Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2011-09-24 00:36:33

Things I liked:Velocity, accuracy, scope, sound, pistol grip stock, kill power.
Things I would have changed:Nothing, NOT even the trigger.
What others should know:Some people here are having trouble hitting the target with this rifle so here are my observations after shooting daily with this in .177 for a month... 1) Do not fire this from a rigid bench rest as the big recoil will cause this rifle to bounce even if locked in 2) Use a sand or bean bag to rest your hand on then rest the rifle forend on your hand as this will reduce any bounce 3) With the .177 pellet use the Crosman Magnum Dome 10.5 grains - lighter pellets will be traveling too fast for accuracy 4) After shooting more than a thousand rounds I can consistently hit 8 out of 10 in a one inch circle at 20 yards. While shooting one day a fly landed on my target & I hit it - again at 20 yards 5) I have taken out 9 raccoons with brain shots and several smaller pests with body shots - chipmunks, sparrows, rats, & mice 6) Hold the forend just in front of the trigger to reduce bounce from the recoil 7) This rifle has a big recoil because of the extra power and the shooter needs to learn the right touch to handle this without throwing off accuracy. The artillery hold didn't work for me so I use a semi-firm grip - just enough to hold the crosshairs steady while squeezing the trigger 8) Buy an offset Phillips screwdriver at your local hardware store to adjust the travel and tension of the trigger - you DON'T have to remove the stock. Many people have complained about the 2 stage trigger but I like it...squeeze, adjust aim, squeeze, fire. I have forty years experience as a shooter.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Greg from USA on 2014-07-04 10:56:51

Things I liked:Nothing!
Things I would have changed:I wanted a break barrel pellet gun for plinking and small game hunting. The Benjamin seemed to be a good choice. My father has an old Sheridan /Silver Streak that is a dream to shoot. Nice trigger pull and very accurate. He even put an expensive redfield scope on the gun. I was expecting a similar experience. Not to be. This gun is heavy, slow and the trigger pull is absolutely horrible!! You can't hold the gun off hand to hit the broad side of a barn with that trigger. I shoot centerfire rifles competitively and my trigger is smooth and makes accuracy more obtainable. There is no way with this trigger that you can shoot this air rifle off hand with any accuracy at all. You just can't depend on the gun firing with such a lag and inconsistent trigger travel.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By jake from USA on 2015-07-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:like the look, very dependable gun and with right ammo incredibly accurate
    Things I would have changed:make it lighter
    What others should know:love this gun foer small game and target . reccommend rws and h and n ammo with it
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Christian from USA on 2015-06-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:After one year of ownership, and many tins of pellets through the gun, I know I got a lot of gun for my money even though two upgrades (scope and trigger) were needed to make my 177 truly enjoyable. Very quiet (backyard friendly!), not very fussy about pellets but really likes RWS SD, H&N FTT and JSB MDE. With these I get close to 1" groups at 30 yards which I consider good for a gun at this price point. Sighted in at 20 yards there is a flat trajectory out to almost 40 yards. ThCocking effort is ok for a couple of hours of target shooting but definitely not kid friendly. Power is outstanding. Do not think for a second that you need a 22 for humane hunting of rabbit or squirrel at a distance that allows accurate head shots-about 30 yards for me. Very dependable, doesn't recoil much so I have no trouble with bolts or scope screws coming loose or scope moving in the rings or reticle splitting or rotating.
    Things I would have changed:Needs better trigger. The trigger blade is a bit too close to the pistol grip for my hand. An unscoped version at a lower price would be nice. The Centerpoint scope isn't bad, it is actually pretty good considering the entire package is about $200, but it is a budget scope and you know it once you've looked through a nice scope.
    What others should know:Don't expect this $200 gun to perform like a $1500 PCP. But it is fun to shoot and I am very happy with its performance and perfect reliability. Medium weight pellets in the 8-9 gr range provide flat trajectory and more than enough power. Maybe this will go on a closeout sale soon as the NP2 is an updated replacement. I would still choose the NP if you're planning on using the bundled scope at all because only the NP has an AO scope.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Chris from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Full disclosure, I'm a new air gunner. But like a lot of newbies, I did my homework before I bought my first one. And I have to say, I love this Trail in .22 caliber! The all-weather stock is not "plasticky." It's more like a heavy rubber that feels great. It's not hollow, and it has a nice texture. The bull barrel is very good at silencing the gun. It cocks smooth and light. The weaver rail is really nice, and the included scope works very well for me. Sure, it's not top of the line, but the picture is clear at all magnification levels. And the mil dots are nice for range estimation. The gun is plenty powerful, with minimal recoil. Mine likes to be held right in front of the trigger guard. I have found that it doesn't mind a firm grip on the stock or solid pressure at the shoulder. But it does require a light touch on the pistol grip. As long as I don't grip it hard around the trigger, it shoots straight. Of course, your gun might be different.
    Things I would have changed:You know what I'm going to say. The trigger is miserable! I went with a DIY modification that makes it perfect for me. Other than that, there's nothing I would change about this gun.
    What others should know:So how does it shoot? Well, I can tell you that my gun doesn't like Crosman ammo. I tried the hollow points, domes, and pointed. Then I found a seller on ebay that sells 25-pellet samples for a couple of bucks. If you buy more than one, he combines shipping. So I was able to test a dozen different pellets for under $30. That's way better than buying a tin of each one. So what did I try? JSB wasn't any good. H&N FTT? Nope. Barracuda? Nope. The Beeman Crow Magnums shoot OK. But my gun's favorite pellet is the RWS Super H-Point. With that, I get dime sized groups at 10 yards consistently. As an air gun noob, I'm pretty happy with that. My goal is to keep practicing and eventually get the same size groups at 20 and 30 yards. I am quite confident that the Benji can handle it. If you're on the fence about this one, I say go for it. You're getting a lot of gun for the money here. And Pyramyd Air is awesome!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By jeremy from USA on 2015-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The weight is really nice the Bull barrel is cool and it is helpful because if you want you can grab the very end of the barrel to cock it.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing...
    What others should know:Remember that there is a break in period it took me about 40 rounds to break it in..happy airgunning and buy this rifle..
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Roger from USA on 2015-01-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the 8lb. weight of this rifle which gives me a more realistic practice of a large bore Deer rifle. The fundamentals of good markmanship are exactly the same. The only difference is this rifle is really cheap to shoot. After break-in this Trail NP becomes very accurate. I'm shooting 10.5 gr. ultra magnum pellets. At 40 ft. on the rest pencil size groups are common, with the center shot out. The Center-Point Scope has quality far beyond whats needed for this rifle. I like it a lot.
    Things I would have changed:I did have to make one change for myself. I have small hands and my trigger finger kept sliding down to the bottom of the trigger. Early on this hirt my accuracy. I corrected things by installing a trigger shoe. Now my finger stays in the same spot everytime. No trigger show is made to fit the wider width. I used a Crosman 1377 (for pistols) trigger shoe and milled it to the width necessary for a perfect fit. It can be removed by allen wrench to take the stock off. Makes a really very nice trigger pull.
    What others should know:If you are on a limited budget, but want a pellet rifle that shoots like a higher end model, then give this Trail NP a try.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By tom two rufles from USA on 2014-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is very good quality. It is a good value for the cost. The scope seems to work well. The stock is very comfortable and it points well.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is definitely horrible. There is a lengthy gap from start to let off. Adjustment doesn't seem to work.
    What others should know:Accuracy is not the best. The owners manual states that there is a break-in period of 100+ shots. I hope that is so.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DERRICK from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I can't see why this rifle is getting such bad reviews. Right out of the box I was shooting 1/2" groups at 30 yds and zeroed the scope with 10 rounds. It's a little heavier than it needs to be but contributes to stability. Squirrels are very troublesome in my neighborhood and since I have a small pine grove in my yard, every morning is target practice. I just open my window,load a Gamo Rocket, and the little turds quickly meet a much deserved end. I just bought this little firestick about a week ago and the body count is up to seventeen(17).
    Things I would have changed:I do agree that the trigger could have been better (I would have paid more money for that), but I've adjusted to it.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Caracara from USA on 2014-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The solid stock has nicely Knurled hand holds. It is so totally quiet. I can shoot between the neighbors house and mine and they don't notice. The built in Weaver rail makes it easier* to mount a scope. The cocking effort feels like it is about 30 lbs.
    Things I would have changed:I'm not sure I like the balance. It seems to be heavier towards the butt stock. There is a significant [Barrel Droop] on mine so that I had to shim up the rear of the scope to get in the ballpark. Also, I don't like that I am addicted to shooting it. I'm not getting any work done. I'll have to loan it to my kid brother. He's much more responsible than I am.
    What others should know:If I needed to hit something hard over fifty yards away, I'd be grabbing my GAMO .177 Bull Whisper Extreme, not this. Closer ranges? Sure. I like throwing the .22 caliber lead around.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Neo from South Africa on 2014-09-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the accuracy of this air rifle. Just shoot 1 000 or so in it and wala you have a nice accurate hunting air rifle. This one likes JSB Exact Diabolo 8.44 gr in .177. I get grouping which are a size of a 10 cent in South African currency.
    Things I would have changed:Things to change 1. Trigger, put in a GRT III trigger. 2. Gas Ram, put in a Air Venturi gas ram. 3. Scope place a nice decent scope.
    What others should know:By replacing the gas ram you will reduce the fps to 900/850 and get well over 12 fpe which means you will have a better chance of killing a rabbit better than the English man who go under the 12 fpe. You can make this rifle your project puppy by even changing the stock into something fancy like a laminated stock with raising cheek piece and adjustable butt pads. JOIN US AT www.airrifle.co.za to see why we love PYRAMID AIR and why we buy from them.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By james from USA on 2014-08-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality gun. Hits hard in 22cal. Super accurate after only 100 shots. 10 shots in 1 in circle at 20 yds. Is really quiet. Gun is not too heavy, feels good.
    Things I would have changed:Pistol grip is a little too close. Trigger is horrible right now. Hope it gets lighter after complete breakin. Will probably upgrade the scope to a Leapers later.
    What others should know:I put blue locktite on screws on barrel, stock, trigger housing and all mounting screws on scope before taking the first shot. Ran bore snake through the barrel a few times also. 1st shot 8 in high n wide at 15 yds. Took 5 shots for 1 in group. After 100 shots shooting 1 1/2 in groups at 25 yds with 10 shot groups even with the horrible trigger. Using the crossman hollow point 14.3 gr that came free with the gun. I am really impressed with this gun. Don't believe you can get a better gun for the price. The trigger has to get better with breakin, right now the gun is still incredibly accurate even with the trigger pull that will wear you out. If it doesn't come around there are trigger upgrades most notably with Charlie da tuna! the centerpoint scope is ok for the price. Seems to be holding good right now. after the first few shots the gun really became quiet. Definitely a good buy on quality, accuracy n price.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Buddy from USA on 2014-07-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:accurate
    Things I would have changed:wait for an np 2 and see if it is better
    What others should know:well worth the money
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By steve haggard from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I am still working on breaking the gun in but when I find out the best pellet, look out pests.
    Things I would have changed:Better quality control and inspection. The stock bolts were all loose.
    What others should know:It is a good air riffle and I wanted to try a NP gun in 22. I don't think it will measure up to my 1986 Beeman R1 but we will see.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Greg from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nothing!
    Things I would have changed:I wanted a break barrel pellet gun for plinking and small game hunting. The Benjamin seemed to be a good choice. My father has an old Sheridan /Silver Streak that is a dream to shoot. Nice trigger pull and very accurate. He even put an expensive redfield scope on the gun. I was expecting a similar experience. Not to be. This gun is heavy, slow and the trigger pull is absolutely horrible!! You can't hold the gun off hand to hit the broad side of a barn with that trigger. I shoot centerfire rifles competitively and my trigger is smooth and makes accuracy more obtainable. There is no way with this trigger that you can shoot this air rifle off hand with any accuracy at all. You just can't depend on the gun firing with such a lag and inconsistent trigger travel.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Emil from USA on 2014-07-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really like the scope on this rifle. It has a very clear image and the Adjustable Objective makes it very easy to get a very clear picture of what you're shooting at. Another thing I liked was how solid the stock felt. It is a little bulky, but I believe this is actually a good thing. More mass means more stable rifle and less recoil.
    Things I would have changed:I'd revise the trigger. Performing the roller bearing / bushing mod does wanders to the factory trigger which is extremely logn, rough and heavy. While you're at it, also remove the spring that makes the trigger heavy. My rifle had extreme barrel droop. I'd max out the scope and could still not getting to hit point of aim. The problem was due to the Alive Jam wedging the Detent between itself and the breech block and at that point the barrel was sloping down. I fixed this by grindin the underside of the breech-block which alowed the barrel to rotate further up before the alive jam locked it. Now when my barel is locked, the breech face is actually resting against the compression tube which makes the barrel point visibly up. This is fine, but those components should have been manufactured to much better tolerances. Breech-block washers.... these are a joke. Made out of plastic that gets squished when you install the barrel, the plastic actually galls and gets damaged.
    What others should know:My gun took a looooong time to brake in. It literally required 500 shots, so if you're buying, order at least one tin of Crosman Premieres and go through them pretty quick. Overall, I think I need to wrap that gun around a tree. I knew it was not going to be perfect but there is pretty much nothing that is done right. Accuracy is still mediocre, the guns appears to be pretty hold-sensitive and I ever ran out of space in the "Things I would change" section of the comments. The inside of the compression tube is rough and the piston was rough and was scratching against the compr. tube inside. Don't even want to start about the gunk that I found inside. Even after brake-in the gun is still doing 600fps with 14gr pellets. That's plenty of power for squirels, but is far from what's advertised. Oh, btw... when you run a pellet down the bore, the pellet takes more effort to pass through certain parts of the barrel. Gust like with other Crosmans that I have - the barrel is of terrible quality.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By George from USA on 2014-05-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Just received the gun,have shoot it about a hundred times so far and it keeps getting more accurate. Getting a good 1 inch pattern at 25 yard now? I feel it will only get better as it gets broke in.if you are thinking of getting a pellet gun at a good value this is the one to buy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-04-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Weaver Mount are great as when I order a leapers scope most of the time I have to order a set of 11mm dovetail rings but instead im fine. The Quietness of the gun
    Things I would have changed: Quality control needs to get better. I took mine apart and ordered all new parts from crosmans and installed them myself. It brought the gun up to 18 fpe with 18.1 grn JSBs. The trigger is the standard Crosman Trigger. I opt and purchased a grt III trigger. For me the stock is also hard to do the artillery hold as i like to put my hand right in front of the trigger guard but with this gun I can never get the exact same spot. So I switched the stock for a synthetic stock I have at home. The scope isnt all that great...it will get you started. I purchased a Hawke Varmint 3-12x44 and it was a great combo.
    What others should know: Try the H&N pellets...JSB's are also working very well.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Timothy from USA on 2014-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I purchased one of these rifles in May of 2013, and have been very pleased with it's overall performance. When mine arrived the barrel was filthy. This is a common complaint with these rifles. The factory trigger was absolutely worthless as you could not adjust it to a point that the pull/release was consistent and therefore it wouldn't hold a group better than 3" at 20 yards. I purchased a Charlie DaTuna aftermarket trigger for it for under $40, and I can definitely say that it was well worth doing so. I also applied a very light coating of gun grease to the cocking lever pivots, bear trap lever, and trigger assembly. This was time well spent, as it not only makes it easier to cock, but also improves trigger performance. I would recommend that you purchase pellets in variety packs to see which ones work best in your rifle. It does take several hundred shots to get the rifle broken in. Mine works best with H&N Baracuda Green 12.5 gr alloy pellets. I tried several different brands/types of lead pellets in it and just could not get the same performance as I do with the alloy ones. I can now hold a 1/2" to 3/4" group at 20 yards. While some people complain about the scope, I didn't have any problem with mine.
    Things I would have changed:Number 1 would be the trigger. The factory trigger would work better as a small paperweight than as a trigger. Spend the money on a Charlie DaTuna trigger--you will be glad you did. It would be nice if Crosman supplied a sling for them also.
    What others should know:I liked this rifle so much, that I purchased a Benjamin Trail NP XL 1100 a few months later. I went through the same problems with it as I did with the Trail NP. I did have to return the scope that came with it for a replacement. They are both a lot of fun to shoot. The Trail NP is much easier to cock, and I would definitely recommend this rifle to both junior and adult shooters. Be warned--DON'T fool yourself into thinking because these are pellet rifles that they aren't as dangerous as a powder firearms. They will shoot through 1/2 " marine grade plywood at 30 yards! Also, ALWAYS maintain a solid grip on both the barrel and stock while loading to prevent the barrel from accidentally slamming closed in the event the trigger would disengage. I would recommend this rifle or the NP XL 1100 to anyone. Once you spend a little time working out the quirks, and determining which pellets work best in your rifle you will really enjoy either of these rifles. I just wish that the state of Pennsylvania would allow hunters to use air rifles, because these would be great to hunt small game.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ronald from USA on 2014-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great shooting gun like the feel of the pistol grip.like the looks of the gun accuracy is good when you find the right pellet.which is the crosman dome pellet for my gun
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:When you find the right hold very nice shooing gun.happy with my purchase at pyramid air
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Decker from USA on 2014-03-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have only shot about 100 rounds with it,very accurate at 25 yards so far quarter size groups with the jbs 7.84gr going to try jbs 8.4gr when they show up .it pumps smooth,and it feels every bit of 30lbs to cock it, reason I went with this rifle was for the better scope. I knew if I went with gamo whisper fusion or bone collector the scope would have been in the garbage and I would have to pay another $120.00 for a scope and most likely a barrel droop compensate scope mount another $60.00 cause even the scope rings on the gamo have lots of problems so I spent $200.00 instead of having $400.00 plus wrapped up in a gamo.this is so far a very nice rifle.
    Things I would have changed:nothing yet
    What others should know:when I received this rifle 1st thing I did was cleaned the barrel. I could not believe the how dirty it was brand new out of the box..So no matter what you buy you just have to clean them barrels 1st before your 1st shot.also if you use the hoppies #9 solvent dont get any of that stuff on you seals it will eat um up..
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2014-03-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really love this rifle. I recently returned from a trip too Texas, my wifes family has a lot of land and provided a rare opportunity to test the rifles limits at distance. To make a long story short, this babys got some reach! After zeroing it for 50 yrds hiting a ceramic doll or soda can at 100 yrds or more was no problem. Even in heavy wind it managed to stay well on target using crosman hollow points.
    Things I would have changed:This rifle deserves a better scope. I used a mildot scope made by center point. Works very well with this rifle. I was dropping starlings at 90 yrds with a updated scope.
    What others should know:Proper rifle shooting techniques are required for this rifle to shoot straight. You seasoned break barrel shooter will have no problem getting her on target.
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top