Crosman 2240 reviews - page 9

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

Things I liked: as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.

Things I would have changed: mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker

What others should know: its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By gary from USA on 2015-06-06 03:33:45

Things I liked: Can't find anything i like about it .

Things I would have changed: Power bolt and the person in charge of quality control

What others should know: Quality control for this pistol is piss poor . When I received my 2240 the front sight was all messed up and it leaks co2 so bad you only get about 20 shots . What a peace of crap .

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1415 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Can't say a lot more than the other positive reviews. This is the most bang for the buck you can ask for. Out of the package, the sights were dead on at 25 ft. This gun is accurate. Sure there's a lot of plastic, but that's fine, considering this is the most upgradeable platform besides the 10-22. I am looking forward to shedding the plastic and building a hot rod from this very capable and well made base.

    Things I would have changed: Crosman should tighten up the final QA a bit. The front sight was canted to one side...my 1322 came like this as well. I straightened it out easy enough. I can't complain about all the plastic because that would just increase the price. And it still performs fine right out of the box.

    What others should know: You simply cannot beat this one for the price. And as usual, Pyramyd is 5 stars!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Al from USA on 2012-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Although I have one hand. This pistol performs above every pistol I've had. Pyramid Air customer service answered all of my questions before I bought it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The bolt is a little hard to move, but I think it will change with use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ROBERT from USA on 2012-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Best pistol for the money and packs a wallop.

    Things I would have changed: It needs a better rear sight and it would be perfect.

    What others should know: I modified the rear peep sight by very slightly increasing the size of the hole. I am able to get .75" groups at 33 feet and about 40 good shots per CO2 cartridge. Chrony tests for 7 shots gave a low of 383.83, a high of 462.38, and an average of 407.28 FPS. Using the average velocity, the energy value was 7.77 FP. I have 2 of these pistols, and I added a BSA Pistol scope, scope rings, and inter-mounts to the second pistol...able to get .75" groups at 50 feet and hit a large coffee can at 100 feet with a bit of "Kentucky" elevevation. After trying a variety of different pellets (RSW, Beeman, Crosman, etc) of different weights, I found that this pistol likes Beeman Kodiak RN Pellets, 21.1 Gr. the best...best groups and best energy. Crony values above are based on these pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harry from USA on 2012-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like this pistol.

    Things I would have changed: I would put adjustable sights on this like the ones on the 357's. It's a pain to adjust these sights but once you them there they are fine. I musch easier and less frustrating to use the screwdriver for easy sight adjustment on the 357's. I would also make one of these in 177 cal.

    What others should know: I get about 70 shots out of one co-2 cartridge before the velocity starts falling off. I guess they do sort of make this in 177, it's 2300t but it costs 3 times as much as these 2240's. I have a 2300t and it's also very accurate.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ROBERT from USA on 2012-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pistol is an excellent shooter and packs alot of energy with the right pellet.

    Things I would have changed: The only weak area is the rear sight. Crosman needs to replace this sight with one that is easier to adjust and easier to use. A better quality sight would be an excellent accessory.

    What others should know: I could not use the elevation blade on the rear sight so I took it off. Even so, I was able to shoot about 1 in. groups at 33 feet. I tested several different pellets for grouping and velocity, and the Beeman Kodiaks at 21.10 grams won hands down, with an avg. velocity of 478 FPS and the energy calculation for this weight pellet was 10.7 FP...it packs a wallop. I have ordered an inter-mount, 2x BSA pistol scope, and scope rings for this pistol which I know will improve the grouping an range significantly (which I will report on with a followup review). Well worth the money and you can get some very nice wood grips for it from a variety of dealers.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By grademacher from USA on 2012-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun can be modified to your liking. It is easy to handle and has good power. The price is right.

    Things I would have changed: Less plastic and better rear sight. Would be nice to have info on modifications. I would like to add stock and longer barrel. Any info out there?

    What others should know: Good starter pistol. Buy it for the price and modification possibilities.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Elvis from USA on 2012-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a lot of gun for the money - well made and very accurate. I use mine at 10 yards in my basement and this gun can hit the bullseye almost every time (nobody is perfect!). Mine shoots regular old Crosman hollow points just fine.

    Things I would have changed: Not much...maybe make the grips fit a little bit better as they do tend to have a bit of movement in them.

    What others should know: In addition to a paper puncher, this would make a great close range gun for those pesky yard vermin like rats an starlings. Also, the aftermarket for these guns is unbelievable...you can literally customize this gun to your hearts content. Oh yeah, one more thing, if you intend to mount a scope on your 2240 make sure you pick up the intermounts (part#CR-459MTC) as there is no other way of mounting a scope on this gun. They are cheap and well worth it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Donald from USA on 2012-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate WOW I put s shoulder stock on it and at 30 meters i can cover a dime with it.

    Things I would have changed: Make it not so loud. I was wanting something i could shoot without ear protectors.

    What others should know: I could not see through the peep sight Old eyes so i ground off the front and rear sights and made a sight rail for my red dot. Good thing i have a brother with machine shop.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TONY R from USA on 2012-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun just feels good in your hand . . . in either hand. It feels and looks like a real firearm. Shooting .22, it of course has more power at the target than .177 at the same FPS. The gun's standard site was very accurate right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: I just got this and have shot it about 50 times. For the money, i can find nothing I would change.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By KevinP from USA on 2012-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The finish is flawless, the sights are dead on..

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight

    What others should know: It took 2 whole days for it to get my mail box :) PA is the greatest.. 454 ave fps !!!! sights are dead on... you need to get this... I am a happy camper and you will be too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By 1ijacks from USA on 2012-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: just about everything except rear sight, it works, but you have to have patience with it, it stays locked in once set.

    Things I would have changed: click adjustable rear sight

    What others should know: this is the gold standard in co2 airgun pistols, more after market parts than you have money for. stock pistol is just fine, hits hard, is accurate, and everyone should own one. there's a reason for all the positive reviews. parts are inexpensive.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2012-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Best and most accurate shooter for the money. Totally customizeable. Lots of aftermarket and easy to work on. Great just as-is but astounding with a few tweeks. Not real Quiet, Has an authorative bark to it. These can become addictive and you are always searching for the next change you wan't to make.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for the price. Things I did change, Replaced plastic breech with Steel breech and LPA sight.

    What others should know: Very accurate right out of the box. Comfortable grips and it balances well and holds steady for offhand shooting. Stock the trigger is fine but a simple trigger polish job and squeezing the spring a bit makes the trigger very nice. Lots of support and how to online. Every shooter should have one of these And a 1322 which is the multi pump version. I get about 60 shots per CO2 and it is cold out. Power seems to stay good till the last 2-3 shots.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By spanielspringer from USA on 2012-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i see this gun has a 5 star average with well over 100 reviews and there's a reason--what a good pistol! had a few co2 guns and they all lose velocity after very few shots. shooting this one over the chronograph shows consistent velocity through 20 shots and counting.

    Things I would have changed: trigger is kinda gritty and creepy, sights are funky. but hey 60 bucks? i can adapt.

    What others should know: mine likes rws hyper velocity 11 gr. green in 100 rd. cup--all shots touch at 30 feet. most consistent velocity is with rws superpoint 14.5 gr. and accuracy and energy (6.34 f.p. by my math) are good. crosman pointed in 175 rd. tin are not bad for the price.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Reza from USA on 2011-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Strong Pistol. Great value

    Things I would have changed: I would make targeting more accurate. Usually factory adjustment needs small effort to shoot accurately. This one needs some work, however after adjustment, it is great.

    What others should know: Do not thing that single pellet shooters are less fun or weak pistols. They are very strong even though this gun is not a blowback pistol, it has a certain kick to it that shows how powerful it is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jimmy from USA on 2011-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like co2 and bolt loading this gun shot great

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Skip from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Due to the low temperatures here in Wyoming it will be a little while before co2 will work to its potential, so I haven't attempted to shoot the gun yet. I appears to be as indicated in the other positive reviews, and at this point I'm pleased with the pistol considering the price point.

    Things I would have changed: I wasn't very happy with the grips, as they are slightly small for my hand. They are also made of plastic which is not always bad in itself, but they need trimming and fitting where they join together. Serviceable, but not the best. No real need for custom grips, just not as nice as I would like.

    What others should know: As always, Pyramid Air is definitely the place to go for good service and prices. The plastic in other areas of the pistol are of no concern to me as I plan to modify the pistol with custom parts; in the mean time it will serve as a good plinker.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2011-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good feel in the hand. Accuracy is fine for bifocaled shooter. Very quiet. I fitted with a red dot laser ............ don't do that if your hand is shakey!

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see this pistol with the cosman magazine. We need a good, low cost, co2 pellet repeater.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If ya don't have one your missin out on the best deal ever in a .22 cal pellet/target pistol get about 50 plus powerful shots with a powerlet and absolutely love daisy wadcutters at 2 bucks a tin, sends cans flying and accurate up to 25 yrds at this price it can not be beat always use pellgun oil its also a good way to detect a misformed powerlet which can ruin a gun I was rubbing it in once with pg oil on my finger and a deformed powerlet was very sharp otherwise it would have ruined the seals ,think this happened with a gun I had which spewed out the gas and continued with a ruined seal but no more .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2011-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This has to be one of the finest air pistols made, especially for the price. It's relatively easy to modify to increase shooting enjoyment, yet, out of the box it's quite a shooter.

    Things I would have changed: An additional screw in the grips would be nice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By smokin_joes_cbr from USA on 2011-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: nice weight and feel in the hand. Modular designs lends itself to modification. .22 caliber knockdown power.

    Things I would have changed: This thing shoots dead on straight out of the box and hits pretty hard, that said I'm probably going to modify mine anyways for varmint hunting.

    What others should know: If yours has a leaky valve like mine, don't send it back just take it apart and clean the valve seals and seats, takes about 15 minutes and saves you from waiting for crosman to fix it.

  • Previous 12 ... 8910 ... 1415 Next
Navigation