Date: 8/12/2016 17:34
0

Air Arms S510 XTRA Ultimate Sporter FAC Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (10 reviews)
5 star4 star3 star2 star1 star
(8 votes)(2 votes)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jeffrey from USA on 2014-05-29 22:31:46

Things I liked: First PCP and I certainly started out right. Gorgeous gun. Fit and finish could not be better. Accuracy is absolutely amazing. Trigger is superb. I can't say enough great things about it. Expensive but well worth it. A GIANT step up for me and more than pleased.

Things I would have changed: Can't think of a thing other than the safety but that is minor.

What others should know: Definitely worth the cost.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Chad from USA on 2014-09-11 09:21:57

Things I liked: I was prepared to give this air rifle an outstanding review, talking about how great it looked, felt, shot and how happy I was with this product. That was until a couple of days ago when it started a slow leak. I haven't owned this rifle for a month yet and now I have to send it back. I'm more than a little disappointed, that I spent a good amount of money on one of the high end air rifle manufactured today to only have it leak with a couple of weeks of use and 500 pellets through it. Now I'm going to be without my air rifle for a couple of weeks.

Things I would have changed: Better quality control by manufacturer. Replacement O-ring kit standard with all new air rifles with trouble shooting guide.

What others should know: Pyramyd Air has an awesome 30 day return or exchange policy, which made this process a little easier to deal with.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Graham from USA on 2016-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I took delivery of a .22 cal Ultimate Sporter four weeks ago. I added BKL medium high scope mounts and a Hawk Airmax30 4x16x50. It's a tremendous rifle, excellent build quality, nice trigger, quiet, well balanced and very accurate. I have tested 8 types of pellet, various power settings and fill pressures - this is the best result so far. Using Air Arms 16 grn or JSB 15.8 grn pellets, a starting fill pressure of 2700psi and the power dial set at 9/10 of max power. I'm shooting 1/2 inch 5 shot groups at 50 yards, 1 inch at 70 yards and about 1 1/2 inches at 90 yards, all from a solid bench rest shooting position. This fill pressure and power setting gives 20 "usable" shots starting at around 925fps up to 942 fps and back to 921 fps (spread 21 fps). I have rechecked this same power tune 5 times and got a fps extreme spread of between 21 and 23fps each time over the 20 shots. For an unregulated rifle I'm impressed. I have a 3400psi steel dive tank so the "lower" fill pressure of 2700psi works perfectly for my situation. The adjustable stock is world class. I have previously never given much thought to gun fit. During each shooting session I slowly tailored the stock to fit my shooting position perfectly. The improvements are subtle and at first not apparent. However I'm finding my target practice sessions less fatiguing and more enjoyable. The non locking power adjuster has been criticized by other reviewers. I really like it because you can easily and precisely fine tune the power output to give the best accuracy. A simple quick fix to lock the power adjuster in a set position. Stretch a Danco #5 oring over the power adjustment control knob and pushed it up against the air chamber. This adds a little friction to the power wheel - it will still turn as required but will not move unintentionally. The safety is on the trigger blade, obviously not the best place to put it. But in use its actually very comfortable to operate and has never caused me any concern. Although a 21 fps extreme spread over twenty shots is very good. It would be nice to have more shots per fill within the same fps spread. As an upgrade Air Arms should make an optional retro fit drop in regulator for all S510 FAC rifle owners.

    Things I would have changed: A regulator option would be nice. Other than that nothing it's almost perfect

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Juan from USA on 2016-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I started air gunning 30 years ago, and this is the most remarkable air gun I have ever owned. Incredibly accurate, to the point that it is hard to see how a .177 pellet could get delivered any more accurately to a target. Great looking gun, silent, and so far reliable. Versatile, turn the power knob down to shoot in a backyard. Turn the power up for longer range shooting and hunting. At the lower settings all you hear is the mechanics in the gun, the pellet hitting the target is far louder than the gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, it is a masterpiece.

    What others should know: If you are considering this gun, take the plunge, you will not regret it. Get a good scope, if you will be shooting farther than 35yards 12-14X is not overkill. JSB Exact RS and Falcon pellets are incredibly accurate in this gun, even at the lowest settings.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bill from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Rifle is outstanding in looks and functionality. Backyard friendly with all the power you need. Amazing stock with superb metal bluing. Cycling is smooth as can be. A true classic.

    Things I would have changed: This gun has it all. Would not change a thing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun for field target competition. I've been using an AF Talon SS, which is a nice gun. This gun, however is orgasmic! I've had it for a little over a week and I've put about 1,000 rounds through it and the only problem that I've had is that I'm running out of my first order of pellets. The accuracy is phenomenal. While sighting in the scope at 33 yards I was holding one hole to 1/4" groupings. During the sighting in session, several flies landed on my target. Very few flew away... The adjustabilty of the stock and trigger group make custom tuning the fit a very simple task. The overall balance of the gun is spot on. The gun set up with a Hawke AirMax 30 SF weighs about 10.5 lbs, The only problem I have with it is now I'm going to have to come up with some other lame excuse why I'm not doing better with the field target competitions. I can no longer blame it on the gun!

    Things I would have changed: The stock is adjustable for LOP, by using a series of 4 mm shims. Unfortunately AA only includes one shim. For the money that is being charged for the gun they could have tossed in a couple of more.

    What others should know: I've had my best results with JSB 8.44 g. Exacts, with the power set at the mid-point. They hold the tightest grouping of those tested.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By alexander marciniak from USA on 2015-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Near flawless, consistent AA accuracy. Fully customizable buttplate and cheekpiece. Large air reservoir for a high shot count. Stock that feels and fits as good as it looks. External power adjuster. Adjustable sling stud to place bipod various positions. Just fairly quiet, but nearly no mechanical noise at all, just air. The stock just feels great. From resting against your shoulder, to the smooth cheekpiece, to the ergonomic feel under the barrel. The stock just fits like a glove.

    Things I would have changed: The minor things I'd like to see AA change are as follows. Like everyone else, the rheostat power adjuster has no notches to designate low, med, high power. You just have to guess. And for precision shooting, this not good enough. You will never get the same power each time adjusting it, apart from high of course. The front dovetail does not go back far enough. For scopes with a short eye relief and short length, you may not be able to put it far back enough toward you for your liking. I had to use a single strap mount in the front to do this. Could be lighter, but not too heavy. Ok, price. You're getting a wonderful stock, but it's nearly $600 more than the cheapest wood. AA, it's time you start making your wood stocks with cheekpieces and buttplates optionally adjustable. Had they, I would not have thrown this much money into this rifle, however, I am pleased with its quality nonetheless. Implement the safety elsewhere than the trigger. engaging the safety requires...

    What others should know: ...you to reach your index finger through the trigger housing and wrapping it around the trigger to engage it, as it is on the left side (this is of course if your right handed). it's awkward and can cause you to accidentally fire. You get two mags, and they operate well enough, but an extra is 50 dollars? this is way overpriced, and the design is far from perfect. Unlike my marauder mags, which completely house the pellets, the AA mag always leaves the pellet to be loaded exposed. so if you want to go hunting with preloaded mags, you'll be subject to the pellets (albeit 1 per mag) falling out into your pocket. Bottom line, I love this rifle, but for this price and for an established brand such as Air Arms, there is plenty of room for improvement. and one last thing, my initial rifle from PA came with the pistol grip snapped in half. Even after sending pictures of this (as asked), I still had to send it back to be inspected before my replacement would be sent. Unacceptable

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chad from USA on 2014-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the second Air Arms S510 Extra FAC Ultimate Sporter I've owned. The first was in 177 and had a slow leak in it, so I returned it for a 22. I can honestly say I'm glad the 177 had a leak, the 22 out performs the 177. ALOT better in the wind. Lots of down range power. 100 yards no problem. Great small game and target rifle. Very happy with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a higher BAR and PSI rating or different valve, I would love to see how this thing performs at 900 or 950 fps with a 21 grain pellet.

    What others should know: Your going to want to put a good piece on glass on this rifle. I'm holding 1.5 inch groups at 100 yards outside.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Approaching 24 fpe in .177. Incredible power,accuracy,consistency, and build quality. Straight out of the box, was intuitive, glitch free, fun to shoot, which is not always the case with pcp rifles. Love the laminate stock, configuration,ergonomics, aesthetics, and max adjustability. Photos do not do this rifle justice.

    Things I would have changed: Create a method for power adjust settings with detents or positive clicks for max repeat ability. Throw in a cool AA sling.

    What others should know: Awesome .177 pcp capable of long distance accuracy out to 100 yards. Loves the heavier pellets over 10g like Crossman heavy, jsb heavy, barracuda/kodiaks, rabbit magnum, barracuda magnum, and jsb monsters. Shoots them all well @ full power setting. This one is fun and addictive to shoot. Hawke sidewinder tactical 6-20x42 is a very nice match and you can still spot the .177 impacts.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chad from USA on 2014-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I was prepared to give this air rifle an outstanding review, talking about how great it looked, felt, shot and how happy I was with this product. That was until a couple of days ago when it started a slow leak. I haven't owned this rifle for a month yet and now I have to send it back. I'm more than a little disappointed, that I spent a good amount of money on one of the high end air rifle manufactured today to only have it leak with a couple of weeks of use and 500 pellets through it. Now I'm going to be without my air rifle for a couple of weeks.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control by manufacturer. Replacement O-ring kit standard with all new air rifles with trouble shooting guide.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air has an awesome 30 day return or exchange policy, which made this process a little easier to deal with.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By noah from USA on 2014-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The build quality of this gun is definitely top notch. I own a Daystate air wolf, FX revolution and the air arms is not a down grade on quality. The magazine system and stock is my favorite of all my rifles.

    Things I would have changed: Clicks on power adjuster. It's basically high and low power. I would never trust any in between adjustments. I would also change the fill port to a standard foster fitting.

    What others should know: It's definitely worth the money. It will not disappoint you. Almost forgot.... it's really accurate too!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2014-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: First PCP and I certainly started out right. Gorgeous gun. Fit and finish could not be better. Accuracy is absolutely amazing. Trigger is superb. I can't say enough great things about it. Expensive but well worth it. A GIANT step up for me and more than pleased.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of a thing other than the safety but that is minor.

    What others should know: Definitely worth the cost.

Navigation