Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Air Venturi Bronco Target Pro Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Les from USA on 2012-04-06 22:32:35

    Things I liked:This is a well-built gun that delivers on its promises. It is easy to cock and accurate. Even brand-new, it shoots without roughness or buzz. I like the stock. I think the light color is distinctive and attractive. The stock allows an easy, repeatable cheek weld. The bluing is rich and even. I think this gun will last longer than I will. The trigger breaks light and smooth compared to other lower-priced air rifles. This adds a great deal to the accuracy, as the gun does not wiggle when you squeeze the trigger. It is a springer, and needs to held like one, as it will recoil a little when fired. I put 120 rounds through mine he first time I had it at the range. I think I could have put 120 more through it before my arm would get tired. I can't say that about my other springers.
    Things I would have changed:Only two things. This is a target rifle and I use it for shooting black bulls-eye targets. The black front post is hard to see against a black target. I painted the rear face of the front post white to see it better. The safety works oddly. The safety cannot be engaged unless the gun is cocked. After firing, the safety remains on "fire". Thus, the gun cannot be transported or stored with the safety engaged. An empty, discharged gun will appear exactly the same as a loaded, cocked gun with the safety released. I like to store and transport my guns with the safety engaged (although they are unloaded). I would change the safety so it can be engaged whether or not the gun is loaded.
    What others should know:This is a gateway gun to upscale spring guns. It is way better than guns costing only a little less. The money spent building this gun was concentrated on areas that affect performance the most: the barrel and the trigger. I bought the target variant because the sights are similar to the ones used on target guns my grand children shoot in their 4H shooting club. Obviously, you could buy the standard version if you intend to scope it and save a few bucks. But the target sights are good enough at 25 yards that it shoots within the range of accuracy of my scoped guns at that range. I do not intend to put a scope on this one.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:3

    By Steverino from USA on 2013-07-02 01:11:08

    Things I liked:The Air Venturi Bronco Target Pro Air Rifle - I liked the light weight, rubber butt pad, easy cocking, quiet shooting, adjustable peep sight, short stock for smaller shooters, surprisingly accurate for only a 9" barrel on my 36' indoor range. In my opinion this is short range target/plinker designed for young or new shooters, and it fills that bill pretty well.
    Things I would have changed:I didn't care for the blond stock. The quality wasn't obvious when looking at the gun, as a matter of fact, it looked like a cheap Chinese gun to me therefor overpriced. The really fine Williams peep sight wouldn't adjust low enough to be in range without shimming the front sight up about 3/16". I used some cardboard to temporarily shim mine, but PA sells shims made for this purpose, and I believe they should be included with the gun rather than having to order them later with the additional shipping charge and delay.
    What others should know:My Bronco made unusual mechanical noises when being cocked, a worrying grinding/ clunking noise that didn't give me any confidence in possible longevity. Several times during the time I had the gun the automatic safety malfunctioned, something I wasn't willing to accecpt on a gun that my wife and grand kids would be shooting. I returned the Bronco for replacement but they were out of stock, then delayed again. By then I was second guessing my choice so I requested PA send me another different style rifle.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Malcolm from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate for a break barrel springer.
      Things I would have changed:Better sights, the Williams Target sight does not work with this air gun without raising the front sight considerably. You are getting a fairly accurate but cheap springer with a cobbled up sighting system, don't be fooled. The safely is kind of cheap along with the plastic "breach block". The comb of the wood stock needs to drop more, seems like the stock was carved out of a 2x6.
      What others should know:The reason I gave this 1 star is not necisarily the quality or function of the air gun but that Pyramyd Air would ever let the Target Pro model of this air rifle leave their hands without adding the front sight riser or at least take the time to toss it in the box. Why pay $50 extra for a target sight that doesn't work with the air gun as is? Why not just add the $2 sight riser? Overall not worth the hype, save your money and buy something higher end.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Norman from USA on 2014-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this little air rifle. It is for target shooting as the name suggests... and since that is what I use it for it is a fine fit for me. The fit and finish of my rifle is great and I would have no problem buying another Mendoza manufactured product. Easy to cock, light trigger, minimal recoil, and I love the Williams sight. Great value.
      Things I would have changed:My only negative comment is the stock is short for me and I feel crowded when the butt plate is firmly in my shoulder. It is made for younger shooters so I understand the reasoning behind the design... but wish they made one for full size use.
      What others should know:I have sighted in this rifle on a bench rest at 10M and get consistently good results... it is a better rifle than I am a marksman!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By paul from USA on 2013-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted an easy to load, really good iron sight low power pellet gun to round out my 40 or so airgun colletion. Like to sit in a chair and shoot at targets about 25 meters away. I was pleased at the the sights (only needed to raise it a bit - windage setting were right on). Also pleased to see it easy hit my 100 ft target, despite it's low power.
      Things I would have changed:a bit on the heavy side but that is the price you pay for a wood stock.... note lots of wooden stock guns are heavier than this one.
      What others should know:this could easily become by favorite air gun. nice not to mess with scopes, red dots etc. petty much just open the box and shoot. nice quality, traditional gun (note the traget pro version is the one with the good sights)
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By scolest from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the fit and finish - it just feels very substantial. Can't comment on accuracy yet - still getting used to the gun.
      Things I would have changed:If you don't break the barrel in one smooth motion (and you hesitate) it will not set the automatic safety, and the next time you try to fire things will be a bit flaky. Not huge deal for us, but may be a concern for others.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

        By Steverino from USA on 2013-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Air Venturi Bronco Target Pro Air Rifle - I liked the light weight, rubber butt pad, easy cocking, quiet shooting, adjustable peep sight, short stock for smaller shooters, surprisingly accurate for only a 9" barrel on my 36' indoor range. In my opinion this is short range target/plinker designed for young or new shooters, and it fills that bill pretty well.
      Things I would have changed:I didn't care for the blond stock. The quality wasn't obvious when looking at the gun, as a matter of fact, it looked like a cheap Chinese gun to me therefor overpriced. The really fine Williams peep sight wouldn't adjust low enough to be in range without shimming the front sight up about 3/16". I used some cardboard to temporarily shim mine, but PA sells shims made for this purpose, and I believe they should be included with the gun rather than having to order them later with the additional shipping charge and delay.
      What others should know:My Bronco made unusual mechanical noises when being cocked, a worrying grinding/ clunking noise that didn't give me any confidence in possible longevity. Several times during the time I had the gun the automatic safety malfunctioned, something I wasn't willing to accecpt on a gun that my wife and grand kids would be shooting. I returned the Bronco for replacement but they were out of stock, then delayed again. By then I was second guessing my choice so I requested PA send me another different style rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have very little experience with air guns, but much experience with things mechanical so with that said: Price is nice, sound is low, cocks easily, trigger's great, feels solid, works.
      Things I would have changed:The diopter sight works great for tired eyes, but there was a mixup on the Williams model sight installed on my rifle and it had to be exchanged for the correct sight. BETTER QA NEEDED
      What others should know:Customer service and technical assistance was great in making the exchange of sights easy.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Jesse from USA on 2013-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, peep sight, auto safety, stock, light weight, easy to cock, and the price.
      Things I would have changed:Better quality control. This thing will not hit the side of a barn from the inside. I would not put my name on this as a recommended rifle.
      What others should know:I bought this rifle for my 9 year old son who loves to shoot with me. I tried to zero it in with the peep sights, but the barrel droop was so bad it was impossible (plus my eyes are bad). I scoped it, shimmed it and still could not get it to shoot straight. At 30 yards I was shooting at one target and it hit sometimes and at other times I hit the target next to it. I just bought a spring compressor and am going to learn to tune air rifles and this is the perfect rifle to learn on because of the price. I am also going to buy a large selection of pellets to see if I can find a pellet it likes and for my other .177 cal. rifles.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jim from United Kingdom on 2013-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'd like to own one but I cannot find them in the UK!
      Things I would have changed:The idiotic UK legal sytem!
      What others should know:Tom Gaylord, the designer of thisgun is, in my opinion, one of the finest and most knowledgeable air gun engineers, writers and all round advocates of our sport and any gun designed by him is bound to be even better than the reviews suggest. Jim Craig Scotland UK
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger. Iron Sights are great.
      Things I would have changed:I wish they came from the factory with the main spring moly greased.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By SP4449 from USA on 2012-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! This is a wonderful rifle for indoor shooting. I have a short indoor range that I shoot at most often and this is a perfect rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:For indoor or short range shooting, you will not find a nicer rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By William R from USA on 2012-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I love the trigger, Overall build quality is just great for a gun of this price range, Bluing is good and the wood is attractive and well finished. This little baby has to be one of the best backyard shooters I've come across. Very accurate and consistant shooter for this price range.
      Things I would have changed:I have 2,000 rounds through this Bronco and at this point, I can't think of anything I would change that would not alter the price greatly. Just buy one and go shooting!
      What others should know:This may be the best quality for the money airgun I have ever bought. I beleive the bronco will last a lifetime if properly cared for. The firing cycle is close to feeling like a tuned airgun. It shoots without any twang or viberation, It's just a solid TUNK sound and your off to the next shoot. My RWS model 27 is slightly more accurate but the Bronco is smoother in it's shoot cycle. It is relatively easy to shoot 1/4 inch groups off a shooting bag with the rifle resting dead in your hands. It is a springer afterall and does like to be held a certain way. Learn what it wants and you will be rewarded with many hours of accurate plinking and bullseye shooting. Mine likes RWS Basic 7.0 grain and RWS Meisterkugln 7.0 grain wadcutters.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Junior from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The balance,feel and ease of cocking are great for a beginning shooter. I've been shooting for years, this is just a "Hoot to Shoot". It's no too picky about what ammo I use. I like the sights and it's trigger too. Accuracy is fine for casual plinking out to 25 yds. or so. Priced just right.
      Things I would have changed:The blonde color of the stock is not my favorite. A little more power please.
      What others should know:Any beginner would love this, easy to cock, easy to aim and easy to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Les from USA on 2012-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a well-built gun that delivers on its promises. It is easy to cock and accurate. Even brand-new, it shoots without roughness or buzz. I like the stock. I think the light color is distinctive and attractive. The stock allows an easy, repeatable cheek weld. The bluing is rich and even. I think this gun will last longer than I will. The trigger breaks light and smooth compared to other lower-priced air rifles. This adds a great deal to the accuracy, as the gun does not wiggle when you squeeze the trigger. It is a springer, and needs to held like one, as it will recoil a little when fired. I put 120 rounds through mine he first time I had it at the range. I think I could have put 120 more through it before my arm would get tired. I can't say that about my other springers.
      Things I would have changed:Only two things. This is a target rifle and I use it for shooting black bulls-eye targets. The black front post is hard to see against a black target. I painted the rear face of the front post white to see it better. The safety works oddly. The safety cannot be engaged unless the gun is cocked. After firing, the safety remains on "fire". Thus, the gun cannot be transported or stored with the safety engaged. An empty, discharged gun will appear exactly the same as a loaded, cocked gun with the safety released. I like to store and transport my guns with the safety engaged (although they are unloaded). I would change the safety so it can be engaged whether or not the gun is loaded.
      What others should know:This is a gateway gun to upscale spring guns. It is way better than guns costing only a little less. The money spent building this gun was concentrated on areas that affect performance the most: the barrel and the trigger. I bought the target variant because the sights are similar to the ones used on target guns my grand children shoot in their 4H shooting club. Obviously, you could buy the standard version if you intend to scope it and save a few bucks. But the target sights are good enough at 25 yards that it shoots within the range of accuracy of my scoped guns at that range. I do not intend to put a scope on this one.
    Over
    ammo packs sold