Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Genesis Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2013-12-30 08:51:57

    Things I liked:Good shooter right out of the box. Shoulders well,locks up tight, good balance.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a better scope, but the included one isn't bad. Trigger has a long pull, but that can be easily fixed. Needs a way to clean the muzzle baffles if the need arises.
    What others should know:The rifle received did not have an AO scope, did not have sling swivels, and is 45 1/2 inches long. The pictured rifle apparently is the Jim Shockey Legacy and not the actual Genesis version.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-02-12 11:24:03

    Things I liked:I thought that I was really going to like this rifle. The rifle started out with awesome power. I attempted to "zero" with the provided/included scope. I ran out of elevation adjustment without even being able to get on paper at ANY distance. I shimmed the scope slightly, and I was able to get on paper, but no accuracy/grouping whatsoever. I thought maybe after the "break-in" period things would get better. After about 300 shots, and a good barrel cleaning, no difference. I gave the gun approximately 200 more shots to see if the rifle had just not broken in yet. After the "last" 200 shots, something went wrong with the rifle. The rifle still recoiled and sounded like it was firing with full power, but would only shoot the pellets approximately 20 feet down range, no matter what pellets were used. The barrel was free of obstructions. Not supposed to disassemble because of warranty. I had to ship the rifle back as defective. I suppose I received a "bad" rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe quality control on the part of Benjamin/Crossman. I really wanted the rifle to work, awesome build, layout, materials, looks, power.
    What others should know:PYRAMID AIR is number one for a reason. I explained what had happened. Pyramid representatives, I think, went out of their way to make this right, even though the failure was through no fault of their own. The company(Pyramid), even went so far as to schedule a pick up date at my home to exchange the rifle(at no cost), because I was having difficulty printing a shipping label that they were sending me. These guys and gals are the best. I will not go somewhere else. Thank you all Pyramid. This rifle would be a five in every category, had it not been "defective".
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet, hard shooting with smooth cocking action. The adjustable trigger is a nice feature allowing for matching my shooting style. I also like the synthetic stock; no worries about marring & scratching up a wood stock.
      Things I would have changed:The barrel is encased in some molded material and the casting seams stand out pretty sharp (1/8 inch), an obvious unescapble indication of low manufacturing standards. The adjustable cheek riser is worthless as you reset any adjusted setting when you use the stock as leverage to cock the gun.
      What others should know:250 shot break-in period to firm up accuracy (per banjamin literature) is no joke. First few dozen shots I couldn't stay on a paper plat at 30 ft using a bench rest...and it was hard to keep shooting it based on faith it would improve so much. It did; 700 pellets later it's pretty decent though I still get wildly erratic shots now and then that are not explainable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Garth from USA on 2014-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weaver scope mount. I think all gas and spring piston gut should have the weaver mount rail. While furnished scopes are not very well rated, I have had no problems with the dozen or so guns that I have. But I think this gun ( and all of them) should be sold without a scope and let the buyer decide. I am very well satisfied with this gun but I do intent to upgrade the scope. Im 81 and cant use the open sights, so a scope is necessary
      Things I would have changed:I favor wood. I would like to see a choice of wood or plastic stock, with a rubber recoil pad, just for looks.
      What others should know:I havnt shot this gun much, maybe 500 times. The cocking action seems smooth, the cocking force is OK. With my rifle, it requires a pellet (22) seater. I cannot get a pellet to seat below flush with my fingers or thumb (Crossman hollow points).I made a seater out of a tooth brush handle and it seats constantly at the same depth. The gun is very accurate at 10 and 20 yards, but is loud with a metal pellet trap. Gets the neighbors attention
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Tyler from USA on 2014-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:a lot of power and the scope is great. someone said that the scope adjustments would change up and down if they adjusted left and right. they didn't have the scope level.
      Things I would have changed:the recoil pad was pretty stiff and my shoulder got sore after a bit of shooting
      What others should know:the screw that connects the barrel to the rest of the gun isn't actually screwed in. It's and easy fix just by taking out three screws then screwing in the main screw. it wasn't very accurate before but now it is pretty good.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to order w/ this company. Great shipping response except Fed Ex left box in flower bed as opposed to on porch step? Light and easy to handle. Very little recoil due to the Nitro piston technology. Easy to cheek-up once scope a cheek pad were adjusted. Looking forward to zeroing in the scope once I've gone thru the 250 shot break-in
      Things I would have changed:Just received order and box was sealed as if new.... But rifle was NOT in new condition!
      What others should know:Grip & forearm oily dirt prints Muzzle insert scuffed on tip "B" logo inserts on stock not adhering Adjustable cheek piece thru bolts were of different lengths. 1 was flush w/ thumb nut the other protruded 1/4" past thumb nut which could cause catch point on shooting glove. I purchased this as a "NEW" rifle but appeared to be a remand/refurbished item by appearances.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By charles from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one of the best quality air rifles I have shot. Overall, this is the ticket for those pesky squirrels that keep getting in your bird feeder. The ergonomics of this rifle are awesome with its adjustable cheek rest and soft rubber hand grips. It hugs your shoulder almost like it belongs there. This gun is very quiet and is very suitable for shooting in those small neighborhoods. Being a .22 is a bonus in this rifle setup as it produces some great knock down power for an air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The break over is funny in that you have to slap the barrel to unlock and begin the cocking process (unlike my gamo big cat - just pull down on it). Accuracy is acceptable though I hope to see some improvement as the rifle breaks in.
      What others should know: The scope is quite adaquate for an air rifle. I have heard several review complaints about the focus being blury after adjusting zoom past 7. Just a little seceret for all those reviewers. The objective lens is adjustable. Making adjustments will clear things up. Just remove ring from end of scope, then turn the threaded section(this will adj the objective lens), and then reinstall ring. I recommend doing this with zoom power set at 9 (full zoom) while looking at an object at least 50 or more yards away.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2014-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks cool, adj. cheekpiece, quiet, powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Scope, trigger
      What others should know:Outer & inner box had been ripped open upon delivery! Cleaned barrel 1st. 1st 3 shots; 3 1/4" to the right. Adj. scope to the left 48 clicks. Barrel breakin= 1 shot; clean. 3 shots; clean. 5 shots; clean. 7 shots; clean. (I sighted-in scope during this process). 6 of the last 7 shots could be covered with a nickel @ 17 yds. 19 rounds, total. Hoppe's #7, Ballistol & Locktite. Still have to adjust the trigger and retighten all screws.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I thought that I was really going to like this rifle. The rifle started out with awesome power. I attempted to "zero" with the provided/included scope. I ran out of elevation adjustment without even being able to get on paper at ANY distance. I shimmed the scope slightly, and I was able to get on paper, but no accuracy/grouping whatsoever. I thought maybe after the "break-in" period things would get better. After about 300 shots, and a good barrel cleaning, no difference. I gave the gun approximately 200 more shots to see if the rifle had just not broken in yet. After the "last" 200 shots, something went wrong with the rifle. The rifle still recoiled and sounded like it was firing with full power, but would only shoot the pellets approximately 20 feet down range, no matter what pellets were used. The barrel was free of obstructions. Not supposed to disassemble because of warranty. I had to ship the rifle back as defective. I suppose I received a "bad" rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe quality control on the part of Benjamin/Crossman. I really wanted the rifle to work, awesome build, layout, materials, looks, power.
      What others should know:PYRAMID AIR is number one for a reason. I explained what had happened. Pyramid representatives, I think, went out of their way to make this right, even though the failure was through no fault of their own. The company(Pyramid), even went so far as to schedule a pick up date at my home to exchange the rifle(at no cost), because I was having difficulty printing a shipping label that they were sending me. These guys and gals are the best. I will not go somewhere else. Thank you all Pyramid. This rifle would be a five in every category, had it not been "defective".
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jerry from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good shooter right out of the box. Shoulders well,locks up tight, good balance.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a better scope, but the included one isn't bad. Trigger has a long pull, but that can be easily fixed. Needs a way to clean the muzzle baffles if the need arises.
      What others should know:The rifle received did not have an AO scope, did not have sling swivels, and is 45 1/2 inches long. The pictured rifle apparently is the Jim Shockey Legacy and not the actual Genesis version.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By renrick from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very quiet also very little recoil because of the nitro piston,also it's a very light airgun which is a plus,works well with the crosman premier domed or hallowpoint pellets 14.66gr
      Things I would have changed:Nothing much but wish it came with a sling and a little more power,I was getting about 725fps and about 17fpe with .22cal crosman HP 14.66gr was looking for at least 800fps and about 19-20fpe with a 14.66gr but 17fpe is still ok
      What others should know:Once zeroed in I was on target everytime
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jennifer from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the cheek pieace is nice the weaver mounts are a nice touch the scope isnt all that bad for a bundle deal
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:it takes some time to break the gun in bout 250 shots after break in its a nice gun for the money a good starter gun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By larry from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have a hard time believing the lack of any professional reviews on the internet! I've been shooting air guns since I was about 8 years old, and I'm in my mid 40's. For the price probably the best to date. I've shot this rifle around 10,000 times. I've shot about every brand pellet you can put through it. I ended up where I started. The Benjamin discovery " ultimate Hunting Pellet Assortment. The best is the Domed Magnum, second is Hollow Point, third is Super Point, and the worst is the pointed expanding which is all over the place. I can't seem to find the Domed magnum by there self for sale so I have to keep buying the assortment. To the good stuff that needs to be told. At 30 yards, 3/4" group as many as you want to shoot. At 40 yards she starts getting a little tougher. Probably my best is 8 shots in an 1 1/4. The farthest you want to shoot this thing is about 50 yards. My best is about 8 in an 1 1/2. There are the occasional fliers that you have to look over. This is by far the quietest air gun I've ever seen. The report from the pellet is louder than the gun. It's heavy but most are.i think it helps keep the recoil down which is already better because of the gas piston. To me the trigger pull is a little long even after adjustment. It's nice to be able to leave it cocked, I'm still weird about it because all of the springers I've had. Slightly smoother than a springer with less vibration. I think it's all the air gun you can get for the money.
      Things I would have changed:I wish this gun could have been bought without the scope. The one that came wasn't bad, I just like my own preference. I never mounted the scope that came with it. Went with a 4x16x40 shockproof,waterproof, dust proof, lighted reticle. These guns need super tough scopes, I can't stress this enough. Without any sights it's a must. A so so scope will keep you shooting in circles trying to zero and you will never stop adjusting. You might get it close for a while and then it's off again so get a really good scope. No matter how good the rifle, with a crappy scope you have nothing.
      What others should know:Every air gun is different, these are just my opinions, which to me are important because it's the first thing I look for before making a purchase.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top