Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Colt Python CO2 Revolver reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2014-04-22 10:14:18

    Things I liked:First off, I actually wasn't even aware that this gun existed until I stumbled across it while searching for co2 air revolvers on Pyramyd Air. The Python is a very sturdy, hefty gun (it's virtually all-metal, and you can really feel the heft when you hold it) and, being a very well-made replica, it looks great.. I give it points just for being aesthetically pleasing. Heck, even if you buy this gun just as a prop/replica, it's worth it.. the hard red plastic/rubber tips of the rounds can even be easily removed, which leaves just the brass cartridges looking like real spent .357 shell casings. But it's not just a good-lookin' gun.. it's quite accurate, shoots hard, and just overall feels great to shoot due to the realism of the gun design. Being able to actually load .357-sized rounds into the functional cylinder, click it back into place, then fire away - I prefer single action - feels pretty sweet. I also like the recessed co2 design, as opposed to having some kind of ugly external screw knob.. and the grips are relatively nice and compact, although the hard (somewhat rubberized?) plastic can feel a bit abrasive after a while. I was actually settled on the Dan Wesson 8" revolver, but this gun just happened to catch my eye at the last minute and stole away the sale.. I mean for $99, it's a great buy! The Dan Wesson will be my next purchase.
    Things I would have changed:Although I've only owned this gun for a little over a week, I haven't experienced any issues or malfunctions with it. My only relatively minor complaints: - On my particular gun, the hammer appears to lean very slightly off-center to the left (really only noticeable when cocked). However, this may simply be part of the design, as I mentioned this to an acquaintance experienced with airguns and he said that he noticed the same thing on his Python. - The grips, while reasonably compact, are not particularly comfortable (mostly noticeable after extended use).
    What others should know:Revolvers are awesome.. get this gun while it's still $99 bucks! I would not be surprised if it doesn't stay that price forever, since it seems to be worth more than that. P.s... Thanks to Pyramyd Air for a great buy and great service. The gun was delivered very quickly and their customer support is very efficient and helpful. I was definitely impressed with them overall. Thanks, Pyramyd Air!
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2014-05-20 09:30:27

    Things I liked:Very realistic look and feel. Grips are solidly attached.
    Things I would have changed:Very loose and sloppy fit of the cylinder onto the crane allows the cylinder to pivot on the spring loaded forcing cone and the crane to open partially as the gun is cocked. Since that's something I just couldn't get over, I returned the gun unused to insure a full refund.
    What others should know:I replaced this with an Umarex S&W 586 and, even though I gave up some realism and quite a few more dollars, I'm much happier.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Nicholas from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice trigger especially in single action, it became quite accurate after about a 200rnd break in, at 20yrds I'm now getting a 2 inch 5 shot group with a avanti BBs.
      Things I would have changed:make it able to fire pellet's and give it a rifled not a brass smoothbore, the worst thing about it is the cylinder sometimes gets in a bind, when the cylinder opens the back edge is hitting part of frame just above the trigger and its started knocking off the finish around the edge of the cylinder, the reason its doing this is the cylinder has to much forward/rearward movement on rod that it spins on, if you make sure the cylinder is all the way forward before you open it, it won't do it ( it helps to point it downward )if I can get the cylinder off I might can fix the problem with a washer.
      What others should know: it has brass smoothbore, If I remember correctly it said you should get like 60 shots per co2 fill, it's more like 40-45 good shots than it gets kinda weak. and the accuracy started out pretty bad, but after 200rnds it got a lot better, I think the shells need to break in to get the velocity consistent,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CM Donn from USA on 2014-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall look and feel is spot on the real model which I placed side by side.
      Things I would have changed:The silk screening on the barrel and do an engraving.
      What others should know:These shells are not compatible with other bras shell models like Dan Wesson.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Lawrence from USA on 2014-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very realistic look and feel. Grips are solidly attached.
      Things I would have changed:Very loose and sloppy fit of the cylinder onto the crane allows the cylinder to pivot on the spring loaded forcing cone and the crane to open partially as the gun is cocked. Since that's something I just couldn't get over, I returned the gun unused to insure a full refund.
      What others should know:I replaced this with an Umarex S&W 586 and, even though I gave up some realism and quite a few more dollars, I'm much happier.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jesse James from USA on 2014-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice parkerized type finish., A very attractive remnant of the real thing, Packaged well, Dead on accurate, beefy, can't honestly remember the real Python as heavy. A teriffic buy @ $99.00 a copy.
      Things I would have changed:Tighten up the swing out cylinder to the ejection rod, too much play there, but it did not affect shooting ability or accuracy. Would have fabricated a look alike wood grip like the one on the real Colt Python.
      What others should know:This thing is cast iron durable although I would hate to drop it on a hard surface, it would marr the hell out of it. Most of the gun really looks like the real Python except for the rear frame near the hammer, there it kind of resembles a Dan Wesson pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the realism,heft and over-all ever thing about this gun Great buy for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By shawn from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun is heavy and well balanced while shooting. Trigger is smooth. The look and feel is just like the real thing.
      Things I would have changed:I would put a weaver rail either on top of the gun or under the barrel. It'd be nice to be able to mount a laser sight or a red dot scope on in for precision shooting. I would make the safety button bigger and in a more visible place.
      What others should know:Sometimes it can be difficult closing the cylinder after loading the weapon.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ted from Canada on 2014-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just received my pistol today. WOW!!! What a beautiful piece of craftsmanship. This is one authentic replica and it is very well manufactured. The tolerances on everything is so tight and it just screams quality. The hammer is tight, the cylinder is precise and the trigger pull is smooth in both DA and SA. Fully adjustable rear sight is a beautiful thing on this gun because there's nothing worse than having a gorgeous gun that couldn't hit the side of a barn. Loads of power. The CO2 compartment is very neatly tucked inside the fixed grip, which feels very solid in the hand unlike other revolvers that I own and will not mention. Beautiful trademarks, except the white warning on the side that will be removed. This has a recessed barrel that adds to the authentic look. One of the most amazing replica pieces to be noted is the fact that the cylinder actually rotates clockwise as it does on the real steel. This revolver has a very well concealed safety switch, although isn't authentic, is small and next to impossible to notice. There are no shared components with other revolvers, this one is all its' own and absolutely SUPERB in every detail. This is a MUST HAVE for any enthusiast or collector!!
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING!
      What others should know:The most authentic replica revolver you can buy for 4.5mm revolvers. This is absolutely flawless and a lot of fun to shoot!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JAMES from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Accuracy of design. Fully adjustable rear sight.
      Things I would have changed: Get rid of all white lettering except the Colt logo. BLUING FINISH. Brite dots on front and rear sights. Have solid wood Grips available.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:First off, I actually wasn't even aware that this gun existed until I stumbled across it while searching for co2 air revolvers on Pyramyd Air. The Python is a very sturdy, hefty gun (it's virtually all-metal, and you can really feel the heft when you hold it) and, being a very well-made replica, it looks great.. I give it points just for being aesthetically pleasing. Heck, even if you buy this gun just as a prop/replica, it's worth it.. the hard red plastic/rubber tips of the rounds can even be easily removed, which leaves just the brass cartridges looking like real spent .357 shell casings. But it's not just a good-lookin' gun.. it's quite accurate, shoots hard, and just overall feels great to shoot due to the realism of the gun design. Being able to actually load .357-sized rounds into the functional cylinder, click it back into place, then fire away - I prefer single action - feels pretty sweet. I also like the recessed co2 design, as opposed to having some kind of ugly external screw knob.. and the grips are relatively nice and compact, although the hard (somewhat rubberized?) plastic can feel a bit abrasive after a while. I was actually settled on the Dan Wesson 8" revolver, but this gun just happened to catch my eye at the last minute and stole away the sale.. I mean for $99, it's a great buy! The Dan Wesson will be my next purchase.
      Things I would have changed:Although I've only owned this gun for a little over a week, I haven't experienced any issues or malfunctions with it. My only relatively minor complaints: - On my particular gun, the hammer appears to lean very slightly off-center to the left (really only noticeable when cocked). However, this may simply be part of the design, as I mentioned this to an acquaintance experienced with airguns and he said that he noticed the same thing on his Python. - The grips, while reasonably compact, are not particularly comfortable (mostly noticeable after extended use).
      What others should know:Revolvers are awesome.. get this gun while it's still $99 bucks! I would not be surprised if it doesn't stay that price forever, since it seems to be worth more than that. P.s... Thanks to Pyramyd Air for a great buy and great service. The gun was delivered very quickly and their customer support is very efficient and helpful. I was definitely impressed with them overall. Thanks, Pyramyd Air!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By keith from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:looks great, feels great, shoots great
      Things I would have changed:wooden grips
      What others should know:buy extra speedloaders and cartriges
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roger from Canada on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight, feel and power
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy and ammo having to buy with loader as a package.
      What others should know:This is a heavy gun. It feels like the real thing. It's pretty accurate but my Crosman Vigilanty is more precise but feel's more like a toy compare to this one. I was expecting that as this is a smooth bore barel as opposes to a riffled barel on the Crosman and the fact that the Crosman is a pellet shooter as well. You have to get used to the safety as it's well recessed behind the hammer. It's hard to get at with my big fingers.I always have to check on the right side to see if it's on or not. I like the grip. Some type of hard rubber wrap around. You install the CO2 bottle from the bottom of the grip and screw the cap back on just like the Sig P226 X5 or the Tanfoglio Witness 1911. It uses the same allen key. The part that you pull behind the rotating cylinder on the left side, feels like plastick but I cant be sure. It shure is flimsy as it wiggles side to side but it works. A very nice gunn. I gave it four stars because of accuracy and the lack of getting more ammo without having to buy a speed loader every time.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top