Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin HB17 reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By zipnzim from USA on 2008-02-03 04:02:14

    Things I liked:Powerful. Accurate. Durable. Serviceable. Scopeable. You can charge these up and wait all day for the shot you want to take.
    Things I would have changed:The triggers are a little rough but they smooth up with use.
    What others should know:You can service these without special tools. Crosman/Benjamin are happy to sell parts. These are somewhat easier to shoot accurately than the CO2 versions due to the greater length and mass out front. You can buy a lot of pellets for the $ you will save over guns that will not provide the Service and/or Satisfaction one of these will!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By peter from United Kingdom on 2011-10-22 11:21:35

    Things I liked:solid wood and metal consruction
    Things I would have changed:this was my first pump action air gun and they are just too much hassle too noisy when pumping poor sights
    What others should know:too much effort, when you can get a pneumatic that will do the same job for much less effort i just don't see the point of this gun
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By peter from United Kingdom on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:solid wood and metal consruction
      Things I would have changed:this was my first pump action air gun and they are just too much hassle too noisy when pumping poor sights
      What others should know:too much effort, when you can get a pneumatic that will do the same job for much less effort i just don't see the point of this gun
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Mark from USA on 2011-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol does have a nice feel about it. Also there is the nastalgia factor. However, the honeymoon will be over quickly.
      Things I would have changed:My gun shot consistantly to the left. The rear sight cannot be moved enough to help. The trigger is creepy and rough. The paint flaked off in my hands almost immediatly. The pin that holds the pump handle missed the other side when driven through and flared out the metal. The overall fit and finish is poor,nothing like an original Benjamin. For the money spent I was not happy. I told Crosman if they are not going to do this model right they shouldn't do it at all.
      What others should know:I returned the gun to Pyramid and the were very professional and understanding. They gave a full refund. I purchased a Crosman 2300T. I am very pleased this this gun and will review it soon. For the money spent the 2300 is a much better buy!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2010-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Classic design, no plastic, all metal and wood. Accurate. Nice fun classic gun.
      Things I would have changed:The slot on the rear sight is rather wide in reference to the front sight width. I dealt with this by fitting the 272 intermount, medium rings and the BSA 2x20 scope. Much more fun with an accurate sight on this accurate gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No plastic, accurate.
      Things I would have changed:It is what it is, a classic.
      What others should know:You'll get pretty tired of pumping this thing up for full power. Better buy, in my estimation, is the RWS LP 8. One "pump" for about the same power. Based on my experience, more accurate as well. This may be attributed to the weight and longer barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kien from USA on 2010-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Noise level was rated a 3 but really should be a 2. Very quiet even at 8 pumps. Gun is well made and feel solid in hand.
      Things I would have changed:quite a work out to pump but will get use to it - wish loading is better like that of my crosman 2260
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2009-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I find it easy to pump but my teenage daughters have to struggle a bit so might be a bit much for kids to pump. Very accurate and trigger is wearing in very well with a light break at about 75 pellets thru it. All in all a great value and a well made pistol. I really enjoy shooting and plinking with it.
      Things I would have changed:I did not thankfully have to make a windage adjustment as that is a very weak point in the pistols design. But OTOH this is a classic american design that goes back some 50+ years and things like the rear sight are part of its charm. So I really do not expect them to change the design ever. A great classic pistol. Get one before they decide to stop making it in favor of the cheaper to product plastic pistols.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2009-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very high quality and very well made. Solid gun and very accurate. Not really all that hard to pump, but harder than 1377.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change would be a better rear sight. I gave up adjusting the windage and mounted a NcStar dovetail mount holo sight. Works perfectly!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2009-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everthing. This is my all-time favorite air pistol. I have had mine for 16 years, back when they were nickel plated instead of black, and it has never let me down, despite some very hard usage and sheer incompetence on my part. The HB17 is easy to pump and is about as powerful a pnuematic air pistol as you can find. It is accurate beyond belief, and made so solidly that I doubt it will ever have problems. It's a big and heavy air pistol - but very well balanced. Wood and metal construction ensure a long life - with proper maintenance. The tigger is smooth and fairly light. The sights (despite what some say) are excellent. This gun will shoot way better than you or I can. And for a very long time.
      Things I would have changed:Not a damn thing.
      What others should know:The pistol comes in .22 caliber as well - but the .22 is very hard to pump. Still it is very powerful and every bit as accurate as its .177 counterpart. You can't go wrong with either.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2009-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is highly accurate, with no kick. Good, solid construction. Amazing power.
      Things I would have changed:I would give this gun a fatter front sight, as it is blade thin. The grip is also a wee bit thin my hand would like a more substantial hold.
      What others should know:I had to modify the rear sight, because otherwise it couldn't be adjusted to hit far enough to the left.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert Derr from USA on 2009-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun works much better than than I thought it would. It's accurate and well made. I added the BSA dot scope and it makes accuracy easier to achive. I highly reccomend the HB17.
      Things I would have changed:A rifle type bolt action receiver would be better.
      What others should know:the right handgrip was loose- I gently/ slowly tightened the screw and it corrected the problem.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Foster from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction , all metal and wood .....has a great substantial feel in the hand . I'm able to consistantly shoot great groups at 10 yards with just the sights on the gun , and power is good .
      Things I would have changed:would be nice if the bolt mechanism was more like the Crosman 1377 pistol
      What others should know:Nice soild piece of workmanship ....works very well and feels like it'll last forever , which if it's anything like the Benjamin rifles i've had experience with it probably will.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cameron from USA on 2009-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol is very high quality, especialy because it is all metal and wood with no plastic. Its tough and very durable. It will last a long time if you take care of it. It shoots great at 5 pumps with 8 pumps being its max. Sights are fully adjustable with windage and elevation and the gun is very accurite. I was able to hit coke cans at 10 yards every shot. 20 yards would be a piece of cake. It would be worth putting the scope intermount adaptor on to use a scope. The wooden grip is very comftorble and looks nice on a gun like this.
      Things I would have changed:I would change how difficult it is to pump, but then it probably wouldnt be able to be as strong as it is now.
      What others should know:I bought this gun a week ago and noticed how hard it was to pump when I first took it out of the box. In the first day my arm was sore from pumping but I kept on using it throughout the week and it became easier on me. You learn new ways to position it so it becomes easier to pump and your arm gets stronger to make it easier also. I love this gun and think it is way worth the money. Its like they always say too, you get what you pay for and you get it good with this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By zipnzim from USA on 2008-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful. Accurate. Durable. Serviceable. Scopeable. You can charge these up and wait all day for the shot you want to take.
      Things I would have changed:The triggers are a little rough but they smooth up with use.
      What others should know:You can service these without special tools. Crosman/Benjamin are happy to sell parts. These are somewhat easier to shoot accurately than the CO2 versions due to the greater length and mass out front. You can buy a lot of pellets for the $ you will save over guns that will not provide the Service and/or Satisfaction one of these will!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top