Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Venturi Bronco air rifle reviews - page 5

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2010-02-04 15:00:25

    Things I liked:Of course I like the Bronco--I helped design it! I really like the straight Western-style stock that eliminates the need for a high Monte Carlo cheekpiece to raise your eye up for a scope. This rifle comes up to the right place naturally. And the easy cocking is another major plus. The Bronco was designed for older children, though adults will find that it suits them very well. The light cocking will make you want to shoot it all day long. I also love the two-bladed trigger that tells you absolutely when the transition is made from stage one to stage two. My test rifle trigger breaks at just 30 crisp ounces! You will be showing it off to your friends. The accuracy is another plus. Just because this is a plinker doesn't make it inaccurate. And it is completely ambidextrous.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to have a solid hood over the front sight. For now you can just remove it.
    What others should know:The Mendoza rear aperture sight will make the Bronco a delightful informal target rifle. Don't oil the piston seal until it squeaks during cocking. Crosman Premier pellets and Premier hollowpoints are very accurate.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10 17:05:01

    Things I liked:I like the design of the rifle and the open sights are nice for a plinking gun. The light cocking effort is also nice.
    Things I would have changed:After trying about 30 different pellets in this gun, I could not find one that grouped better than .441 inches CTC for a ten shot group at 10 yards. Most all other pellets were above .600". Also, the cocking and trigger are very gritty even after around 1500 pellets.
    What others should know:Shame on me for not catching that this particular gun is a dud in terms of accuracy. It should have used the 30 day money back guarantee, but I didn't start using it until then. Lesson learned. Even though my experience with this gun is not good, I would still trust the reviews this gun has received.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2014-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great value for the money. A excellent beginners air rifle. Easy to cock and smooth trigger excellent to teach my girlfriend and grandchildren how to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:I can find nothing I wold change.
      What others should know:Have lots of pellets and targets too much fun to put down even I like shooting it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Drummond from USA on 2014-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is exactly what it claims to be. Quality materials (considering it's a low end gun), good accuracy out of the box, easy trigger pull, and easy to cock. A fine springer, and at a great price! I wish i had started my airgun fanaticism with this one...my experience would have been much less frustrating! I bought this as a future gift for my son, and I look forward to shooting it with him!!!
      Things I would have changed:Don't stop production on this rifle!!!!!!!!!!!!
      What others should know:This is the perfect starter gun for plinking. This would not be for hunting though as I don't think it has enough power to do that humanely unless it was at very close range and it was something small like a rat (assuming it would sit still ;-)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sal from USA on 2014-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has a VERY nice trigger. I am guessing it's less than 2#. Very light weight even with the 3-9X32 AO I installed on it ! Easy to cock even for my 10 year old grandson. Very accurate !
      Things I would have changed:I would have chosen a darker stock, if available, but I have gotten used to the light "blonde" stock and its decent looking. Other than that, this is an Exceptional rifle !!
      What others should know:I originally purchased an IZH-60 because i wanted an air rifle for shooting close range, with a rifle not capable of penetrating the 3/4" plywood of the chicken/duck/various poultry enclosures I was shooting around. IZH would not keep zero with a scope. I do some professional varmint control (rabbits, starlings, English sparrows, rats, etc) , and found that my .25 cal Air Force TalonP, and my Benjamin Marauder .22 cal were too much gun for certain shots, and I was passing up quite a large percentage of shots due to my concern of possibly harming something in the background. But the Bronco is perfect for Starlings and sparrows up to 30 yards! It will stick in wood, but not penetrate far, and this gun has dispatched several hundred birds, with humane kills. With JSB Exact 8.44 grain round nose pellets, it will shoot 1/2 inch groups at 30 yards on a calm day. VERY sensitive to wind at that range, and I have to aim high by 1 Mil dot on my scope to compensate for the drop
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kirk from USA on 2014-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid Build, Crisp Trigger, Accurate & Reasonably Priced -> $99.
      Things I would have changed:Pistol grip too big, especially since gun is marketed towards young shooters. I wish trigger pull could be shortened.
      What others should know:Perfect gun for my 9 year old !! Pyramyd Air recommended it over the Stroeger X-3 and they were right. Trigger almost as good as my tuned, Quattro Trigger.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ralland from USA on 2014-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Exceptional accuracy, good trigger, easy cocking, and not hold sensitive.
      Things I would have changed:The Bronco needs a higher front sight, or should be shipped with two shims to raise the sight. The rifle needs a more easily adjusted rear sight. The comb of the stock is thin and pointed at the front and is uncomfortable if you shoot with your face well forward. Extending the comb forward another 1.25" would solve the problem.
      What others should know:The iron sights on my refurbished Bronco, shot much too high at 10 meters, 3.5" high at the lowest setting and 1.5" high with the stepped ramp removed. The Williams 5D could not be used without removing wood from the stock or taking some metal off the bottom of the slide. Installing two front sight shims from Air Venturi corrected the problem. Two shims worked nicely for the 5D, but one would probably be sufficient for the iron sights. I would order two to be safe. The Bronco is very accurate and should be able to keep all its shots in or on the 9 ring of the NRA 10 meter air rifle target. The trigger is a bit mushy but, except for match rifles, it is one of the better stock triggers I've encountered. I've shot the Bronco switching between a 4X Center Point and the 5D and it is a pleasure to shoot with both. It shot well with both RWS Basics and H&N Excite Econs. Five shots, at 10 meters, with both pellets, at the same target, went into one hole measuring .302" edge to edge.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the design of the rifle and the open sights are nice for a plinking gun. The light cocking effort is also nice.
      Things I would have changed:After trying about 30 different pellets in this gun, I could not find one that grouped better than .441 inches CTC for a ten shot group at 10 yards. Most all other pellets were above .600". Also, the cocking and trigger are very gritty even after around 1500 pellets.
      What others should know:Shame on me for not catching that this particular gun is a dud in terms of accuracy. It should have used the 30 day money back guarantee, but I didn't start using it until then. Lesson learned. Even though my experience with this gun is not good, I would still trust the reviews this gun has received.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By craig from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the overall size, the stock, the open sights, the double bladed trigger, pretty much everything about this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The stock on mine is fairly dark and looks nice. The rifle is accurate out of the box with many different pellets. It is a fairly quiet gun made for plinking and target shooting. It fits an adult just fine. The trigger is very good. The cocking effort is very easy. The only issue I have is at short distance, 10 yards or so, I had to remove the elevator for the rear sight so it would shoot at the correct elevation. It is very easy to remove and then put back on. The elevation was perfect at that distance when I did that. It was not really a problem for me. You can't go wrong with this one. It is well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock, looks nice.
      Things I would have changed:Better trigger.
      What others should know:This gun is not accurate at all, no matter weight or brand of pellet manufacturer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this rifle for my fiance and she loves it. Got her a Leapers Bug Buster mounted on it and she can shoot with the best of them. It's really easy to cock and you can shoot all day without getting tired.
      Things I would have changed:I'm not a fan of the fat stock. It just seems too fat near the trigger for me? But my fiance has no complaints at all.
      What others should know:Accurate and easy to cock. Likes the Crosman Premier domed 7.9 gr pellets the best. Put a Bug Buster on it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pezzer from USA on 2013-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Amazing value and accuracy for the money. Perfect "quality" youth and training rifle. I gave this one to my 10 year old almost a year ago so I thought it was time to post a review of a "broken in" Bronco. After struggling with the factory rear sight I opted to install my trusty Williams aperture sight on the dovetail. This is the perfect fix for the poor stock rear sight and allowed this rifle to show it's true colors. After gaining experience with the peep sight and learning trigger and breathing control I decided to get him an inexpensive scope to allow him to take his accuracy skills further. The 3-9x32mm Centerpoint scope is a perfect value matched scope for this Bronco. Comes complete with 11mm dovetail rings and a illuminated mill-dot reticle for a great price. With this combination I have been able to achieve 3/8" groups at 25 yards very consistently. Been enjoying this one so much it is my go to rifle for sub 35 yard plinking and target shooting. Trained my ex-wife how to shoot with this one and now she is an excellent shot with all my air rifles. Very good trigger with neat double blade design that offers the feel of a good two stage setup at a much lower cost. Breaking quite clean and consistently at about 2 pounds this is quite a bit better than most rifles at this price range by far. Easy to cock at around 18 pounds my 10 year old son, now almost 11, has never had a problem cocking and loading this rifle. Best bang for buck in youth air rifles, great job folks!
      Things I would have changed:Only the crappy rear sight should be trashed for an improved click adjustable open version from the factory. Otherwise an aftermarket peep sight or scope will fix you right up for little money.
      What others should know:I found the H&N Field Target Trophy 8.64 grain with a 4.50mm head size so far shoots the best in this rifle. Chrony coming from PA in a few days and I will post / update with ballistic numbers soon. If you want a "real" air rifle that can even out shoot dad and keep the entire family outdoors and enjoying shooting sports look no further than the Air Venture Bronco from Pyramyd Air. I think Tom Gayloard and Gene Salvino got these guys in Mexico to keep their quality control tight as this air gun at this price is far and away better than the Chinese built versions I have seen. Mendoza is doing a bang up job down there making these and apparently are keeping up the good work. At first I wanted to rate this a 4 star overall but it honestly deserves the 5 all day long. Thank you for bringing this to the US market PA. Excellent rifle!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BRIAN from USA on 2013-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this as a starter for my 9-year old son to learn shooting fundamentals. He enjoys the rifle and hit a can at approximately 10 yards on his first shot. The rifle is a bit heavy for him (he uses something as a rest each shot), but he will grow into it. It is accurate, has a safety that engages when the rifle is cocked, and the two stage trigger works well for the price. My son can cock the rifle with considerable effort and wants me to do it after he does it a couple times. It is easy for an adult.
      Things I would have changed:The open sights are not very functional. To make them nominally usable you must either shim up the front sight or remove the elevation blade of the rear sight. I put a plastic shim under the front sight and it is barely workable looking through the rear sight. This is a design flaw, in my opinion, and should be corrected on an otherwise fine rifle. The rifle had a significant amount of oil/gunk in it and after considerable cleaning and around 200 pellets it was still dieseling some. At 250 pellets it finally seems to have subsided.
      What others should know:It is accurate with the open sights. My son can hit cans anywhere between 10-20 yards after a couple weeks and I can hit cans up to about 30 yards with some regularity. Given this limitation and the flaw in the design of the open sights, I do plan to purchase a scope for the rifle soon.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Bobby from USA on 2013-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun was solid feeling and easy to cock and the trigger was great.
      Things I would have changed:For what's it's made for, it's a great gun. If you are looking for something that will knock down cans this isn't the gun for you. It puts holes in paper and that's about it. Not much power and certainly not as powerful as the specs say, or perhaps I just got a gun with no zip in it.
      What others should know:Pyramyd does what they say. I returned the gun after shooting a few pellets through it and realized it wasn't for me. They fully refunded the price less shipping charges, which seemed fair to me. Replaced it with a RWS 34 and that's a real pellet gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sandra from USA on 2013-04-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about this gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would like a slightly larger diameter in the pellet seat area.
      What others should know:excellent go for it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Damian from USA on 2013-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful maple stock, metal components, iron sights, and overall quality. I like the "carbine" feel.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the straight stock to a conventional kind.
      What others should know:I've owned this for 2 1/2 years and have not had any issues. It is a great rifle. As an adult shooter, I found the straight stock awkward. I toyed with the idea of installing an AR-15 style pistol grip but did not do so because I didnt want to modify the stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2013-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Non-magnum springer is easy to cock. Carbine length is easy to handle. After probably 300 rounds, mine is settling in and accuracy is good - hoping it improves to 'excellent'.
      Things I would have changed:Open sights are nothing to brag on, but I mounted a Tech Force scope. The two bladed trigger is a bit odd, but if you shoot a Glock you'll be right at home.
      What others should know:New gun diesels badly. I'm up to around 300 rounds and it still diesels on occasion - I have NOT lubed anything.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2013-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock, accuracy, accuracy, accuracy, trigger, shoots like a dream right out of the box. Had doubts that an airgun under 200 would shoot so nice. Shoot all day and leave one ragged hole. Makes Gamos and Crosmans in this price range look like a joke. Quality and feel rival my Beeman Kodiak. Sights can be removed easily and leaves a clean natural look. Girlfriend loves her birthday present.
      Things I would have changed:Auto safety is very nice but location takes a little getting use to. Straight grip stock is not my prefference BUT does allow for different sized hands to reach the trigger. Muzzle brake has a larger diameter hole, does not allow for lazer bore sighter, so you just have to shoot it more. Adjustment on factory rear site unusable and does not allow the gun to live up to it's accuracy. To adjust for windage two set screw need to be backed off then the site tapped to desired location. While tightening, site moves. Will drive you nuts. Buy the pro target with the peep site or put a scope on it.
      What others should know:This is a great gun for anyone who wants a springer they can carry and shoot all day. The dove tail has both a scope stop and a scope hole (both line up with the leapers weaver adapter). Scope holds nicely. 500 plus pellets (Crosman hunting points) and has shot near perfect since day one. Occassional flyers early on, but rock solid ever since.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By David from USA on 2012-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger is nice. Stock is comfortable to shoot. Cocking is light. We like it.
      Things I would have changed:The breech seems wide and if pellets are less than 4.52mm, they run can drop out if care is not taken during cocking, leading to dry firing. This happened in the video review, and to us a few times. The gun is pellet fussy. After six months of fairly heaving shooting (4000 pellets) we have accuracy problems with the rifle, and ours needs servicing or replacing. Pellets can be 3-4 inches below the target (1-2 out of 10). Flyers are more common. Cleaning was not helpful. Pellets were not changed from the usual 4.52 mm H&N FTT. This gun is fantastic for plinking and target shooting inside of 25 yards and to learn how to shoot with a springer, before getting a high end gun.
      What others should know:If anyone has had a Bronco for a long while and actively shot, please comment about the durability of the rifle and accuracy over time. Has anyone had the spring replaced?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lee from USA on 2012-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Good value for the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-10-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this to share with my son (11). It took a couple months to really understand how to shoot a springer gun properly, and to have an appropriate field target sitting position (thanks to online You Tube guides). With that down, we can easily shoot inside a 1.5" KZ at 25 yards in the backyard with good pellets (H&N FTTs) and a scope (Leapers/UTG 4-12x). At 30 yds this expands to 2". So accuracy is good. What else? The trigger is nice. The cocking is very easy. The gun feels very solid (metal and wood). Loudness is acceptable for backyard (safe) shooting. All in all we were very satisfied with the purchase.
      Things I would have changed:The stock is a little bland, but it is functional and sits well in your hands. I would probably have given it a synthetic stock if a nice balance could be maintained.
      What others should know:This gun is great for backyard target shooting inside of 30 yards. Adding a scope to the gun is a must in my opinion. The gun is not for hunting or long distances.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2012-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made. Very accurate. A joy to shoot. I am an adult air gunner and I have enjoyed this rifle more than any of my others. Out shoots my Crosman Nitro Venom and my Ruger Airhawk. Superb!
      Things I would have changed:Offer a model with a longer lenght of pull.
      What others should know:This rifle is worth every penny and more.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top