Date: 27/8/2016 22:26
0

Crosman 2240 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

Things I liked: as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.

Things I would have changed: mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker

What others should know: its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By David from USA on 2016-06-06 20:24:12

Things I liked: Everything I read about "value for the money" pointed to the Crosman 2240 as a good entry point for 10 meter target practice. A very popular airgun. I never fired it, because there was obviously something wrong right out of the box.

Things I would have changed: Quality control at Crosman. See below.

What others should know: While examining the pistol for any obvious defects before firing it, I noticed the the front sight was cocked several degrees to the right (when looking from breech to muzzle). Had I gone to the Web and Googled "Crosman 2240 front sight crooked" (or some variation of this search), I would have discovered that this has been a known problem since at least 2007. Suggested fixes include removing/reinstalling the sight, loosening the set screws on the band that holds the barrel and rotating the barrel, etc. And then there are the blog posts that say none of this will work for one reason or another. I got a bad one-you may not. It had to go back. ALL THAT BEING SAID, PYRAMYD AIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS PHENOMENAL.No hassle, quick response, very professional. I will continue to deal with Pyramyd, but not with Crosman.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1617 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value, pistol very accurate

    Things I would have changed: A steel breech as a standard installation

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this pistol! I cannot review it in it's stock form, however. I ordered it with the steel breech kit, a UTG 4x scope, and my father-in-law gave me a backpacker stock for it. I also removed the front sight from the barrel. All of these were done before the first shot. That being said, this thing is a tack driver at 15 yards, even with the stock barrel. I was using 18.13 grain JSB jumbo exacts, and shooting off of the back tire of a tractor, and we're talking one hole. Repeatedly. It's a little loud, so if you're living in town and want to shoot in your yard, I would order a longer barrel or a muzzle brake. Awesome little pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Metal breech, stock from the factory, even if it makes it $100. Plastic doesn't belong on guns. Other than that, nothing.

    What others should know: Great pistol. You won't regret buying it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2016-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Crosman 2240 is one of the finest CO2 pistols on the market. I mounted a Hawke Red/Green dot and after 15 - 20 shots I was hitting the bulls eye as 12 yards consistently. Well balanced, easy to shoot and I am getting at least 40 shots per CO2 tank. Definitely happy with this purchase and would recommend this pistol to anyone looking for some target, plinking, hunting fun.

    Things I would have changed: The attached rear sight is difficult to use! I definitely recommend adding a red dot sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Edward from USA on 2016-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: over all it a very good pistol.

    Things I would have changed: the one thing I would change is the breech with I will change as so as I can.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cole from USA on 2016-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The pistol is light and easy to manuver. It is accurate and fun to shoot. I like the fact that it is easy to upgrade with different features directly from Croman.

    Things I would have changed: It would not cock when I first opened it up. After serching on the web I found the answer was the top rear sight screw was too tight and wouldn't let the bolt engage the hammer. 1/8th turn and all was well. the rear sights atre rudimentary to say the least and I put a reflex type sight on it for now . It is very accurrate with that set up

    What others should know: You get a decent amount of shots per canister. It handles well, is acurrate and I am going to buy another soon.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Edward from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a good buy, easy to use

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

    What others should know: no

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate barrel, good power, comfortable weight. Shoots H&N Field Target Trophy 14.66 grain great for me. This has the potential to be turned into a great CO2 pistol for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sight able to go low enough to sight in at 10yds. Don't even sell it with the plastic breech.

    What others should know: The plastic original breech and sights are basically impossible to shoot accurately with. Almost silly its made that way at all in my opinion.. Nonetheless when you buy the steel breech and ditch the old sights for an adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front : you have a darn fine CO2 pistol for the price. (while they have the breech and rear sight combo, unfortunately Pyramyd doesn't carry the front sight. Theres a retired Air Force Lt Col who sells them for $10 on eBay, which is not only the best price I found, it's supporting a vet!) When you add the steel breech this is an impressively accurate pistol at up to 30 yards. Despite further potential, I think a simple "iron sight" set up is optimal, and definitely wouldnt go all out and mod this into a mini carbine. You can buy standard air rifles that have all the bells and whistles, and perform better for a lower price than the combined cost of buying this pistol and 9 mods from different vendors.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jim from USA on 2016-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great gun for the money.

    Things I would have changed: nothing for this price.

    What others should know: good cheap entry level pistol for plinking and target shooting.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I read about "value for the money" pointed to the Crosman 2240 as a good entry point for 10 meter target practice. A very popular airgun. I never fired it, because there was obviously something wrong right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Quality control at Crosman. See below.

    What others should know: While examining the pistol for any obvious defects before firing it, I noticed the the front sight was cocked several degrees to the right (when looking from breech to muzzle). Had I gone to the Web and Googled "Crosman 2240 front sight crooked" (or some variation of this search), I would have discovered that this has been a known problem since at least 2007. Suggested fixes include removing/reinstalling the sight, loosening the set screws on the band that holds the barrel and rotating the barrel, etc. And then there are the blog posts that say none of this will work for one reason or another. I got a bad one-you may not. It had to go back. ALL THAT BEING SAID, PYRAMYD AIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS PHENOMENAL.No hassle, quick response, very professional. I will continue to deal with Pyramyd, but not with Crosman.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2016-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well constructed, fits my Hand comfortably and is easy to load co2 cartridge as well as pellet.

    Things I would have changed: More power and longer range which does not sacrifice accuracy. I know this is a co2 pellet firing gun but would like to see improvement that would make this gun shoot at 600 feet per sec and have an effective and accurate extended range out to 50 yards. I know there are pellet guns that can do this but the price is quite a bit higher. However, if this air pistol could be made much more powerful and longer range accurate for say $100 more, I would consider it.

    What others should know: Like your service and product selections

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2016-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much everything. this is an excellent little pellet pistol. Solid design that has been around for years and is still one of the best out there. Not to mention the aftermarket accessories available are countless, so you can make this into anything you can dream up.

    Things I would have changed: Would love to see a better option for sights, especially the rear sight. Not only on the 2240, but on the 13xx series as well. Fiber optics would be nice.

    What others should know: I have a few of these, and I will buy more. I generally don't leave them stock for long though, more fun to tinker and mod these guns, and its so easy to that it becomes addictive. So just buy one and let the fun begin!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The bolt action. The Co2. The .22 caliber. The power!!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This thing is very powerful and looks real. Watching a video on it does not capture the full power of this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gene from USA on 2016-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, ease of operation, light trigger weight. Mine after about 500 shots pulls within 2 oz. 0f 2 lb. 4 oz. With a digital trigger pull gauge.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer a wider trigger pad.

    What others should know: Shots per cartridge vary depending upon how fast I shoot. Fired rapid fire as fast as I could load I got 41 shots. Groups fired from a sandbag rest at 10 meters run less than 1 inch for 10 shot groups. I have two other air pistols that will shoot groups 1/2 inch and less at 10 meters, but one cost $450 plus and the other $800 plus. And I have to crank an inconvenient cocking lever for each shot. Fired slow fire and resting between shots for 30 seconds to one minute I got a high of 63 shots. After this experiment and doing normal bullseye shooting at 10 meters at what is a comfortable pace for me, I experience 50 to 55 shots per cartridge.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ted from USA on 2016-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a fantastic pistol at the price , even if it cost twice as much. I bought the steel breech along with it , which I think is a "must". I put a 2x BSA pistol scope on it and can easily shoot "one ragged hole" at 15 yrds. It shoots most pellets well but I prefer the JSB jumbo heavy. Very accurate and hard hitting. They seem to fit the breech very well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.... Not at this price

    What others should know: Don't let the low price of this pistol fool you. It's is a solid piece of work. And highly modifiable with after market parts

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very happy with this purchase. Well made product from a company which has been around for a very long time. Enjoying shooting in the basement right now due to the winter weather and have 352 shots thru it with no problems. Like the accuracy. Getting one inch groups at 20 paces. Like that parts and upgrades readily available.

    Things I would have changed: Warning label is stamped deeply into right side of tube and does distract from looks a little! But it is a shooting machine and doesn't have to be pretty I guess!

    What others should know: Purchased the steel breech and lim sight and installed them in less than an hour! Very easy to do with instructions included. Nice upgrade as sight is much better than factory and allows mounting a red dot or scope easier! A ton of upgrade parts available from Crosman and custom shops on ignornet!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vladimir from USA on 2016-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, simplistic design, high number of shots per cartridge.

    Things I would have changed: Front side is visibly shifted aside, hopefully it can be compensated by adjusting rear site. Also front site is too dark, better to have a white dot on it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2016-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really really like this gun great accuracy

    Things I would have changed: to be a reapeater more shots than one at a time

    What others should know: but other than that its a great pistol I really like shotting it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Serafin from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air pistol is very accurate right from the box. For me this pistol is perfect for plinking, I don't have to change anything. I'm really happy with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe in the future I would change the caps to brass finish to make it look much nicer and maybe the plastic to steel breech but other than that it's perfect for me.

    What others should know: I've read a lot of post in the Internet modifying this pistol, changing the plastic breech to steel so they can mount a scope, some upgrade for power control and the barrel for more power. This pistol is one of the air gunners favorite because you can upgrade lots of things not to mention the looks of it. I'm really happy with this purchase.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2016-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a very easy gun to modify to meet your needs. It's kind of like the VW beetle of the airgun world. Now I have the foundation I need to make it whatever pleases me.

    Things I would have changed: More like what would I change. First thing I did was get rid of the cheesy plastic grips and put on grips from RB grips. I got some of the last ones made. I might think about a upgraded breech later and a nice muzzle break. Might even get a bigger valve for it much later and a power adjuster.

    What others should know: Perfect modifier gun. It's a bit under powered and can be made so much better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2016-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate and powerful. Most of the time I get tired of shooting before the Co2 cartridge wears out.

    Things I would have changed: better sights

    What others should know: Can't go wrong a lot of fun to shoot

  • 123 ... 1617 Next
Navigation