Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Career 707 9mm Ultra reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (10 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By StephenJr from USA on 2009-04-20 23:09:54

    Things I liked:9mm, the weight, the feel, the looks, (i got stock #3) the accuracy ,
    Things I would have changed:give the people what they want, adjusting the power lower i guess that's it?
    What others should know:Ordering from Pyramydair is very friendly and easy going, id recommend them to anyone who's interested in air rifles and air rifles accessories
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Don from USA on 2008-08-01 01:43:10

    Things I liked:I've had this rifle for a number of years and am still impressed by the amount of power produced from an air rifle. At point blank range, a 9mm hardcast 100 gr. bullet will go most of the way through 2 2X4s laid flat on top of each other.
    Things I would have changed:I'd love to see this rifle completely redesigned in a US shop. The accuracy is okay but not great - around 2 inches at 50 yards from a benchrest. Adjusting for pellet length is a pain, and means dismounting the scope and having to sight in the rifle after any adjustment. The same goes for replacing o-rings, which seem to get chewed up fairly fast. The rifle balance is uncomfortable - very top heavy - making it hard to hold on target. A lighter, better balanced design would be nice. Also, some kind of regulator system to deliver consistent air pressure would be a HUGE plus. Shooting over a chrony, each consecutive shot loses around 15 fps. The first and last shot per fill will vary by close to 100 fps. I'd also be very curious to see how a sabot would perform in this rifle, with lighter, faster handgun bullets, or smaller roundballs. It'd be nice to have more options on ammo.
    What others should know:The best performance I've gotten out of this rifle is with .36 roundballs, which are right at 70 grains. The Chinese pellets are all over the place at 50 yards. IMO, the effective range of this rifle is 50 yards - give or take a bit - for any kind of accuracy. It will still punch through plywood at 100 yards, but if you're zeroed in at 50 yards, you'll see a good 12-15 inch drop at 100. At roughly half again the power of a .22 long, it is NOT a big game rifle, but is great for plinking or small game. The noise level is comparable to a .22 rimfire. As others have mentioned, the rifle performs better by keeping the fill a couple hundred psi below max.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By jorge from USA on 2010-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:awesome power , incredible look , good performance , excelent penetration, the 6 shot = best rifle
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I have 12 rifle to hunting and the career 707 9mm ultra is my favorite.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Warrior55 from USA on 2010-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and accurate, especially with .360 round ball. Solid and well made. This gun is very loud when adjusted to full power, but very quiet when turned down to mid or low power. If you are going to shoot it at high power it has a threaded barrel. This feature makes it easy to attach a silencer/compensator if you live where this is legal.
      Things I would have changed:This gun should be a couple of pounds lighter. I also would be nice for it to have some means of telling whether you have loaded a round in the chamber. It is too easy to forget and load a second round in the chamber. Then you have to push both rounds out with a cleaning rod. This is a pain!
      What others should know:Overall, I LOVE it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leland from USA on 2009-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Ultra loads easily, fires smoothly, and has the blend of weight and ballance to makes it a hoot to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:My Ultra needed several improvements to make it the fine shooting instument it has evolved into: polishing the rifling to a precise 8.95mm consistency, removing rifling in the breech that was cutting the bolt o-rings, and bevelling the lip of the barrell air inlet to allow for concentric seating of bullets without shaving lead off their lower edges. The factory o-rings for the sliding bolt seal lasted less than 200 rounds, and after some experimentation were replaced using staged 1.9 mm thick o-rings (4.8 I.D. followed by 5.8 I.D.) in order to seal the breech up tp the 2600 psi optimum pressure for this rifle. Fill the o-ring grooves with sticky silicon grease prior to slipping the o-rings on.
      What others should know:As other reviewers indicate, this is a rifle for experienced pcp airgunners who have the skill to understantd the mechanics of the wheapon - or who at least have access to someone who does. The 102 grain cast Lee bullets work well, but the Hornady .36 cal roundballs are a breeze to use and are just as accurate, so why waste time melting lead when you could be out shooting for around a nickle a ball. Also, for quieter, slightly more accurate and for comparable downrange energy, shoot 60 grain Aguilla .22-SSS ammo from a quality bolt action rifle - but there will be no kick and not nearly as much fun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By StephenJr from USA on 2009-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:9mm, the weight, the feel, the looks, (i got stock #3) the accuracy ,
      Things I would have changed:give the people what they want, adjusting the power lower i guess that's it?
      What others should know:Ordering from Pyramydair is very friendly and easy going, id recommend them to anyone who's interested in air rifles and air rifles accessories
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By tlhonmey from USA on 2008-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice gun. It's well balanced, and quite accurate if you know what you're doing with it. Powerful enough for eliminating pest animals at medium range without much trouble.
      Things I would have changed:Several minor annoyances. The scope rail on top of the detachable cover is something of a pain if you use anything other than the factory sights. The process for adjusting the pellet length stop would be much nicer if it were more precise and could be done without disassembling the gun. The cocking lever's inside arm needs to be about a centimeter shorter and tip forward about 15 degrees more so that the bolt will actually lock shut when closed. It would be nice if it didn't eat o-rings.
      What others should know:The bolt tends to eat o-rings. Of course, it still functions without o-rings, but at, I'm guessing, about half the power. At least the recoil feels about half. Some people shim the bolt so it doesn't wiggle as much to fix this. Personally I got rings just slightly smaller than one would normally use and carefully glued them in place. It seems to have worked so far. Spend some time playing with the power adjustment. For every weight of bullet and pressure level there is a sweet spot that uses the air most efficiently. If you can keep it in that you can easily get 30 rounds out of a fill, depending on what you use for bullets. The most important thing I've found so far is that the bolt doesn't actually lock shut. This means YOU have to hold it shut when you shoot. Especially at higher power levels and with heavier bullets. Keep a good, tight grip on the lever when you pull the trigger. It won't fly all the way open or anything because the striker blocks it when it falls on the valve, but it will move enough to vent a lot of your air out the back. Personally I cast my own bullets from a Lee 356-102-1r mold. You have to take the pellet stop all the way out if you want them to feed properly, but they shoot nice groups, even with my mediocre eyesight.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Don from USA on 2008-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had this rifle for a number of years and am still impressed by the amount of power produced from an air rifle. At point blank range, a 9mm hardcast 100 gr. bullet will go most of the way through 2 2X4s laid flat on top of each other.
      Things I would have changed:I'd love to see this rifle completely redesigned in a US shop. The accuracy is okay but not great - around 2 inches at 50 yards from a benchrest. Adjusting for pellet length is a pain, and means dismounting the scope and having to sight in the rifle after any adjustment. The same goes for replacing o-rings, which seem to get chewed up fairly fast. The rifle balance is uncomfortable - very top heavy - making it hard to hold on target. A lighter, better balanced design would be nice. Also, some kind of regulator system to deliver consistent air pressure would be a HUGE plus. Shooting over a chrony, each consecutive shot loses around 15 fps. The first and last shot per fill will vary by close to 100 fps. I'd also be very curious to see how a sabot would perform in this rifle, with lighter, faster handgun bullets, or smaller roundballs. It'd be nice to have more options on ammo.
      What others should know:The best performance I've gotten out of this rifle is with .36 roundballs, which are right at 70 grains. The Chinese pellets are all over the place at 50 yards. IMO, the effective range of this rifle is 50 yards - give or take a bit - for any kind of accuracy. It will still punch through plywood at 100 yards, but if you're zeroed in at 50 yards, you'll see a good 12-15 inch drop at 100. At roughly half again the power of a .22 long, it is NOT a big game rifle, but is great for plinking or small game. The noise level is comparable to a .22 rimfire. As others have mentioned, the rifle performs better by keeping the fill a couple hundred psi below max.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun works well, shoots straight and throws the 9mm EuJin pellets downrange like a tackdriver. I never had any of the problems with accuracy until the pressure started to drop off, then the rounds drop increased at range. 50 to 100 yards is this gun's money spot. I shot 15 rounds at full power setting starting at around 2700 psi, which seems to work better than 3000, and still had 1000 to 1500 left on the gauge which surprised me, but the 75 grain pellets still had plenty of kick out to 50 or more yards.
      Things I would have changed:Front filler cap, eats O rings, lever action kicks slightly when fired, doesn't have a permant filler probe built in.
      What others should know:Iron sights work great, haven't scoped it yet. The Axsor pump I also purchased broke when the brass adapter fitting stripped at around 2700 psi, so I'd recommend a tank for this one until a better pump comes around. I found the manual to be woefully lacking in information, like how to drain remaining air or prevent water buildup in the tubes. Also, the manuals instructions on single loading pellets (since most of us can't get magazines right now) has you loading them thru the small opening on the right hand side of the receiver. Just load them thru the magazine gate, use a pencil to nudge them in if you have too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CEDRIC from USA on 2008-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the 9mm Ultra and it had a beautiful stock. The gun is very powerful and seemed to be decently accurate. With roundballs i could take quarry out to 80+ yrds. I also liked the adjustable power levels. I also liked the fact that this gun was a 6 shot repeater.
      Things I would have changed:The weight. With a scope, this gun was ubber heavy. Not to much in the ammo selection dept. Super loud..but, that could be a good thing. The gun trully needs to be redesigned from muzzle to stock.
      What others should know:Eun Jins in 9mm absolutly suck in this gun. At any power level. Very Heavy and needs a few mods so it doesn't chew up the oring on the bolt probe. I mostly used 000 buckshot which is .360" and this gun loved them. I also used 100 grain hardcast bullets and they were decent in accuracy but, they hit hard and penetrated everything.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack B from USA on 2007-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power and the accuracy are exceptional. At sixty yards it t will punch large holes thru 1/2" plywood and in some cases thru 3/4" plywood. This is with 100 grain round ball.
      Things I would have changed:Initially I was disappointed with the accuracy. It was the pellets. They are OK for short range, but, beyond 25 yards they are worthless. I ended up using the 9mm Hornady round ball.. At 60 yards from a bench I was consistently able to keep the ball in a one inch pattern, in some cases even smaller.
      What others should know:The gun seems to shoot better at 2700 psi instead of the 3000 psi that is recommended.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By MichaelA. from USA on 2007-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power Acuracy Multi shot repeater! Looks Great! Nice recoil. Enough to letyou kmow you're shooting a big bore, but not excessive. Poweradjustment wheel & pressure gauge.
      Things I would have changed:Be able to shoot heavier & hollow point pellets in repeater mode
      What others should know:I only gave it 4 stars because of the limited pellet selection, and it is a little spendy, however... If you want a big bore repeater... This is the ONE! :) Overall... GREAT gun!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top