Date: 17/1/2017 11:45
0

Crosman 2240 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

Things I liked: as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.

Things I would have changed: mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker

What others should know: its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Robert from USA on 2016-09-25 08:20:45

Things I liked: Size and weight

Things I would have changed: metal rear sight, had problem with my windage and piercing CO2 cartridge. Trigger pretty bad.

What others should know: Never worked correctly, took extraordinary pressure to pierce 1st CO2 cartridge, followed factory directions. Shot randomly at first, sometimes fired, sometimes not. Used up 1st CO2 cartridge sighting in at 25', windage put rear sight way off to one side. Replaced cartridge and could not pierce 2d CO2 cartridge. Turned in screw all the way. Had to take off cap with Vise Grips! CO2 cartridge would not drop out, tried tapping , would not budge, something is seriously wrong. Waiting for a RMA from Pyramid right now. Hope their Customer Service is as good as everyone says.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1617 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First of all, this gun is a lot of fun for everyone in my family (who have tried it so far) to shoot. Not been worried so far about pinhole accuracy as that's not why I bought it. Was looking for a fun shooter for plinking and does this ever fill the bill! Wish I had bought one years ago. Been airgunning with pistols and rifles for more decades than I want to admit. Always have liked pellet guns for target shooting and just fun and this is a great addition to our collection.

    Things I would have changed: A positive stop for the probe when in the open position would have been nice. I keep wanting to point the gun downward to load a pellet but, of course, when you do, the probe slides forward. No doubt this is a hangover from my firing breakbarrel pistols for so many years but I would recommend than one change.

    What others should know: If you don't have one, buy one! For the price you can't go wrong. Not too many things I know of give this much fun for your money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Avagio from USA on 2016-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely well made for the money, very easy to operate, extremely customizable with many options.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2016-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate after you break it in. It shot kind of unpredictably for the first 50 shots, yet still within 1-2 inch groups at 30 feet. A couple of hits where I aimed and then a couple of wingers. After that it just started coming together into tighter groups. After about 200 shots, I was getting half inch groups at 30 feet. I am still breaking it in ( I really don't think an air pistol is broken in until after 400-500 rounds and at least 2 barrel cleanings and oilings, but that's just what I do) and it is very consistent and seems to be getting better. I'm getting to the point where I can't tell where one hole ends and another starts, but I still don't consider it a "one hole group". Using heavier pellets, 12-15 grains seems to be the best way to go.

    Things I would have changed: I would like better sights. Black sights are a pain in low light conditions, and white dots or fiber optic sights would be a big improvement. Also the ability to change sights would be nice. On thing I've learned over the years is that with black sights, a bit of "White Out" or white model paint is a good thing to make your own white dot sights. But it's a pellet gun!

    What others should know: I'm not doing competition or precision shots with it. Although it is capable of some fairly amazingly accurate shooting in the 10 to 20 yard range. It also depends upon the pellets you use. Spend the money for better pellets. The Crosman Premier pellets are not consistent and therefore not that reliable for repeatable accuracy. JSB Jumbo Exact Heavy Diabolo seem to work the best in my pistol. Very accurate and consistent, shot after shot. Pyramid Air sells them. Plan on getting 45- 50 shots per CO2 cylinder. You can't go wrong with this gun. I'm teaching my granddaughter to shoot pistol with it and she's doing really well. (she's 7) The trigger isn't bad at all, yet it could be a bit smoother. If you shoot indoors, it is a bit loud. especially if you add a drop of oil to every CO2 cylinder as recommended. For some reason the addition of the oil makes the first few shots pretty loud, but the idea of adding it to the head of the cylinder head is obvious to the maintenance of the gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marco from USA on 2016-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like everything about this gun, the look, the weight of it, the power, the accuracy, the The fact that the sky is the limit to customize these gun .

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything

    What others should know: Is the perfect gun for beginners and very well could be the last gun to buy because how versatile and how easy to customize and make it into the next level and the next level something super special

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2016-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the money you cant go wrong. Upgrades and wow the upgrade, more than you could ever want. Its a great gun. It is accurate and well built. Would like it to have more power but wow it is great for every member of the family. What could do with a springer you can do with this. I haven't found a cheap spring gun that keep the level of accuracy this little gun is able to do. I modded mine out to where I can keep a 10 shot group less than a dime at 30 yards. Out of the box or plastic package this gun is more than enough to keep tight groups at 20 yards, 30 would be pushing it for small game. I love it.

    Things I would have changed: The breach to a steel breach with a dovetail. I got the steel breach from PA also....WOW

    What others should know: Its a good pistol, the plastic breach is smooth to work but I shoot a lot and could wear it out. You will need the steel breach if you want to mount optics.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerald N from USA on 2016-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just a fun gun to shoot, needed something to shoot for fun this was it

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see the metal breach come stock

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size and weight

    Things I would have changed: metal rear sight, had problem with my windage and piercing CO2 cartridge. Trigger pretty bad.

    What others should know: Never worked correctly, took extraordinary pressure to pierce 1st CO2 cartridge, followed factory directions. Shot randomly at first, sometimes fired, sometimes not. Used up 1st CO2 cartridge sighting in at 25', windage put rear sight way off to one side. Replaced cartridge and could not pierce 2d CO2 cartridge. Turned in screw all the way. Had to take off cap with Vise Grips! CO2 cartridge would not drop out, tried tapping , would not budge, something is seriously wrong. Waiting for a RMA from Pyramid right now. Hope their Customer Service is as good as everyone says.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By martin from USA on 2016-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very upgradable and easy to do

    Things I would have changed: Would have an entire page dedicated to this gun and it's mods

    What others should know: Best bang for your buck !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2016-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's good for the money I got the upgrade steel breach and rear sight that costs more than the gun and I wish I would have left it as is

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The upgrade steel breach and rear sight was a mistake. The rear sight was a improvement but the plastic breach works better, than the steel breach the bolt is so loose that gravity will open it the pellets are hard to load they get sideways and jam it's aggravating to fight with it every time you load it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value, pistol very accurate

    Things I would have changed: A steel breech as a standard installation

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this pistol! I cannot review it in it's stock form, however. I ordered it with the steel breech kit, a UTG 4x scope, and my father-in-law gave me a backpacker stock for it. I also removed the front sight from the barrel. All of these were done before the first shot. That being said, this thing is a tack driver at 15 yards, even with the stock barrel. I was using 18.13 grain JSB jumbo exacts, and shooting off of the back tire of a tractor, and we're talking one hole. Repeatedly. It's a little loud, so if you're living in town and want to shoot in your yard, I would order a longer barrel or a muzzle brake. Awesome little pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Metal breech, stock from the factory, even if it makes it $100. Plastic doesn't belong on guns. Other than that, nothing.

    What others should know: Great pistol. You won't regret buying it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2016-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Crosman 2240 is one of the finest CO2 pistols on the market. I mounted a Hawke Red/Green dot and after 15 - 20 shots I was hitting the bulls eye as 12 yards consistently. Well balanced, easy to shoot and I am getting at least 40 shots per CO2 tank. Definitely happy with this purchase and would recommend this pistol to anyone looking for some target, plinking, hunting fun.

    Things I would have changed: The attached rear sight is difficult to use! I definitely recommend adding a red dot sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Edward from USA on 2016-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: over all it a very good pistol.

    Things I would have changed: the one thing I would change is the breech with I will change as so as I can.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cole from USA on 2016-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The pistol is light and easy to manuver. It is accurate and fun to shoot. I like the fact that it is easy to upgrade with different features directly from Croman.

    Things I would have changed: It would not cock when I first opened it up. After serching on the web I found the answer was the top rear sight screw was too tight and wouldn't let the bolt engage the hammer. 1/8th turn and all was well. the rear sights atre rudimentary to say the least and I put a reflex type sight on it for now . It is very accurrate with that set up

    What others should know: You get a decent amount of shots per canister. It handles well, is acurrate and I am going to buy another soon.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Edward from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a good buy, easy to use

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: no

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate barrel, good power, comfortable weight. Shoots H&N Field Target Trophy 14.66 grain great for me. This has the potential to be turned into a great CO2 pistol for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sight able to go low enough to sight in at 10yds. Don't even sell it with the plastic breech.

    What others should know: The plastic original breech and sights are basically impossible to shoot accurately with. Almost silly its made that way at all in my opinion.. Nonetheless when you buy the steel breech and ditch the old sights for an adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front : you have a darn fine CO2 pistol for the price. (while they have the breech and rear sight combo, unfortunately Pyramyd doesn't carry the front sight. Theres a retired Air Force Lt Col who sells them for $10 on eBay, which is not only the best price I found, it's supporting a vet!) When you add the steel breech this is an impressively accurate pistol at up to 30 yards. Despite further potential, I think a simple "iron sight" set up is optimal, and definitely wouldnt go all out and mod this into a mini carbine. You can buy standard air rifles that have all the bells and whistles, and perform better for a lower price than the combined cost of buying this pistol and 9 mods from different vendors.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jim from USA on 2016-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great gun for the money.

    Things I would have changed: nothing for this price.

    What others should know: good cheap entry level pistol for plinking and target shooting.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I read about "value for the money" pointed to the Crosman 2240 as a good entry point for 10 meter target practice. A very popular airgun. I never fired it, because there was obviously something wrong right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control at Crosman. See below.

    What others should know: While examining the pistol for any obvious defects before firing it, I noticed the the front sight was cocked several degrees to the right (when looking from breech to muzzle). Had I gone to the Web and Googled "Crosman 2240 front sight crooked" (or some variation of this search), I would have discovered that this has been a known problem since at least 2007. Suggested fixes include removing/reinstalling the sight, loosening the set screws on the band that holds the barrel and rotating the barrel, etc. And then there are the blog posts that say none of this will work for one reason or another. I got a bad one-you may not. It had to go back. ALL THAT BEING SAID, PYRAMYD AIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS PHENOMENAL.No hassle, quick response, very professional. I will continue to deal with Pyramyd, but not with Crosman.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2016-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well constructed, fits my Hand comfortably and is easy to load co2 cartridge as well as pellet.

    Things I would have changed: More power and longer range which does not sacrifice accuracy. I know this is a co2 pellet firing gun but would like to see improvement that would make this gun shoot at 600 feet per sec and have an effective and accurate extended range out to 50 yards. I know there are pellet guns that can do this but the price is quite a bit higher. However, if this air pistol could be made much more powerful and longer range accurate for say $100 more, I would consider it.

    What others should know: Like your service and product selections

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2016-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much everything. this is an excellent little pellet pistol. Solid design that has been around for years and is still one of the best out there. Not to mention the aftermarket accessories available are countless, so you can make this into anything you can dream up.

    Things I would have changed: Would love to see a better option for sights, especially the rear sight. Not only on the 2240, but on the 13xx series as well. Fiber optics would be nice.

    What others should know: I have a few of these, and I will buy more. I generally don't leave them stock for long though, more fun to tinker and mod these guns, and its so easy to that it becomes addictive. So just buy one and let the fun begin!

  • 123 ... 1617 Next
Navigation