Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Browning Leverage Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Paul H. from USA on 2012-07-17 18:09:49

    Things I liked:Just about everything. This is one incredible air rifle for the money. Yes, made in China, however under Browning specs. Browning is very fussy what they attach their name to, which is why I bought this product. Groups under 1" at 35 yards are common. I first used the RWS Superpoint 8.2 gr which grouped well using a pro rifle rest, however with an occassional flyer. So I switched to a heavier pellets for more stabilization, using the Beeman Silver Arrow 11.57 gr, and the Crossman Ultra Magnum 10.5 gr. Wow, no more flyers. I was putting pellets into pellet holes, with both groups under 1" at 35 yards. Cocking was done easily at 28 pounds. The more you shoot this rifle the better it gets. I am into it now for 1100-1200 rounds. The Picatinny rail is definitely the route to go, makes dovetail type receivers so inferior. Scope mounts locked in solid, no drift whatsoever. Scope was also very high quality, crystal clear with the AO, that held zero like a rock. Safety was smooth, got better during break in. Trigger was stiff, however smoothed out over use. Perfect for my use, pest control. Kill 2 woodchucks with it, one at 25 yards, the other at 30+ yards, both with 1 shot. Now picking off field mice at 35 yards off my better half's suet cakes hanging on the fence. I've paid a LOT more for less quality air rifles over the years. This is one well built unit, which is well designed. I'm very impressed with this rifle and I've been sellng guns for 30+ years as an FFL dealer.
    Things I would have changed:The wood stock. Would have preferred a streamlined synthetic stock to keep the weight and bulk down. I do not use open sights, so I also would have preferred none at all. I removed the rear open sight and replacaed the open screw holes with screws that fit flush with the barrel, creating a nice clean look.
    What others should know:I highly recommend this rifle, period. You won't find a better unit for anywhere near $200 I can assure you that. One tip, when you mount the provided scope, place the rear ring on the last slot on the Picatinny rail, and your front ring on the 4th slot from the front. This will allow you easy access to the breach to load your pellets even with the biggest fingers like mine. It will also provide the majority of shooters the perfect eye relief from the provided scope. Give yourself time to get use to it if your are coming from using a break barrel type rifle and you will adapt nicely. The accuracy of this rifle will blow you away, just incredible. It is also a very quiet rifle, mine did not "twang". The muzzle jump was not noticeable either, a real smooth shooter. Though it's a little heavy at 8.6 pounds, the majority of fixed barrel rifles weigh even more. The Gamo CFX model is lighter, however no where near the quality of this rifle (I own one). However the weight will work for you, helping you to maintain steadiness on those long 40+ yard shots. I strongly recommend using the heavier weight pellets to maintain pellet flight stability. The more you shoot this rifle, the more you will LOVE it. Out of all the air rifles I have bought over the years (14+), this one is one incredible rifle for the money. I will obtain another one now in 22 cal., I am that impressed with it. This rifle is truly an exceptional deal. Thank you Browning for another GREAT product, well done.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Joe from USA on 2014-06-20 12:20:25

    Things I liked:The stock is nice.
    Things I would have changed:It needs a nitro piston. It is horribly inaccurate. I have only found one brand of pellets that are remotely accurate. Browning should take their name off of it. It could be used to pry open old car doors.
    What others should know:Save your money go down and buy a Crossman 760 it will be more accurate!
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Joe from USA on 2014-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The stock is nice.
      Things I would have changed:It needs a nitro piston. It is horribly inaccurate. I have only found one brand of pellets that are remotely accurate. Browning should take their name off of it. It could be used to pry open old car doors.
      What others should know:Save your money go down and buy a Crossman 760 it will be more accurate!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate. Plenty of power. Easy to cock. Light Trigger pull.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a droop compensating mount.
      What others should know:Buy it just for the scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Khorgan from USA on 2014-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have this gun for about a year now and I wonder why I never produced a review about it. Actually is better like that, as now I'm absolutely sure of what I know about the gun and it's performance. Mine is in .177 caliber, and I use it to target practice and plinking as I don't hunt. I love everything about this gun. The looks, the feel in your hands, the power, and above all the accuracy. Right now, and since I started shooting PCP guns, this is the only spring powered gun I still own and I don't intend to sell or give away like I did to all the others I had. I'm not going to say its accuracy is like the PCP guns, but is very, very close. It came with a very decent scope; - however, after a few days I upgraded it to a 3-12x44 AO Swat Leapers with 30 mm tube and relocated the original scope to an Airsoft sniper. With this scope I can hit the bull's eye from 50 feet away over and over, and I can shoot empty bottles of beer from 75 yards away. For 200 Dollars there is no better deal. With a fraction of the cost, you get a level of accurate precision you can only find in Pre-Charged Pneumatic guns and this one you don't have to fill the reservoir before shooting. The cocking effort is less than 30 pounds and the gun works fine with a long list of different pellets with different weights. I actually never found a pellet this gun didn't like. Light pellets tend to go a little to the left in my experience. (but still on target) This gun has a significant recoil but nothing you cannot get used to very fast, and the scope is installed on a weaver/picatinny platform and after one year I never had to re-zero it or make any adjustment although I use this gun at least once a week. I advise to not get discouraged by the fact that this gun is made in China. (Actually everything is made in China these days) This gun is made under Browning License and Browning must be very attentive to the manufacture process as I couldn't find one single aspect or detail showing lack of quality in the making of this product.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is heavy (about 9 Lbs) and being an Underlever I don't see any way to install a sling to carry it but that's not a deal breaker.
      What others should know:This gun is a pleasure to shoot. If you intend to shoot longer distances than 40/50 yards, you should consider upgrade the scope to a mill dot one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Zachariah from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I bought this rifle after reading other reviews. I was a little disappointed because of the group size, but it is a springer and I am used to my PCPs. After almost a month of shooting it was getting worst. I bought this rifle to teach the grandson how too shoot with sights but used the scope to find the best pellet. When I took the scope off I shot much better groups so I started looking for the problem. In fifty years of shooting I had never seen a scope tube get loose. When I called Pyramyd air there was no questions asked except if I wanted a refund or replacement. Well it's a replacement and I can't wait to set it up. I have a disco, M-rod and a 909s but I found myself shooting this Browning the most. I guess it's takes a little more to do it right.
      Things I would have changed:They need to do a video on this gun.
      What others should know:I'm getting pretty old but with sights I was able to shoot paint balls almost every time with this rifle. JSB 15 grain pellets seemed to work the best. It is hard to find a co. that is willing to go the extra mile for their customers. I have never been disappointed by Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is my first air gun, so I don't have a lot of experience but I must say that I was very impressed with the performance of this gun. Imagine my surprise when the first shot over the chronograph registered 800.5 fps with standard weight ammo. Velocities have dropped off a little as the gun is breaking in but they are still doing very well. I bought the gun to keep in practice during these cold snowy winter months. I only have a 10 yard range in my basement but from a good steady rest it will put five shots in one ragged hole on target each and every time. This gun is hard hitting and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The fit and finish of this rifle is very good and it feels very solid. The only thing that I would consider changing is the safety. The safety lever is located in the trigger guard as is the case with most air guns. On one occasion when I was first getting used to the gun, I reached out to release the safety in the trigger guard and hit the trigger. To release the automatic safety, you pull the safety lever towards the trigger. In doing so, my finger slipped from the safety and I inadvertently hit the trigger and the gun fired prematurely. Fortunately, I was pointed at the target at the time. I think that it would be safer if the safety release moved away from the trigger rather than toward it. I am now overly cautious when releasing the safety on this gun.
      What others should know:Finally, I have nothing but praises and good things to say about Pyramyd Air. The rifle order was delivered promptly but it had a defective trigger. I called and got a return authorization and they even paid for the return freight. In a few days a replacement was delivered and it works perfectly. Thanks Pyramyd Air for the prompt and courteous service. Great Job!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tim from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Absolutely the most accurate air rifle I have ever shot, able to hit a quarter, penny, and even the head off an action figure from 50 yards+ consistently.
      Things I would have changed:There really isn't much room to put in the pellet with the scope mounted. I had to mount mine pretty far back. I would also modify or add a section on the front of the stock for a bipod attachment that will not interfere with the lever.
      What others should know:Pyramid is the best place to buy it. Great service and very professional.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2013-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is great for price good solid gun. Comes with good scope and fixed barrel
      Things I would have changed:Action could be smoother but after broke in not bad.
      What others should know:Backyard shooters on a tight budget this is a great gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jun from USA on 2013-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very beautiful rifle. Very accurate. Good weight and stable.
      Things I would have changed:Due to the chamber location and position relative to the scope, it is difficult to insert cleaning pellets. You really have to squeeze the sides of the pellets and once the end is inserted, you need a pick to insert the cleaning pellet.
      What others should know:My rifle is very accurate with the RWS Meisterkugeln pellets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a solid rifle living up to the Browning Brand. I got the rifle sighted in after only 7 shots.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By michael from USA on 2013-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the cocking mechanism was great, and take Down power Was awesome. Glow sights were a good , but I took the rear sight off to make room the scope. My collection is growing but I keep coming back to this gun .
      Things I would have changed:Very bad barrel droop. had To shim up to shim.20
      What others should know:After you deal with the droopy problem. it's great tool for killing Nice grouping and not that loud.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Underlever cocking action, looks great, shoulders well, if a little heavy. The rifle comes with a decent scope (especially for a bundled unit!), has a weaver mount over an 11mm dovetail (which I removed, more below). Did I mention it's a great looking gun?
      Things I would have changed:The machine work on the parts inside the gun is pretty sloppy. This is why it has a reputation for being "crunchy." I'm guessing it would've gotten better on it's own, but I took it apart and cleaned it up/lube tuned it anyway. Back to change: I would suggest the manufacturer take a little more time and care, at least at the assembly stage, to make the gun a little smoother out of the box. What lube there was inside was terrible and contaminated with rust and dirt, and allowed the gun to be noisy and feel gritty every time I cocked it. My rifle also needed new seals, as the piston seal was visibly damaged. That said, it was then, and is now a great shooter!
      What others should know:If you're mechanically inclined, take it apart (carefully) and clean it, then lube it properly. My rifle went from feeling junky and sounding like it was going to fly apart (tho it did shoot quite well!) to being silky-smooth, quiet, and still shooting great (note: I used a Gamo piston seal, part #GAMOP-PSTSL, and while not a perfect fit, so far it's money!) Something else: the gun does suffer from some barrel droop. Not as much as some break barrels (my Crosman Vantage was pretty bad!), but enough that you will have to address it (as mentioned in other reviews, the pad in the rear ring doesn't cut it...at all!) I am going to install an RWS Lockdown, one piece scope mount, with droop compensation. All you have to do is remove the bolts, and pry the weaver rail off to reveal the 11mm dovetail underneath. This rifle doesn't suffer from super heavy recoil, so you don't really need the weaver rail. In closing, CLEAN AND LUBE IT. I'm not angry about the work I had to do, because it's a sub 200 dollar gun that shoots well out of the box, and I'm a bit OCD. With a little work, this rifle has become my go-to hunter, that I will lay some squirrel smack-down this year.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, has iron sights, comes with more "scope" than it needs, looks good, pretty good trigger.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see an exploded parts view, or any inkling that there is parts support for this rifle. I would also like to see it in a Nitro Piston version. The stock has a nice shape and look to it, but the wood is a bit soft for my liking. The iron sights are off, requiring max right wind age adjustment to hit the target at 15 yards, but scoping it seems ok. Weight: heavy! Build quality could be improved as well.
      What others should know:This is a really good-shooting gun for under 200 beans! It has a lot going for it, but it does have "low-end" build quality. While some like the weaver style rail, I removed it. The rifle has some barrel droop, and their compensation is a foam pad on the rear ring...waste of time. I removed the weaver thing and plan to order an RWS Lock Down one piece mount with droop compensation. I currently have a junk bundled 4x32 scope mounted to it, and that works fine (the 3-9 AO scope lives on my M-Rod). It's "crunchy"...really crunchy, and takes a long time to smooth out on it's own. It also takes a lot of shooting to stop smoking. Also, watch the cocking lever hinge pins, mine needed to be re-peened to stop falling out. I'm still trying to figure out how to disassemble it to clean and properly lube everything, it's going to be a challenge! Overall, this is a great gun for the money. Once it settles in, it shoots accurately and consistently. I don't love this rifle (yet), but I think it's a great value!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vincent from USA on 2013-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1. It appears to be very sturdy. 2. The price is right. 3. Trigger pull is not too stiff and may reduce with use. You can sneak up on the release point. 4. It requires a good pull to cock it-but this seems to be true of all springers. 5. I am quite pleased with the rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Be very careful when cocking this or any springer. Place the butt where it will not slip. I had an accident today when the butt slipped and I released the cocking lever before it had latched. It sprang back and struck my thumb on the hand holding the barrel. I was fortunate that no bones were broken but I have a rather painful blood-blister on the thumb.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By michael from USA on 2013-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:beautiful gun,nice wood finish,good power,decent trigger,under barrel lever great,cocking effort easy,quiet,shoots well.
      Things I would have changed:scope mounts are skimpy and flimsy.you might could find them in a dollar store.remove front and rear barrel sights.will help on barrel weight.shorten scope length.amite to close to loading chamber
      What others should know:this gun is built by umarex.it is known this gun has barrel droop.scope mounts are marked front and rear.my gun had extreme barrel droop.i called pyramid.I had no problems.in just a few days I had another gun of my choice.me and my friends will shop pyramid air.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Wesley from USA on 2013-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My first "adult" airgun and my first .22, so don't have anything to compare it to. That said, I like it. Easy to cock, the bigger pellets (.22) are easier for my big fat fingers to handle, powerful, so far so good with the included scope.
      Things I would have changed:From what I read airguns can be quite particular about what pellet they shoot well. The only one I've had a chance to try so far is the Crosman Premier 14.3 and I'm getting 1.25-1.5" groups at 20 yds.
      What others should know:I hear the JSB Exact 14.3 works good in this brand of airgun.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Dale from USA on 2013-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was my first pellet rifle. I thought with the Browning name that it would be a decent rifle. The one I received had some major mechanical issues like the cocking lever arm was bent in the direction opposite of the applied force. Also, the lever arm pin kept falling out and damaging the stock and making the rifle a hazard. Browning should not put their name on a cheap rifle like this. This thing dieseled like crazy, so no good groups before I sent it back.
      Things I would have changed:Improve quality. Improve bluing. Take the Browning name off this rifle.
      What others should know:If you want to take a chance on a rifle, then this one may suit your needs. I took a chance and wasted some time, but Pyramyd made it right by taking it back. If you don't want to waste your valuable time, then buy something that is better quality.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jason from USA on 2013-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, powerful, sturdy, well-made, nice wood stock, decent scope, ambidextrous, simple operation, excellent pricepoint for the level of quality.
      Things I would have changed:It is somewhat difficult to load pellets due to the scope blocking a portion of the loading area. (I have large hands and fingers, so it may be easier for someone with smaller hands, but even my girlfriend has issues loading it and her hands and fingers are tiny.) Mount points for a sling would be a great addition.
      What others should know:Aside from the loading difficulty, I would mention that this rifle is surprisingly heavy. I'm a fit 150lb man and it fatigues me to fire this thing for more than about 20-30 shots. The cocking effort is not that intense, but it will definitely wear you out after several dozen cockings. Otherwise this is a great gun for the price. I've assassinated over a dozen pests and I am consistently getting tight target groups with this piece.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By clayton from USA on 2013-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The lever cocking system vs break barrel The overall feel of the rifle. The scope (although I did have to shim it like others mentioned) That I can shoot dime sized groups at 20 yards and nickel (sometimes quarter) sized groups at 30 yards outdoors. I can shoot targets for hours and the accuracy does not drop off (unlike the Crosman Nitro Venom which seemed to get fatigued after extended periods of shooting) I like the open sights (even though they have some plastic in them) they just have a good look to them.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull could be a little less (I've only had it a week and I think its starting to smooth out already) The set up of the chamber where the pellet is inserted. There is an open space around and behind where the pellet is inserted into the barrel and should you fumble with the pellet and drop it the pellet can get caught and jammed in the swivel action of the barrel. When I first started shooting it the loading was awkward and I dropped numerous pellets in this area. Each time I had to turn the gun upside down and shake the pellet out. With practice the loading has become much easier and I seldom fumble the pellets any more. The rear open sight is located just close enough to the pellet loading area to get in the way so I removed it since I'm using the scope.
      What others should know:**** Regardless what the description/information on the gun says the trigger IS NOT two stage or adjustable. This was confirmed when I called Pyramyd Air who referred me to the manufacturer. After staying on the phone with them for ten minutes the manufacturer's gunsmith confirmed that their add is wrong and there is NO two stage adjustable trigger. I passed this on to Pyramyd Air and they said that the product description was provided by the manufacturer. Their rep did say that I could return it if I was unsatisfied. So far I plan on keeping it. After removing the rubber shim on the scope that the manufacturer put there to compensate for barrel droop I replaced it with my own shim and since that time the gun has pretty much hit everything that I've aimed at. I'm shooting golf balls off fence posts from 50-60 yards, popping balloons from 70+ yards and numerous other targets from 20 to 70 yards outdoors. I do most of my plinging from a rest position so I don't know how well I would handle this heavy gun on a hunt. I've only tried a few different types pellets but so far the Crosman hollow points (available at Walmart) seem to be plenty accurate with very few pellets that stray. I'm shooting the .177 with the 3X9X40 scope. Inside the barrel was quite dirty when I received it and required cleaning. I'll try to update this review once I've had the rifle for a month or two.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bryan from USA on 2013-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First of all I have the Browning in .22. Like all new airguns the first thing I Did was clean the barrel. It took able 50 shots for the spring to settle in. The rifle is well made. The price is excellent for a underlever. The scope in this combo alone is worth about $80.00. It's fairly easy to cock and quite to shot, a great backyard shooter. The power and noise level is probably about the same as a Crossman nitro .22. Best of all at 30 yards I'm getting quarter size groupings shot after shot with cheap Crossman pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Some checkering on the stock would be nice.
      What others should know:Read the instructions on mounting the scope and ring, and loading safely. This gun is well made and nothing is cheap about it. Thanks again to P.A. for the great job they do and selling airguners the really good airguns and pellets you can't find locally to make shooting so much fun.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Lingxiang from USA on 2013-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:solid feeling and nice trigger. positive reviews from others.
      Things I would have changed:quality control
      What others should know:1. a lot of stains on receiver and inside breech loading port. Seems to me they are rust covered by finishing, and can't be removed by cleaning. 2. two machine marks (big dents) on the barrel. 3. underlevel is skewed and not aligned with barrel. 4. trigger is only one stage and not adjustable. 5. plastic at the end of receiver (where the anti-bear trap release button located) has rough edge and not seated well on the wooden stock. 6. front is too heavy, not balanced. Overall quality is disappointing, returned the rifle within a couple of days and waiting for the refund.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top