Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Bernard from USA on 2012-09-12 02:58:23

    Things I liked:Nice and easy to use
    Things I would have changed:See next
    What others should know:I just added a compact rail laser (crl),from sight mark ($40), to gun on the bottom.This puts it at a distinguished level.Cant miss.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2014-09-19 16:54:48

    Things I liked:The look and feel is pretty close to an M1911 with exception of the trigger.
    Things I would have changed:Because this is a non-blowback pistol the trigger is both single and double action. The pull in double-action mode is very heavy so I prefer to slide cock the gun before each shot or just manually cock the hammer. A blowback pistol like the Colt Commander more accurately reflects the operation of a real M1911.
    What others should know:I should have read the reviews for this gun more carefully before purchasing this pistol. It functions fine for what it is and shoots accurately but I ended up also purchasing a Colt Commander and that is by far the better replica weapon.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from Canada on 2014-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like seeing a beautiful woman, I just can't help but keep staring at this superbly made 1911 Colt Special Combat. This gun is the best-looking one among my growing collection of replica airguns. The clip is nice and the weight, feel and handling of this 1911 is awesome!I pick it up and hold it every day just because. I have a Colt Commander and it is very nice but I like the appearance of this version just a little more with its two-tone steel finish and the dark brown grips. (just my personal preference)The box it arrived in is very practical, nicely made and worth keeping for storage,etc. Manufacturers need to scrap those plastic-packaged guns and use quality boxes instead.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if the trigger was "skeletonized" and carried a little less pull, although in single-action it is pretty easy and smooth. Also,it would be great if there was an Allen key C02 gas cartridge set-up so the butt would look more realistic. Loading the BB's is a bit tricky as the catch sometimes slips and I have been wearing out my fingernails. Wooden grips would really add to the authenticity but the plastic ones are real-looking and of high quality.If this gun came in a blow-back version, it would be one of the coolest guns ever!
      What others should know:The accuracy is outstanding! I use Daisy Premium Grade zinc plated BB's and have been getting 1" inch groups shooting free-hand at thirty feet (in my basement)I also get around 85 shots out of one C02 cartridge.This is a pretty quiet gun and it has decent,hard-hitting velocity. Be aware as this gun starts losing power when gas runs low that you don't try get too many extra shots. I had a BB get stuck in chamber when gas pressure died but it was easily removed with a small wire pushed from muzzle end. I just slid the action back and held it with the lever (on side of rail above trigger area)Overall this gun is worth getting as it performs well, feels good and looks fantastic.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ray from USA on 2014-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This has got to be one of the best looking air pistols out there.Worth every cent.Adjustable sites are nice.Get it while you can
      Things I would have changed:blowback would be nice but a pistol this good looking doesn't need it .
      What others should know:The pics you see on the web site do not do it justice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DMichael from USA on 2014-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love 1911 gun, the Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic CO2 pistol it part of my collection. When I pick it up, I'm impressed by the weight, size and realism. This 1911 firearm has very nice realistic features built into this gun. Shooting all day and never pay another range fee. Pay less for 20,000 rds for this gun than you would for 50 rds of .45 ACP to feed my other firearms!
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything. I'm comfortable the way it is.
      What others should know:Same as above. A very nice pistol.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2014-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel is pretty close to an M1911 with exception of the trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Because this is a non-blowback pistol the trigger is both single and double action. The pull in double-action mode is very heavy so I prefer to slide cock the gun before each shot or just manually cock the hammer. A blowback pistol like the Colt Commander more accurately reflects the operation of a real M1911.
      What others should know:I should have read the reviews for this gun more carefully before purchasing this pistol. It functions fine for what it is and shoots accurately but I ended up also purchasing a Colt Commander and that is by far the better replica weapon.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By John from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks nice and has a good feel.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is bad. I also don't care for the magazine including the C02. It is difficult to load.
      What others should know:By a blowback. You can get the Blackwater for around the same price. Much better gun!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2014-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel of the gun. The weight the balance are very good.
      Things I would have changed:To early to tell.
      What others should know:Good value
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roy from USA on 2014-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight is realistic, the look is real and the ease of operation.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger, it just don't feel right
      What others should know:I am going to guess that you wont be able to buy parts for it cause the colt defender I could not get parts for and they are made by the same company.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2014-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking pistol, very attractive. Accuracy was good, but not the greatest. the feel and weight was also good. For show, a nice looking pistol.
      Things I would have changed: There's a rattle in the pistol. The clip has a lot of play when placed inside the pistol, it doesn't make it feel solid, plus there is a little to much play in the slide. Being a non- blow back pistol you would think the CO2 would go further.
      What others should know: In my opinion, there's better pistols for a hundred dollars. I just bought a New Colt Commander for the same price ($100.00).So far I'm very pleased. A nice solid pistol, no rattles , well worth the money. I bought it with out any feed back to go on. It worked out well. CO2 usage,about 3.5 mags.Nice action piece. Compared to the Colt 1911, to me there world's apart. I would buy the colt commander instead.Better all around pistol for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CM Donn from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a real looker, nice finishes.
      Things I would have changed:While this is 97% metal I think the cheesiest part of the gun is the handles, they look like plastic, I would suggest cheap wood ones that one could refinish or allow the real grips to line up. Also the plastic pull tab. Trigger is not the same as the real model and it is a hard pull. Also C02 screw is exposed verses hide in handle like many other models do.
      What others should know:If you like Colt 1911 this IS the model to drop a c-note on!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Benjamin from USA on 2014-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a beautiful gun, drop free magazine, adjustable rear sight, 99% metal construction, very light single action trigger pull
      Things I would have changed:Heavy double action trigger pull, the plastic tab on the CO2 screw (seriously? That's like the ONLY plastic part! C'mon man!)
      What others should know:I was getting 2 inch groups from 15 feet this morning in my basement using generic Copperhead BB's. buy a spare magazine to have loaded and standing by, I can't put the thing down!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Arnfred from USA on 2014-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feels like a real 1911. Holds a good amount of BBs (19) without reloading often.
      What others should know:Fun to shoot - love it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Neil from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel is very realistic if you are a replica fan.
      Things I would have changed:I would use a different trigger
      What others should know:Definitely a plinking fun gun. I use it in my indoor range and it is great fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from Canada on 2013-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good looking pistol. Nice weight , balance and feel in the hand. Although not a blowback , it's cool to have a working slide onboard. Two-axis-adjustable rear sight is great ! The white alignment dot on the front sight is a nice touch. Pyramyd Air has established a very reasonable price for this little gem of a pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Make the CO2 cylinder screw-down into an allen-key-operated component rather than having the tab hanging down below the lower grip surface. At least the tab is spring-loaded over to one side. The thumb safety needs to be smoother and easier to move into the safe position.
      What others should know:This little honey is accurate right out of the box. By the time the second CO2 cylinder was in place , I was grouping in an area about two inches across at a range of about 20 to 25 feet inside of our garage. Too cold to shoot outdoors at this time!!! I took both plastic grips off of the pistol and generously sprayed on some protector , good for rubber , plastic and vinyl. I let this stuff soak into the plastic grips for about a half hour , then wiped away any excess. This stuff slightly dulls and darkens the surface of the grips , making them look slightly more like wood. It's not perfect , but it does look a little better than plain shiny plastic. So , this Colt 1911 Special Combat is a keeper in this shooter's book. Try it , you'll like it !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2013-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It looks amazing, the coolest BB gun in my collection.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger.
      What others should know:Buy it whilst it's in stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from Canada on 2013-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Colt 1911 , Special Combat is one really good-looking pistol , but it has absolutely more than just good looks. It is well-balanced with excellent weight and handling. There is also a nice bit of a kick-back when it's fired. You can really feel the power. The adjustable rear sight is a bonus that some air pistols in this price range just don't have. The working slide is also a nice touch adding to the realism. The colour and finish department got it pretty much spot-on with their choice of which features on the pistol were to be high-lighted in silver and which ones were to be left in black. I've only had a chance to go through two CO2 cylinder's worth of shooting so far and I think that as I get more used to this gun the accuracy rating I've given will probably increase to a five-star level. Yep , made a good choice with this sweetheart of a pistol. Thanks to Pyramyd Air for giving all of us such a good deal on the pricing !!!
      Things I would have changed:The grip safety on the Special Combat has been molded into the plastic and does not move. It's not a bargain breaker , but they could have easily designed-in what was done on the grip safety for the Daisy 1911 , CO2 BB. On the Daisy , even though the grip safety is not actually functional , it does pivot like the real thing and adds some degree of realism to the pistol. The CO2 turn-down tab on the Combat's magazine could have been designed as an Allen Screw like the one on the Tanfoglio & Swiss Arms 1911 A1's. I don't mind carrying around an Allen key in my kit or my pocket. An Allen Screw design would have made the bottom of the Special Combat much cleaner and therefore more realistic. Again , this is not a deal-breaker because the gun has so many other great features going for it.
      What others should know:Okay , so a couple of things to keep in mind. For the price you're paying at Pyramyd , the Colt 1911 , Special Combat is a sweet deal ! I'm not a big fan of plastic parts on motorcycles , cars or guns , but some of the ones they're manufacturing these days don't look half bad. You can improve them though , especially the ones on your guns. I carefully removed the plastic grips from the Combat pistol and with a small brush applied a coat of a special protectant on the inner and outer sides of both of them. I then placed the grips aside for about 15 minutes to allow the protectant to set-up and absorb into plastic. According to the manufacturer , this type of protectant is good for plastic , vinyl and rubber. I've used it for years now on everything from my motorcycles to the gun collection. It's safe and it works great. Now back to the grips for our Special Combat. Wipe away any excess liquid on the grips and re-install them on the pistol. Tighten the hold-down screws JUST SNUG. If you over-tighten them , you'll damage the plastic. Now comes the pay-off. The absorbed , drying protectant will have darkened the colour of the grips and also made them look just a little more like wood. It's not perfect , but it does look better. More than half of the pistols and revolvers in the collection here have real wood grips and all of the plastic ones , I have coated with the protectant. You can buy this stuff in most automotive supply centres.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2013-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feels like the real thing. bb and co2 loading system is brilliant. pretty good for the money.
      Things I would have changed:the plastic grips and the trigger system leaves something to be desired.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Exact replica in size and appearance
      Things I would have changed:It did not have the feel and solid grip of the real 1911. Two other air pistols, that I had ordered, (H&K USP45, and H&K P30) had the exact feel, weight, and surface texture of my "real" H&K pistols, which made dry fire practice so realistic. so therefore I returned this item.
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nick from USA on 2013-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It shot well right out the box. Also, it is a well made and handsome pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you are a collector you might have a hard time deciding whether or not you want to just display it or use it outside.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By christian from USA on 2013-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the real weight of it and how accurate it is.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic knob on the magazine to hold co2 should be meat
      What others should know:Buy it worth the money feels like the real thing and fun to shoot things
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By jeremiah from USA on 2013-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nice looking gun great feel and good weight
      Things I would have changed:trigger not so good wish it had a slotted type trigger
      What others should know:first gun ordered had a scuff-blemish but was replaced quickly by pyramid air very satisfied with customer service
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top