Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC Sidelever PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-17 08:14:24

    Things I liked:beautiful walnut stock, very light. accuracy beyond compare..rate it up there with the hw100..
    Things I would have changed:need detents on the power adjuster
    What others should know:if you are interested in this pellet rifle..buy it you want be sorry...
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Pao from USA on 2009-07-31 13:28:04

    Things I liked:Innovative design. It's very comfortable and looks great in every way.
    Things I would have changed:For a gun that cost more than my hunting rifle, they could have made a better safety switch. A better safety mechanism is a must.
    What others should know:I bought two of these guns and had to return them both. The first one had to be re-zero every time I refilled the tank. Once re-zeroed again, the accuracy of the gun is unbelievable. Zeroing the gun every time the tank fills isn't cool so I sent it back. The second gun was unbelievable. I've never seen anything that accurate before but had to send it back because too much air was coming out each time it fired. It was filled to 200 bar and it takes only 10 rounds at high power to bring it down to 150 bar. So total shots were about 20 shots from 200 bar to 100 bar. The first gun was able to shoot 55 rounds before reaching the 100 bar. I wouldn't shoot at anything if below 100 bars. Save your pellets and refill the tank. If the product is exceptional, you shouldn't have to order the 10 for 10 review on the gun to avoid getting a lemon. I would've gave this gun a five star but it didn't work right for me.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pyramid packed this rifle very well and shipped my order very quickly. As I unpacked my order and first inspected this AA S510 Extra, I just kept saying "WOW". The walnut stock is beautiful. The contrasting woods on the grip and butt are a beautiful detail. The laser cut checkering is absolutely impeccable. The air reservoir is painted gloss black, the barrel is painted satin black. The weight is substantial and the balance is perfect. Overall fit and finish are impressive. Everything is tight and solid, no extraneous movement. The charge and load lever is in a convenient location and is easy to operate (for right hand dominant shooters). The trigger is very nice, there is a consistent take-up then a crisp break. The trigger safety is very simple to operate. The placement on the blade is unusual, but it is easy to locate and actuate. The report is very mild, and I shoot in a backyard suburban location. The variable power feature is well thought of. The overall accuracy is impressive. For pest control, my target is a 1/4" area between the eye and ear. Drop dead kills are a typical characteristic of this powerful and accurate weapon. I mated a Leapers 8x-32x 56mm Accushot (reviewed elsewhere). This is an awesome combination (and I never use that phrase), with good shooting technique, this rifle will ensure excellent results. This outfit is so good that my wife has taken to pest elimination (as long as I pump it up) because this is such an accurate shooter.
      Things I would have changed:If Air Arms could incorporate a loaded chamber indicator. I shoot Walther pistols and I appreciate this feature.
      What others should know:My set up consists of this AA S510 Extra FAC with The Leapers 8x-32x 56mm Accushot scope. I shoot .22cal H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme at 19.09gr. Every shot must hit a 1/4inch target at 20 to 25yds. There have been reviewers that noted the unusual placement of the trigger safety on the trigger blade. It can be located and actuated unseen, I actually like it because my grip does not change. Don't be dissuaded by others, this is a very good idea. I have decades of experience shooting high end German 10 meter pistols and have come to judge all others against them. This Air Arms S510 Extra has won me over to a new standard of excellence.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Panos from USA on 2013-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:There's nothing bad to say about this rifle. From the walnut stock to the superb craftsmanship, this rifle has it all. Topped with a quality scope and you can shoot dime size 10 shot patterns at 30 yards all day long. Small game from rabbits to raccoons, doesn't stand a chance. If you are looking for the best then spend the money and get this rifle in .22 caliber, it's just perfect.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything on this piece of art, it's perfect. Some guys complain about the safety switch on the trigger, IMO, it's not a deal breaker, it works great.
      What others should know:Spend the money, you won't regret it! The rifle has exceeded my expectations. If you planning to use a pump make sure you have a good desiccant kit attached to it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gary from USA on 2013-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful wood! Nicely balanced. Side lever actually requires less movement to ready for a shot than a bolt. recieved it yesterday, installed a scope in about 30 minutes, zeroed the weapon in less than 10 shots, and 10 minutes,using AA 25.4 gr. pellets. Able to shoot dime sized groups at 30 yds. shot it about 30 more times cause I was just so enraptured with the performance. this morning I went out and setup my target at 30 yds again, but loaded H&N 31.02 gr. pellets and had exactly the same point of impact and group sizes ! ! ! All shots were on a bench rest with sand bags. This rifle is Super tolerant! I weighed the pellets just to get samples of what I was shooting and the weight deviations were from 31.00 to 31.5, the AA's were from 24.1 to 24.58. AMAZING! gonna throw out the scale. not really, I still own some other rifles that require that kind of sorting. I just wonder what will happen when I actually weigh, and use all my pellets in the same weights. This is gonna be freakin fantastic! I guess ya get what ya pay for.
      Things I would have changed:The pressure guage. at 60 years old, I need a magnifying glass to see the numbers.
      What others should know:Don't screw around. go for the throat right off the bat. get the .25 cal., and a quick connect adapter, and a guage for the fill adapter, because the manual says the guage on the weapon is slow in reacting. Probably cause it might be liquid filled.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a beautiful gun, with fine craftmanship in every detail. The accuracy is outstanding, just as it came out of the box. I tried AA field pellets and JSB Jumbo Express Pellets, just because they were convenient and both were equally accurate at 30 and 40 yards. This rifle, like other AA guns I've shot, is not at all pellet fussy. The rifle is well balanced and feels good when shooting standing.
      Things I would have changed:I'm not a fan of the AA fill connection but it works OK. A plain quick-connect (as on Benjamin) would be simpler. I would also prefer to load the magazine from the right side (see below). While the cheek rise seems to fit me pretty well, it would be great to have an adjustible cheek piece.
      What others should know:I also have an AA S510 carbine with the Poplar stock. While it's attractive, the poplar is a softwood and is easily dinged. The walnut stock is far superior and doesn't seem any heavier. You cannot use a Hawke Sidewinder scope with the 4" side wheel on AA rifles because it interferes with the magazine. The 2" side wheel is OK.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edwin from USA on 2013-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the look and the feel. The trigger is verry nice, but most off all the accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The safty
      What others should know:Try JSB exact heavy diabolo 10.34gr pellets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2013-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quality, reliability, accuracy, power...... I finally bougt this rifle in Cal. 25....... What a mistake having delayed my decision..... I have an FX Royale on 6.35, a Falcon in 6.35, an Evanix Windy City Carbon in 6.35, and a Marauder in 6.35...... TI used to have a Sumatra in 6.35 also, but I sold it...... The best quality, Accuracy and Price deal is by far the Air Arms, notwitstanding is not as powerfull as the Windy City..... This rifle is by far my favorite, but for javalina size animals you would need the Windy City.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all.
      What others should know:This rifle in 6.35 is the best choice..... I also have the S400 in Cal 5.5 and it is an excelent rifle, but not even close in accuracy at 80 yards..... with JSB's 25.4 gr, this rifle is unbeatable even by the FX with small twist barrell..... and the cost of the sport walnut version is almost twice the one of the Air Arms Walnut...... This rifle with the Hawke scope is accurate in deed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Floyd John from USA on 2012-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality of workmanship.
      Things I would have changed:I do not think that I would change anything.
      What others should know:This gun was designed and built for shooting target, small game or rodents. It is an all around shooter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2011-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Air arms is still the best value out there for PCP rifles. This is my third AA rifle (I own the 410sl fac in .22 cal w/walnut stock and AA 410 sl fac .177 w/walnut stock plus this new s510 sl fac .177 w/walnut stock. It is very easy to shoot sub 1/4" 10 shot groups @ 25 yds time after time. The craftsmanship and attn. to detail is amazing. The walnut on mine is really dark and has a fantastic grain pattern. The new mags seem to index a bit better than the earlier ones. This rifle just feels solid and fits me so well. Just this morning I spent over 3 hrs straight shooting paper, sugar cubes, and air soft bb's sitting on golf T's @ 25 yds and I only broke 2 goft T's!! It just dosen't get any better than this. It seems like the new FX air guns are all the rage right now, and I'll admit I fell for the hipe and spent big bucks for the FX monsoon w/ the walnut stock,in .22 cal. To say the least, as Shinia Twain would say--that don't impress me much. The quality and attention to detail is just not there. The novelty of a semi-auto is great and I have put down a lot of small game with it, but it just dosen't grab me and say this is the best rifle you ever bought, and for the price it should say that and a lot more.I have been shooting pellet guns for over 30 yrs(65 yrs old) and every time I buy another AA rifle I get that same great happy feeling all over again. I would love to tour the AA plant and watch the process from beginning to end. What a memory that would be.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Shoots JB exacts and Crossman premiers the best. If you like shooting tiny groups and smalllllllllll targets with ease, buy this rifle. It will last forever and your great grandkids will thank you.Be happy and safe shooting to all.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a well made precision air rifle, smooth action, a trigger that brakes at 13 oz right out of the box..very accurate..i installed a hawke sidewinder scope with bkl rings, great comination..beautiful walnut stock ..i get approx 40 full power shots before any power drops...great value for the price
      Things I would have changed:nothing.....
      What others should know:if you are interested in a very accurate precision air rifle..you cant go wrong with this one.....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.40000009536743165 ratings
       
      Things I liked:beautiful walnut stock, very light. accuracy beyond compare..rate it up there with the hw100..
      Things I would have changed:need detents on the power adjuster
      What others should know:if you are interested in this pellet rifle..buy it you want be sorry...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By hunterschoice from USA on 2010-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great air rifle! Workmanship, fit and finish...Excellent. Accuracy...EXCELLENT.
      Things I would have changed:I don't care for the safety locatin in the trigger blade.
      What others should know:Rather loud I thought in the high velocity setting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Benjamin from USA on 2010-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is for those who're not willing to invest time in shooting a springer. Perfect for hunting with surgical accuracy. My .22 took out a rock dove at laser-ranged 47 yds, and the dropped bird was an ugly mess! Highly recommended!
      Things I would have changed:More space in the front for scope install. My Sidewinder 30 Tactical is pushed all way to the front for eye relief. I'd also lke to get a .177 in Carbine!!
      What others should know:You won't regret! PA shipped it without calling me, like they always do. I had to spend more money buying a scope mount from someone else!, since PA wouldn't add the item to my order. I emailed them about the mount, yet was told the next day they don't check emails, and that I should left a voice mail...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vance from USA on 2010-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything.
      Things I would have changed:I personally dont like the the safety.It is mounted on the trigger blade which could cause safety issues having to touch the trigger to engage or disengage it.But for what you get that is mere nit picking.
      What others should know:I recieved mine on 2/3/10.I wish I would have ordered it on Feb the 1st on a monday the day it went on sale.But I ordered it on a FridayJan29th.I could have saved $150 plus.But with that said I still would have baught this gun anyway thanks to this review page and others.Back to the gun.This is a sweet shooter.I have shot the Theoben Rapid and as far as accuracy goes It hangs with it if not better.I sighted this gun in at 1/4 inch high at 20 paces.Using a 4x16x50 leapers scope.After that I set up 3 one inch circle targets stuck to a cardboard box at a measured 50 yards. I could not believe my eyes,the first shot went dead center bullseye.The second shot hit the first shot.I shot ten shot groups at each one of these targets and each group was under a 1/2 inch.All thirty shots went into the one inch circles.The gun was pumped up to 180 bar(Whatever that comes to in LBS. of air).And shot at full power using JSB exacts 16 grain.So the advertising dont lie you get 30 plussssss rounds with a full charged and the neighbors dont here you.The one I got is the 22cal.and has the beech stock.It is a beautiful gun and the blueing is awesom.Seeing and firing this gun is believing.If you have the money to get this gun,DO NOT HESITATE ANY LONGER BUY IT! You will never part with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eladio from USA on 2009-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything , it is quite powerfull not heavy compared to other rifles, and accuracy is superb at any distance , and best of all no recoil as with all PCPs this is the best rifle that I have so far it's a keeper , too many things to name is a great gun very well done Air Arms .
      Things I would have changed:I can't really think of changing anything but just to my liking a do would change the way rifle is filled , instead of using the adapter that comes with rifle from factory it woul be nice to just use a male foster quick connect fitting just like the Discovery and many other PCP rifles use , but the way is filled it's ok,
      What others should know:get a scuba tank it makes refilling the rifle a lot easier than using a hand pump.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pao from USA on 2009-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Innovative design. It's very comfortable and looks great in every way.
      Things I would have changed:For a gun that cost more than my hunting rifle, they could have made a better safety switch. A better safety mechanism is a must.
      What others should know:I bought two of these guns and had to return them both. The first one had to be re-zero every time I refilled the tank. Once re-zeroed again, the accuracy of the gun is unbelievable. Zeroing the gun every time the tank fills isn't cool so I sent it back. The second gun was unbelievable. I've never seen anything that accurate before but had to send it back because too much air was coming out each time it fired. It was filled to 200 bar and it takes only 10 rounds at high power to bring it down to 150 bar. So total shots were about 20 shots from 200 bar to 100 bar. The first gun was able to shoot 55 rounds before reaching the 100 bar. I wouldn't shoot at anything if below 100 bars. Save your pellets and refill the tank. If the product is exceptional, you shouldn't have to order the 10 for 10 review on the gun to avoid getting a lemon. I would've gave this gun a five star but it didn't work right for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TROY from USA on 2009-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has everything. Its very accurate if you do your part you will get 1 hole groups at 50 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing, for what this rifle can do for the price its perfect !!!
      What others should know:For the best results I recommend the .22 caliber. On full power the rifle averages 832fps with Beeman Kodiaks at 32.4ft/lbs. 945fps with JSB Exacts at 31.5ft/lbs. And 976fps with Crossman Premiers at30.3ft/lbs. If you are a avid airgunner this rifle is a must have to your collection.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

         By Chris from USA on 2009-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The classic hunting rifle look, with a beautiful right-hand walnut stock with rosewood schnabel, and modest checkering. The smooth sidelever cocking system makes it easy for anyone to advance through the 10-shot rotary magazine and get better then 1" groups at 50 yards. I also like the shrouded barrel...keeps it quiet.
      Things I would have changed:I am hard-pressed to find anything I would change on this rifle.
      What others should know:With its adjustable power, you get the best of both worlds--an awesome hunting rifle on high power and a target rifle when the power is dialed down. You can expect to get up to 40 shoots with a full charge. Rifle comes in both right- and left-hand models with your choice of beech or walnut.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By additionalmc from USA on 2009-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent crafstmanship, multi-shot, powerful, fairly quiet, adjustable power
      Things I would have changed:nothing, this is an awesome rifle
      What others should know:you will be very pleased with this rifle, it is very comfortable to shoot, very accurate, and the quality is better than most real guns
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2009-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Dollar for Dollar, this is the best value if you want accuracy and power. They all have the match barrels(12 grove).
      Things I would have changed:It would be great to have an exchangeable tank. Also, synthetic stock.
      What others should know:I am able to shoot group of 1 to 2 inches at 50 yards. I even have 3ish groups at 90 yards. I would compete with any PCP on the market to do this. Of course, I could have been the problem for some of the accuracy issues.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wayne from USA on 2008-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the power, accuracy, the smoothness of the action, it indexes perfectly, the quality stock and machining, the power adjuster, the quickness I can get shots off, the balance and weight, it is perfect for field target or hunting squirrels, rabbits or starlings...I think it will be a collectors item someday...This rifle will compete with $2,000 field target rifles, for half the price...I'm getting 105 shots on a 195 bar fill, with my .177, with the first shots at 1020 fps with 10.6 kodiaks and ending at 731fps at 50 bar..... JBS 8.4 gr start at 1081fps and end at 792.... Mine takes a fill of 220 bar and then you can add 10 to 15 more shots that... At 50 yards I don't have to start aiming high until after 50 shots, then only 1 - 1/2 mil dots by the end at 50 bar!! No other PCP can come close to that number of accurate shots on a tank... I think that FN of Sweeden is making the parts for Air Arms on this one... it looks like the FN line a lot...
      Things I would have changed:Nothing to change, a perfect design and manufacturing job!
      What others should know:This is the easiest air rifle to shoot, no recoil, easy to target and hold...you'll be a winner in no time with this rifle.... save your money and go to the top of the heap... you'll not need to go any further than this....
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top