Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman 2240 reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

    Things I liked:as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.
    Things I would have changed:mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker
    What others should know:its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Doug from USA on 2013-01-13 01:29:32

    Things I liked:This does seem to be a nice gun as the reviews indicate. However, mine came with the front site off center. I opened the 2 allen screws on the bracket that holds the barrel in place and tried to rotate the barrel to get the site back on top. It didn't rotate very far. Maybe there are more screws up front somewhere or else the site itself needs to be repositioned on the barrel. I guess it will be workable for now - hate to go through the hassle of exchanging it. Not sure how many stars to rate it based on this. (No, it wasn't a matter of adjusting the windage, the site really wasn't mounted top dead center.)
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 1112 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2013-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.
      Things I would have changed:mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker
      What others should know:its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By SpiceMan from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a classic in its own right. I loved it straight from the box. I actually DO like the grips and the trigger pull. I have thick muscular fingers, so the grip feels right. I also like (for safety purposes) the heavy pull.
      Things I would have changed:The bolt action is nice, the breech is cheap and flimsy though. Also, the pin in the bolt is short, so most pellets don't get pushed in far enough. The air jet collapses a portion of the skirt of the pellet and screws up the trajectory.
      What others should know:Use Crosman PowerShot Red Flight Penetrator Pellets. They have a flat backed plastic sabot that clears the jet port perfectly. They also go through 22 ga steel at 25 feet. This is a bit of an air hog, make sure you have a lot of CO2, about 25 to 35 shots per cartridge
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy out of the box did not disappoint, didn't even need to move the sights. Highly customizable, but I have not found it necessary to do that. The idea of metal parts I like better than plastic, but I don't foresee a need to change anything due to serviceability.
      Things I would have changed:A breach that allows a scope to be mounted direct from the factory, rather than having to replace it. A small red dot I can see would be a nice addition, but not necessary. I would like to see multiple shot capability. They have it on the PCP models.
      What others should know:No surprises, solid value with no disappointments.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It appears well made, nice weight and balance,seems fairly accurate at 10 yards or so.Being a CO2 gun, it's a lot of fun to shoot, without wearing your arms out from pumping. It's made in the USA, but has some foreign made components.
      Things I would have changed:Better rear sight.Wooden grips instead of plastic, replace other plastic parts with metal.
      What others should know:For the price, this is a nice pistol. If the changes I mentioned were done, I'm sure this would be much more expensive. Overall, it's still solid.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gregorey from USA on 2013-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is powerful for a .22 CO2 pistol. It has a pleasant recoil. This is a great plinker. Accurate. Feels good in the hand. Easy to use.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is fine the way it is. If they change anything it would run the price up.
      What others should know:If you watch the Pyramyd video on this gun, you will see that this gun is very easy to customize. I have replaced the plastic receiver with a steel one and replaced the rear sight. If you want a nice gun for enjoyable shooting, this is it. GOOD JOB CROSSMAN!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2013-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great air gun, great price.
      Things I would have changed:No changes for that price.
      What others should know:Many options available to up-grade if desired.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2013-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an awesome single shot pistol that is like plinking with a real .22 rimfire. It has lots of power, and hits a steel plate with authority. It is not picky about what pellets it likes.
      Things I would have changed:The rear site is a simple unit that is adjustable with a small phillips screwdriver. However, I realize that lots of folks with upgrade to a steel breech to add optics.
      What others should know:Sometimes the cap can be hard to tighten by hand to pierce the CO2. I use a nickel or quarter to accomplish the task.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2013-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:excellent weight and power and accuracy
      Things I would have changed:1 thing I shoot left handed and the safety button is slightly in the way when in the fire position other than that extremely happy with the pistol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By cherokeesteve from USA on 2013-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy at this price is rare. Great balance of weight, not too front heavy. Decent trigger.
      Things I would have changed:better sites, understand that plastic grips keeps price down, at least should have finger indentations along with thumb rest. This would lead to having to sell left and right hand versions, though.
      What others should know:This is it. This pistol along with the 1377/1322 define Crosman pistols. Super accurate, good power, easily modified. Nothing limits what you can do to this pistol. Get it and let your air gun addiction begin.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eli from USA on 2013-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great power and accuracy. It is right on the mark and made in America. Lots of upgrades available. Overall, I love it. I bought one for my dad and had to get one for myself.
      Things I would have changed:Ready for a scope out of the box. It is kinda loud, but what do you expect from a co2 pistol.
      What others should know:Get one, they are proven and inexpensive.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Worked great and shot straight right out of the box (I did get the 10 for $10). Plinked off 4 cylinders before swapping out to the steel breech (has a 3/8 dovetail). Installed a muzzle break (absolutely unnecessary but looks great), a Crosman power adjuster, and a basic red dot and am shooting groups covered by 50 cent pieces at 50 feet. Anything from 50 to 70+ shots per cylinder (depending on how it is adjusted).I still have the stock 7.75 inch barrel but will be switching to a 14.5 inch barrel soon. I could have bought it all prebuilt from the Crosman specialty shop but I am really enjoying doing all the mods myself. It is sooo easy to work on. I will probably get a modified boss valve in the near future. I can already see myself switching to a bulk tank CO2 in the farther future and I have already started looking for machined repeater breech (fingers crossed), this gun is seriously fun to shoot and I've blown through 40 cylinders in a flash. Ha, I thought I would save money with a pellet gun instead of shooting my hand guns but I have only found a new addiction. I will be making a custom set of grips.This is a great addition to anyones collection. I will post pictures when finished.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe offer the same platform in a larger caliber ( would love 9mm).
      What others should know:Fun, Fun, Fun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2013-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: Very cool CO2 pistol. Very accurate out to several yards. Getting around 30 good shots before noticeable POI. Make sure you get a lot of CO2 and pellets cause you wont want to put in down. Cant wait to start upgrading it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really except make it available with the steel breach already installed. Take some of the play out of the trigger. I would be happy to spend the extra bucks.
      What others should know:If you like plinking or some moderate target practice you just cant go wrong with this air pistol. As everyone already knows that all of 22XX series can be customized for each ones taste. If you have the money someone is making something you desire.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accurate right out of the box. Blew a 1/2" bull completely out at 30 ft. with 10 shots on a pistol rest, using Crosman hollow points. Powerful - Knocks over 2 liter pop bottles filled with water. I'm a lefty and the grip works great for both me and my right-handed wife. She loves knocking down those bottles.
      Things I would have changed:I agree with other reviewers that there should be dots on the sights to help in aiming. But that's a small complaint.
      What others should know:This is a powerful airgun; the sound comes close to a .22 rifle firearm shooting shorts. I'm going to get another one before they raise the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great pistol for the money. Very accurate and good power. PA video by Paul Capella was excellent and very helpful in my decision.
      Things I would have changed:Have barrel come with grooves for scope so you don't have to purchase barrel upgrade. Provide colored dots on front and rear sights.
      What others should know:This was my first CO2 gun and first air pistol. It was difficult to sight a black target ( I use Champion VisiShot targets at 50 feet). I'm not sure I'm a fan of CO2 since I want to keep the gun handy for pest control and you don't want to be at the low end of your CO2 cartridge when there is a squirrel raiding the bird feeder. I will likely purchase a break barrel pistol in the future.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2013-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:light, easy to use, plenty of mods available.
      Things I would have changed:Handle is thin at the top so the frame cuts into my thumb a little so its not the most comfortable to shoot for extended periods. Trigger isn't as nice as I would like, but for the price point (even once modified) it will suffice.
      What others should know:Plastic breech feels weak, and the lack of options for sights is limited by it. I picked up a steel breech kit and a 2260 barrel and shoulder stock from the 1377 (all very simple swaps and crosman even includes the allen wrnched you'll need for breech swap, only thing you'll need a 1/4 flat head screw driver. After swap, I tossed on a BSA red dot sight and sighted it in @ 20 yards, then took some shots out to 45 yards, pellet drops between 6 and 8 inches at that distance but I was still able to hit a 2" spinner multiple times. I'm getting about 30 hard shots from one 12g co2, several more usable but I prefer full strength power. And now the pistol is managing about 13fpe using rws meisterkugeln wadcutters. @ 20 yards, a prairie chuck target stands no chance and head shots are more easily possible than I though (impossible with the stock 8" barrel[for me anyway]) The 2260 barrel cut sound by 1/2, and that was a welcome improvement.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great gun
      Things I would have changed:none
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By George from USA on 2013-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well balanced. For the money it is a great air gun.
      Things I would have changed:It would be a great addition for the sights to be tru-glow.
      What others should know:Great value and a lot of fun to shoot. Great for teaching gun safty and plinking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joe from USA on 2013-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:for the price its very good.not much junk hanging on it.clean and mean.
      Things I would have changed:the rear sight is junky.need to up grade it
      What others should know:you call the shoots on this one.try it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jack from USA on 2013-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:liked everything about this pistol. upgraded to steel breech & bolt. replaced rear sight. replaced grips with shoulder stock. awesome plinker. shot great straight out of the box before upgrades.
      Things I would have changed:front sight
      What others should know:added glow sight paint to both dots on rear sight & also on front sight blade. was hard to line up on black background on targets. now I can hit taget in total darkness.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pelletgunlover from USA on 2013-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, accuracy, reliability, and ease of maintenance! Within 30 yards very accurate, my 2240B can still shoot .5 inch groups and hit cans with ease. 2240C also shoots .5 inch groups and smaller.
      Things I would have changed:make a shrouded barrel version for higher price.
      What others should know:Buy this, it is affordable, accurate, and powerful. If you have one great decision!
    • « Previous 123 ... 1112 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top