Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29 12:11:44

    Things I liked:This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!
    Things I would have changed:Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.
    What others should know:Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Jimb from USA on 2014-04-01 22:43:49

    Things I liked:Looks good and feels good in the hand. Balance isn't bad
    Things I would have changed:NO power. pellets bounced off of aluminum cans.
    What others should know:Less than 20 pellets through it, but it should have more power than this. If you are buying this hoping for pest control airpistol, look elsewhere.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Stacey from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid feel, reasonably powerful for a pistol.
      Things I would have changed:The common knowledge regarding this gun is the deplorable stock sights, and I agree with that sentiment. I couldn't get the stock sites adjusted far enough to compensate for the extreme low-shooting tendencies for the gun. I've since purchased a 2x pistol scope and I've found I have to adjust to its limits to compensate as well and I'm not sure I'll ever be able to get it zero-ed completely, which is disappointing. Another issues is the trigger - it's a l-o-o-ong and somewhat rough pull, which means you really have to manage your trigger pull to keep it on-target.
      What others should know:I want to like this gun and it has some good things going for it, like the gas piston technology and the durable feel of the plastic. Long story short, I wouldn't buy it again if given the opportunity since I think I could spend the same money on a different pistol and have a more satisfactory experience.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bert from USA on 2014-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Once break-in period is complete accuracy becomes excellent.
      Things I would have changed:add shoulder stock
      What others should know:weight and balance problems must be over come to obtain superior accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:power and its quiet after break in
      Things I would have changed:the directions that come with the gun - trigger - but i have not tried to adjust yet.
      What others should know:i have put about 400 pellets throughout it - once broken in ( mine at about 300) you need to tighten gun up i also got a seemly sudden power drop - do this test out of the box and after break in -lay a piece of tissue paper across breech and fire a pellet. if it blows a hole through tissue - order a shim or shims from crosman ( free if in warranty ) and maybe a seal for out of warranty guns or if you damage it pulling it out item 9 part # B22-00-1 ( shim ) item 10 part# B22-00-14 (sealing Ring) my guns groups went from shooting low to dead on. i have read reviews from other users complaining of same issues - low groups - low power and is where i read about the tissue test. I used a two layers of packing tape before i discovered the shims in the parts diagram from crosman and placed it behind the seal and solved my issues. Gun shoots as advertised quiet and accurate at the 33 feet. I also slide the rear blade site forward - i found it better for my farsighted eyes.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2014-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and power for a pistol are good. 500 shots and its fairly accurate sub 1" with or with out the cocking assist on the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is well lest just say bad. The rear sight is useless the whole sight system needs to be redone.
      What others should know: Go buy a couple of M3 screws 1/8" and 1/4" longer than the one now in the trigger adjustment. Use a file to round the head of the new screw and add a tiny bit of moly to the tip you just rounded try to put the new screw in without loosing the little dab of grease. You can now adjust the trigger to a hair if you want to. I wouldn't but that will help the trigger pull a lot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jesse from USA on 2014-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The nitro piston is a good selling point. I like the dovetail for the rear sight so you can add a red dot or a scope. i also like the weight it is a little heavy but that's the way I think it should be it does not feel like a toy or as if it will fall apart in your hand.
      Things I would have changed:I think that the cocking assist should have been part of the barrel. The trigger could be lighter or adjustable.
      What others should know:I put a red dot sight on mine. The trigger takes time to get use to it. I have killed 2 rabbits and 5 squirrels with it. I have shot about 500 pellets out of it. Just practice and find the magic pellet for you gun. Have fun practice makes perfect.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet Nitro Piston, fun single shot.
      Things I would have changed:Remove the rear sight, as adjustment is not possible with thread length to accurately use the rear sight with out using a hold over.
      What others should know:Put a scope on this after firing a few hundred rounds thru it and watch out. Use crosman premieres and with a little practice this gun shoots nice groups. To the negative comments I say this - you need to shoot the gun to learn how it shoots. And my gun fires thru cans and cardboard boxes all day long, if your gun does not there is something wrong with it and contact crosman they have great service personnel.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2014-07-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock
      Things I would have changed:Quality control. This gun did not come with a rear sight. Luckily I had a rear sight from an old tech force gun that fit it. So my rear sight s clearly marked in chinese. Fitting since these are made in china sellout products
      What others should know:It's an American gun label. Is it too much to ask that they are made in America? Maybe a bit of quality control is in order, make sure the customer gets the whole gun?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have owned and shot this pistol now for a year now and still enjoy shooting it. The pistol will shoot more accurately than I am capable of shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Lower the front site. I used a longer screw so the rear site could be elevated more.
      What others should know:It took about 200 pellets for the pistol to start settling in.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By JASON from USA on 2014-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The little extention tube that helps you cock it is a good idea.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is horrible! Guessing about 10 to 12 pound trigger my scale maxed out at 8. For being a nitro spring power was very disappointing it wouldn't even shoot through a cardboard box with the recommendation pellets. I'm going to try some of the Gamo gold platinum hopefully a 4 gram pellet will preform better.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2014-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The grip and overall feel. Well constructed especially for the price. Accuracy is great at close range even if it is a little difficult to shoot due to size
      Things I would have changed:Power is good for a pistol but still a little too low. Difficult to shoot through a can depending on pellets used.
      What others should know:Extremely fun but heavy. Use a rest to test accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By geoff from Canada on 2014-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING. I am 48, cut my teeth on my fathers' slavia pistol in the 70's. I am getting 485 fps with 7.9g pointed crosmans. I have always put the the red dot of the front blade ON the target i want to hit and then put the red dot right on top of the rear sight forming a triangle with the green, red, and green fibre optics. I used to use 'whiteout' as a kid. Makes for quick target acquisition! NO BULL, I can shoot through a pop can at 25 paces non stop. Until I run out of pellets!
      Things I would have changed:Like others have said, lower front sight, AND with a hood! Cocking effort is not an issue for adults and I have no use for the "aid". A .22 or .20 variant would be a blast too!
      What others should know:For less than a benjamin, you can get THIS fine pistol, 500 rounds and a case to keep it in! Since it is a nitropiston, i keep mine 'broken' and in the case with no ill effect. AND THEN... you put a multi tac red dot OR laser on it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By eugene from USA on 2014-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:good value for the price. A plinker not a target pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Shoots low even when elevation adjustment is a its limit. Front sight too high. Trigger better after 1500 shots but still only fair.
      What others should know:Need a longer screw for rear sight elevation adjustment or shim. Cannot use 6 o'clock hold. Put blade on target. Fun to shoot. With a little hold over I can consistently hit my center fire steel targets at 45 yards. My gun likes H&N crow magnums 9.26g. I am fairly happy with the gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall a decent buy. Good power and ergonomics. Not bad for the price.
      Things I would have changed:The forward weight is a bit much unless you double-hand it.
      What others should know:Just for fun I made a removable butt-stock made of aluminum bar-stock bent to my liking, exiting from the bottom/rear of the pistol grip. Now it's much more accurate, but then why didn't I buy a rifle? Now I have a choice and quickly convertible. The trigger is getting better every 100 rds.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By steve from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel of the grip. I like that there is almost no recoil.(spring torque)I like how quiet the gun is. Very accurate for price!
      Things I would have changed:The Fiber sights are nice looking but adjustments are not as good as they should be. The trigger needs to be lighter with shorter pull and less creep. The barrel extension could have been designed better
      What others should know:Great gun with a lot of potential for little money.you have to put up with these problems or correct them yourself. The latter is what I did!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Jimb from USA on 2014-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good and feels good in the hand. Balance isn't bad
      Things I would have changed:NO power. pellets bounced off of aluminum cans.
      What others should know:Less than 20 pellets through it, but it should have more power than this. If you are buying this hoping for pest control airpistol, look elsewhere.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built. Durable. Pretty accurate. Very quiet. Good velocity. Definitely a solid gun.
      Things I would have changed:The sights! I am shooting low no matter how I adjust the sight. I adjusted the rear sight as high as I possibly could and I am still shooting low. This is the only flaw about this gun. But in my opinion, it's a big one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be a quality made pistol. So far accuracy is acceptable. Trigger pull isn't bad at all.
      What others should know:Breaking the barrel open without the aid/extension attached is a little tough. This is also a little top heavy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!
      Things I would have changed:Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.
      What others should know:Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ZipnZim from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive. Robust, if rough. Shoots about the same speed as my Beeman P1(Beeman exaggerates the performance of the P1) Pretty heavy, but then my buddys' Trail NP is pretty heavy too.
      Things I would have changed:There definitely IS pronounced barrel drop. I pretty much removed the fiber optic part of the front sight to lower it enough to get enough adjustment out of the rear sight to "sight in". The breech seal is way too long, is what causes the pronounced barrel drop. But for $75, I'm not going to be the one to experiment with finding a better fit. I bought this to plink with. Don't have that many rounds through it yet, so can't comment on what I think is the inherent accuracy potential.
      What others should know:Nitro-Piston, Inert Gas Spring guns, have rendered the Spring-Piston types, obsolete. For Crosmans NP guns that have the parts available, a fresh gas piston is not very expensive, and the mechanical complexity of installation is reduced over Spring/Piston Seal replacement, though the preload on the gas piston is higher than the equivalent spring type. For a starter gun that is inexpensive enough to practice airsmithing techniques on, it's hard to beat.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By cyril from USA on 2013-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:accurate out of the box. Glow sights light up nicely. Not too heavy. Appears well built.
      Things I would have changed:Safety seems a little cheap. Should be auto after cocking. Grip is not hand friendly and tends to bite in the unsmooth areas. Had to get a rubber grip cover. Now it feels great.
      What others should know:Read the reviews, but took the chance. Glad I did.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top