Date: 24/6/2017 5:19
0

BSA Scorpion 1200 SE Air Rifle, Black Stock reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (10 reviews)
5 star4 star3 star2 star1 star
(7 votes)(3 votes)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By clarence from USA on 2015-03-31 11:28:14

Things I liked: Great Value for my First repeater PCP: European BSA, hammer forged barrel, ergonomic synthetic stock with palm swells, good reasonable weight due to shrouded barrel, trigger fine out of box, accurate pressure gauge, precise magazine indexing & bolt action, studs on stock.

Things I would have changed: Lower price for extra magazines; add external power adjuster; shroud to quiet the rifle @ discharge; ability to adjust trigger externally; availability in wood stock;

What others should know: Most should use ear protection when shooting 1200SE; at least 40 shorter range shots from 200 Bar fill (takes good effort with Hill pump); Front heavy but No problem after Bipod placement onto included stud; expect 1 inch groups at 40 - 50 yds with 4-16X scope and correct pellets,

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Armando from USA on 2016-09-18 19:08:06

Things I liked: this rifle is beautiful, cocking system, the magazines,the craftsmanship.

Things I would have changed: this rifle is super heavy when you put the scope is around the 13 or 14 pound. The accuracy is respectable i shoot with some different pellets, jsb 10.3, daisy crap pellets, H&N brracuda hunter 10.3, H&N barracuda 10.6 and H&N barracuda hunter extreme 9.3. the jsb make a group about 1/2 inch , the daisy make a group about 3 inches there where fliying every where except the target and they don circle good in the magazine so i just only shoot 4 pellets, the h&n 10.6 was the same as the jsb, and the hunter and the hunter extreme make a group about the same size of the pellet. Thats not good because those pellet are expensive. the distance was about 30 yards. the cocking is really smooth and the rifle fill very well made. one thing i dont like is the floating barrel, because you can bend a little the barrel and touch the air reservoir.

What others should know: the rifle waste a lot of air, the best group was when hi have about 190 -180 bar or less. the trigger is very smooth and you can have a accident if you dont put it in safe.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: For the price you will not do better

    What others should know: Something I forgot to add in my previous review, I have fired 4 types of pellets through my gun crossman hp , crossman premier, Jsb excact, & Jsb excact jumbo heavy , all are very accurate but when cycling the cross mans they are usually a bit stiff, this is definitely the pellets not the gun as the jsbs are very smooth, the jabs are more accurate but the gun is not pellet fussy very very accurate & as the saying goes accuracy is all

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2017-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything this is a very well designed and put together gun , very very accurate, nice trigger very happy with my first pcp

    Things I would have changed: So it's a little on the loud side, not a problem for me , some say a little heavy, I find it ok

    What others should know: This is my first pcp but not my first air rifle or rifle, the finish on this gun is good the fit is excellent, I'm more of a walnut stock kind of guy, I find most synthetic stocks cheap plastic junk the stock on this gun doesn't feel cheap at all it feels nice the gun has a slim feel to it & slightly muzzle heavy , in short I'm very happy I bought this gun it's nice , the trigger is very good very slight creep in the second stage & nice clean brake ( I haven't tried to adjust it yet probably won't). If this gun had a high end finish on the metal work , a walnut stock , adjustable power, & the barrel was ported into the shroud the only reason why it would not be a $1300 gun is that you can get one without all that for between $700 & $850 depending on sale prices , I went back and forth deciding weather to get this gun I'm so glad I did I love it

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Armando from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this rifle is beautiful, cocking system, the magazines,the craftsmanship.

    Things I would have changed: this rifle is super heavy when you put the scope is around the 13 or 14 pound. The accuracy is respectable i shoot with some different pellets, jsb 10.3, daisy crap pellets, H&N brracuda hunter 10.3, H&N barracuda 10.6 and H&N barracuda hunter extreme 9.3. the jsb make a group about 1/2 inch , the daisy make a group about 3 inches there where fliying every where except the target and they don circle good in the magazine so i just only shoot 4 pellets, the h&n 10.6 was the same as the jsb, and the hunter and the hunter extreme make a group about the same size of the pellet. Thats not good because those pellet are expensive. the distance was about 30 yards. the cocking is really smooth and the rifle fill very well made. one thing i dont like is the floating barrel, because you can bend a little the barrel and touch the air reservoir.

    What others should know: the rifle waste a lot of air, the best group was when hi have about 190 -180 bar or less. the trigger is very smooth and you can have a accident if you dont put it in safe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2016-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I got mine in .177 caliber and mounted a Hawk 6x24x50mm Airmax scope. Sighted it in 5 shots after that the rest of the shots stacked up very neatly. The black stock is very natural to shoulder and feels good to the touch . The ten round rotary magazine works smoothly and cycled without jamming. Attention to detail is very evident throughout . I have a Hatsan QE long in 22 caliber which i like a lot but the difference in the two is so different , it is not regulated like the the BSA so the shot count is lower , plus the quality of the BSA shines through .Built in Birmingham England they know how to build airguns , and the price difference reflects that.

    Things I would have changed: At over 8 pounds it is not light and by the time you add a scope it could be over 11 pounds. The weight doesn't concern me , so it is not a complaint . Just an observation? Buy it. You won't be disappointed.

    What others should know: Be prepared - extra magazine are high priced at 49.99 each , i got mine before they went up . I also purchased the single shot adaptor which is all metal and works flawlessly . Two pellets can be loaded at a time so pay careful attention when shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy Amount of shots between pumps Very comfortable and looks great

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Very accurate gun, I shoot very tight groups at 100 yards. This reservoir on thus airgun when filling with a foot pump can wear ya out pretty quick.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Liked the 0.22cal enough to also buy the 0.177cal version; same action & overall European quality; accuracy is very respectable with quarter sized groups in slight wind when using 10.3g AA Diabolos; again well balanced with a bipod;

    Things I would have changed: Synthetic stock is ergonomic but I would gladly pay more for the inherent beauty of a Minelli version in hardwood; planning to Camo at least part of the stock as it already looks tactical in black;

    What others should know: The shroud is easily detachable to clean the barrel; ***sweet spot for accurately shooting both versions is below 200 Bar...easy enough with my Hill pump; secure the probe when filling the reservoir; added light Moly grease to receiver rear bolt for smoother action;

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Value for my First repeater PCP: European BSA, hammer forged barrel, ergonomic synthetic stock with palm swells, good reasonable weight due to shrouded barrel, trigger fine out of box, accurate pressure gauge, precise magazine indexing & bolt action, studs on stock.

    Things I would have changed: Lower price for extra magazines; add external power adjuster; shroud to quiet the rifle @ discharge; ability to adjust trigger externally; availability in wood stock;

    What others should know: Most should use ear protection when shooting 1200SE; at least 40 shorter range shots from 200 Bar fill (takes good effort with Hill pump); Front heavy but No problem after Bipod placement onto included stud; expect 1 inch groups at 40 - 50 yds with 4-16X scope and correct pellets,

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my 2nd review. After breaking in, accuracy is still excellent. It shoots JSB 18.1's at 910 fps and velocity is very consistent. It shoots 5 shots into about .075 inches at 20 yards, through the magazine. You don't need to shoot single shot style to get great accuracy. This is a great airgun platform for making some improvements. This model is only sold in the USA.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is front end heavy due to the steel air reservoir, so I put the shorter version air reservoir on it, and replaced the spade type brass air fill with an aluminum unit, with a foster fill. The changes cut 1/2 pound from the overall weight and shifted the balance rearward. I like the stock, but don't like the dark color. I replaced it with a green Nato version that BSA has in Europe, and sells through their registered parts provider airgunspares.com. It looks great and the weight is now ok.

    What others should know: Despite having a shroud, airflow is not directed rearward into the shroud, and there are no baffles. It is still loud. I installed a few pieces, redirecting the air rearward, and provided for some space for baffles in the same way other PCP airguns are offered in the USA today. It is now backyard friendly. If BSA made a few changes to this model, it would have few competitors.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2014-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid feel. Bolt action is smooth and has the feeling of precision. I cleaned the barrel and adjusted the trigger before shooting, and 5 18.1 grain .22 JSBs shoot into less than .025" at 15 yards at 890 fps (31.8 ft lbs).I filled the reservoir to 195 bar. I also own a BSA SE, and just did a review on it, and have been comparing them. Both are very accurate, and I attribute it largely to the BSA forged barrel. I like the BSA feel. Solid but not too heavy. The air reservoir is steel, not aluminum, which adds weight but adds to the solid feel. The SE 1200 has a very slim feel due to the not-so-wide synthetic stock. Also, the magazine is metal, not plastic, feeds smoothly with no bent pellet skirts.

    Things I would have changed: The synthetic stock is better than I thought, and feels better than it looks, but I would like it to be about 3 or 4 inches longer. The shroud looks great, but does not reduce much sound. There is only about 1.75" of open space between the end of the barrel and the end of the shroud, with no baffles. As a result, it is loud. The barrel support at the muzzle does not direct any air back into the shroud. Directing air back into the shroud would quiet it down somewhat, and there is room for 1 baffle. "As is", it is not backyard friendly.

    What others should know: The air reservoir on the SE 1200 is 4" longer than on the standard SE, giving the SE 1200 a volume of about 218 cc. As a result the front end is slightly heavy vs. the standard SE, however the synthetic stock isn't wide, making it very easy to hold on to. The 1200 SE air gauge matches the readings on my tank gauge. The Standard SE wood stock is beautiful, and I am cautious not to scar it. The synthetic stock on the 1200 SE has the advantage of being less prone to damage. I purchased the 1200 SE expecting to harvest parts over time for my Standard SE and to use it's shroud, however I have changed my plans. These are 2 of my most consistently accurate airguns. I would give them an 5+ if BSA had made them quiet.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By k.s from India on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First I love bsa rifle....best accuracy...meg no issue...nice pellet loading.....good centering...high velocity and deep penetration...max shot count(one fill 100 shots)overall not bad but only good.

    Things I would have changed: bsa quality checking I think very bad....because I fill the air at hill pump(230 bar) fire 8 pellet the 9th pellet is stack...and gun hammer part is jammed....finally I open the gun the circlelock (near regulater)is not proper fit so I purchase that circlelock Hardware shop(near 320 km)then fit my problem was clear(I am in india so I can't claims warranty).....2end no power adjustment....otherwise gun is good

    What others should know: pls check and buy....one fill 100 shot....this gun is 30% air saving .....accuracy is 60 yard one inch groping...I will give five star...but that circlelock issue so I give 4 star only.

Navigation