Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By TJ Hyper from USA on 2009-10-15 20:26:29

    Things I liked:I am an avid tactical shooting hobbiest and gun collector. I recently bought a Talon SS, and I went with it to the shooting range for the first time today 10/15/09. I had a Barska Excavator 4-16x50 on it (plus a green laser). Once I had sighted the scope in at 25 yrds, I really was totally blown away by how amazingly accurate Talon SS is. I was able to shoot my .22 pellets in a less than quarter area from that distance. WOW!
    Things I would have changed:The gun is perfect and drop dead beautiful. AirForce Airguns could make better quality accessories. However, it is really not necessary, since I want to make my guns and set ups my own.
    What others should know:Please see the image of my Talon SS. I hope I am able to upload it to this site. Info: Talon SS .22, Barska Excavator 4-16x50 w/ Butler Creek flip up scope covers, Burris Extreme High scope rings, dovetail to weaver adaptors, UTG green laser, and Crosman premium .22 pellets is the superb and amazingly accurate combination.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:5

    By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-10 00:28:25

    Things I liked:Accurate, light, compact, decent build quality, super quiet, made in USA.
    Things I would have changed:Fix the pressure gauge!
    What others should know:Mine was delivered without the dust cover for the air fill valve on the spin lock tank. Also, the pressure gauge on my tank is not working properly.. It reads a few hundred PSI too high when the tank is filled. So that kind of defeats the purposes of having a gauge in the first place. This whole experience kinda makes me wonder if I should've just spent more and got something higher-end to avoid some of these issues.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:WOW!. This is my first PCP, and really deliberated over MRod and Talon. Both are quiet, both have excellent reviews for accuracy, Talon a little pricier. But it is light, and pretty quiet. Personally sounds silent to me, but at the range also have ear plugs on when there are powder burners there. You should have seen the look on the a bunch of kids (young men) when I arrived. Unpacking, the Talon looks mean! And the kids were playing with loud and nasty guns. The bigger the better, the louder the better. They all waited in anticipation to hear how much noise the Talon would make. They weren't close enough to realize it was a air pellet gun. Pulled that first trigger, knock down a 20 gauge spent shell @ 50yds. There jaws dropped. No noise, and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Air Force line is so flexible, might reconsider the purchase and go with a condor and try a Talon Tunes top hat with inserts. Save the cost of adding a high flow cylinder... but then wouldn't have the quiet option for the basement.... and don't know if that would give the extra shot capacity of the Talon for plinking.....decisions
      What others should know:Great starter, but you will most likely want to add extra barrels in other calibers, 24 inch for long distance shooting, i.e. out to 100 yds and beyond.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an excellent product size, weight, shape, and versatile
      What others should know:Scuba shops can and will fill your air tank, becouse you can bring the tank in without the gun. It makes your gun use able, if your saving to buy a Airfore hand pump or suba tank from Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought the .25cal model after returning a .22cal model that had some issues. This one puts out 30FPE with 25.4gr JSBs with the power wheel set to 6 out of 12. Accurate out to 100 yards with my Hawke Sidewinder 6.5-20x42 scope and BKL rings. Easy to fill with my Hill MK3 pump.
      Things I would have changed:Upgrade the pistol grip, more ergonomic butt stock, and beef up the trigger guard with more than just a strip of aluminum.
      What others should know:The gauges that come with these airguns can be off by 5% or so. So don't use the gauge on the gun when filling it up. Mine reads 3,000 or so PSI when it's really at 2,800. The Talon SS I exchanged for this one was off by 400PSI, which I found to be unacceptable.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, light, compact, decent build quality, super quiet, made in USA.
      Things I would have changed:Fix the pressure gauge!
      What others should know:Mine was delivered without the dust cover for the air fill valve on the spin lock tank. Also, the pressure gauge on my tank is not working properly.. It reads a few hundred PSI too high when the tank is filled. So that kind of defeats the purposes of having a gauge in the first place. This whole experience kinda makes me wonder if I should've just spent more and got something higher-end to avoid some of these issues.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By TheStigg from USA on 2013-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For starters the gun looks awesome. I bought it in .22 cal. No matter who I show it to I always get compliments on how sweet it looks. The gun is also very light and surprisingly quiet. The baffles work great. The gun is also super accurate. I'm able to hit a soda can 4/5 times at 140yrds.
      Things I would have changed:The dovetail mount on top either needs to be raised to accommodate for proper eye relief or Airforce needs to adopt TalonTunes drop adapter.
      What others should know:Every once in a while the gun starts to wander with accuracy. Not sure why but some tuning and practice will go a long way.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By airgunner from USA on 2013-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love how short this gun is. I have mine at 33.5" Almost everything about this gun I love.The feel,how light it is and the accuracy is super,and quiet.
      Things I would have changed:What I do not like is the feel of the but plate.What I did to change this is I put on a "Morgan Adjustable recoil pad" and moved it as low as poss.now it feels just like a normal stock does.
      What others should know:I bought this gun in the .25 cal and had the 10 for 10 testing done.They used 25.40 gr. JSB as the test pellet.They had 3000 psi and I think the power wheel set on 7, for a vel.avg.of 730 fps. I have not shot this barrel once. When I received the gun I removed the barrel and put in the .20 Cal. sighted it in and went squirrel hunting the next day. The .20 cal shoots great. It will shoot .250 five shot groups with the pellet vel. at 900 fps. and the power wheel set at 8.I just LOVE this gun.Now that I put the recoil pad on it I can not find anything wrong with it.GREAT GUN.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2013-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle is so quiet when I was zeroing it in at 33 yards a chipmunk stayed a yard or two of the cardboard box pellet trap. I took one shot missed and it didn't run off far. I got it on the next shot. ;-) Modularity is nice with this rifle. You cann upgrade barrel or other components easy.
      Things I would have changed:The tank makes it difficult to get a good sight picture without leaning my head to the right. I can't keep my head parallel like I can't with a normal rifle.
      What others should know:Don't fill it to max air pressure, squeeze the rifle too hard, and make sure screws are snug (not overtightened). I notice I have an occassional "flyer" that doesn't group with the other pellets and the solutions people suggested in Blogs are posted earlier.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By elijah from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Amazingly accurate, even on 1.5 power settings I can do dime size groups at 25 yards with crosman magnims and get a ton of shots per fill. Very quiet on low power settings,I shoot out my back door while my newborn is asleep in her crib and it doesn't wake her up. Awesome trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Make sure you buy high scope rings, or even the tri rail with hi scope rings.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Po from USA on 2013-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Talon SS is a great looking rifle. It's very accurate and the new 2013 dampened the sound further with the baffles. Spin Loc tank reduce the hassle of taking the tank off to top off/refill.
      Things I would have changed:New trigger is squeaky and the sound could dampened further. Round off the sharp edges for overall of the rifle especially the breech area. It needs better QC the machine tolerance around the hammer/breech slot. A better fasten setup than just a set screw for the muzzle cap, it is crooked at the top after a shooting session. It also need to give an option for dovetail, weaver, or Picatinny rail. Adapter to go from dovetail to weaver/picatinny (weaver can be picatinny but not always the other way around) is a pain and not up to spec.
      What others should know:It's like buying a Honda Civic for it's reliability but ended up upgrading because it's never good straight out of the factory. Aftermarket parts are required to make the rifle into what it should have been an excellent rifle. Why can't Air Force just get it right the first time then they can sell millions of them? Maybe next few years....
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Eddie from USA on 2013-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Compact, and light weight, shoot straight. Mine has a little accuracy problem at first, but it was easy to correct-front barrel bushing was loose, the screw back out. A little bit of locktite problem fixed.
      Things I would have changed:Add a pressure gauge on high pressure tank, to tell us an idea of hold over or under on the target. Scope mount rail a little higher for natural cheek weld. Definitely add some baffles to reduce the report.
      What others should know:This thing isn't quiet as you thing it is, be aware if you have anti guns neighbors. Home made baffles can be found at Home Depot . 3/4 copper end cap a few thin felt, and drill 1/4 inch hole will do the job. It is more quieter than Benjamin marauder rifle if you vented the front barrel bushings, and baffles. This designs increase accuracy because first baffle is stripped all the air and send it back into the chamber behind it, and by the time it reflects back the pellet has left the muzzle therefore no air turbulence that interrupt pellet flight. Mine was measured 75db with this set up.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Elvis from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first PCP air rifle. I have or have had many air rifle and hand guns. I used to think all air guns were created equal. Boy was I wrong. This is by far the most expensive "air" gun that I have ever bought. And I am glad I did. I must say that it is probably far from perfect, but it does everything it is supposed to and it does it very well. I have the .177 model, but I have the option to change barrels in numerous calibers. It has a shroud and end cap that make it a bit quiet, but not completely. I searched the internet and bought a "frame extender" and WOW!!! Absolutely quiet. The sound of the pellet impacting your target is louder than the report itself. It is a must have if you have neighbors nearby. The power wheel is great as you wont always need full power. Dialing it up or down as you need is very helpful. You can mount all sorts or optics, lasers, grips, etc. although you may need an adapter to do so. There just aren't many dovetail products out there. I have a CenterPoint 4-16x40 mildot scope, UTG Bipod, cheap ebay laser and it is very accurate. It has so many options, that I know I will be forgetting to mention some here. all in all, a great buy. Make that a "super" buy!!!
      Things I would have changed:To start off with, I would make Weaver/Picatinny rails a standard, at least for mounting the scope and perhaps for the bipod as it will be a bit more sturdy and secure than the dovetail. The tank would be great if it came with a gauge and fill adapter built into it. While on the subject of the tank, it would be great if it were a bit lower. As it is, the scope needs to be raised about 1 inch in order to obtain a good sight picture. Trigger is pretty good, but can be better. Adjustable would be nice.
      What others should know:This is an accurate gun. Like any air gun, you must find the pellets that work best in your gun and simply stick to them. So far, Beeman Kodiaks and Crosman Premier Ultra Magnums work really well in mine. Appears to be very well built and appears to be sturdy. Love the fact that you have many options for upgrading and customizing. I use the CO2 adapter and get plenty of shots. Mine loves the heavier pellets. The lighter ones don't group well at all. I originally thought my SS was defective. I decided to try the heavier pellets and Voila!!! Tighter groups and that it with CO2. Compressed air= much better/tighter groups. I'm sure there may be better PCP air guns out there, but I have not seen one yet that is so versatile at this price range.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2013-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This thing is amazing. Easy to operate. Plenty of room for accessories on the upper and lower rails. Tack driving accuracy with plenty of punch. Quiet and deadly. Wow!
      Things I would have changed:The safety is a little stiff and cumbersome. Pressure gauge on the tank would be nice.
      What others should know:Same hole groups, no problem. Addictive fun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Tracy from USA on 2012-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's an absolute tack driver right out of the box. With the UTG/Leapers 4-16x44 SWAT Scope and JSB .22 Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.1g pellets single hole groups at 25 yards are very common. The JSBs are so accurate I've only shot one other pellet (H&N FTT 14.66g) which were not nearly as accurate in my gun. Out of the box it was too loud for my neighborhood, but that was easily rectified with the addition of a barrel shroud (there are several good ones available as well as lots of other after market goodies for this rifle). I can shoot it on HPA on full power in my garage and you cannot hear it inside my house with the shroud installed. You will definitely want high scope rings with this rifle. Quality is top notch and the warranty is as good as it gets (Limited Lifetime). The power is very easy to adjust and it has more than enough power for my requirements. For less than $200 you can easily change the barrel length and caliber on this rifle in less than 10 minutes to go from a backyard plinker to a serious .25 cal hunting weapon. For the money this gun is tough to beat.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is very good, but not exceptional. It would be nice if it was adjustable. The forestock, grip, buttplate and safety could all be significantly improved. Again, these are all addressable with aftermarket add-ons (search Maddog Stocks). An option for a factory baffle for the SS barrel shroud would be great. In stock form the SS barrel shroud is just a hollow tube with an end cap. While it does make the rifle slightly less noisy, it could easily be significantly improved with a simple baffle. Better yet, it should be a standard feature rather than an option.
      What others should know:If you are going to shoot it using CO2, the 12oz bottle is a much better option. The diameter of the larger 20oz CO2 bottle makes it nearly impossible to get a cheek weld and be able to see through your scope.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nick from USA on 2012-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I purchased this air rifle after reading many reviews. When i opened the box, it was like Christmas when i was a child. Airforce does an excellent job. Best air rifle I've ever owned. At first i was concerned about comfort due to the tank. Using the high rings it is perfect. Bought it mainly to train my 8 y/o. He and my daughter can nail tin cans at 75 yards all day long. They can also destroy 223 brass at 30 yards. Form, fit, and weight are perfect for them too. Mine shoots best (40 shot, #2500-#1900) 1" group at 50 yards. If you're thinking about buying, DO IT!!! I luv it more every time i pick it up!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the spin-lock tank w/gauge coming with it. Maybe in the future
      What others should know:Additional cost to fill a PCP.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By John J from USA on 2012-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super accurate and quiet. IMHO the best hunting platform made. That includes firearms.
      Things I would have changed:a factory made shroud extension for the optional longer barrels
      What others should know:This is my preferred hunting rifle for everything from Squirrels to medium game. Stops em dead in their tracks. You can shoot and reload without taking the crosshairs off target. If your budget wont allow you to get a new one. Look for a refurb or used gun. Its well worth every penny spent. This is the Chuck Norris of airguns!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ailsa from USA on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.Very light. A little quieter than I expected, but can be made even quieter with after market parts or modification to some of the parts. Highly customizable. I like that it break down into easy carry size.
      Things I would have changed:I don't have the SpinLoc system. I would not mind adding an inch to the gun in order to have a removable tank with a gauge on it. Put a better attached knob on the safety.Put an easy to remove sticker or tag on the tank warning not to over tighten the tank to the gun, it only needs to be snug or it will jam on the threaded bushing.
      What others should know:Very accurate.Feels good in the hands. Comes up easy to the shoulder. Great value for the money.Well balanced.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is fantastic! Very easy to use, accurate, and a whole lot of fun. Quality is excellent. It is easy to tell when it's time to refill the tank, since the pellets do start to noticeably slow down and drop. I use mine mostly to upkeep shooting skills without having to load up the real guns to take to the range. This gun isn't silent by any means, but sound level is very acceptable in my neighborhood (and none of the wildlife around seems to be spooked by it).
      Things I would have changed:Wouldn't change a thing...it is pricey but the design and function seems to justify the premium price.
      What others should know:Nice to have zero recoil...with a sharp eye, one can see the pellet impact (or lack thereof if my last instant movement pulls me off target) using the scope. Very quick and easy to reload for the next shot without having to come off target.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By sherman from USA on 2012-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:very lightweight and accurate. This thing is an absolute hammer i cant even imagine the condor, this is all the power i will ever need for what i do.
      Things I would have changed:Tank adapter with gauge and quick fill that drops the tank so you don't use so much of your scope up with the high rings. The safety is a horrible design, do not ever depend on it!
      What others should know:This thing is still pretty loud with my power wheel set 0n 4.5 and it goes up to 12. I would not consider it neighborhood friendly out of the box. I'm sending the 18.1 grain jsb's down range and its blowing right through my 1/2 plywood target board at 100 yards. There is a ton of information and aftermarket goodies for this gun. I grew up shooting multi-pumpers,co2,and springers and this is by far the funnest and most accurate of all of them. would definitely buy again!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By jon from USA on 2012-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding consistant accuracy. Number of shots per charge. Made in U.S.A workmanship is outstanding.
      Things I would have changed:Stock configuration takes a little getting use to. Safety a little stiff.
      What others should know:My talon ss is in .20 cal., here are some figures on its trajectory using jsb exacts, -1.25@10Yds, +.25@20Yds,+.50@30Yds, 0@40Yds, -.50@50Yds, -1.75@60Yds.At 60 yards sub 1' groups from sandbags are the usual in a no wind enviromement.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By sherman from USA on 2012-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, weight, so many different air rifles in one design. Very simple to work on and clean.
      Things I would have changed:Cheap plastic grips, shouldering the chunk of metal on the end of the tank is painful after a long day of shooting. The safety is horrible and can only be pushed off with my thumb. Rifle is way louder than i expected being a shrouded barrel.With this price point i would expect a better fit and finish.
      What others should know:My first pcp and my first .22 caliber. I'm very pleased with it. This thing is and absolute hammer and tack driver. glad i went with this over the condor, this thing has way more than enough energy for what i use it for. I purchased a vented barrel bushing and shroud from Tony and it is much quieter. Great modular design, if i want any caliber or a wider array of power its easy to obtain using this platform. just wish airforce would read some reviews and just do some little tweaks to make an awesome airgun even better.
    • 1234 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold