Browning Leverage Air Rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Paul H. from USA on 2012-07-17 18:09:49

Things I liked:Just about everything. This is one incredible air rifle for the money. Yes, made in China, however under Browning specs. Browning is very fussy what they attach their name to, which is why I bought this product. Groups under 1" at 35 yards are common. I first used the RWS Superpoint 8.2 gr which grouped well using a pro rifle rest, however with an occassional flyer. So I switched to a heavier pellets for more stabilization, using the Beeman Silver Arrow 11.57 gr, and the Crossman Ultra Magnum 10.5 gr. Wow, no more flyers. I was putting pellets into pellet holes, with both groups under 1" at 35 yards. Cocking was done easily at 28 pounds. The more you shoot this rifle the better it gets. I am into it now for 1100-1200 rounds. The Picatinny rail is definitely the route to go, makes dovetail type receivers so inferior. Scope mounts locked in solid, no drift whatsoever. Scope was also very high quality, crystal clear with the AO, that held zero like a rock. Safety was smooth, got better during break in. Trigger was stiff, however smoothed out over use. Perfect for my use, pest control. Kill 2 woodchucks with it, one at 25 yards, the other at 30+ yards, both with 1 shot. Now picking off field mice at 35 yards off my better half's suet cakes hanging on the fence. I've paid a LOT more for less quality air rifles over the years. This is one well built unit, which is well designed. I'm very impressed with this rifle and I've been sellng guns for 30+ years as an FFL dealer.
Things I would have changed:The wood stock. Would have preferred a streamlined synthetic stock to keep the weight and bulk down. I do not use open sights, so I also would have preferred none at all. I removed the rear open sight and replacaed the open screw holes with screws that fit flush with the barrel, creating a nice clean look.
What others should know:I highly recommend this rifle, period. You won't find a better unit for anywhere near $200 I can assure you that. One tip, when you mount the provided scope, place the rear ring on the last slot on the Picatinny rail, and your front ring on the 4th slot from the front. This will allow you easy access to the breach to load your pellets even with the biggest fingers like mine. It will also provide the majority of shooters the perfect eye relief from the provided scope. Give yourself time to get use to it if your are coming from using a break barrel type rifle and you will adapt nicely. The accuracy of this rifle will blow you away, just incredible. It is also a very quiet rifle, mine did not "twang". The muzzle jump was not noticeable either, a real smooth shooter. Though it's a little heavy at 8.6 pounds, the majority of fixed barrel rifles weigh even more. The Gamo CFX model is lighter, however no where near the quality of this rifle (I own one). However the weight will work for you, helping you to maintain steadiness on those long 40+ yard shots. I strongly recommend using the heavier weight pellets to maintain pellet flight stability. The more you shoot this rifle, the more you will LOVE it. Out of all the air rifles I have bought over the years (14+), this one is one incredible rifle for the money. I will obtain another one now in 22 cal., I am that impressed with it. This rifle is truly an exceptional deal. Thank you Browning for another GREAT product, well done.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Fred from USA on 2015-07-20 19:46:40

Things I liked:This gun has potential: It is accurate and reasonably powerful but there are serious quality problem with the two Leverages I have owned.
Things I would have changed:Improve the quality. Guns should not be full of rust when new. Guns should last more than 3000 shots. In addition to the rust problem, the cocking lever get stuck, the trigger failed, and the pins in the trigger assembly and cocking lever fall out.
What others should know:This gun is not built to last. The first one lasted 3000 shots. I returned the gun to Umarex, and they sent me a second one that lasted one week! If you are serious about air guns, spend the extra money and buy an Diana 34 or a TX200.
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Fred from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun has potential: It is accurate and reasonably powerful but there are serious quality problem with the two Leverages I have owned.
    Things I would have changed:Improve the quality. Guns should not be full of rust when new. Guns should last more than 3000 shots. In addition to the rust problem, the cocking lever get stuck, the trigger failed, and the pins in the trigger assembly and cocking lever fall out.
    What others should know:This gun is not built to last. The first one lasted 3000 shots. I returned the gun to Umarex, and they sent me a second one that lasted one week! If you are serious about air guns, spend the extra money and buy an Diana 34 or a TX200.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mark from USA on 2015-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, heavy weight, low cocking effort. This rifle reminds me of the Remington .22 target rifle I used as a teen, (and my club made it to the NRA nationals at Camp Perry my last year), which had a heavy stock and heavy barrel. I wasn't that big as a teenager and trying to hold that beast steady offhand was impossible! But prone, sitting and kneeling, upper 90's and several 100's scored. This Browning Leverage was ordered with the Pyramid test firing and scope sighting, so I didn't have to fiddle with the usual mount and zeroing game. As of this review, I have only fired five shots, but all were within a 3/4 inch circle at 30 feet without effort on my part yet to get to know the trigger or proper hold for the rifle. Can't wait until the rifle is broken in. The AO scope is nice, although focus is clear from 30 to 125 feet when set at 6X without adjustment so I'm not using the feature at these short ranges.
    Things I would have changed:Too much oil from the factory! With the chamber open to load my first pellet my hand came out with oil all over it. I'm debating taking the stock off and looking at the insides to see if there is more evidence of oil but will hold off for now. I did run a Hoppes bore snake through a couple times and it came out pretty dirty so plan to do more thorough barrel cleaning before my next firing run. Then I will remove scope ring and mount screws one at a time, add some blue loctite and hope things remain stable. Pyramid shimmed the rear scope mount with semi-flexible material so I may go with a compensating Weaver/Picatinny rail later after I measure how much compensation is needed. I will upgrade to mil dot scope later, just because that's what I prefer.
    What others should know:Just be prepared for the slightly over 10 pound weight with scope mounted, especially if purchasing for a smaller person. The weight is a bit more than your average under $200 air rifle. If I were hunting I'd definitely plan on adding sling swivels and a sling after the warranty period expires. Also, the safety operates in the opposite direction of most air rifles with the safety as a smaller trigger in front of the trigger. Seems backwards to have to pull the safety back to fire, your finger has to drag under the safety to pull the trigger.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Fred from USA on 2015-05-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Browning Leverage is a real tack driver for $200. Good precision and accuracy. I shot 1/2-3/4 inch ctc groups at 25 and 30 yards with Air Arms 8.4 gr dome pellets on a relatively calm day. A good scope comes with the gun. This spring-piston gun is not real hold-sensitive, which is a real plus for me, since I am new to shooting spring piston guns. Once I shot 70 rounds, cocking the gun became quite smooth and muzzle report became quiet. Cocking effort is a reasonable 28 pounds: I can cock and shoot this gun all day long and not get tired (and I am a retired old guy!). I bought this gun because I'm too cheap to buy an Air Arms TX200 or a PCP air gun. This gun shoots almost as well as my friends PCP air gun, and the Leverage is still breaking in!
    Things I would have changed:This gun is heavy (10 pounds with the scope), but this is probably one reason why the gun is not hold-sensitive. Cocking was real crunchy’ and the gun’s report is loud for the first 70 shots. Bad dieseling for the first 10 shots, with some dieseling after 200 shots. The trigger is still rather heavy for the first 500 shots, and seems to be lightening up a bit the more I shoot the gun. There is fair amount of trigger creep, but the trigger lets off predictably. Spring and lever hinges did not appear to be lubricated out of the box. Open sights partially block the scope field of view (although this did not appreciably degrade the image). One of the screws that holds the action on the stock was over-tight, and took some work to remove.
    What others should know:This gun is a real bargain for 200 dollars, and once broken in, it is a real pleasure to shoot. However, the buyer should take the stock off and lightly lube the gun spring, lever hinges and the trigger. Also clean the bore prior to using the gun for the first time, and after the first 70 shots with some Goo Gone on the patch, followed by a few dry patches. Loading the breach can be a little intimidating at first, but after the first 20 or so shot, it will become second-nature. I use the 'artillery hold' for the most accurate shots with the 8.4 gr pellets, but a light hold at the balance point of the fore arm of the stock does improve the accuracy when 10.3 gr pellets are used. The best pellets I have found were Air Arms 8.4 gr domed pellets, followed by JSB 8.44 gr pellets. Forget about light pellet (less than 8 gr): The grouping are 2 at 25 yards. I also suggest putting some mild car wax, such as Turtle Wax, on the stock: This really improves the appearance of the gun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dan from USA on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy out of the box in the first 40 shots was outstanding. 10 meters left me with a 50 cent piece size shredded hole. Gun is hefty but comfortable to shoot. Early impressions are very good for the price point.
    Things I would have changed:For some reason, the scope came with the left right adjustment nearly bottomed out to the right. I could see the side of the inner body of the scope. Not sure why the factory would do that, nor do I know why it would be shipped that way. I saw the issue when I looked through the scope before I mounted it. Again, why would it be shipped that way to me. It is fine now that it is mounted and adjusted and is holding zero well. But still......?
    What others should know:The trigger has a lot of creep but lets off very nicely. I have not tried any adjustments yet. I have focused on break in and accuracy for the most part. I will do the trigger during my next session on the bench and report back at that time.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary Deitrick from USA on 2015-03-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The feel and ease of cocking are good but this is my first underlever so I have nothing to compare to. For the cost I feel I did get my moneys worth. Pyramyd Air has a good web sight and was easy to order.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice for an extra fee they would offer an adjustable trigger.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very impressed with the accuracy right out of box using pellets my wife bought at the grocery store. 3" groups at 30 yards with out scope and I shake a lot. The fiber optic sights are awesome, the scope may never get mounted. It is a bit heavy but I believe that helps muffle my shaking. Loading the pellets is very easy, unlike some reviews I have read prior to my purchase. Perhaps with the scope mounted the loading could become more difficult?? Pyramyd Air did a great job of processing and shipping. I received the air rifle in three days, and that was over the Thanksgiving Day weekend Black Friday / Ciber Monday and all!!! One review I read said to beware of your fingers getting pinched when cocking the gun >> I'm old and not real coordinated and I had no issue or fear of the pinching issue. Now that I'm prepared, I have not seen one Woodpecker on my wooden house. I believe the word has spread throughout the forest.
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING
    What others should know:Buy this Air Gun before the word gets out and the price increases.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By russ from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Takes care of marauding squirrels just fine once sited properly. This is my first air gun at 52 yrs old. I have had sporting guns throughout the years though. And reading all the online content on the sport, i am hooked. I think this is a good start as I wanted a fixed barrel springer. But could not afford a TX200 for a first rifle. Grouping quarter size at 30yds. And dime or smaller at 20 with various rounds from a bench. I liked the style in the image and the under lever style action. The scope was workable. I shoot it more accurately with open sites when off hand. I can't settle in with the scope when off hand. But any prop will do to stabilize. Oh yea. had to do the coke can shim under the rear scope mount. I needed two layers. Workes great and stays put. I get an ultrasonic crack with wadcutters. But is much quieter with 9 to 11.5g pellets.
    Things I would have changed:The stock is like holding a brick. I completely reshaped mine to reflect some other models that I like. God knows there is plenty of wood to work with. Ill see if there is somewhere here to post pics. The finger clearance in the breech of course. I also reworked my breech to look like that of the TX200. Works perfectly. And easy hand machining work for almost anyone. (note to manufacturer.) No reason they cannot retool this area. The stock to action fit up internally was just sloppy. Nothing in line and off radially and for and aft as well. Had to do selective carving, plugging, re- drilling etc. to make a proper fit up. That plastic fitting at the muzzle was rotated at least 5deg. Glad it had a set screw to reset it. I know that the factory had to use cnc equipment on this stock. How the internal machining was off .o40in. from the center of the stock is puzzling. And sweetening up some of the design details would make this a better seller. Plastic trigger guard. Really?
    What others should know:Just do not expect perfection out of the box. I did not as I have taken heed to other reviews before buying. So i did not get frustrated and return it with bad reviews. But i just love it now. If you like to tinker. This gun has so much potential. I have only 12 hours in all the rework I did and it shoots more accurately, sounds better, solid. No twang of vibrating stock. And just feels sexy in the hand.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Allan S. Kaplan from USA on 2014-09-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems to be very accurate. Good construction.
    Things I would have changed:Way to heavy. Also too loud. I have big hands and it is difficult for me to load the gun even with the scope set back as far as possible. I would have been better off with a break barrel air gun even if it were less accurate.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By pa.oldman from USA on 2014-08-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy,included scope is quite good,open sights,easy to cock,wood stock.
    Things I would have changed:This is a very heavy gun (10lbs.with included rings) wish it was lighter.
    What others should know:Out of the it was pushing 7.0gr RWS R10 Match pellets super sonic. The gun has only about 200 rounds through it now but is breaking in nicely, 5.56gr H&N Field Target Trophy Green av 1014 fps and on the other end 13.43gr JSB Match Exact Monster Diablo av 726.6 fps. I am now getting dime size groups at 25 yards most of the time. The trigger breaks very cleanly. Although the included scope is nice I mounted a UTG 3-12x44 Accusshot Swat scope and had no trouble with droop using the rings that UTG supplied with the scope.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By john a. from USA on 2014-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this rifle is very well made, and very solid.fit and finish is very nice.the accuracy of this gun makes me look good, because I am by no means an expert shooter.plenty of knock down power for small game.the included scope is more then ample for the casual shooter.for the price this cannot be beat.
    Things I would have changed:not a thing
    What others should know:this gun is heavy and takes a little getting used to,but once you do you will not want to put it down.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent quality, well-made, accurate, great scope, accurate shooting pellet rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The gun is extremely heavy.
    What others should know:Having to make the buying decision again, I would opt for a non-wood, lightweight stock.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Joe from USA on 2014-06-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.04 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The stock is nice.
    Things I would have changed:It needs a nitro piston. It is horribly inaccurate. I have only found one brand of pellets that are remotely accurate. Browning should take their name off of it. It could be used to pry open old car doors.
    What others should know:Save your money go down and buy a Crossman 760 it will be more accurate!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kenneth from USA on 2014-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate. Plenty of power. Easy to cock. Light Trigger pull.
    Things I would have changed:Needs a droop compensating mount.
    What others should know:Buy it just for the scope.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Khorgan from USA on 2014-03-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have this gun for about a year now and I wonder why I never produced a review about it. Actually is better like that, as now I'm absolutely sure of what I know about the gun and it's performance. Mine is in .177 caliber, and I use it to target practice and plinking as I don't hunt. I love everything about this gun. The looks, the feel in your hands, the power, and above all the accuracy. Right now, and since I started shooting PCP guns, this is the only spring powered gun I still own and I don't intend to sell or give away like I did to all the others I had. I'm not going to say its accuracy is like the PCP guns, but is very, very close. It came with a very decent scope; - however, after a few days I upgraded it to a 3-12x44 AO Swat Leapers with 30 mm tube and relocated the original scope to an Airsoft sniper. With this scope I can hit the bull's eye from 50 feet away over and over, and I can shoot empty bottles of beer from 75 yards away. For 200 Dollars there is no better deal. With a fraction of the cost, you get a level of accurate precision you can only find in Pre-Charged Pneumatic guns and this one you don't have to fill the reservoir before shooting. The cocking effort is less than 30 pounds and the gun works fine with a long list of different pellets with different weights. I actually never found a pellet this gun didn't like. Light pellets tend to go a little to the left in my experience. (but still on target) This gun has a significant recoil but nothing you cannot get used to very fast, and the scope is installed on a weaver/picatinny platform and after one year I never had to re-zero it or make any adjustment although I use this gun at least once a week. I advise to not get discouraged by the fact that this gun is made in China. (Actually everything is made in China these days) This gun is made under Browning License and Browning must be very attentive to the manufacture process as I couldn't find one single aspect or detail showing lack of quality in the making of this product.
    Things I would have changed:This gun is heavy (about 9 Lbs) and being an Underlever I don't see any way to install a sling to carry it but that's not a deal breaker.
    What others should know:This gun is a pleasure to shoot. If you intend to shoot longer distances than 40/50 yards, you should consider upgrade the scope to a mill dot one.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ken from USA on 2014-03-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked: I bought this rifle after reading other reviews. I was a little disappointed because of the group size, but it is a springer and I am used to my PCPs. After almost a month of shooting it was getting worst. I bought this rifle to teach the grandson how too shoot with sights but used the scope to find the best pellet. When I took the scope off I shot much better groups so I started looking for the problem. In fifty years of shooting I had never seen a scope tube get loose. When I called Pyramyd air there was no questions asked except if I wanted a refund or replacement. Well it's a replacement and I can't wait to set it up. I have a disco, M-rod and a 909s but I found myself shooting this Browning the most. I guess it's takes a little more to do it right.
    Things I would have changed:They need to do a video on this gun.
    What others should know:I'm getting pretty old but with sights I was able to shoot paint balls almost every time with this rifle. JSB 15 grain pellets seemed to work the best. It is hard to find a co. that is willing to go the extra mile for their customers. I have never been disappointed by Pyramyd Air.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mark from USA on 2014-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is my first air gun, so I don't have a lot of experience but I must say that I was very impressed with the performance of this gun. Imagine my surprise when the first shot over the chronograph registered 800.5 fps with standard weight ammo. Velocities have dropped off a little as the gun is breaking in but they are still doing very well. I bought the gun to keep in practice during these cold snowy winter months. I only have a 10 yard range in my basement but from a good steady rest it will put five shots in one ragged hole on target each and every time. This gun is hard hitting and accurate.
    Things I would have changed:The fit and finish of this rifle is very good and it feels very solid. The only thing that I would consider changing is the safety. The safety lever is located in the trigger guard as is the case with most air guns. On one occasion when I was first getting used to the gun, I reached out to release the safety in the trigger guard and hit the trigger. To release the automatic safety, you pull the safety lever towards the trigger. In doing so, my finger slipped from the safety and I inadvertently hit the trigger and the gun fired prematurely. Fortunately, I was pointed at the target at the time. I think that it would be safer if the safety release moved away from the trigger rather than toward it. I am now overly cautious when releasing the safety on this gun.
    What others should know:Finally, I have nothing but praises and good things to say about Pyramyd Air. The rifle order was delivered promptly but it had a defective trigger. I called and got a return authorization and they even paid for the return freight. In a few days a replacement was delivered and it works perfectly. Thanks Pyramyd Air for the prompt and courteous service. Great Job!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Tim from USA on 2014-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Absolutely the most accurate air rifle I have ever shot, able to hit a quarter, penny, and even the head off an action figure from 50 yards+ consistently.
    Things I would have changed:There really isn't much room to put in the pellet with the scope mounted. I had to mount mine pretty far back. I would also modify or add a section on the front of the stock for a bipod attachment that will not interfere with the lever.
    What others should know:Pyramid is the best place to buy it. Great service and very professional.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2013-11-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy is great for price good solid gun. Comes with good scope and fixed barrel
    Things I would have changed:Action could be smoother but after broke in not bad.
    What others should know:Backyard shooters on a tight budget this is a great gun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jun from USA on 2013-11-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very beautiful rifle. Very accurate. Good weight and stable.
    Things I would have changed:Due to the chamber location and position relative to the scope, it is difficult to insert cleaning pellets. You really have to squeeze the sides of the pellets and once the end is inserted, you need a pick to insert the cleaning pellet.
    What others should know:My rifle is very accurate with the RWS Meisterkugeln pellets
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kendo from USA on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a solid rifle living up to the Browning Brand. I got the rifle sighted in after only 7 shots.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:no
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top