Date: 29/7/2016 22:22
0

Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC Sidelever PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-17 08:14:24

Things I liked: beautiful walnut stock, very light. accuracy beyond compare..rate it up there with the hw100..

Things I would have changed: need detents on the power adjuster

What others should know: if you are interested in this pellet rifle..buy it you want be sorry...

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Pao from USA on 2009-07-31 13:28:04

Things I liked: Innovative design. It's very comfortable and looks great in every way.

Things I would have changed: For a gun that cost more than my hunting rifle, they could have made a better safety switch. A better safety mechanism is a must.

What others should know: I bought two of these guns and had to return them both. The first one had to be re-zero every time I refilled the tank. Once re-zeroed again, the accuracy of the gun is unbelievable. Zeroing the gun every time the tank fills isn't cool so I sent it back. The second gun was unbelievable. I've never seen anything that accurate before but had to send it back because too much air was coming out each time it fired. It was filled to 200 bar and it takes only 10 rounds at high power to bring it down to 150 bar. So total shots were about 20 shots from 200 bar to 100 bar. The first gun was able to shoot 55 rounds before reaching the 100 bar. I wouldn't shoot at anything if below 100 bars. Save your pellets and refill the tank. If the product is exceptional, you shouldn't have to order the 10 for 10 review on the gun to avoid getting a lemon. I would've gave this gun a five star but it didn't work right for me.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2016-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the Most GORGEOUS air rifle that I have ever seen! The accuracy is insane! It's so accurate that sometimes I feel like I am cheating when shooting with a friend.. The target I shoot at 60 yards is so small that you can't see it without a scope. A little smaller than a Dime, I hit that most shoots ... I shoot Doves off a cross country power-lines at a laserd distance of 127 yards. I love this Air Arms Rifle so much I bought another in .22 cal. The first one in .25cal. So, witch one is more accurate? I think the .25cal might be more accurate because where I live the wind is always blowing.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING

    What others should know: You will want a high magnification quality scope for this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2016-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had the rifle for a few days now. The rifle was a replacement for a 25 cal S510 I had a problem with. The other rifle was not very good. The replacement gave me renewed faith in Air Arms and Pyramyd. This rifle was great looking, and at 40yds. shoots with all four different types of pellets I had on hand, 5 shot groups all in one hole. Trigger is great, and so is the fit and finish. Excellent rifle for the money. Bill

    Things I would have changed: there should be stops on the power knob

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2016-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My second Air Arms S510 gun. I bought the S510 Xtra Fancy Carbine .22 Thumb Hole stock and love it. I wanted the full rifle version so added this to my collection. Just as before the quality, accuracy, trigger, looks, wood, sound level, operation are all incredible. This gun's trigger actually seemed to be assembled a little better along with the power adjuster. My Carbine's power adjuster will move at the slightest touch, this one is more firm along with the safety on the trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I fitted this gun with the Hawke Sport Optics Sidewinder 30 8-32x56 AO Rifle Scope, Ill. 20x 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, mounted with BKL Single 30mm Triple and Double Strap Ring, 3/8" or 11mm Dovetail, 1.53" Long, Medium, Black mounts. Produces an extremely stable scope mount. The large 4" parallax/focus wheel can't be used since it interferes with loading the magazine so I use the optional 2" wheel. This arrangement has allowed me to place pellet size groups of 10+ at 20 and 30 yards and dime size at 50 yards. The gun really likes the JSB Jumbo Heavy Diabolo 18.13 gr pellet although is shoots others very well too. Rabbit population has been decreasing lately.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By william from USA on 2016-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the rifle, but after all the Hype about fit, finish and accuracy I was disappointed. I went for the walnut stock. The stock had a big knot in it, I mean big, and porous. Pyramyd said no problem they would exchange it, but at the price I can't help but be a little disappointed . Accuracy is good it you use AA pellet but any other 25 cal. pellets shoots like buck shot.

    Things I would have changed: Inspection of rifle before shipping, and detent on power knob.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad from USA on 2016-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is just a phenomenal gun. It's a classic get what you pay for scenario. Amazing accuracy and smooth operation and charging is effortless.

    Things I would have changed: I didn't realize the stock came unfinished, that's not necessarily a pro or a con, I just didn't know.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jewelifin from USA on 2015-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fit and finish are as good as any firearm that I have, great trigger,and the best mag of any that I have

    Things I would have changed: sling swivels would be nice

    What others should know: Less weight than any of my others air rifles, but it's a good thing, nice balance

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Oliver from USA on 2015-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is awesome. I was totally amazed by the quality of the stock and the great workmanship of the rifle itself. I had never thought of an air rifle as being an heirloom, but thats exactly what this rifle is. I have the .25cal version and can consistently shoot 1" groups at 90 yards. I was amazed at the accuracy of this hard hitting air rifle. As far as shots per fill? i will typically not rely on the first two shots after a fill (not accurate) after that i can get about 30 high power accurate shots. I will typically shoot to about 150 Psi pressure to ensure accuracy remains. At the lowest pressure rating (which i can safely shoot within my barn) i can get at least 50 shots (always forgot to keep track after that!!). The other positive is the ability to turn down the power. The adjustable know is easy and straightforward and you can set the pressure with it cocked and loaded. The cocking lever is buttery smooth, although occasionally it gets caught up.

    Things I would have changed: It could do with more integral baffling to quiet it down a tad. The power regulator knob could do with being detented so you could say click 10 clicks down from full power and know the POI. Right now its arbitrary and i only use full power or minimum power i can rely on. Apart from that this is my favorite all time gun!!

    What others should know: many people have complained about the .25cal mags breaking. I have shot several thousand rounds through mind and not had a problem. The magazine sometimes get bound up and a "jiggle" is needed to remove it. The firing is not the quietest. It is louder than a suppressed .223cal. I'm sure the suppressor would help a lot with that. It would be nice if air arms made the suppressors available for the US market. Trigger is great too. Price is a little more than other similar models, but you will only buy one of these!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The airarms s510extra fac was beautiful.When I opened the boxes I was blown away the gun was packed so completely.I really could not tell until I got the plastic of the gun itself.From the craftsmanship and fine detailing.(AirArms really knows how to build a great rifle).Not only does it look good but it shoots amazing.I put my hawk scope on it and in just a few minutes at 98yds I was consistently knocking spent 20 garage shotgunshells of my back fence.The walnut stock is beautiful the trigger is nice right out of the box.The bluing looks like a black chromchrome.The gun holds in your hand great its not to heavy. Can get about 40 good shots on high power and about 60 on low.I got mine in .22cal.the lither Walter barrel isn't pellet fussy at all.I zeroed mine at58 ads with jab 18.13gr it love am.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing,why is it that people always complain not matter how good they have it.You will have to get used to the safety on the trigger .

    What others should know: Yea if you are looking for a great gun that you don't have to do any thing to make it shoot better .Then look no further the AirArmsS510extre fac is the one .With adjustibale power control beauty and extreme accuracy.This is it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful PCP air rifle that feels very well made. The workmanship and bluing is outstanding. Big "WOW" when I took it out of the box and actually handled it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, it's down right well made.

    What others should know: Great action with the side lever. I've become very use to it and can cock the PCP without having to remove my eye from the scope or have to think about it. I've only shot this PCP a couple hundred times so far and am still feeling it out as far as what pellets it likes (hence the 4 stars for accuracy). I've read once these PSP's are shot a while the lube in the barrel gets worked out and any spurs/sharp edges get worn by pellets running through the barrel. And then PCP's get more accurate.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2014-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The workmanship of this rifle is excellent. Beautiful walnut stock. Side lever cocking system is solid and smooth. The accuracy is outstanding!

    Things I would have changed: I have changed the refill fitting over to a foster fitting ( A kit is available at rappidair.com ) The safty on the trigger itself seems a little odd and takes some getting use to.

    What others should know: My rifle is in 22cal. and really likes H&N Sport Baracuda Match pellets (21.14gr.-5.51 head dia.) best 5shot 30yrd. group so far ( .158" ) Beeman Kodiaks (21.14gr.) are a close second with a 5shot 30yrd. group at ( .201" )

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pyramid packed this rifle very well and shipped my order very quickly. As I unpacked my order and first inspected this AA S510 Extra, I just kept saying "WOW". The walnut stock is beautiful. The contrasting woods on the grip and butt are a beautiful detail. The laser cut checkering is absolutely impeccable. The air reservoir is painted gloss black, the barrel is painted satin black. The weight is substantial and the balance is perfect. Overall fit and finish are impressive. Everything is tight and solid, no extraneous movement. The charge and load lever is in a convenient location and is easy to operate (for right hand dominant shooters). The trigger is very nice, there is a consistent take-up then a crisp break. The trigger safety is very simple to operate. The placement on the blade is unusual, but it is easy to locate and actuate. The report is very mild, and I shoot in a backyard suburban location. The variable power feature is well thought of. The overall accuracy is impressive. For pest control, my target is a 1/4" area between the eye and ear. Drop dead kills are a typical characteristic of this powerful and accurate weapon. I mated a Leapers 8x-32x 56mm Accushot (reviewed elsewhere). This is an awesome combination (and I never use that phrase), with good shooting technique, this rifle will ensure excellent results. This outfit is so good that my wife has taken to pest elimination (as long as I pump it up) because this is such an accurate shooter.

    Things I would have changed: If Air Arms could incorporate a loaded chamber indicator. I shoot Walther pistols and I appreciate this feature.

    What others should know: My set up consists of this AA S510 Extra FAC with The Leapers 8x-32x 56mm Accushot scope. I shoot .22cal H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme at 19.09gr. Every shot must hit a 1/4inch target at 20 to 25yds. There have been reviewers that noted the unusual placement of the trigger safety on the trigger blade. It can be located and actuated unseen, I actually like it because my grip does not change. Don't be dissuaded by others, this is a very good idea. I have decades of experience shooting high end German 10 meter pistols and have come to judge all others against them. This Air Arms S510 Extra has won me over to a new standard of excellence.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Panos from USA on 2013-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There's nothing bad to say about this rifle. From the walnut stock to the superb craftsmanship, this rifle has it all. Topped with a quality scope and you can shoot dime size 10 shot patterns at 30 yards all day long. Small game from rabbits to raccoons, doesn't stand a chance. If you are looking for the best then spend the money and get this rifle in .22 caliber, it's just perfect.

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything on this piece of art, it's perfect. Some guys complain about the safety switch on the trigger, IMO, it's not a deal breaker, it works great.

    What others should know: Spend the money, you won't regret it! The rifle has exceeded my expectations. If you planning to use a pump make sure you have a good desiccant kit attached to it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2013-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful wood! Nicely balanced. Side lever actually requires less movement to ready for a shot than a bolt. recieved it yesterday, installed a scope in about 30 minutes, zeroed the weapon in less than 10 shots, and 10 minutes,using AA 25.4 gr. pellets. Able to shoot dime sized groups at 30 yds. shot it about 30 more times cause I was just so enraptured with the performance. this morning I went out and setup my target at 30 yds again, but loaded H&N 31.02 gr. pellets and had exactly the same point of impact and group sizes ! ! ! All shots were on a bench rest with sand bags. This rifle is Super tolerant! I weighed the pellets just to get samples of what I was shooting and the weight deviations were from 31.00 to 31.5, the AA's were from 24.1 to 24.58. AMAZING! gonna throw out the scale. not really, I still own some other rifles that require that kind of sorting. I just wonder what will happen when I actually weigh, and use all my pellets in the same weights. This is gonna be freakin fantastic! I guess ya get what ya pay for.

    Things I would have changed: The pressure guage. at 60 years old, I need a magnifying glass to see the numbers.

    What others should know: Don't screw around. go for the throat right off the bat. get the .25 cal., and a quick connect adapter, and a guage for the fill adapter, because the manual says the guage on the weapon is slow in reacting. Probably cause it might be liquid filled.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a beautiful gun, with fine craftmanship in every detail. The accuracy is outstanding, just as it came out of the box. I tried AA field pellets and JSB Jumbo Express Pellets, just because they were convenient and both were equally accurate at 30 and 40 yards. This rifle, like other AA guns I've shot, is not at all pellet fussy. The rifle is well balanced and feels good when shooting standing.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not a fan of the AA fill connection but it works OK. A plain quick-connect (as on Benjamin) would be simpler. I would also prefer to load the magazine from the right side (see below). While the cheek rise seems to fit me pretty well, it would be great to have an adjustible cheek piece.

    What others should know: I also have an AA S510 carbine with the Poplar stock. While it's attractive, the poplar is a softwood and is easily dinged. The walnut stock is far superior and doesn't seem any heavier. You cannot use a Hawke Sidewinder scope with the 4" side wheel on AA rifles because it interferes with the magazine. The 2" side wheel is OK.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edwin from USA on 2013-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the look and the feel. The trigger is verry nice, but most off all the accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The safty

    What others should know: Try JSB exact heavy diabolo 10.34gr pellets

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2013-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality, reliability, accuracy, power...... I finally bougt this rifle in Cal. 25....... What a mistake having delayed my decision..... I have an FX Royale on 6.35, a Falcon in 6.35, an Evanix Windy City Carbon in 6.35, and a Marauder in 6.35...... TI used to have a Sumatra in 6.35 also, but I sold it...... The best quality, Accuracy and Price deal is by far the Air Arms, notwitstanding is not as powerfull as the Windy City..... This rifle is by far my favorite, but for javalina size animals you would need the Windy City.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all.

    What others should know: This rifle in 6.35 is the best choice..... I also have the S400 in Cal 5.5 and it is an excelent rifle, but not even close in accuracy at 80 yards..... with JSB's 25.4 gr, this rifle is unbeatable even by the FX with small twist barrell..... and the cost of the sport walnut version is almost twice the one of the Air Arms Walnut...... This rifle with the Hawke scope is accurate in deed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Floyd John from USA on 2012-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality of workmanship.

    Things I would have changed: I do not think that I would change anything.

    What others should know: This gun was designed and built for shooting target, small game or rodents. It is an all around shooter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from USA on 2011-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Air arms is still the best value out there for PCP rifles. This is my third AA rifle (I own the 410sl fac in .22 cal w/walnut stock and AA 410 sl fac .177 w/walnut stock plus this new s510 sl fac .177 w/walnut stock. It is very easy to shoot sub 1/4" 10 shot groups @ 25 yds time after time. The craftsmanship and attn. to detail is amazing. The walnut on mine is really dark and has a fantastic grain pattern. The new mags seem to index a bit better than the earlier ones. This rifle just feels solid and fits me so well. Just this morning I spent over 3 hrs straight shooting paper, sugar cubes, and air soft bb's sitting on golf T's @ 25 yds and I only broke 2 goft T's!! It just dosen't get any better than this. It seems like the new FX air guns are all the rage right now, and I'll admit I fell for the hipe and spent big bucks for the FX monsoon w/ the walnut stock,in .22 cal. To say the least, as Shinia Twain would say--that don't impress me much. The quality and attention to detail is just not there. The novelty of a semi-auto is great and I have put down a lot of small game with it, but it just dosen't grab me and say this is the best rifle you ever bought, and for the price it should say that and a lot more.I have been shooting pellet guns for over 30 yrs(65 yrs old) and every time I buy another AA rifle I get that same great happy feeling all over again. I would love to tour the AA plant and watch the process from beginning to end. What a memory that would be.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Shoots JB exacts and Crossman premiers the best. If you like shooting tiny groups and smalllllllllll targets with ease, buy this rifle. It will last forever and your great grandkids will thank you.Be happy and safe shooting to all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: this is a well made precision air rifle, smooth action, a trigger that brakes at 13 oz right out of the box..very accurate..i installed a hawke sidewinder scope with bkl rings, great comination..beautiful walnut stock ..i get approx 40 full power shots before any power drops...great value for the price

    Things I would have changed: nothing.....

    What others should know: if you are interested in a very accurate precision air rifle..you cant go wrong with this one.....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.45 ratings

    Things I liked: beautiful walnut stock, very light. accuracy beyond compare..rate it up there with the hw100..

    Things I would have changed: need detents on the power adjuster

    What others should know: if you are interested in this pellet rifle..buy it you want be sorry...

  • 12 Next
Navigation