Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Venturi Bronco air rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2010-02-04 15:00:25

    Things I liked:Of course I like the Bronco--I helped design it! I really like the straight Western-style stock that eliminates the need for a high Monte Carlo cheekpiece to raise your eye up for a scope. This rifle comes up to the right place naturally. And the easy cocking is another major plus. The Bronco was designed for older children, though adults will find that it suits them very well. The light cocking will make you want to shoot it all day long. I also love the two-bladed trigger that tells you absolutely when the transition is made from stage one to stage two. My test rifle trigger breaks at just 30 crisp ounces! You will be showing it off to your friends. The accuracy is another plus. Just because this is a plinker doesn't make it inaccurate. And it is completely ambidextrous.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to have a solid hood over the front sight. For now you can just remove it.
    What others should know:The Mendoza rear aperture sight will make the Bronco a delightful informal target rifle. Don't oil the piston seal until it squeaks during cocking. Crosman Premier pellets and Premier hollowpoints are very accurate.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10 17:05:01

    Things I liked:I like the design of the rifle and the open sights are nice for a plinking gun. The light cocking effort is also nice.
    Things I would have changed:After trying about 30 different pellets in this gun, I could not find one that grouped better than .441 inches CTC for a ten shot group at 10 yards. Most all other pellets were above .600". Also, the cocking and trigger are very gritty even after around 1500 pellets.
    What others should know:Shame on me for not catching that this particular gun is a dud in terms of accuracy. It should have used the 30 day money back guarantee, but I didn't start using it until then. Lesson learned. Even though my experience with this gun is not good, I would still trust the reviews this gun has received.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tempest from USA on 2012-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Reminds me of the Beeman C-1 I had in the 80's, but much easier to cock and more fun to shoot. Lower velocity than the old C-1 is a plus for indoor barn or garage shooting. I like the blond stock since it should be easier to maintain as there is no stain to match if it should get scratched. Very solid and sturdy design and a nice natural pointer, makes a great short range rat shooter.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Without doubt the best value I could find in an intermediate power spring gun, built to last.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By buster59 from USA on 2012-05-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great size, easy to cock, very accurate
      Things I would have changed:make the rifle a little lighter in weight
      What others should know:you can pay more money and still not get an air rifle that is as accurate as the Bronco. Just buy it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By buster59 from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock, very accurate-I was surprised, great trigger, easy to mount a scope, good looking stock, Great job Tom!
      Things I would have changed:better sights
      What others should know:Surprise, this baby will shoot with the best and I have owned Beeman and RWS
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate and easy to cock with a nice trigger for this price of gun.
      Things I would have changed:Does the grip area have to be so fat! I'm not into the blond wood. I'm sure it help's the price but I'd be willing to pay extra for better wood. Maybe they could make it in plastic for the price point.
      What others should know:Also purchased leapers off set mounts (to set the scope back) and a 4x bug buster scope. Makes a great combo.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2012-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The looks, auto safety and quality of workmanship for the price. I purchased the airgun for my grandson (11 year old), I should have purchased two. Pyramyd Air knows how to package for shipment, they put effort in and care.
      Things I would have changed:Better rear sight, Since I purchased the Bronco a month later Pyramyd Air shows a Bronco Target model with a better rear sight.
      What others should know:Accuracy; Out of box it shot HIGH and to the Right. Rear sight lowest setting, still shot high. I had to add height to front sight (.0625 1/16 inch). Front sight raised the Bronco was able to group at 33 feet. The grandson enjoys the Bronco. Pyramyd Air are good people to deal with!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Doug from USA on 2011-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:At 64 years old now, I was looking for the gun I wish I had as a kid. I wanted something more powerful than my BB gun, and also something that would remind me of my wood and steel single-shot Remington 22. I read the reviews for 6 months and then eliminated other guns because of negative comments on the triggers. I wasn't disappointed--the trigger is very smooth. I also saw comments about the color of the stock. Initially, I did want one of the darker colors, but once it came and I saw it, I liked it--the color is just not a problem. It was also hard to pass up on some of the higher powered guns, but since most of my shooting is at about 25' across the inside of my garage, the power turned out to be just right. In addition, I put on the Leapers Bug-Buster scope with the BKL rings, and really, I haven't had this much fun since I was a kid. My grown daughters are home visiting right now and have been asking about it. So today, our family activity will be target shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I got this for my 8 year old granddaughter and it was way to big and heavy for her at this time. but thats ok for grampa its real fun to shoot and the trigger is the best I've found on an inexpensive airgun no need to replace this trigger. Sights are good design and all right for starter gun. Accuracy is good and should get better when it breaks in.
      Things I would have changed:The wood is a chunky design which a little rasping & sanding is fixing when I get the stock reshaped and finished I'll send a pitcher. If you could lighten this gun a pound or two it would be even better
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2011-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price on mine was outstanding….I got it on craigslist for $65.00. It did however have a few spots of rust due to improper maintenance, but that is the way it goes when you buy used. It also came with an inexpensive leapers 4x32 golden image scope so I have not used the open sights. I am glad to say that I am very happy with my purchase! The bronco has a delightful two blade two stage trigger that is pleasantly predictable. I wish other low cost airgun makers would adopt this trigger design. The cocking effort is so incredibly smooth and crisp with the added security of an automatic saftey. The accuracy of this gun is amazing to me. I am getting touching five shot groups and solid holes the size of a dime or less indoors at both 10 and 20 yards! I am sad to announce that I am getting more consistent groups with this than I am with my rws Diana 34 with the T06 trigger?
      Things I would have changed:The blonde stock, I am more of a brunette kind of guy.
      What others should know:The previous owner was disappointed because they could not hit anything with it. It was just in need of proper scope installation and adjustment. It is a good idea to spend so time reading the articles and watching the many instructional videos here on pyramydair before you buy a spring airgun. The reason I wanted this rifle is because my father has already ordered one for my 12 year old son for Christmas. I look forward to showing him that real life can be more interesting and challenging than the video games that he is playing. It will be a lot of fun shooting together with our matching guns. However, he will have a better scope than me, it already arrived from pyramydair this week. Lucky kid! If you are not familiar with spring airguns take some time and do your research. This gun requires a light artillery hold at the balance point of the stock and a smooth consistent follow-through trigger pull to be accurate. I highly recommend the air venturi bronco. Hope you enjoy yours as much as I am enjoying mine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, user friendly, nice trigger, quality fit and finish. I purchased this Air Venturi Bronco .177 air rifle as a, (soon to be), Christmas gift for my son in law. The plan was for him to have an accurate air rilfe at his home, (which is about a ten hour drive from me), to shoot back yard targets with my ten year old grandson. and granddaughter Well, I had to give the rifle a test fire when it arrived to be sure it worked correctly. This .177 Bronco was easy to use and grouped with all five shots touching, (with iron sights), at ten meters. I could not have asked for more. The overall fit and finish on the Bronco is high quality. The trigger is excellent. It is back in the box, awaiting some Christmas target shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The supplied iron sights, though accurate, grouped about an inch and a half high at ten meters. This is with the rear sight bottomed out at its lowest setting. Since an air rife scope willl be placed on the Bronco, shooting high will be easy to rememdy with proper scope installation.
      What others should know:I have read that the Air Venturi Bronco was made to replicate Beeman R-7 .177 air rifle qualities, at a more affordable price point. I have owned a Beeman R-7 for more than 20 years. The engineers at Mendoza did an excellent job with the Bronco. It is well made, accurate, user friendly, great trigger and with reasonable care, an Air Venturi Bronco should last several lifetimes. Also, a thank you for the fast shipping and good pricing from Pyramid Air.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Howard from USA on 2011-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Decent trigger; moderate cocking effort. Iron sights are acceptable, but put a cheap scope on it to optimize performance. Nice touch to put a scope stop "hole" at the rear of the receiver.
      Things I would have changed:THE STOCK. Not only is the color unattractive (which was okay by me, since I planned to Dura Coat it anyway) but it is FAT. All over. It simply feels FAT and looks FAT. To me, it looks like it is about half-way to being finished. This has been noted before, and I am mystified why an alternate stock isn't at least offered .. charge another $10 if you must. If I were a competent woodworker I would remove about 45 percent of the bulk. The idea was a good one, but it utterly fails in execution because of the wood.
      What others should know:I don't think that this is a "youth gun". First it's too heavy (because of the fat wood); it is difficult for young hands and arms to maneuver; and cocking is not all that easy. I tried it out on three grandchildren, ages 9 to 12. All thought it was too heavy and hard to cock. Very off-putting to the kids. I'm keeping it for myself, but had I bought it only for the kids I would have returned it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ross from USA on 2011-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great feel and balance. Very accurate and trigger pull is remarkable
      Things I would have changed:breaking down the barrel to recharge takes more than a little effort, first to break the barrel and then taking it to the next step of charging the piston.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2011-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Carbine is basically a downsized Mendoza.....that's good. Rifle fits older kids and smaller adult shooters. Well made, very basic air rifle with good looking wood furniture.
      Things I would have changed:Not much power and short barrel does adversely affect accuracy. Fiber optic iron sites would be nice.
      What others should know:Well, I think a "real" Mendoza carbine is a better air rifle for the targeted audience. However, since I haven't seen "real" Mendozas in the marketplace for awhile, maybe they are no longer an option.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from USA on 2011-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fairly accurate Enough power for a beginner air rife easy to cock great safety features - after cocking it automatically is on safe great trigger - has a light pull and the second trigger is a nice feature and I feel adds to safety Nice solid wood stock
      Things I would have changed:Barrel length vs usable barrel length. The barrel appears to be about 16.5" but the pellet only touches about 8" and the rest of the barrel is much larger in diameter and used mainly to make it easier to cock. I would like to see more of the barrel used as a "barrel" instead of a lever. The specs say the barrel is 9' but I measured closer to 8. The iron sights could be better but I put a cheap tasco red dot on his and it is accurate and works suprisingly well. If you get one also make sure it's made for an airgun as the mounts are smaller for an airgun.
      What others should know:This is a very nice gun and if purchasing it for a young person it's hard to go wrong. It has a nice fit for a youth and is easy to cock. It definitly has more quality built into it than the cheaper plastic rifles you find at the discount stores and has a better trigger than many, much higher priced air guns. This gun is mostly wood and steel instead of plastic. I bought this for my 11 year old grandson but his parents don't want it in their house so I keep it here and he shoots it when he comes up. He likes it but he was able to quickly learn to cock an adult size pellet gun and better likes the greater velocity and range of the larger gun already. I was just a little miffed about the actual usuable barrel length of 8" it 's just a couple inches longer than some pistols.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Athanasios from USA on 2011-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything and Trigger is Super Sweet ! Others should try to copy this Trigger which has 1 .14 Ib pull Short ,Sweet & Crisp !
      Things I would have changed:Nothing ! Should have bought 2 or more !
      What others should know:Bought mine Blemished but it Looks New @ $106.99 I mounted a Osprey 2.5x20 Compact scope and it shoots as Good as my HW30S & RWS24 Rifles at half the Cost ! Pyramid Air Has a Winner with the Bronco. Dont buy One Buy Two,there are just Great Rifles !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2010-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got it for indoor practice over the winter and it seems perfect for this. I like rifles with shorter stocks and this one fits me perfectly. Trigger is light and crisp. Accuracy at 25 feet is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounting grooves are kind of shallow. The cheap red dot scope I'm using has blunt attached mounts that required filing for a good fit. Most mounts would probably fit OK.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2010-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this for my grandsons - 8 & 9. Easy to cock. Sets safety automatically. Light trigger pull - with double trigger for safety. Easy to mount a scope. Accurate. Quiet. Light weight and short for youth. Muzzle brake makes cocking easier to grasp.
      Things I would have changed:Standard open sights - not fiber optic. They look cheap - not like the rest of the rifle. The muzzle brake is larger in diameter and too long to use a laser bore sighter. Blond wood finish is odd - would be better if darker.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry G. Walsh from USA on 2010-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Size, stock design, power good for indoor practice, simple black sights.
      Things I would have changed:Add one inch spacer on butt to lenghten for adult.
      What others should know:I bought this for winter practice for a Parker Hale carbine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tom from USA on 2010-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun for my wife. I may have to get one for myself. This is one sweet little gun. The trigger is outstanding, I won't have to change this one.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see the Mendoza peep available and a couple of spacers for the stock would be nice.
      What others should know:If you do not want/need a magnum. You can't go wrong with the Bronco.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dixon from USA on 2010-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:For $126 it's got very good finish and marks of quality. Light trigger, basic but adjustable rear sight, decent accuracy, pretty good power.
      Things I would have changed:when the safety is on, and you forget to take it off until after pulling trigger, the second stage is even lighter than normal. Not sure how this could be changed. Otherwise I'll get used to it and/or learn to take off safety before pulling trigger!
      What others should know:Without being able to try other guns, I rolled the dice on this one and am very pleased. I am not an experienced airgunner, but I am encouraged by this one to get out and shoot at some cardboard boxes with targets glued on plus a pellet trap I bought at the same time. I am an older guy with eyesight issues coming on, so I am happy to see that I can hit the targets from 10+ meters and even an occasional bullseye. I am looking forward to getting a scope for my birthday so I can see what I am aiming at just a little better. Gun is pretty quiet, feels good to hold and is easy to cock and load. Haven't figured out which pellets are best, but it appears to do well with the 3 brands I bought from PA's suggested list (RWS, H&N, Beretta).
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lars from USA on 2010-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased a blemished model after a little internal debate. The cost difference was less than $20 but I figured I could use the money for pellets and take my chances that I didn't get a dog. Well it arrived and I anxiously opened the box expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful rifle with excellent fit and finish. The "blemish" was a little inconsistancy in the stock finish. It would have been just fine to use as is but I tend to like little projects so I used some 600 grit sandpaper and a little rubbing compound then wax and it now looks perfect. Took about 5 mintues total. This gun has an excellent trigger. The two blade design might not be my first choice but it is light and crisp and I'd take it over a single stage trigger. Good open sights. The accuracy is excellent as well. I bought this to use with my children and have fun plinking. It fits this use perfectly. Easy to cock, light and accurate. What more could you ask for less than $110 shipped?
      Things I would have changed:These are really nitpicky but I'll throw them out so you know. There is a slight rattle when you close the action. Its part of the design and not a flaw but I don't get this from my higher priced English and German guns. I bought this with the idea of not scoping it. My other airguns are all scoped and I was feeling like playing with open sights. I also want my kids to learn the fundimentals of shooting with open sights before they move on to a scoped rifle. For this purpose, the comb on the stock is a little high. I read the reviews that stated the stock was good for scoping so I guess I'm not surprised. I may end up re-profiling the stock a bit to get the fit I was hoping for. The great part is not worrying about damaging a high-dollar gun by customizing it.
      What others should know:Just buy one. You won't regret it.
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top