Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms S500 Xtra FAC Walnut PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (7 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (7 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Maurice from USA on 2009-10-06 20:31:08

    Things I liked:Great Balance, nice beech stock, all parts are finished in smooth consistant style, power adjustment is accurate when dialed fron lowest to highest then back again, all verified over chrony, found min with CPHP from 352 to 976 Fps and using mid range setting to be 860 , shoot .23" groups at 25 yards, .6" at 50 yards on a breezy day that was moving backstop!!! The rifle is a bit large, but with excellant balance, trigger is great, I set it at 1.1Lb with smooth , consistant take up, crisp release. Oh yes , My rifle is .22, gives you 20% better chance of hitting target, after you dial in distance settings, will mostly use indoors at 25 yards
    Things I would have changed:Price, option for iron sights, adjustable butstock
    What others should know:My rifle has been tried by International, National champs and have expressed a very solid respect for the package, considering my gun is the luck of the draw with no "cherry picking" from inventory. It will not be forsale . I prefer a solid piece of wood in a stock thus I picked Beech, but if Walnut is your thing , do it.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2014-11-22 22:17:31

    Things I liked:The walnut stock is absolutely stunning! Mine is nice and dark with light tiger stripes at one angle and light with dark stripes from another angle. With a fine satin-like surfaced. It seems pride in your work is becoming rare these days. I consider it a privilege to own something of such high quality. I need no adjustments for pellet path out to 50 yards with a medium mount Hawke HD 2-7x 32mm. The cheek weld is perfect for this setup. I was not satisfied with a high mounted larger scope, plus the gun was excessivey heavy. BTW the 7.55 lb. spec. is correct, I weighed it. The thin reticle on the crystal clear Hawke makes more magnification completely unnecessary for a 50 yard gun. I can hit sparrows past 50 yards I just can't see the pellet. If you routinely take shots past 50 yds. You may need more magnification to keep the mil dots closer together. Some people dial their velocities down below 900 fps.to get tight groups this thing shoots heavy pellets at 1000 fps. like a laser.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, except maybe the fill port. It works just fine though after you get used to it. Some have commented that the gun is not quiet. I feel this is somewhat overstated. The gun doesn't sound like a toy, but is not loud either. The odd thing is birds and rabbits act like they don't even hear it sometimes. Target shooting over rabbits, they don't even stop chewing. I have made multiple kills on sparrows in a single bush. (should have gotten the repeater) Some reviewers have negatively commented on the trigger mounted safety. The safety works just dandy in practice and I actually like it quite a lot. Last night I woke up in a cold sweat because I dreamed Air Arms wanted their rifle back because this one was earmarked for the Air Arms museum. (Not really, but I expect this to happen any day). There a lot of attractive rifles out there but Air Arms has set the bar so high with this one that I imagine I would just be disappointed if I bought another. Dang you Air Arms!
    What others should know:I had a lead fouling problem and was initially disappointed with the accuracy. I could also see my pellets curving to the right. Sent it back under warranty and the tech from Air Venturi ran a brass brush through it (four single strokes)and sent it back with a test card with a .38" 10 shots at 42 yards that included one flyer! (cheap 10.5 gr. ultramags at 1005 fps) He seemed very impressed with this as was I (He called me on the phone before sending the rifle back.) I tested the rifle on return just before dark and it was produced small groups. The next day however in bright sun I could see the pellets curving to the right. I had ordered a new barrel so I saw no harm in a careful but deliberate scrubbing with JB bore paste. Now 8.4 gr.JSB, 10.5 gr. CPH, and 10.34 gr. JSB heavies have the same POI at 50 yds. (they did not before) with the JSB heavies being the best at (1/2" @ 50 yds. all day long with a 7x scope.) Now pellet path is dead stable and never a flyer. Mine is S500 .177
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eddie from USA on 2014-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The walnut stock is absolutely stunning! Mine is nice and dark with light tiger stripes at one angle and light with dark stripes from another angle. With a fine satin-like surfaced. It seems pride in your work is becoming rare these days. I consider it a privilege to own something of such high quality. I need no adjustments for pellet path out to 50 yards with a medium mount Hawke HD 2-7x 32mm. The cheek weld is perfect for this setup. I was not satisfied with a high mounted larger scope, plus the gun was excessivey heavy. BTW the 7.55 lb. spec. is correct, I weighed it. The thin reticle on the crystal clear Hawke makes more magnification completely unnecessary for a 50 yard gun. I can hit sparrows past 50 yards I just can't see the pellet. If you routinely take shots past 50 yds. You may need more magnification to keep the mil dots closer together. Some people dial their velocities down below 900 fps.to get tight groups this thing shoots heavy pellets at 1000 fps. like a laser.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, except maybe the fill port. It works just fine though after you get used to it. Some have commented that the gun is not quiet. I feel this is somewhat overstated. The gun doesn't sound like a toy, but is not loud either. The odd thing is birds and rabbits act like they don't even hear it sometimes. Target shooting over rabbits, they don't even stop chewing. I have made multiple kills on sparrows in a single bush. (should have gotten the repeater) Some reviewers have negatively commented on the trigger mounted safety. The safety works just dandy in practice and I actually like it quite a lot. Last night I woke up in a cold sweat because I dreamed Air Arms wanted their rifle back because this one was earmarked for the Air Arms museum. (Not really, but I expect this to happen any day). There a lot of attractive rifles out there but Air Arms has set the bar so high with this one that I imagine I would just be disappointed if I bought another. Dang you Air Arms!
      What others should know:I had a lead fouling problem and was initially disappointed with the accuracy. I could also see my pellets curving to the right. Sent it back under warranty and the tech from Air Venturi ran a brass brush through it (four single strokes)and sent it back with a test card with a .38" 10 shots at 42 yards that included one flyer! (cheap 10.5 gr. ultramags at 1005 fps) He seemed very impressed with this as was I (He called me on the phone before sending the rifle back.) I tested the rifle on return just before dark and it was produced small groups. The next day however in bright sun I could see the pellets curving to the right. I had ordered a new barrel so I saw no harm in a careful but deliberate scrubbing with JB bore paste. Now 8.4 gr.JSB, 10.5 gr. CPH, and 10.34 gr. JSB heavies have the same POI at 50 yds. (they did not before) with the JSB heavies being the best at (1/2" @ 50 yds. all day long with a 7x scope.) Now pellet path is dead stable and never a flyer. Mine is S500 .177
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By morris from USA on 2012-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the walnut stock is excellent. the blueing is deep and dark.
      Things I would have changed:the optional of adding a multi-shot tray.
      What others should know:with the single shot you have the convenice to load any length pellet. the power is right were it needs to be for .22 cal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By morris from USA on 2012-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the stock and blueing is awesome!!!! My second airarms this week and they are the the perfect airguns hands down-No questions please!
      Things I would have changed:It's perfect in everyway.
      What others should know:the finish is perfect and the rife in .22 is accurate and powerful. What esle can i say, come get you some!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Boomer_Mikey from USA on 2012-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful Walnut stock, a very adjustable trigger, adjustable power, amazing accuracy. IMO the Air Arms S400/S500 rifles are the best you can get for the money and second to none in the accuracy department. The quality of these rifles will not disappoint anyone.
      Things I would have changed:Change the fill port to a QC fitting, eliminating the adapters.
      What others should know:If you want a rifle that can do everything including hunting, plinking, and serious Target, Field Target, and Silhouette match shooting this one can do it all without compromise.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2011-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This review is a complement for my previous review and it is also applicable for S410, S500 and S510....
      What others should know: I want to make a recommendation for other owners: Use the power adjustments in favor of your economy. If you set the power one line before full power (3/4) you can have the same accuracy with Benjamin Discoverys than the one you have with JSB 18gr with full power, but you will have more shoots per fill. If you need to hunt something larger you can switch to full power and load a JSB or a Kodiak extra heavy. Then you will have one rifle for all your small-medium hunting needs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quality, accuracy, power
      Things I would have changed:3 inch shorter in the shrouded barrell.
      What others should know:S400, S410, S510 and Falcon Prairie are the best quality airguns I have bought. You won't be disspointed. They are beautifull. Once you have in your handone of these rifles you understand that any other rifle, has a lower level and you don't want to spend money on less quality, reliance and accuracy. Evanix and Sumatra are more powerfull, but there's a very big difference in quality and performance. If you think these rifles are expensive, belive me, it worths it to wait to get all the money you have to pay for them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Maurice from USA on 2009-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great Balance, nice beech stock, all parts are finished in smooth consistant style, power adjustment is accurate when dialed fron lowest to highest then back again, all verified over chrony, found min with CPHP from 352 to 976 Fps and using mid range setting to be 860 , shoot .23" groups at 25 yards, .6" at 50 yards on a breezy day that was moving backstop!!! The rifle is a bit large, but with excellant balance, trigger is great, I set it at 1.1Lb with smooth , consistant take up, crisp release. Oh yes , My rifle is .22, gives you 20% better chance of hitting target, after you dial in distance settings, will mostly use indoors at 25 yards
      Things I would have changed:Price, option for iron sights, adjustable butstock
      What others should know:My rifle has been tried by International, National champs and have expressed a very solid respect for the package, considering my gun is the luck of the draw with no "cherry picking" from inventory. It will not be forsale . I prefer a solid piece of wood in a stock thus I picked Beech, but if Walnut is your thing , do it.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top