Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC PCP Air Rifle, Poplar reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (11 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (11 votes)
    Showing 4-star reviews Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By squirrelhammer from USA on 2011-10-30 09:50:58

    Things I liked:The overall construction of the gun is precise and beautifully designed. At the lowest power setting, the striking pellet makes more noise than the gun firing; even at the highest power, this is one stealthy pellet gun. I'm still experimenting with pellets, but some JSB Diablo Exact (.22 cal.,15.9 grains) produced a ten shot pattern/hole the size of a dime at 35 yards. This was after setting up a Leaper's scope and firing less than forty pellets to zero it in! The air tank is fairly easy to top off with a hand pump, taking under four minutes.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I would like to see is more power, fps with heavier pellets, but that's true with all the air guns I own, except the Condor. The indexing spring, which advances the 10 shot clip is a bit fragile and easily bent if one adds/removes the clip improperly, a sturdier advancing system would be good. Otherwise, I wouldn't change anything, especially the barrel; the accuracy is amazing.
    What others should know:Follow directions regarding the clip. Watch the clip rotate as you use the lever to advance pellets and make sure the clip "clicks" into place before pushing the advancing lever forward, which pushes in the pellet. If the clip does not advance and click into place, the advance spring may be bent or damaged. My gun started incompletely advancing the clip, but I CAREFULLY barely bent the brass advancing spring toward me and it's been working fine. Any serious advancing issues should go to an authorized shop. If the clip/magazine tends to pop out, bend/tighten the small, dark metal tab which grips a plastic wedge on the clip; this keeps the clip in place. Both of these above "fixes"are fingertip adjustments, possibly needed due to an improper loading on my part. I don't want to scare anyone off with these scenarios, the gun is fantastic. I own several pellet rifles; this one is rapidly becoming my favorite.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Edgar from USA on 2014-10-26 17:08:39

    Things I liked:Well what can I say this gun is amazing. Pin point accuracy at 50 yards, power is there ranging from 34 fpe on high and 12 fps on low (.22 caliber), and having the power adjusted with just a slight turn if the knob is great, it's a very beautiful gun too. The trigger amazing to any gun I've ever owned. it will meet your expectations.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing with the gun itself it's perfect well worth the price! The only thing is the markings that show what power my gun is at is different on mine; it's just one big mark so if I move it it'll be a little difficult to put it back exactly where I had it other than that it's perfect
    What others should know:Even though its a thousand dollars is very well worth the price.but that is if you are a serious air gunner, I've had the Benjamin Marauder in this gun is more than twice the Marauder is. so don't settle for less if you want you want consistency.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edgar from USA on 2014-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well what can I say this gun is amazing. Pin point accuracy at 50 yards, power is there ranging from 34 fpe on high and 12 fps on low (.22 caliber), and having the power adjusted with just a slight turn if the knob is great, it's a very beautiful gun too. The trigger amazing to any gun I've ever owned. it will meet your expectations.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing with the gun itself it's perfect well worth the price! The only thing is the markings that show what power my gun is at is different on mine; it's just one big mark so if I move it it'll be a little difficult to put it back exactly where I had it other than that it's perfect
      What others should know:Even though its a thousand dollars is very well worth the price.but that is if you are a serious air gunner, I've had the Benjamin Marauder in this gun is more than twice the Marauder is. so don't settle for less if you want you want consistency.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Moss from USA on 2014-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its all been said in previous reviews so all I'm going to say Is, this rifle Is awesome
      Things I would have changed:Move the safety and make it auto
      What others should know:I cronied the rifle the first day I got It using JSB jumbo's 15.89g pellets ten shot string, high 984psi low 948psi on highest power setting, I didnt bother with the lowest power level as I probably wont use It.It took me weeks to decide between this and the BSA R10 I am moor than happy with my choice. So don't waist weeks deciding ....BUY IT NOW....Nuf said
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2014-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish of this rifle is definitely top shelf. Accuracy out of the box it only took 6 shots to zero. Have not used a chrony yet but don't expect any unwanted surprises. Clean easy to shoot and pretty
      Things I would have changed:Nothing great just the way it is
      What others should know:Wait for the refurb when they come around makes a great rifle even more affordable
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The detail work, the etching on the forward grip and trigger fascia, the subtle "AA" tattooed into the bottom stock I love. Do any of your FAC S510's have the word "Superlight" stenciled just under the FAC logo of the nameplate? I feel like I am reviewing a different air gun than you folks are writing about... if someone could comment about that I'd appreciate it. I love the balance of this near 100% alloy-structured air gun body, frame, and composite Walther barrel assembly. It is just freaky-good to me. I have never felt an air rifle quite like this one. I like the 10-shot magazine, vs. my 25-Cal Marauder's 8 shots...and I like the idea of not spring loading the thing also because this design is meant to last forever if one takes care of the magazines. The power adjustment knob is 'loose' in the mounting, so it's easy to move unfortunately, so keeping the power where you put it is problematical at best, but it's still great to *have* a power adjustment. It's quiet, subtle, precise and oh so carefully made it seems, as I can't find a metal burr or badly finished piece in the whole package. Overall there are many things to like about the Air Arms S510 FAC Superlight PCP rifle, but the best part, as it should be, is the shooting itself. My rifle has only had c. 200 rounds through it, yet it's spot on in targeting up to 75 yards, and beyond I'd assume, with repeatable, consistent firepower. If you're looking for an ultimate keeper air rifle, you can stop right here.
      Things I would have changed:Put a detente' into the power adjustment portal, ie clicks, or perhaps a simple cam-lobe fitting inside the rifle would do nicely...as it is annoying a bit to see the button adjuster indicator move from very low, to medium or so after so many shots. I think that they could have done a better job there. Air Arms could also improve the trigger assembly if you like the Rekord triggers for comparison. Even my Marauder rifle's adjustments are more simple than those for the FAC Superlight, and it's also set from the factory at 1.5 factor vs 2.6 on the more expensive Air Arms gun, a much finer tuning for stock settings, and more to my liking. I have not adjusted this new trigger as yet, as it is adequate at 2.6 factor, I'd just like to see such a fine rifle set leaner for more experienced shooters, that is all. The safety could be improved also, on such an expensive PCP rifle, as having in on the trigger is a bit difficult to pull off at times...mine seems to stick a bit, and I must push *very hard* to release it. Those are the Air Arms S510 FAC Superlight's main problem areas, and they are very minor in scope considering the rest of the thing is sooooo fine!
      What others should know:Careful is as careful does with the loading and pellet feeding system, as great care must be taken with the advance spring and its lever, otherwise you just may bend it. That can require a trip to the gun shop, ie bending the post or ruining the spring etc, so be especially nice to the pellet loading and magazine placement, in and out! I also recommend leaving the bolt engaged for any cleaning, if you don't already do such a thing anyway, as you may strip the O-Ring inside the firing chamber, pop it out entirely, tear it, abuse it in many possible ways...so keep the cleaning rods/brushes/mops/cloths (if you use them vs. a snake) out of the chamber and away from the O-Ring. Overall, simply remember what you've bought at every occasion, and treat it right as rain, and I think that it's possible to have a nice love affair with this princess of an air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aochuba from USA on 2013-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Exquisite finishing, accurate and quiet, this is a beautiful rifle, very well balanced anyone looking for a accurate, quiet air rifle should buy this without any hesitation.
      Things I would have changed:Wish they had included an additional Magazine as most manufacturers are doing these days.Also wish that these had pre installed swivels like the marauders for slings as doing it by ourselves may spoil the finishing of the gun.
      What others should know:Out in the field the wooden stock tends to pick up dents and bruises easily therefore care should be taken while taking it outdoors.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2013-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The design and quality of the gun are excellent. I have only had the gun for a few weeks but so far have been pleasantly surprised. The poplar stock is very nice with good grain and a great finish with decent checkering. Just added a Hawke Sidewinder Tactical 6.5-20x42mm scope with Hawke Match Series High mount 2pc rings and the accuracy seems fairly decent although the gun really needs to be sighted in on a range. Will update my accuracy rating once I get the gun sighted in correctly. The high mount rings allow ample clearance for loading the magazine. The velocity checks out at over 1000 fps with a full charge and RWS .22 cal pellets (14.2 grn) and in the 960 fps range with Beeman Crow Mags. The gun is surprisingly quiet for the power and velocity generated and although I have a large yard I doubt it would bother neighbors unless they were really close. Will do a follow up once I really get the gun sighted in and it gets some use.
      Things I would have changed:PCP manufacturers really need to standardize the charging hookups for their guns. Just make all guns with the quick disconnect nipple and be done with it. Each manufacturer has their own version and you have to bit piece fittings together to make it work. When filling from 4500 psi bottles, you really don't want many extra parts in line when working with these high pressures. For safety and sanity, just go with a standard design!
      What others should know:I have only had the gun for a few weeks and unfortunately found out the gun didn't include an adapter to use a quick disconnect when charging the gun from a HP bottle. You need the 1/8 BSPP (British Standard Pipe Parallel) adapter (P/N PY-A-3550) to use a quick disconnect if filling from a 4500 psi bottle. The Brits use a slightly different thread size than the US system so don't try using our pipe fittings, they look close but they won't work and you'll end up ruining the brass threads on the Air Arms fill adapter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By thomas from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are outstanding as with all Air Arms products. I purchased this rifle for indoor practice on reduced silhouette targets and for Field Target. It's weight with a scope is very similar to that of my smallbore silhouette rifle with trigger weight/feel also quite similar, making it an excellent training platform.
      Things I would have changed:Long first stage trigger travel takes some getting used to. Not a big deal, just something to be aware of.
      What others should know:I have been able to get 70 consistently accurate shots from a fill with power just over 1/2 way. Shots 75-80 fell off fairly significantly. Loading the magazine into the rifle is easy -- just watch what you are doing and don't force it. I don't expect to have any problems.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tim from USA on 2012-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality. When you buy a rifle like this one from Air Arms, you expect a level of refinement not seen in lower cost options. And this certainly did not disappoint. If you want to buy only one PCP that will outlive you, this is the one.
      Things I would have changed:I would've liked to have two mags included in the purchase price instead of only one.
      What others should know:If you miss with this air rifle, you have only yourself to blame! Accuracy of the S510 is rarely matched in any other air rifle I've shot- and I've shot many.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By squirrelhammer from USA on 2011-10-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The overall construction of the gun is precise and beautifully designed. At the lowest power setting, the striking pellet makes more noise than the gun firing; even at the highest power, this is one stealthy pellet gun. I'm still experimenting with pellets, but some JSB Diablo Exact (.22 cal.,15.9 grains) produced a ten shot pattern/hole the size of a dime at 35 yards. This was after setting up a Leaper's scope and firing less than forty pellets to zero it in! The air tank is fairly easy to top off with a hand pump, taking under four minutes.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would like to see is more power, fps with heavier pellets, but that's true with all the air guns I own, except the Condor. The indexing spring, which advances the 10 shot clip is a bit fragile and easily bent if one adds/removes the clip improperly, a sturdier advancing system would be good. Otherwise, I wouldn't change anything, especially the barrel; the accuracy is amazing.
      What others should know:Follow directions regarding the clip. Watch the clip rotate as you use the lever to advance pellets and make sure the clip "clicks" into place before pushing the advancing lever forward, which pushes in the pellet. If the clip does not advance and click into place, the advance spring may be bent or damaged. My gun started incompletely advancing the clip, but I CAREFULLY barely bent the brass advancing spring toward me and it's been working fine. Any serious advancing issues should go to an authorized shop. If the clip/magazine tends to pop out, bend/tighten the small, dark metal tab which grips a plastic wedge on the clip; this keeps the clip in place. Both of these above "fixes"are fingertip adjustments, possibly needed due to an improper loading on my part. I don't want to scare anyone off with these scenarios, the gun is fantastic. I own several pellet rifles; this one is rapidly becoming my favorite.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By richardv from USA on 2011-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock along with the fit and finish is very good. The bluing on the barrel was above what I was expecting. When shooting the power and tight long range groups are excellent. My S510 has now consumed over 1,0000 JSB .25 flawlessly and has exceeded my expectations. The Air Arms has good balance when holding it which makes it an easy gun to shoot when standing.
      Things I would have changed:Power knob should have a way to be tightened. It can be moved to easily. When spending this much money I think 2 magazines should be included.
      What others should know:For the money this is the best gun under $1,000. I have two friends who both told me they own an S510 and also own several other PCP's so they knew from experience which gun to try to hook me with. They said I would thank them later and I have many times over for such great advice on my first PCP purchase.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2010-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle after doing some comparison shopping and talking with the Pyramyd staff. When the rifle arrived and I held it for the first time, I knew, just from the feel of it, this was made for me. It is just what I was looking for in terms of accuracy, looks, quality, and power. As I have only had the rifle three weeks or so, I am still setting the rifle up to meet my needs; however, I consistently shoot groups of less than 1 1/2" and often have multiple shots enlarge a previous hole.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I don't believe a person can go wrong getting this rifle.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top