2 adapter

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daryl from USA on 2014-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I did extensive research so I had no surprises. The Talon SS works as described. It is accurate and fairly quiet. The compact size makes it very handy. I am impressed with the quality and really like that it is made in the USA.

    Things I would have changed: Would really like it if they could develop a multi shot system instead of the single shot. The good news is it is easy to load the pellets.

    What others should know: It is important to follow the advice of others and get the high scope mounts. By raising the scope up you have a more comfortable aiming position.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2014-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact, lightweight, easy to use, no frills - utilitarian. Very accurate and not fussy about pellets. Shooting 22cal. Premiers and getting nickel size groups at 25 yds. Pretty quiet considering 800+ fps at power level 4 (of 12). About 20 FPE. Comes with the sound loc kit installed. Like the quick fill port on the tank and the large tank capacity. Lot's of shots before a refill is needed. Standard rails offer lots of mounting options for accessories. Overall good value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: The stock butt / shoulder pad is underwhelming. I gave it a quick remedy with an aftermarket recoil pad and some plastic tape. Looks funky but works great and improves the pull length for me.

    What others should know: Needs some sights / optics. If you have normal anatomy - I. E. you have a neck between your head and shoulders you will probably want to elevate your scope. Or be prepared to scrunch down to get your sight picture. I added the Air Force tri rail to the scope rail, with a Leapers dovetail to Weaver adapter, with high scope mounts, to get the Leapers UTG 4x16 50mm scope into a comfortable and easy to access position. Sweet setup for me. So far this has been a lot of fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clayton from USA on 2014-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Superb piece of equipment! I like my .22 caliber very much. It is quieter than I expected, so nice surprises all around. I was a little hesitant about the short barrel, but after shooting it for a couple of weeks, I will definitely be squirrel hunting with it this fall. Powerful and accurate! No doubt, it is deadly on squirrels/rabbits out to 40 yards, and probably 50.

    Things I would have changed: Forestock! Way too small for my large hands. With the large scope on top and a pistol grip, it tends to want to wobble left and right on the shooting bench. 1/4" added to EACH side of the foregrip to widen it would just about do it. Also, AirForce is missing sales by not offering it in olive drab or CAMO!!!

    What others should know: If you keep your tank filled without letting it go below 1500 psi, it is much easier to maintain. I've gotten used to the workouts on the pump and actually find them healthy! 50 pumps at a time go fast.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chen from USA on 2014-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate with the right pellets; quiet enough for backyard plinking; nice dimension and power combination; cute looking.

    Things I would have changed: Fill gauge inaccurate (300 psi +), as have been commented by many reviewers, needs better quality control. male adapter cover loose, needs better design.

    What others should know: Picky on the type of pellets you've chosen. The best pellet i've tried: .22 JSB Jumbo Exact 15.89 grain; Very easy to fill up with Hill Pump; 2000 to 3000 psi, two sessions each session 5 minutes. At power setting 6, you could get 50 good shots. It's not as quiet as Air Arms rifle, but quiet enough for backyard use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2014-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is a transformer go from .177 to .25 in 5 mminutes. Could mount many accessories for a tactical look. Vary accuarte and light weight. Trigger is better than what I expected. The condor SS is quieter but the talon SS is still backyard friendly. The length of the rifle is also great.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change about this rifle is the eye alignment. You have to put vary high scope mounts to get a decent view. The center of my scope to the center of the barrel is 3.8 inches high. That's high!

    What others should know: Buy it no regreats I wish I would of bought it sooner. Vary accurate with most all pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pete from USA on 2014-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, accurate, pretty quiet, great looking rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Not much so far.

    What others should know: The rifle arrived with a spin-loc collar that would not screw onto the air tank because of damaged threads. Pretty annoying for a gun that cost almost $600 but I called AirForce and they mailed out a new one same day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2014-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought my talon ss over 10 years ago , ti has the old safety and the non-spin loc tank still works perfectly good to this day. Mine now has a 24 inch barrel which means its much louder but it hits harder, more F.P.S. I always refill my tank after about 50 shots , its easier than filling an empty tank, doesn't take as long.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing i would change would be plastic forearm and pistol grip they make the gun look cheap and toyish , i plan on replacing them with a mad dog stock i did this to my talon-p boy what a difference!!! I don't miss the fact it doesn't have spin-loc or the new safety. with mine i can decock the rifle without firing it.

    What others should know: These guns are expensive theres no getting around that , but in my opinion they are worth it , i would easily buy another one. They are still more affordable that some. The only thing you are limited to is your pocket book.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first PCP. I have shot many spring loaders and never did like the recoil and the noise. Thus Talon SS is the bomb. Very powerful and accurate. With the new baffle system installed it is very quiet for back yard use.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the stock was improved.

    What others should know: Highly recommended.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: WOW!. This is my first PCP, and really deliberated over MRod and Talon. Both are quiet, both have excellent reviews for accuracy, Talon a little pricier. But it is light, and pretty quiet. Personally sounds silent to me, but at the range also have ear plugs on when there are powder burners there. You should have seen the look on the a bunch of kids (young men) when I arrived. Unpacking, the Talon looks mean! And the kids were playing with loud and nasty guns. The bigger the better, the louder the better. They all waited in anticipation to hear how much noise the Talon would make. They weren't close enough to realize it was a air pellet gun. Pulled that first trigger, knock down a 20 gauge spent shell @ 50yds. There jaws dropped. No noise, and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Air Force line is so flexible, might reconsider the purchase and go with a condor and try a Talon Tunes top hat with inserts. Save the cost of adding a high flow cylinder... but then wouldn't have the quiet option for the basement.... and don't know if that would give the extra shot capacity of the Talon for plinking.....decisions

    What others should know: Great starter, but you will most likely want to add extra barrels in other calibers, 24 inch for long distance shooting, i.e. out to 100 yds and beyond.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2014-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an excellent product size, weight, shape, and versatile

    What others should know: Scuba shops can and will fill your air tank, becouse you can bring the tank in without the gun. It makes your gun use able, if your saving to buy a Airfore hand pump or suba tank from Pyramyd Air.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought the .25cal model after returning a .22cal model that had some issues. This one puts out 30FPE with 25.4gr JSBs with the power wheel set to 6 out of 12. Accurate out to 100 yards with my Hawke Sidewinder 6.5-20x42 scope and BKL rings. Easy to fill with my Hill MK3 pump.

    Things I would have changed: Upgrade the pistol grip, more ergonomic butt stock, and beef up the trigger guard with more than just a strip of aluminum.

    What others should know: The gauges that come with these airguns can be off by 5% or so. So don't use the gauge on the gun when filling it up. Mine reads 3,000 or so PSI when it's really at 2,800. The Talon SS I exchanged for this one was off by 400PSI, which I found to be unacceptable.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, light, compact, decent build quality, super quiet, made in USA.

    Things I would have changed: Fix the pressure gauge!

    What others should know: Mine was delivered without the dust cover for the air fill valve on the spin lock tank. Also, the pressure gauge on my tank is not working properly.. It reads a few hundred PSI too high when the tank is filled. So that kind of defeats the purposes of having a gauge in the first place. This whole experience kinda makes me wonder if I should've just spent more and got something higher-end to avoid some of these issues.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TheStigg from USA on 2013-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For starters the gun looks awesome. I bought it in .22 cal. No matter who I show it to I always get compliments on how sweet it looks. The gun is also very light and surprisingly quiet. The baffles work great. The gun is also super accurate. I'm able to hit a soda can 4/5 times at 140yrds.

    Things I would have changed: The dovetail mount on top either needs to be raised to accommodate for proper eye relief or Airforce needs to adopt TalonTunes drop adapter.

    What others should know: Every once in a while the gun starts to wander with accuracy. Not sure why but some tuning and practice will go a long way.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By airgunner from USA on 2013-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love how short this gun is. I have mine at 33.5" Almost everything about this gun I love.The feel,how light it is and the accuracy is super,and quiet.

    Things I would have changed: What I do not like is the feel of the but plate.What I did to change this is I put on a "Morgan Adjustable recoil pad" and moved it as low as poss.now it feels just like a normal stock does.

    What others should know: I bought this gun in the .25 cal and had the 10 for 10 testing done.They used 25.40 gr. JSB as the test pellet.They had 3000 psi and I think the power wheel set on 7, for a vel.avg.of 730 fps. I have not shot this barrel once. When I received the gun I removed the barrel and put in the .20 Cal. sighted it in and went squirrel hunting the next day. The .20 cal shoots great. It will shoot .250 five shot groups with the pellet vel. at 900 fps. and the power wheel set at 8.I just LOVE this gun.Now that I put the recoil pad on it I can not find anything wrong with it.GREAT GUN.

  • 12345 Next
Navigation