Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Adam from USA on 2013-04-20 00:15:46

    Things I liked:Piston fire; dovetail; gorgeous sights; long trigger pull; smooth trigger (after break in); visually attractive
    Things I would have changed:Despite being smooth and crisp the trigger is too heavy. Ideally should be around 4lbs. The front sight is located much too high: in order to get sighted in I had to put the rear sight as high as possible AND move it all the way forward on the dovetail...which only lasted a little while as there's no sight stop.
    What others should know:I've had this pistol on [back] order since May 2012 and it finally came out April 2013. The long wait was worth it as now that I've broken her in she's everything I expected her to be. You should know a few things: First, she's heavy. That should be obvious since it's a piston fire and it shoots over 500fps. It's also quite large. Keep that in mind - this is sized and weighted for an adult. Secondly she shoots low without the helper handle, even lower with the helper handle. For mounting a scope I had to get an elevation adjustable mount. Third, the break in took me upwards of 400 shots. This is the most it's ever taken me to break in a pellet gun. I was getting quite frustrated but glad I stayed at it. Fourth, it requires a loose grip to be accurate. That has been a challenge in and of itself due to the weight of the pistol and the heavy trigger. Yes adding a scope compounded getting used to firing it accurately. Lastly, it took me a while to figure it out but to use the helper handle to cock it without firing with it mounted...turn it around and slip the front end over the end of the barrel. It took me a while to figure that one out as I don't see it mentioned in the instructions. Overall this pistol is everything I was hoping it would be. I wanted something powerful and accurate enough for the smallest game and she performs.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:2

    By Jimb from USA on 2014-04-01 22:43:49

    Things I liked:Looks good and feels good in the hand. Balance isn't bad
    Things I would have changed:NO power. pellets bounced off of aluminum cans.
    What others should know:Less than 20 pellets through it, but it should have more power than this. If you are buying this hoping for pest control airpistol, look elsewhere.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By steve from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel of the grip. I like that there is almost no recoil.(spring torque)I like how quiet the gun is. Very accurate for price!
      Things I would have changed:The Fiber sights are nice looking but adjustments are not as good as they should be. The trigger needs to be lighter with shorter pull and less creep. The barrel extension could have been designed better
      What others should know:Great gun with a lot of potential for little money.you have to put up with these problems or correct them yourself. The latter is what I did!
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Jimb from USA on 2014-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good and feels good in the hand. Balance isn't bad
      Things I would have changed:NO power. pellets bounced off of aluminum cans.
      What others should know:Less than 20 pellets through it, but it should have more power than this. If you are buying this hoping for pest control airpistol, look elsewhere.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built. Durable. Pretty accurate. Very quiet. Good velocity. Definitely a solid gun.
      Things I would have changed:The sights! I am shooting low no matter how I adjust the sight. I adjusted the rear sight as high as I possibly could and I am still shooting low. This is the only flaw about this gun. But in my opinion, it's a big one.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be a quality made pistol. So far accuracy is acceptable. Trigger pull isn't bad at all.
      What others should know:Breaking the barrel open without the aid/extension attached is a little tough. This is also a little top heavy.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!
      Things I would have changed:Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.
      What others should know:Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive. Robust, if rough. Shoots about the same speed as my Beeman P1(Beeman exaggerates the performance of the P1) Pretty heavy, but then my buddys' Trail NP is pretty heavy too.
      Things I would have changed:There definitely IS pronounced barrel drop. I pretty much removed the fiber optic part of the front sight to lower it enough to get enough adjustment out of the rear sight to "sight in". The breech seal is way too long, is what causes the pronounced barrel drop. But for $75, I'm not going to be the one to experiment with finding a better fit. I bought this to plink with. Don't have that many rounds through it yet, so can't comment on what I think is the inherent accuracy potential.
      What others should know:Nitro-Piston, Inert Gas Spring guns, have rendered the Spring-Piston types, obsolete. For Crosmans NP guns that have the parts available, a fresh gas piston is not very expensive, and the mechanical complexity of installation is reduced over Spring/Piston Seal replacement, though the preload on the gas piston is higher than the equivalent spring type. For a starter gun that is inexpensive enough to practice airsmithing techniques on, it's hard to beat.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By cyril from USA on 2013-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:accurate out of the box. Glow sights light up nicely. Not too heavy. Appears well built.
      Things I would have changed:Safety seems a little cheap. Should be auto after cocking. Grip is not hand friendly and tends to bite in the unsmooth areas. Had to get a rubber grip cover. Now it feels great.
      What others should know:Read the reviews, but took the chance. Glad I did.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2013-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price - Power. This gun is alot of fun once you remove the rear sight and add a red dot!!! No Co2 to buy!
      Things I would have changed:Horrible trigger. Have to remove rear sight and add a red dot in order to make this gun functional.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Heavy and feels well made but looks are deceiving.
      Things I would have changed:Look at the picture you can see the barrel droop which causes the gun to shoot low beyond the adjustment of the sites. Would have changed that for sure..
      What others should know:I put a cheap scope on it and had to shim the rear end of the scope mount to compensate for barrel droop. Now im hitting cans at 20 yards. Trigger is terrible hard and long not good for accuracy.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      21 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nothing.
      Things I would have changed:Better sights and less droop.
      What others should know:Big, heavy and awkward. Stay away but if you want to buy mine let me know:)
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By DENNIS from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:nothing
      Things I would have changed:everything..very big hand gun very heavy after a 200 shot.these hand gun couldnt even kill a rat at 10 feet
      What others should know:i would not buy these gun for your kid to hard to handle.big waste of your money
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By 1nmartin from USA on 2013-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nitro Piston technology. This gun has a very smooth firing cycle. Very smooth cocking action.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is awkwardly front heavy. Not very well balanced. Trigger is gritty, and when coupled with the awkward balance it is very difficult to remain on target. The gun feels toyish because of so much plastic.
      What others should know:If you just want to shoot cans in the backyard at relatively short ranges, 20 yds max, then this gun is ok. I would say the accuracy is not acceptable for hunting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice pistol. I really like the Nitro Piston power plant. I checked the velocity with a few different pellet types and it delivers. I have only shot about 50 rounds and the accuracy is quite good already. A fun pistol to shoot and has a nice trigger. With the use of the cocking assist adapter, it is quite easy to cock. Just tap down 1st, then break it down full stroke to load the pellet. The cocking assist adapter can stay in place while you shoot.
      Things I would have changed:It comes with nice fiber optic sights, but I would have liked for the opening on the rear sight to be a little tighter. With that said, I am already considering a red dot sight because the pistols accuracy is better than my vision with open sights.
      What others should know:Note that the elevation adjustment is opposite of what is stated in the documentation. The pistol is made in China, not sure we can blame them for this error.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By NaQuan from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Man just got this gun today and i gotta admit it exceeded my expectations by far!!! Based on reviews and research i thought this gun was gonna be a chore to shoot accurately but it was the opposite, mine came sniper accurate right out the box!! Cocking effort is minimal at best and for the power it generates this gun is extremely quiet, this is like a nephew of my browning 800 cause it's slighty smaller. Crosman nailed this one it's a total blast to shoot, thanks Pyramid Air for such prompt delivery!!!
      Things I would have changed:would have liked to see this gun come with auto safety like my browning 800 express but for 80 bucks and the nirto piston your not gonna hear mr complain!!!
      What others should know:You must give the tip of cocking aid a firm tap to break the barrel so you can fully cock the gun, and this gun seemed to love the crosman super match premiers and the rws hobbies!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Cady from USA on 2013-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      21 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this gun with the 10 shot test for 10 bucks. Don't know if I'm lucky, money well spent or maybe Pyramid picked through till they found a good one. Anyways my gun actually shot high at 10 yards and I was able to dial it down with no problem in fact I went to far and had to bring it back up. First day I was shooting quarter to half dollar groupings at 10 yards which is good for my poor old eyes. Day 2 mounted a bsa pistol scope on it and now it's shooting 10 the size of a dime. This is not a red dot but one with crosshairs I had on my Benji. eb22. I did this off a rest and the pistol only has about 60 rounds through it. There's no way I could shoot this gun that good freehand with the trigger the way it is I have cut the trigger creep in half by turning the screw in hopefully it will soften up in time or there will be some kind of mod. for it. If it were not for the bad trigger which crosman is well known for I would have easily given it 5 stars. Hopefully they will listen to the people and fix it.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger!!!
      What others should know:Buy from Pyramid, use the 10 for 10 test, supper fast shipping ordered one day had it the next!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Dave from USA on 2013-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After about 600 shots its broken in pretty good it shoots cosistant 1/2 groups at 20 feet with all Crossman pellets premiers, destroyers and premier mags the cocking needs you to develop the right technique and once you do its ok and you don't need the handle the finish is good and the grip is great the fiber optic sight is very visible and gives a good sight picture
      Things I would have changed:trigger works but is rough and long pull [I mean longer then a double action trigger on a revolver]the good news is that you can polish it smooth but that long pull keeps you wondering and waiting but I guess that it makes for learning good control. the sights shoot so low that it was 3 inchs low at the highest adjustment at 15 feet I sawed 1/4 of a inch out of the center of the front sight and J B epoxyed it back and now I can use a 6 oclock hold at mid adjustment on the rear sight. I sure hope the Crossman people can get the sight problem fixed before this gun gets a bad rep.
      What others should know:it took quite a bit of tuning on the trigger and sights to get them right if you cant do it you aint going to be happy if you decide to lower the front sight leave enough ramp under the fiber optic to be able to reattach it JB weld works great.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that it is a Nitro Piston powered pistol. The stock sites are easily seen. Accuracy is good after the break in. Very fast and powerful for a pistol.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is horrible, it takes a lot of concentration to keep from pulling the pistol while squeezing the trigger. The front site needs to be lower, my rear site is adjusted to full elevation and the pistol is accurate to 30 feet.
      What others should know:If this will be your first experience with a handgun, this is not the pistol to buy because of the heavy trigger pull.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By tempest from USA on 2013-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Interesting application of a nitro piston in an air pistol. After modification of the front sight, reasonably accurate. The action gets smooth fairly quickly with use. Fairly quiet for its power level. Should make a good adult utility pistol around the farm or similar applications.
      Things I would have changed:The front sight needs to be lower as others have pointed out. There were two areas of bluing that had been touched up at the factory. Beyond that, it seems to be a simple durable large air pistol at low cost. I am puzzled at the use of the Benjamin name rather than just Crosman on these. I have long considered Benjamin to be a step up in materials (wood and brass)from Crosman's more utilitarian models (plastic and castings).
      What others should know:Most of the things that I would have issues with on this design are also benefits. It is large (the cocking aid should be considered a permanent fixture)and heavy (same weight and about 7" shorter than a Crosman 1377 with a shoulder stock mounted) but the weight helps cancel out much of the recoil, which aids accuracy. The ponderous size allows for good leverage in cocking. The trigger pull is long but gets smoother with use, feels almost like a smooth DA revolver.There are smaller/lighter guns at this power level, but not at this price point--with the exception of the already mentioned Crosman 1377/1322 (of which everyone should own an example).
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Red from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made and strong. Adjustable rear sights are great and power is good.
      Things I would have changed:Loudness.
      What others should know:Excellent pistol here at my beginning journey with it. Nothing appears "cheap" about it. Be advised that it is a fairly loud gun and will/can draw attention of neighbors if nearby.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By JOHN from USA on 2013-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots good Very accurate
      Things I would have changed:Needs a better trigger
    • 1234 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold