Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    CFX Royal Underlever reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2010-06-12 18:26:28

    Things I liked:Dead on target once ya get the sights adjusted!!Shoots best with the Beeman pellets for me.Beautiful Beechwood stock.This gun is a work of art.The rotating loader works best if you open half way inserting the pellet then open to drop em in.Dont think this one will be around long,at least not at this price.Love the fiber optic sights and it comes with the scope mount already installed.This rifle can easily compare to a five to six hundred dollar gun .Ive read articles which have matched it in professional matches and it placed in the top three.The underlever cocking and fixed barrel prevent the lost accuracy that you find in break barrel guns.Ive got the Big Cat and this one is a better gun and thats saying something considering the big cat is a very accurate and powerfull rifle.Hope this was helpful...
    Things I would have changed:NOT A THING...
    What others should know:GET ONE YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF IF YOU LOVE SHOOTING!
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Jonathon from USA on 2010-07-10 18:58:01

    Things I liked:.22 cal. I don't see anybody else commenting on this so maybe it's me. I have 3 other Gamos, an RWS 350 Magnum and several other air riflles and they all fit. When I shoulder this gun and aim at the target my hand does not reach the trigger. I can't use this air rifle!
    Things I would have changed:Shorten the stock, obviously. Any ideas on shortening the stock are welcome.
    What others should know:You can't get a gas spring for this gun. This is not a CFX with a wood stock, it is a different gun. The trigger is much smoother than my .22 cal CFX.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Freddie from USA on 2010-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The shock absorbing on this gun is great which means the scope stays in focus . This rifle is spot on; shoots a soda lid as big as a coin size - distance of 27meters and splits it in half. Had several air rifles before and this one is by far the best.
      What others should know:Comparing it to other rifles it is relatively quiet as well.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Jonathon from USA on 2010-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:.22 cal. I don't see anybody else commenting on this so maybe it's me. I have 3 other Gamos, an RWS 350 Magnum and several other air riflles and they all fit. When I shoulder this gun and aim at the target my hand does not reach the trigger. I can't use this air rifle!
      Things I would have changed:Shorten the stock, obviously. Any ideas on shortening the stock are welcome.
      What others should know:You can't get a gas spring for this gun. This is not a CFX with a wood stock, it is a different gun. The trigger is much smoother than my .22 cal CFX.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kevin from USA on 2010-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price before shipping to manufacturer for service. I was impressed with the warranty center's tech that I spoke to, and I feel confident they'll make things right. It IS a very nice gun, and I hope mine was just a lemon.
      Things I would have changed:The spring broke after 500 shots in the first month. The Accuracy was still good, but the velocity plummeted. I'd spoken with an airgunsmith in my town who was recommended by Tom Gaylord in a blog. He cannot work on GAMO products, because GAMO does not offer parts.
      What others should know:GAMO likes to do all the service on their products, so consider the possibility of at least six weeks without it and paying another thirty bucks every time it needs a part.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Yillmar from USA on 2010-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:strong, feel very well construction, quality Old Gamo school, the accuracy it´s very good. My Chrony test with 6 shots pellets premier 7.9 gn super point. low 856.5 - high 878.0 - Av. 863.4 - Ex 21.56 - St. 8.0 FPS - test with RWS super dome 6 shots 8.3 grains. Low 858.5 - High 876.7 - Av. 866.9 - Ex 18.22 - St 6.40 all it´s OK in this rifle. The test was open box in my country, Not lube tune or something like that.
      Things I would have changed:The transfer port, it´s not friendly with my finger.
      What others should know:This rifle it´s not thinking high velocity, it´s only perfect shot. I love it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Best buy on the market
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Dead on target once ya get the sights adjusted!!Shoots best with the Beeman pellets for me.Beautiful Beechwood stock.This gun is a work of art.The rotating loader works best if you open half way inserting the pellet then open to drop em in.Dont think this one will be around long,at least not at this price.Love the fiber optic sights and it comes with the scope mount already installed.This rifle can easily compare to a five to six hundred dollar gun .Ive read articles which have matched it in professional matches and it placed in the top three.The underlever cocking and fixed barrel prevent the lost accuracy that you find in break barrel guns.Ive got the Big Cat and this one is a better gun and thats saying something considering the big cat is a very accurate and powerfull rifle.Hope this was helpful...
      Things I would have changed:NOT A THING...
      What others should know:GET ONE YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF IF YOU LOVE SHOOTING!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jfmitchell8 from USA on 2010-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful rifle, quality componets and tremendous value. The rifle is very, very accurate and consistent. At 20 yards you get 1 ragged hole, at 50 you are less than .5". It is powerful and easily capable of punching a big hole through both sides of a soup can. The accurace, quality and overall rifle is comparable to an RWS and at a fractue of the price.
      Things I would have changed:Remove the only plastic on the gun - - the muzzle shroud. It needs, as all Gamo's do, a trigger job...I put a GRT-III on mine and it works great.
      What others should know:This is a heavy rifle...especially when outfitted with a 3-9X40 scope...don't get me wrong, very well balanced easy to shoulder, but carrying it all day through the woods...I use mine around the yard and at camp and I don't mind it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This has to be the best rifle Gamo makes. The accuracy at 30 and 50 yards is outstanding. It has plenty of power and preforms equally well with 15 grain pellets as it does with 21 grain pellets. The fit and finish of the wood stock is excellent and deserving the name "Royal" The best feature is the easy loading ramp in the rotary breech system.
      Things I would have changed:A weaver/Picatinny type rail instead of the dovetail rail that comes installed. Sling swivels on the front dove tail at the muzzle would be a nice accessory.
      What others should know:This is a heavy rifle at over 8lbs. But that makes the heavy spring recoil managable. To get a rifle a little better you will have to spend a whole LOT more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wai from USA on 2010-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fixed barrel; .22 cal.
      Things I would have changed:Spring piston to Gas piston. I'm in the process of getting the gun upgraded with a Theoben gas piston, a GTX generation 2 trigger (not the GRT-III trigger) and a JM tesla piston seal.
      What others should know:It's an extremely nice gun that could be so much better with the upgrades I mentioned above.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well balanced. Solid. The wood stock makes it. I have the 22 model.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight elevation adjustment could be made so it clicks through the entire adjustment range.
      What others should know:A bit heavy, but balanced. I find RWS Hobby 22 excellent for target and plinking. I fell it was a well made purchase decision.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2009-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A great-looking rifle with oiled Beechwood stock, holds its own in the company of some other fine rifles. I ordered mine with the Air Venturi gas spring installed at Pyramid, and I replaced the factory trigger with a "Charlie" trigger, the GRT III. A Center Point 3 x 9 x 40 adjustable optic, duplex reticle scope was installed after removing the rifle from the box. The Center Point scope also comes with a heavy-duty set of rings, designed for the heavy recoil of powerful air rifles. I optically centered the scope and mounted it on the rifle. I had it zeroed in with five shots, and I'm getting sub-half inch groups at forty feet, having put about a hundred rounds through it. What a great shooter!
      Things I would have changed:The front sight housing is unecessarily large. The front ghost ring is also unecessary- A plain fiber optic sight without the hood, screwed onto the barrel, similar to the Hammerli and RWS designs, would have been preferable to me. However, if you are an 'Iron Sight' guy, you will love it. My old eyes see better through a scope. The front sight housing does not interfere with the scope's field of view, so it's no big deal- just my own preference for aesthetics.
      What others should know:I have been shooting rifles for many years, and the CFX Royal Underlever offers a fine-looking, highly accurate, and fuctional rifle for the money. In terms of power and accuracy, this rifle offers a good balance of both, and it will hold its own with rifles of any price range or make.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By davidcapao from USA on 2009-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What a nice gun. it feels just well by touch! It's very powerfull and accurate. Pest control... nups, it kills turkeys and chikens! I tested it.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger, not the best. In accuracy, its not very bad but the pull, tham its an hard trigger to pull.(you get confortable with it after some shots)
      What others should know:Any suggestes for an very well pellet for this rifle??? I've tested many, but not the "one". Any suggestions?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The handling and stability is superb.
      Things I would have changed:Add myself a good scope when I can afford it.
      What others should know:what distance does the pellet start to drop from a gamo cfx royal after leaving the barrel?
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top