Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol reviews - page 2

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Christhetrainguy from USA on 2012-08-17 22:29:00

Things I liked:Striking pistol, right out of the box! After testing for function, I switched this out with a REAl Colt Custom Shop 1911,in a French fitted velvet&glass walnut display case! I think I am gonna' have to buy a second one for shooting.
Things I would have changed:This pistol can't be beat for a hundred bucks!
What others should know:Order a second magazine to keep the fun going.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Timothy from USA on 2014-09-19 16:54:48

Things I liked:The look and feel is pretty close to an M1911 with exception of the trigger.
Things I would have changed:Because this is a non-blowback pistol the trigger is both single and double action. The pull in double-action mode is very heavy so I prefer to slide cock the gun before each shot or just manually cock the hammer. A blowback pistol like the Colt Commander more accurately reflects the operation of a real M1911.
What others should know:I should have read the reviews for this gun more carefully before purchasing this pistol. It functions fine for what it is and shoots accurately but I ended up also purchasing a Colt Commander and that is by far the better replica weapon.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2013-12-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It looks amazing, the coolest BB gun in my collection.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger.
    What others should know:Buy it whilst it's in stock.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Rob from Canada on 2013-12-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This Colt 1911 , Special Combat is one really good-looking pistol , but it has absolutely more than just good looks. It is well-balanced with excellent weight and handling. There is also a nice bit of a kick-back when it's fired. You can really feel the power. The adjustable rear sight is a bonus that some air pistols in this price range just don't have. The working slide is also a nice touch adding to the realism. The colour and finish department got it pretty much spot-on with their choice of which features on the pistol were to be high-lighted in silver and which ones were to be left in black. I've only had a chance to go through two CO2 cylinder's worth of shooting so far and I think that as I get more used to this gun the accuracy rating I've given will probably increase to a five-star level. Yep , made a good choice with this sweetheart of a pistol. Thanks to Pyramyd Air for giving all of us such a good deal on the pricing !!!
    Things I would have changed:The grip safety on the Special Combat has been molded into the plastic and does not move. It's not a bargain breaker , but they could have easily designed-in what was done on the grip safety for the Daisy 1911 , CO2 BB. On the Daisy , even though the grip safety is not actually functional , it does pivot like the real thing and adds some degree of realism to the pistol. The CO2 turn-down tab on the Combat's magazine could have been designed as an Allen Screw like the one on the Tanfoglio & Swiss Arms 1911 A1's. I don't mind carrying around an Allen key in my kit or my pocket. An Allen Screw design would have made the bottom of the Special Combat much cleaner and therefore more realistic. Again , this is not a deal-breaker because the gun has so many other great features going for it.
    What others should know:Okay , so a couple of things to keep in mind. For the price you're paying at Pyramyd , the Colt 1911 , Special Combat is a sweet deal ! I'm not a big fan of plastic parts on motorcycles , cars or guns , but some of the ones they're manufacturing these days don't look half bad. You can improve them though , especially the ones on your guns. I carefully removed the plastic grips from the Combat pistol and with a small brush applied a coat of a special protectant on the inner and outer sides of both of them. I then placed the grips aside for about 15 minutes to allow the protectant to set-up and absorb into plastic. According to the manufacturer , this type of protectant is good for plastic , vinyl and rubber. I've used it for years now on everything from my motorcycles to the gun collection. It's safe and it works great. Now back to the grips for our Special Combat. Wipe away any excess liquid on the grips and re-install them on the pistol. Tighten the hold-down screws JUST SNUG. If you over-tighten them , you'll damage the plastic. Now comes the pay-off. The absorbed , drying protectant will have darkened the colour of the grips and also made them look just a little more like wood. It's not perfect , but it does look better. More than half of the pistols and revolvers in the collection here have real wood grips and all of the plastic ones , I have coated with the protectant. You can buy this stuff in most automotive supply centres.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Anthony from USA on 2013-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks and feels like the real thing. bb and co2 loading system is brilliant. pretty good for the money.
    Things I would have changed:the plastic grips and the trigger system leaves something to be desired.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Exact replica in size and appearance
    Things I would have changed:It did not have the feel and solid grip of the real 1911. Two other air pistols, that I had ordered, (H&K USP45, and H&K P30) had the exact feel, weight, and surface texture of my "real" H&K pistols, which made dry fire practice so realistic. so therefore I returned this item.
    What others should know:no
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By noodles from USA on 2013-10-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It shot well right out the box. Also, it is a well made and handsome pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:If you are a collector you might have a hard time deciding whether or not you want to just display it or use it outside.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By christian from USA on 2013-09-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the real weight of it and how accurate it is.
    Things I would have changed:The plastic knob on the magazine to hold co2 should be meat
    What others should know:Buy it worth the money feels like the real thing and fun to shoot things
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By jeremiah from USA on 2013-08-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:nice looking gun great feel and good weight
    Things I would have changed:trigger not so good wish it had a slotted type trigger
    What others should know:first gun ordered had a scuff-blemish but was replaced quickly by pyramid air very satisfied with customer service
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By MagicDan from USA on 2013-05-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:So much has been said about this gun that I can only echo what the others have said. For looks only, the gun rates a 10+. It is awesome looking and feels great in your hand. Mine shot well right out of the box. Making allowances for it being a BB gun, I am very pleased with the power and accuracy the gun has.
    Things I would have changed:Make this gun a pellet pistol. That would be the best for sure. As always, people complain about the plastic grips and I'm one of them. Wood grips would be a welcome addition.
    What others should know:Double-action shooting will tire you out as the trigger in that mode is heavy, but it's a breeze to cock and shoot.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2013-05-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This Colt 1911 was well made looks very nice,thumbs up! and it has the feel of the real gun. The video review was well worth to see and learn that this one is a keeper. I even $ one for my wife.
    Things I would have changed:I would not change nothing on this well made gun it shoots well I like the count load for the mag. I would order another extra mag so you will not have to stop and reload.
    What others should know:Myself I would not change a thing on this well made gun. It shoots stright esp,after a few brake in's. Respectfully Submitted,
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2013-04-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I found the colt 1911 BB Combat pistol a good buy for the money. The only issue I had is the plastic screw down for the power plant,may be an issue as when you are piercing the Co-2 it takes a lot of pressure.So I recommend,once you first tightened it and did not hear any air,is back off a ittle on the plastic air screw and re-tightened it until you hear the air.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is the plastic screw down for the power plant.
    What others should know:Yes until the issue is resolved with the screw. Is to buy an extra mag. this is a plus also as you can have it ready for a sporting combat for faster reload.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Paul from USA on 2013-04-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Look, weight and feel, nice quality, adjustable rear sight and very accurate at 20 feet. Efficient use of co2 I got about one hundred good shots from one co2 cartridge
    Things I would have changed:More realistic trigger shape Working grip safety Add blowback
    What others should know:Definitely a good addition to anyone's collection
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Tristan from USA on 2013-03-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look, the feel, the build quality and you get about 100 shots per CO2
    Things I would have changed:Make the trigger like a traditional 1911 trigger and also make it a little bit lighter because it is VERY heavy out the box. I would also rather have the co2 screw hidden for more realism, maybe have an allen key to get to the CO2 with
    What others should know:The double action trigger is REALLY HEAVY out the box, so you will want to lube it when you get it and just dry fire the gun for a while without CO2, so the trigger breaks in.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By gregory from USA on 2013-03-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very handsome gun, adequate power and accuracy
    Things I would have changed:Very heavy trigger pull with single action, best to cock first. I would change the trigger to a more traditional 1911 trigger.
    What others should know:I bought it mainly as a show piece which it fits the bill fine! Need to change the trigger, I have a Crosman 1088 that has a wonderful trigger.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Mark from USA on 2013-03-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have not shot the gun because I bought it to look at and it looks and feels great? one of the best look a like guns out there for the price. I'm glad I bought it.
    Things I would have changed:Wish the co2 tab was hidden.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2013-03-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great looking piece, weight, feel is on target as is the accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:keeps firing after it runs out of BB's, a waste of co2. very hard trigger pull unless pre-cocked.
    What others should know:Cops don't know this is a BB gun !!! Be very careful.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By zack from USA on 2013-02-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Detail, all metal High quality design, power, single and double action, working slide and slide lock
    Things I would have changed:Plastic grips,blowback, and. c02 twist knob at the bottom of the magazine
    What others should know:Must have if you collect air guns besides shooting them. You will not find a more detailed and well crafted air pistol on the market.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Michael from USA on 2013-02-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice feel and very accurate.I cant blame my poor shooting on this gun cause what you aim at it gets hit.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.Blow back would be nice but I think accuracy would suffer.
    What others should know:A good deal for the money.Fun to shoot.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Tristan from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look, feel, heft and it's accurate! It's also very affordable to shoot, I get about 100 to 120 rounds from 1 CO2.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is way too heavy in double action. It makes me only want to shoot this gun in single action actually. I would also like a 1911 style trigger and hide the screw for the CO2.
    What others should know:This gun is one of the nicest looking 1911 replicas, it feels like the real deal in the hand and the slide works too, but there's no blowback though. This gun is pretty accurate and if you like slow, single action target shooting, this gun is great, but if you're looking for fast double action shooting, go for the Colt Defender and skip this one. My rating says 4 stars, but if I could I would give it 3.5 stars because of the long trigger pull.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By eugene from USA on 2013-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:heft and feel of it is very realistic. I like the drop down magazine with the co2 in the clip. I wonder if they have extra magazines for it? It holds 18 shots so you have a nice long shooting spell before you have to reload.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger. It is ok in single action, but boy that is a LONG pull in the double action. I would also like to see a traditional looking trigger in it instead of that long double action trigger and the clip is hard to pull the spring down for loading.. a little more lip or some kind of loading handle would be nice.
    What others should know:So far it has been very reliable, pretty good groupings so far, offhand at about 30 feet I can get about 1 inch groups with a little concentration. Overall a great value for the price.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dave from Canada on 2013-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The look is very nice and the weight is excellent I love this gun
    Things I would have changed:I would add Wood grips, or black rubber grips to the gun with a red dot laser sight.
    What others should know:I get 110 shots per CO2 cartridge that is awesome, along with the accuracy this gun is a must have.
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top