Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman MK-177 Tactical Pneumatic Air Rifle, Black reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By PlinkerOne from USA on 2013-08-16 15:34:58

    Things I liked:This new Crosman MK-177 Tactical Air Rifle shoots as accurately as my Crosman 2100 that I have owned for over ten years. I believe Crosman put the internal components of the 2100 into this pellet rifle. Anyway, the MK-177 shoots accurately over and over again at twenty yards with four pumps, thirty yards with six pumps and fifty yards with a full ten pumps.
    Things I would have changed:From the picture of the MK-177, you can clearly see that it needs a riser to mount a scope or other optical device. I purchased an AR-15 detachable carry handle with a picatinny/weaver rail mount. That worked perfect for a red dot sight. Also, The Crosman MK-177 has a fake ammo magazine that hangs down and gets in the way when cocking and shooting. I took a hack saw and cut it off. I thought at first that there would be an open void, but to my amazement and delight, there is a cover plate. I just sanded it down a little bit and it looks original.
    What others should know:At the same time you purchase the Crosman MK-177, also include several 4-packs of Crosman pellet magazines, a box of 1250 Crosman Wadcutter pellets, an AR-15 carry handle with a weaver/picatinny rail for mounting optics and a red dot sight. After that, you will spend hours enjoying how well this new 2013 Crosman MK-177 performs. It's fairly easy to cock and amazingly accurate. I highly recommend it.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Jason from USA on 2014-03-18 15:58:44

    Things I liked:Aside from all of its problems the thing looks awesome. And i like how the front rails on the pump are mounted at the side instead of the bottom so whatever you mount on the bottom does not bump when you are pumping
    Things I would have changed:Everything. The trigger has a massive pull, this thing is LOUD, the pump on it is extremely clumsy and is also loud. The pump has some kind of strange locking mechanism on it so that at the end of the pump it snaps into place, makes it very difficult to open it for another pump, also the pump is heavy, i am a 6' 3" male and i had difficulty getting it over 6 pumps.
    What others should know:This Airgun may look awesome, but its terrible. I bought this one towards the end of the semester and finally got the chance to shoot it. i load it up with bb's (also not an easy thing to do) and 7 shots later the bbs stopped loading from the hopper. i did everything i could think of to try and get them to load aside from taking the gun apart. bolt goes back and no bbs come out of the hopper and attach to the magnet. maybe i got the defective one of the batch but i can only make a review based on what i have in front of me
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Aside from all of its problems the thing looks awesome. And i like how the front rails on the pump are mounted at the side instead of the bottom so whatever you mount on the bottom does not bump when you are pumping
      Things I would have changed:Everything. The trigger has a massive pull, this thing is LOUD, the pump on it is extremely clumsy and is also loud. The pump has some kind of strange locking mechanism on it so that at the end of the pump it snaps into place, makes it very difficult to open it for another pump, also the pump is heavy, i am a 6' 3" male and i had difficulty getting it over 6 pumps.
      What others should know:This Airgun may look awesome, but its terrible. I bought this one towards the end of the semester and finally got the chance to shoot it. i load it up with bb's (also not an easy thing to do) and 7 shots later the bbs stopped loading from the hopper. i did everything i could think of to try and get them to load aside from taking the gun apart. bolt goes back and no bbs come out of the hopper and attach to the magnet. maybe i got the defective one of the batch but i can only make a review based on what i have in front of me
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff17766 from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The toyish looks.
      What others should know:To me it's kind of to toyish looking.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Surculus from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks [since it is basically a 760 in fancy dress, you should definitely shop for something else if you don't like the looks... ;) ] The balance [it's pretty light, so balance is an easily overlooked essential.] It comes with a useful set of basic sights. [But much better than the usual *extremely* rudimentary ones you'd expect of airguns in this price range.]
      Things I would have changed:Save the expense on molding in useless frippery like Allen bolt heads [& then hold the thing together w/ a bazillion tiny Phillips head screws waiting to strip out?], non-functional magazines [at least mold in a sliding cover or a rubber plug on the bottom so the space can be used] and non-functioning adjustable cheek rests in favor of spending a little more on useful items [like a self-indexing pellet magazine so that the loading cycle is sped up by about 3x.]
      What others should know:Charging this puppy w/ air is LOUD! The combination of a fairly thin plastic pump handle and a mostly-hollow forestock leads to truly impressive WHACKING sounds when pumping up this bad boy. I'm still working on how to reduce the noise level some [I'm not expecting silence, esp. not at this price point!] but for now, you'll want to wear ear plugs when shooting this, not for the muzzle blast, but to protect your hearing from the constant clacking of the recharge cycle...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2013-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Styling.For what it is an the price its excellent.
      Things I would have changed:We beg of you,please make future tactical rifles based on the model 1077 action.As they are now they are great looking,but then to have to pump them up for one shot is sad to say the least.Which ever company comes out with that platform will put money in their pockets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cody from USA on 2013-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great medium powered pneumatic power pellet rifle. Have had no problems so far and would definitely recommend to other customers.
      Things I would have changed:Sighting
      What others should know:Takes a little time and patience in sighting in the pellet rifle, but pretty accurate afterwards.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The styling is fantastic and the gun is lightweight. The pump action is simple once you get used to it. It is an accurate and powerful pump action gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would put a little more metal on the surface of the gun for things like the rails, the reciever and the barrel. This would give a better sense of ruggedness. I would also make the magazine removable as a storage compartment as was done on it's AR15 cousin gun. I would love to have a moving cheek rest but that may a bit much for this gun.
      What others should know:If you put an optical or red dot sight on this gun be prepared to get a picatinny riser for it as the stock is almost parallel to the top rail. As such, up your sight line may be too high for a standard mounted sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a fun inexpensice pellet rifle for target shooting. I love the feel of this rifle and the target hit are pretty tight.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By chifan from USA on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:simple and inexpensive. at 9 pumps it can pack a pretty powerful punch.
      Things I would have changed:the feed mechanism is very unsophisticated. the carrier has to be manually advanced to get the following pellet in place. but then it would often not feed properly.
      What others should know:after aligning the pellet carrier into position a cocking mechanism has to be pushed to load the pellet into the breach. 85% of the time it would not go in smoothly and requires quite a bit of fiddling and wiggling the cocking mechanism back and forth, and sometimes even a bit of force to get the pellet to seat. sometimes, when possible i had to remove the pellet carrier so there is one less obstruction in getting the pellet to seat. this process unfortunately will deform the pellet which i assume is affecting the accuracy of the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice gun for the money. Its seems to be more accurate then my M4-177 , and that is a good thing. The only thing i dont get is everyone calls this a replica of the SCAR and it is not. This is a Replica of the ACR . If you google images of both you will see the diffrence. ACR not SCAR
      Things I would have changed:I would have made it more like the M4-177 with the storage in the clip and a adjustable stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ian from USA on 2013-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the look and feel of the gun... It's a SCAR moc-up so c'mon- it's awesome for that reason alone. The plastic is also pretty heavy duty that you can trust (def not flimsy) The storage behind the rubber butt-plate is also pretty cool with the individual shelving for compact storage up to 4 clips and also the fitting for the sight adjustment tool- very nice touch. I've only had it a couple days so working on the accuracy. Going to give it the benefit of the doubt.
      Things I would have changed:There have been many complaints about the backwards bolt/loader situation (Bolt on the left, push clip through from right) I get it, also almost steered me away from the whole idea of owning this gun but ya know what?- Not a big deal really. Just turn the rifle to its side you can still do it one handed and after a couple shots can also work it from the left. It's just a pump airgun, not going to war here, can def find a way to reload pretty quick. But after saying all that, yeah Crosman should change it so it's like the M4 model just to make it a little easier (one hand motion) in the 'heat' of the action. I would also make the clip removable for storage like the M4 because why not have the extra space utilized? The fake switch displaying bbs/pellets should either work or be removed. Since I plan to use the airgun only for pellets- don't care really.
      What others should know:Despite much of the negative reviews of this model I've seen over the past few months, I've always wanted to get it anyway, finally did. Overall, I find the general use of this airgun enjoyable. It makes a fine addition to my collection (TR-77,1377w/stock,C11,M4). I bought the M4-177 prior to this model because of how awesome everybody says it is- so if you don't already have that you should get it. Anyways MK, I'm just getting the sights aligned nicely- getting better groups and plinking FancyFeast catfood cans (2 1/4in. diameter) 70-80ft away w/ open sights so far, love shooting this gun. I used the M4's rear sight handle on the MK to beef it up and have the more open rear sight to have a better field of vision- kickin' ass so far. I want to throw some optics on it to see what it can really do. I have a feeling it will be a very reliable backyard shooter the more I work at it. I think this model deserves a break- worth the money, it'll be fun to upgrade and maybe Crosman would consider some subtle changes to make it even better. For under 100 bucks, why wouldn't you get it honestly? I recommend owning both the M4&MK to enjoy swapping optics and share clips )they're compatible after all -mix it up while you're having 'Backyard Ops'. I bought a ridiculous amount of extra clips for these guns, it's nonstop fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PlinkerOne from USA on 2013-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This new Crosman MK-177 Tactical Air Rifle shoots as accurately as my Crosman 2100 that I have owned for over ten years. I believe Crosman put the internal components of the 2100 into this pellet rifle. Anyway, the MK-177 shoots accurately over and over again at twenty yards with four pumps, thirty yards with six pumps and fifty yards with a full ten pumps.
      Things I would have changed:From the picture of the MK-177, you can clearly see that it needs a riser to mount a scope or other optical device. I purchased an AR-15 detachable carry handle with a picatinny/weaver rail mount. That worked perfect for a red dot sight. Also, The Crosman MK-177 has a fake ammo magazine that hangs down and gets in the way when cocking and shooting. I took a hack saw and cut it off. I thought at first that there would be an open void, but to my amazement and delight, there is a cover plate. I just sanded it down a little bit and it looks original.
      What others should know:At the same time you purchase the Crosman MK-177, also include several 4-packs of Crosman pellet magazines, a box of 1250 Crosman Wadcutter pellets, an AR-15 carry handle with a weaver/picatinny rail for mounting optics and a red dot sight. After that, you will spend hours enjoying how well this new 2013 Crosman MK-177 performs. It's fairly easy to cock and amazingly accurate. I highly recommend it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Sean from USA on 2013-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks great. My son loves all things Black Ops 2, and he immediately pointed out "It's a SCAR!" It apparently has a lot of "cool" factor with a 12 year old, because he wants to give me his M4-177 in trade, and I've put a lot of aftermarket stuff on his M4-177.
      Things I would have changed:A little more heft. This rifle is deceptively light because of the amount of plastic used. Also, reinforce where people will grab the pump handle. If you squeeze the pump handle as your are getting ready to pump the rifle (as is normal), it will cause friction between the pump handle and the frame, making it hard to "unlock" the pump handle. It would have been nice if they had made the magazine removable like they did for the M4-177 so that you could store additional pellet clips.
      What others should know:The first time I tried to use the included adjustment tool to adjust the sights, it broke. I have to use a small screwdriver to adjust the sights. I'm still in the breaking-in phase, but initial accuracy seemed decent from about 7-10 yards. I have just put on a red dot sight mostly for looks, but I think I will have fun using this as a close range plinker. I don't know if it really can clock in the 700 fps range. Hopefully, someone will be able to do some good velocity testing. Either way, it won't be used for pest eradication or distance shooting, since I don't have that much faith in the rifle, but it will be used for hours of side-by-side shooting with my son, and for that reason alone it was worth every penny (if I had waited 10 days, I would have saved 20 bucks, too!)
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2013-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'm feeling a bit deceived on this gun. I was thinking the magazine would be storage for extra clips and the sight tool. It's molded in and doesn't do anything. I saw a unique design feature that looks like it is a selector switch to go from bb to pellet. It's also molded in. In fact I can't find anyplace on this gun that would give you any extra storage space at all for the pellet clips or sight tool. The cocking lever is on the left. so to a right handed shooter this is so awkward that the gun is impractical. I also found the pump handle very hard to use since I had to practically pry it away from the gun to open it every pump. About the only good thing about the gun is it's looks and size. If you are a left handed shooter that loves plastic this might be your perfect gun. I can't find a single scrap of metal on the gun anywhere.
      Things I would have changed:I'd recall these things and redesign it so it is easier to pump, and cock at a minimum. An airgun should not be this hard to use. It seriously takes away from the sport. If this was my first airgun I'd fire the gun once and decide this wasn't an enjoyable sport.
      What others should know:Buy it for looks, not for function. It will look great on your wall but is definitely not fun to shoot.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top