Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol reviews - page 2

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Christhetrainguy from USA on 2012-08-17 22:29:00

Things I liked: Striking pistol, right out of the box! After testing for function, I switched this out with a REAl Colt Custom Shop 1911,in a French fitted velvet&glass walnut display case! I think I am gonna' have to buy a second one for shooting.

Things I would have changed: This pistol can't be beat for a hundred bucks!

What others should know: Order a second magazine to keep the fun going.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Timothy from USA on 2014-09-19 16:54:48

Things I liked: The look and feel is pretty close to an M1911 with exception of the trigger.

Things I would have changed: Because this is a non-blowback pistol the trigger is both single and double action. The pull in double-action mode is very heavy so I prefer to slide cock the gun before each shot or just manually cock the hammer. A blowback pistol like the Colt Commander more accurately reflects the operation of a real M1911.

What others should know: I should have read the reviews for this gun more carefully before purchasing this pistol. It functions fine for what it is and shoots accurately but I ended up also purchasing a Colt Commander and that is by far the better replica weapon.

Sort by:
  • Previous 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from Canada on 2013-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good looking pistol. Nice weight , balance and feel in the hand. Although not a blowback , it's cool to have a working slide onboard. Two-axis-adjustable rear sight is great ! The white alignment dot on the front sight is a nice touch. Pyramyd Air has established a very reasonable price for this little gem of a pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Make the CO2 cylinder screw-down into an allen-key-operated component rather than having the tab hanging down below the lower grip surface. At least the tab is spring-loaded over to one side. The thumb safety needs to be smoother and easier to move into the safe position.

    What others should know: This little honey is accurate right out of the box. By the time the second CO2 cylinder was in place , I was grouping in an area about two inches across at a range of about 20 to 25 feet inside of our garage. Too cold to shoot outdoors at this time!!! I took both plastic grips off of the pistol and generously sprayed on some protector , good for rubber , plastic and vinyl. I let this stuff soak into the plastic grips for about a half hour , then wiped away any excess. This stuff slightly dulls and darkens the surface of the grips , making them look slightly more like wood. It's not perfect , but it does look a little better than plain shiny plastic. So , this Colt 1911 Special Combat is a keeper in this shooter's book. Try it , you'll like it !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2013-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It looks amazing, the coolest BB gun in my collection.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger.

    What others should know: Buy it whilst it's in stock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rob from Canada on 2013-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Colt 1911 , Special Combat is one really good-looking pistol , but it has absolutely more than just good looks. It is well-balanced with excellent weight and handling. There is also a nice bit of a kick-back when it's fired. You can really feel the power. The adjustable rear sight is a bonus that some air pistols in this price range just don't have. The working slide is also a nice touch adding to the realism. The colour and finish department got it pretty much spot-on with their choice of which features on the pistol were to be high-lighted in silver and which ones were to be left in black. I've only had a chance to go through two CO2 cylinder's worth of shooting so far and I think that as I get more used to this gun the accuracy rating I've given will probably increase to a five-star level. Yep , made a good choice with this sweetheart of a pistol. Thanks to Pyramyd Air for giving all of us such a good deal on the pricing !!!

    Things I would have changed: The grip safety on the Special Combat has been molded into the plastic and does not move. It's not a bargain breaker , but they could have easily designed-in what was done on the grip safety for the Daisy 1911 , CO2 BB. On the Daisy , even though the grip safety is not actually functional , it does pivot like the real thing and adds some degree of realism to the pistol. The CO2 turn-down tab on the Combat's magazine could have been designed as an Allen Screw like the one on the Tanfoglio & Swiss Arms 1911 A1's. I don't mind carrying around an Allen key in my kit or my pocket. An Allen Screw design would have made the bottom of the Special Combat much cleaner and therefore more realistic. Again , this is not a deal-breaker because the gun has so many other great features going for it.

    What others should know: Okay , so a couple of things to keep in mind. For the price you're paying at Pyramyd , the Colt 1911 , Special Combat is a sweet deal ! I'm not a big fan of plastic parts on motorcycles , cars or guns , but some of the ones they're manufacturing these days don't look half bad. You can improve them though , especially the ones on your guns. I carefully removed the plastic grips from the Combat pistol and with a small brush applied a coat of a special protectant on the inner and outer sides of both of them. I then placed the grips aside for about 15 minutes to allow the protectant to set-up and absorb into plastic. According to the manufacturer , this type of protectant is good for plastic , vinyl and rubber. I've used it for years now on everything from my motorcycles to the gun collection. It's safe and it works great. Now back to the grips for our Special Combat. Wipe away any excess liquid on the grips and re-install them on the pistol. Tighten the hold-down screws JUST SNUG. If you over-tighten them , you'll damage the plastic. Now comes the pay-off. The absorbed , drying protectant will have darkened the colour of the grips and also made them look just a little more like wood. It's not perfect , but it does look better. More than half of the pistols and revolvers in the collection here have real wood grips and all of the plastic ones , I have coated with the protectant. You can buy this stuff in most automotive supply centres.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2013-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks and feels like the real thing. bb and co2 loading system is brilliant. pretty good for the money.

    Things I would have changed: the plastic grips and the trigger system leaves something to be desired.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Exact replica in size and appearance

    Things I would have changed: It did not have the feel and solid grip of the real 1911. Two other air pistols, that I had ordered, (H&K USP45, and H&K P30) had the exact feel, weight, and surface texture of my "real" H&K pistols, which made dry fire practice so realistic. so therefore I returned this item.

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By noodles from USA on 2013-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It shot well right out the box. Also, it is a well made and handsome pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you are a collector you might have a hard time deciding whether or not you want to just display it or use it outside.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By christian from USA on 2013-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the real weight of it and how accurate it is.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic knob on the magazine to hold co2 should be meat

    What others should know: Buy it worth the money feels like the real thing and fun to shoot things

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By jeremiah from USA on 2013-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice looking gun great feel and good weight

    Things I would have changed: trigger not so good wish it had a slotted type trigger

    What others should know: first gun ordered had a scuff-blemish but was replaced quickly by pyramid air very satisfied with customer service

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By MagicDan from USA on 2013-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So much has been said about this gun that I can only echo what the others have said. For looks only, the gun rates a 10+. It is awesome looking and feels great in your hand. Mine shot well right out of the box. Making allowances for it being a BB gun, I am very pleased with the power and accuracy the gun has.

    Things I would have changed: Make this gun a pellet pistol. That would be the best for sure. As always, people complain about the plastic grips and I'm one of them. Wood grips would be a welcome addition.

    What others should know: Double-action shooting will tire you out as the trigger in that mode is heavy, but it's a breeze to cock and shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2013-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Colt 1911 was well made looks very nice,thumbs up! and it has the feel of the real gun. The video review was well worth to see and learn that this one is a keeper. I even $ one for my wife.

    Things I would have changed: I would not change nothing on this well made gun it shoots well I like the count load for the mag. I would order another extra mag so you will not have to stop and reload.

    What others should know: Myself I would not change a thing on this well made gun. It shoots stright esp,after a few brake in's. Respectfully Submitted,

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2013-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I found the colt 1911 BB Combat pistol a good buy for the money. The only issue I had is the plastic screw down for the power plant,may be an issue as when you are piercing the Co-2 it takes a lot of pressure.So I recommend,once you first tightened it and did not hear any air,is back off a ittle on the plastic air screw and re-tightened it until you hear the air.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the plastic screw down for the power plant.

    What others should know: Yes until the issue is resolved with the screw. Is to buy an extra mag. this is a plus also as you can have it ready for a sporting combat for faster reload.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Look, weight and feel, nice quality, adjustable rear sight and very accurate at 20 feet. Efficient use of co2 I got about one hundred good shots from one co2 cartridge

    Things I would have changed: More realistic trigger shape Working grip safety Add blowback

    What others should know: Definitely a good addition to anyone's collection

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tristan from USA on 2013-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The look, the feel, the build quality and you get about 100 shots per CO2

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger like a traditional 1911 trigger and also make it a little bit lighter because it is VERY heavy out the box. I would also rather have the co2 screw hidden for more realism, maybe have an allen key to get to the CO2 with

    What others should know: The double action trigger is REALLY HEAVY out the box, so you will want to lube it when you get it and just dry fire the gun for a while without CO2, so the trigger breaks in.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gregory from USA on 2013-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very handsome gun, adequate power and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Very heavy trigger pull with single action, best to cock first. I would change the trigger to a more traditional 1911 trigger.

    What others should know: I bought it mainly as a show piece which it fits the bill fine! Need to change the trigger, I have a Crosman 1088 that has a wonderful trigger.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2013-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have not shot the gun because I bought it to look at and it looks and feels great? one of the best look a like guns out there for the price. I'm glad I bought it.

    Things I would have changed: Wish the co2 tab was hidden.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2013-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking piece, weight, feel is on target as is the accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: keeps firing after it runs out of BB's, a waste of co2. very hard trigger pull unless pre-cocked.

    What others should know: Cops don't know this is a BB gun !!! Be very careful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zack from USA on 2013-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Detail, all metal High quality design, power, single and double action, working slide and slide lock

    Things I would have changed: Plastic grips,blowback, and. c02 twist knob at the bottom of the magazine

    What others should know: Must have if you collect air guns besides shooting them. You will not find a more detailed and well crafted air pistol on the market.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice feel and very accurate.I cant blame my poor shooting on this gun cause what you aim at it gets hit.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.Blow back would be nice but I think accuracy would suffer.

    What others should know: A good deal for the money.Fun to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tristan from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The look, feel, heft and it's accurate! It's also very affordable to shoot, I get about 100 to 120 rounds from 1 CO2.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is way too heavy in double action. It makes me only want to shoot this gun in single action actually. I would also like a 1911 style trigger and hide the screw for the CO2.

    What others should know: This gun is one of the nicest looking 1911 replicas, it feels like the real deal in the hand and the slide works too, but there's no blowback though. This gun is pretty accurate and if you like slow, single action target shooting, this gun is great, but if you're looking for fast double action shooting, go for the Colt Defender and skip this one. My rating says 4 stars, but if I could I would give it 3.5 stars because of the long trigger pull.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By eugene from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: heft and feel of it is very realistic. I like the drop down magazine with the co2 in the clip. I wonder if they have extra magazines for it? It holds 18 shots so you have a nice long shooting spell before you have to reload.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger. It is ok in single action, but boy that is a LONG pull in the double action. I would also like to see a traditional looking trigger in it instead of that long double action trigger and the clip is hard to pull the spring down for loading.. a little more lip or some kind of loading handle would be nice.

    What others should know: So far it has been very reliable, pretty good groupings so far, offhand at about 30 feet I can get about 1 inch groups with a little concentration. Overall a great value for the price.

  • Previous 1234 Next
Navigation