Date: 24/8/2016 15:57
0

Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29 12:11:44

Things I liked: This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!

Things I would have changed: Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.

What others should know: Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-17 07:50:29

Things I liked: Its a Benjamin and its nitro

Things I would have changed: Better sighting system a longer trigger adjustment screw in a little less weight forward

What others should know: This is a tough one the gun is promising with post - 600 feet per second but Benjamin needs to go back to the drawing board on this one

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregg from USA on 2016-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice gun at a good price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2016-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a wonderful air gun I had to adjust the rear site all the way to the right for dead on shooting

    Things I would have changed: Sights

    What others should know: Good value for the money. Break barrel so you don't have to buy C02 '

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built and solid feeling.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is a large heavy air pistol that few holsters fit it with the barrel cap on.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ease of use. Easy sight adjustment. seems to be consistent. Good value for the money

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull is difficult. adjustment doesn't improve travel nor creep. Very hard pull. Haven't weighed trigger pull.

    What others should know: Pyramyd air Very good. Quick shipping and information.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By steve from USA on 2016-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very robust gun, virtually kid-proof. Smooth and powerful. Tactical look. Mostly steel parts, even the end cap and rear sight. Basically a cut-down rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control. Better trigger.

    What others should know: I got the one that's called 'remanufactured' and soon found out why. The rear sight could not be adusted high enough to make up for the barrel angle. So I installed a reflex sight. At one point I was getting 1" groups @10m, but lost it. Again, I think it has to do with barrel lock-up, a common problem with break-barrel guns. There is an adjustment for that, but it didn't work for me. The trigger pull was long and stagey, but there is an easy fix. Just re-install the adjustment screw upside down on the trigger so the round head bears on the transfer bar. Dremel a screwdriver slot on the small end.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Gas Piston delivers consistent power, from 50' the accuracy was only OK with 3" groups of 10 rounds with the shots going both low or high depending on how much force the breach is closed with.

    Things I would have changed: Tighten the barrel closing spec's

    What others should know: Good for plinking, I wouldn't trust the accuracy to hunt anything with it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy cocking, fun to shoot, and it accepts almost every pellet you give it. Tight fit for Sig Saur copper plated rounds and HP.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sight easier to remove. I had to use a rotary tool to take mine off.

    What others should know: Even though it's not very powerful, it does shoot consistently.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By craig from USA on 2016-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The no need for a CO2, Easy cocking, the power , the price, the balance, the low report, the cocking assist that I leave on all the time and shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The factory should sight this gun in better before it is put out for sale. I have had to turn the rear sight at least 4 full turns just to get it near the bull.

    What others should know: This is a heavy gun. I am making my own wooden X support so I have a bull hit every time. In the manual it states better to not adjust the trigger , for me this was untrue. I adjusted the trigger and now get a nice even squeeze, nice and smooth. Great shooting to all Thank You Craig

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By craig from USA on 2016-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like it as no CO2 is needed and no cheap seal to leak. Hold it with two hands and on something good accuracy out of the box. Cocking it is ok also.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, so far so good.

    What others should know: Sights are very bright, wish every gun came with them. The feel of a small rifle. I named it my " Dirty Harry" about the same size in length.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By thepaladin from USA on 2016-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well, I see some don't care for this one. I have only shot mine a few times but it works well. I was shooting Daisy Precision Lead Free Was Cutters and shooting at a very close range (I shoot mostly indoors now as I'm disabled ). I have an indoor range for BB and Pellet pistols and shoot mostly from 10 to 15 feet. That said, the gun began shooting low but the adjustment worked well and (at least at the closer range) is very accurate and consistent.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the rear sight was a little better and possibly that they had grooved the receiver or added a rail so a low power scope could be added easily.

    What others should know: The cocking assist barrel extension is a little "cheap" and I was careful so as not to break it. Once it's on you pretty much need to leave it there as (again) it feels a little "light".

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2016-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Velocity and accuracy for the price. Very easy to cock with the cocking aid!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger has a terribly long and spongy travel. Needs to be reworked! I tried using the adjustment screw behind the trigger but it was already turned all the way in and when I backed it out a couple of turns, it only made the trigger worse! I have read that others say it's a two stage trigger but I couldn't feel it! I also could not get it to hit to point of aim with the cocking aid not attached to the gun. However, it shot 50 to 75fps faster with it OFF of the gun. The solution was to chuck the rear sight and put a red dot on it! Now I get consistent 3/4" groups at 10 yds. with the Crosman 7.4 grain pointed pellet and around 550 fps. This was the most accurate and highest penetration pellet out of the dozen or so I tried and it's inexpensive!

    What others should know: The pointed Crosman pellet out penetrated the slower heavier Gamo Rocket pellets with the metal tip and the much lighter and faster Gamo PBA ammo in this gun through both wood and sheet steel. As always, try as many different pellets as you can to see which one your gun likes best! Also found that you can use the muzzle end of the cocking aid to safely cock the gun thus eliminating the need to attach and detach every time I cock it. See above as to why I don't leave it permanently attached!

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By birdleggs from USA on 2016-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like Benjamin guns. But this thing is crap, they need to go back to the drawing board on this one. the back sight is all twisted to one side, the trigger pull is more like 12 pound than 7. the weight is all up front. they say it will shot 625fps and it will only shot 400fps. and mine after just seven shots would not cock after that. I am in the process of sending mine back and never want to see another one. i have two benjamin trail np rifles,a 950 fps and a 1100fps and like them alot.

    Things I would have changed: just about ever thing

    What others should know: No for i think they know allready.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2015-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well, I like the concept of using a 'NP' (nitrogen piston) instead of a metal spring. My understanding is, unlike the metal spring, if you forget to UNLOAD the tension from the piston, there should be no negative repercussions. The metal spring would be likely to weaken from the prolonged compression. Unfortunately, the 'reconditioned' Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol I paid for seemed to still have issues. So I ended-up returning the thing.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight seemed to be unable to adjust for enough HEIGHT at distances over around 40-50 feet.

    What others should know: Yeah_ stay away from RECONDITIONED air guns just to save a few bucks; not worth the possible aggravation ;-) . I have to commend 'Pyramid Air' for "DOING THE RIGHT THING" by allowing me to send the thing back on THEIR nickle and giving me the choice for either an exchange, a refund or store credit. HOORAY FOR THEM! Now, if I can just get them to spell 'pyramid' the correct way...? - hee hee hee

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really enjoy

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy from Pyrimid Air

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a fun gun to shoot, easy to load and quite powerful considering the small size of the nitro piston. It has a long site radius which contributes to it being fairly accurate and certainly a great can killer at 15 to 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: The air gun I purchased was "remanufactured" and appeared to be in new-type condition. Upon test firing, I found that the plastic or nylon seal allowed a great deal of the air to escape straight up between the barrel and the main tube junction. I added two duct tape donuts (the same size and shape as the seal) to the back of the seal which solved the air leak problem. There was a marked increase in velocity as well as a rise in the point of impact.

    What others should know: Although the air gun looks better without the cocking aid, I leave mine on all the time as it is difficult to cock the gun without it.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2015-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate out of the box, especially after replacing rear site with red dot scope. (rear site comes off with a some careful prying, left to right)

    Things I would have changed: It's heavy, requires steadying, especially with the heavy inconsistent trigger pull. Longer adjustment screw tends to jam cocking and may defeat safety. If the trigger pull were improved it would be awesome.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2015-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its a Benjamin and its nitro

    Things I would have changed: Better sighting system a longer trigger adjustment screw in a little less weight forward

    What others should know: This is a tough one the gun is promising with post - 600 feet per second but Benjamin needs to go back to the drawing board on this one

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this pistol from another retailer because I had a gift card, otherwise I would have bought from Pyramid. I was intrigued by the nitro piston as I have an Umarex Fuel rifle which I really enjoy shooting. Turns out this pistol is a lot of fun too. I did not have a problem with the stock sites and it was easy to get the rear site adjusted for targets at 10 to 20 yards. Much more powerful than the CO2 pistols that I have. Single shot is slow and deliberate but much slower in burning through pellets. It puts a good whacking to tin cans.

    Things I would have changed: The grip texture, particularly in the front is very aggressive. I cut a section of a 26" mountain bike tube and slid it over the grip. Much better.

    What others should know: I got a good deal on a red dot and wanted to mount it on this pistol and found the same problem as the gentleman in a previous post. It seemed that the rear site was crimped on. I was able to pry it off with some effort and luckily no damage to the tube. The red dot works very well with this pistol and adds another dimension of fun. You can't beat this thing for the price. I am thinking of getting another for our family Christmas gift swap.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By FRED from USA on 2015-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My review on this gun disappeared somehow. I like the nitrous piston power plant, cocks fairly easily with the cock assist, nice grip and trigger, glo sights are nice touch. Overall, not a bad gun and fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: They should mention in the instructions how to sight this gun. Lots of complaints about the sights being worthless. Not true from my experience. I also think the cocking assist should be integral to the barrel or a better means of cocking. Would also be better to have an automatic safety so beginning shooters do not have accidental discharge, but they also can be trained to pay a bit more attention to make sure of safety with this gun before they get into shooting powder powered arms.

    What others should know: As I mentioned in my prior review, I called the manufacturer (Crosman) about the low shooting issue and they said to move the rear sight about a half inch forward. Worked like a charm and no need to be hacking away on the sights or changing out screws designed to work with this firearm. This is not a very powerful pistol, but it would be great for silhouette shooting and plinking in general.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got a great deal on this gun locally, last one they had marked 1/2 off. Shoots smooth and quiet. Easy to cock with supplied handle.

    Things I would have changed: The screw on rear sight needs to be longer. I ran out of adjustment and the gun still shoots low with the cocking handle attached. Get rid of the FO sights.

    What others should know: To me this gun feels unbalanced and muzzle heavy. It is also quite large compared to my Webley Tempest. The grip surface is fairly sharp and started to bother my hand after a while. If you remove the cocking handle the POI will raise about 2" and the shooting low problem goes away. The gun will be harder to cock but not too bad. The trigger.....well, this is an inexpensive gun, don't expect too much. My best group of the day at 20' was 1" offhand. Many times it would put 3 shots into a tiny cluster then put the other 2 an inch away. Not sure if it's the gun or my meager pistol shooting abilities. After about 200 shots for break in I put 10 Crosman 7.3 gr pellets over the chrony and got a high of 539 fps, low of 514 fps, with an average of 529 fps. Overall, a fun gun to play with, has no problem perforating cans, fairly accurate, and quiet.

  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation