Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin 397 & Air Rifle Scope Combo reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (7 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Mike Francioli from USA on 2008-03-04 18:08:04

    Things I liked:great to feel a wooden stock instead of the plastic ones.being used these days.Excellent worksmen ship. What else can we expect of a Benjamin?
    Things I would have changed:Nothing period
    What others should know:Make sure you eat your Wheaties guys.no need for a Nordic exercisor machine.The pumping is a bit on the heavy side.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By John from USA on 2013-11-16 21:31:20

    Things I liked:Nice feel to the gun.
    Things I would have changed:Lots of difficulty finding a consistent cheek rest position on the stock of this gun due the height of the scope. I'm looking into crafting a movable comb or cheek piece so I have a reliable reference.
    What others should know:Good luck using the scope.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice feel to the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Lots of difficulty finding a consistent cheek rest position on the stock of this gun due the height of the scope. I'm looking into crafting a movable comb or cheek piece so I have a reliable reference.
      What others should know:Good luck using the scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2013-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I wanted the Benjamin 397 because of its reputation for being a reliable and accurate shooter with the potential to dispatch pesky rodents and such. The rifle was shipped the same day of purchase and arrived a couple of days later with all components and in good shape. I knew that the combo would need assembly and that was accomplished easily with the furnished scope mounts and allen wrenches. I was impressed by the solid,rugged feel of the whole rig once it was assembled. After running a few patches through the bore from the muzzle end to clean out any fouling, I used wad cutter pellets to sight in the Leepers scope. The length of the range in my shop is only about 21 feet, but that had do for the initial sighting in. The Leepers scope was easy to adjust and no screwdrivers were needed. I finally accomplished putting the last few pellets through an enlarged (5/8")hole dead center. Good enough until I can get outside.
      Things I would have changed:I soon found that I do not have the same strength at 80 years old that I had when I was in my twenties, and quickly found that going beyond four pumps was going to be hard for "grandpa"! I remedied that problem by adding 6 inches additional leverage to the forearm by carefully bolting a 3/4" hardwood dowel to its left side that extends back beyond the trigger guard. Works for me!
      What others should know:The stock is a hardwood variety, but not the smooth highly finished burly type so I don't worry about it getting scratched or roughed up by use. It would be nice to be able to put a sling on it for hands free carry, but that would probably interfere with the pumping action. All in all, I am very pleased and satisfied with the Benjamin 397 combo, and I would recommend it to anyone who can handle the pumping effort. A lot of gun for the money!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2012-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:scope was all mounted and gun was ready to shoot the wood is nice and seems to be accurate
      Things I would have changed:maybe easier to pump
      What others should know:sure is fun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By RCH60 from USA on 2011-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent varment hunting gun...my rabbit population is on the serious decline due to this baby. Well balanced and accurate to about 30 yards with 6+ pumps. Good feel even while carrying a flashlight next to the pump stock.
      Things I would have changed:Pumping this air gun is a workout...it may be the hardest pump action ever...but the efforts yield worthy results.
      What others should know:Not the quietest air gun...but not terrible for small game. It is worth owning.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tom from USA on 2010-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good power and extreme accuracy i got this gun from my dad he had owned it for years brfore me and showed me that it can shoot match heads past 30 yards and the power is great for hunting
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:peoplke say its hard to pump but i was geting it at age 9 so maybe it just has to be broken in
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By dave from USA on 2009-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The wood and design of the rifle is very nice
      Things I would have changed:The pump action is very stiff even for a good sized adult ! Hard to load pellets with scope mount design Combo would be much better with peep sight I belive!
      What others should know:After shooting the gun for a couple of weeks , I still can not keep the scope from moving. Between the stiff pumping and the scope being clamped onto the round barrel,not a good combo !!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike Francioli from USA on 2008-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great to feel a wooden stock instead of the plastic ones.being used these days.Excellent worksmen ship. What else can we expect of a Benjamin?
      Things I would have changed:Nothing period
      What others should know:Make sure you eat your Wheaties guys.no need for a Nordic exercisor machine.The pumping is a bit on the heavy side.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top